DEPARTMENT OF VETERANS AFFAIRS VETERANS HEALTH ADMINISTRATION

MINUTES OF THE FALL 2022 JOINT BIOMEDICAL LABORATORY AND CLINICAL SCIENCE RESEARCH AND DEVELOPMENT SERVICES SCIENTIFIC MERIT REVIEW BOARD

The teleconference meeting was called to order by the Acting Chair, Nathan Kimbrel, PhD, at 3:00 PM and concluded at 4:30 PM EST on January 10, 2023. The meeting was open to the public. A Webex meeting ID and password had been announced in the Federal Register. The meeting was held virtually on the Webex meeting platform. Dr. Kimbrel presided throughout the meeting. Attendees included Board members and Biomedical Laboratory Research & Development (BLRD) staff and Clinical Science Research & Development (CSRD) staff.

Ms. Pauline Cilladi-Rehrer, Alternate Designated Federal Officer (DFO) of the Board, conducted a roll call of subcommittee chairpersons on the WebEx call.

Subcommittee Chairs Present:

CAMM	James Carson, PhD
CARA	Ashutosh Shukla, MD
CARB	Michael Autieri, PhD
ENDA	Deborah Clegg, PhD
GAST	James Goldenring, MD
HEMA	Randal Westrick, PhD
IMMA	Raymond Migrino, PhD
MHBA	Dayan Knox, PhD
MHBA	Stella Dracheva, PhD
MHBC	Bryann DeBeer, PhD
MHBP	Nathan Kimbrel, PhD
NEPH	Matthew Wilson, MD
NURA	Cynthia Kuhn, PhD
NURB	Jeffrey Dupree, PhD
NURD	Pamela Potter, PhD
NURE	Paula Bickford, PhD
NURF	Manuela Bartoli, PhD
NURP	Karin Westland-High, PhD
NURR	Peter Shiromani, PhD
ONCA	Linda Malkas, PhD
PSYC	Murray Raskind, MD
PULM	Anne Dixon, MD
SPLD	Vahram Haroutunian, PhD
SPLP	Ravi Madan, MD
SURG	Gale Tang, MD
	=

Subcommittee Chairs not present:

ENDB	Bruce Troen, MD
INFA	Jack Stapleton, PhD
INFB	Peter Williamson, MD
NURC	William Wolf, PhD
ONCB	George Simon, MD
ONCC	Stephen Shiao, PhD

BL/CS Staff Present:

Christopher Bever, MD Director, ISRM Jane Battles, PhD Program Manager Michael Burgio, PhD Scientific Review Program Manager Alex Chui, PhD Senior Program Manager Pauline Cilladi-Rehrer, MSBA Alternate DFO Shakeria Cohen, PhD Program Manager Joseph Constans, PhD Senior Program Manager Carol Fowler, PhD Program Manager Khan, Masood, PhD Program Manager Ying-Yee Kong, PhD Program Manager Holly Krull, PhD Deputy Director, BLR&D Vetisha McClair, PhD Program Manager Kenute Myrie, PhD Senior Program Manager Mario Rinaudo, MD Program Manager Mark Roltsch, PhD Program Manager Arun Sharma, PhD Program Manager Nicholas Simon, PhD Program Manager Chinagozi Ugwu, PhD JIT Manager

Public Participants: None

OPEN SESSION:

- I. Dr. Nathan Kimbrel called the meeting to order.
- II. Ms. Pauline Cilladi-Rehrer led the roll call of the Board Members and BLCS staff.
- III. ORD Updates
 - Dr. Chris Bever presented the latest ORD Enterprise Transformation information followed by Q&A.
 - Dr. Michael Burgio gave an update on the Collaborative Merit Review Applications process.
 - Dr. Michael Burgio reported the Fall 2022 cycle results.

CLOSED SESSION:

- Subcommittee Chairs presented the results and subsequent recommendations of their respective subcommittee meeting. Chairs not present at the meeting will be sent an email asking them to concur with their respective panel recommendations.
- II. Proposed next meeting date: Tuesday, July 11, 2023, at 3PM EDT.

III.	Dr. Kimbrell adjourned the meeting at 4:30 PM EST.		
Natha	an Kimbrel, PhD	 Date	