United States Department of Veterans Affairs
Multiple Sclerosis Centers of Excellence

Free Monthly Educational Conference Calls

You are invited to participate in monthly conference calls addressing a variety of MS topics using a toll-free number.

 

People with MS

(see Caregivers calls below)


 

What:   Conference calls for people with MS

When:  Second Monday of each month

Time:   5-6pm PT------- 6-7pm MT------- 7-8pm CT------- 8-9pm ET

How:    call 1.800.767.1750, wait to hear the welcome message then punch the code 43157#

 


October 14, 2013 - Columbus Day
MS Annual Exams: What are they all about?
Christopher Bever, MD


November 11, 2013 - Veterans Day
Quality of Life: Living Fully with MS
Dave Rintell, MD 


December 9, 2013
Adaptive Sports and Recreational Opportunities
Carrie Booker, CTRS
Kristine Goedhard, CTRS


January 13, 2014
Disorders that Mimic MS
John Rinker, MD


February 10, 2014
Updates on MS Medications
Kathryn Tortorice Pharm D, BCPS


March 10, 2014
Choosing the Best Treatment for People with MS
Michael Carrithers, MD, PhD


April 14, 2014
Fatigue in MS: Mechanisms, Evaluation, Treatment: A Case Study
Florian Thomas, MD, PhD, MA


May 12, 2014
Getting a Good Night's Sleep
TBD


June 9, 2014
Vaccinations, Antibiotics and MS
Kathryn Tortorice, PharmD


July 14, 2014
Staying Cool: Managing MS Heat Sensitivity
TBD


August 11, 2014
Overview of National MS Society Resources and Support Opportunities
Rosalind Kolb, PhD


September 8, 2014
Getting Involved with Research 

TBD

 


Caregivers


What: Families and Caregivers of People with MS
When: 4th Monday of every month
Time: 11am-12noon PT, 12-1pm MT, 1-2pm CT, 2-3pm ET
How: Call 1.800.767.1750, then punch in 43157#

Presenters: 
Maggie Kazmierski, MSW, LCSW-C, MSCS 
Alicia Sloan, LICSW, MSW

Different topics each month.


 

For more information about these calls please contact Angela Young at 1.800.463.6295 or angela.young4@va.gov