# DEPARTMENT OF VETERANS AFFAIRS VETERANS HEALTH ADMINISTRATION

# MINUTES OF THE FALL 2023 JOINT BIOMEDICAL LABORATORY AND CLINICAL SCIENCE RESEARCH AND DEVELOPMENT SERVICES SCIENTIFIC MERIT REVIEW BOARD

The teleconference meeting was called to order by the Chair, Paula Bickford, PhD, at 3:00 PM and concluded at 4:30 PM EST on January 30, 2024. The meeting was open to the public. A Webex meeting ID and password had been announced in the Federal Register. The meeting was held virtually on the Webex meeting platform. Dr. Bickford presided throughout the meeting. Attendees included Board members, Biomedical Laboratory Research & Development (BLRD) staff and Clinical Science Research & Development (CSRD) staff.

Ms. Pauline Cilladi-Rehrer, Alternate Designated Federal Officer (DFO) of the Board, conducted a roll call of subcommittee chairpersons on the WebEx call.

#### **Subcommittee Chairs Present:**

CAMM	James Carson, PhD
CARA	Anthony Baker, PhD
CARB	Abhinav Diwan, MD
ENDA	Deborah Clegg, PhD
ENDB	Bruce Troen, MD
GAST	Laura Nagy, PhD
HEMA	Randal Westrick, PhD
IMMA	Raymond Migrino, PhD
INFA	Jack Stapleton, PhD
INFB	Peter Williamson, MD
MHBA	Dayan Knox, PhD
MHBC	Bryann DeBeer, PhD
MHBP	Nathan Kimbrel, PhD
NEPH	Kelly Hyndman, PhD Alternate Chair
NURA	Cynthia Kuhn, PhD
NURB	Jeffrey Dupree, PhD
NURC	William Wolf, PhD
NURD	Dongming Cai, MD
NURE	Paula Bickford, PhD
NURF	Nicholas Brecha, PhD
NURP	Karin Westland-High, PhD
NURR	Priyattam Shiromani, PhD
ONCA	Linda Malkas, PhD
ONCC	Stephen Shiao, PhD
PSYC	Murray Raskind, MD
SPLD	Vahram Haroutunian, PhD SPLP Ravi Madan, MD
SURG	Gale Tang, MD

# **Subcommittee Chairs not present:**

ONCB George Simon, MD PULM Anne Dixon, MD

#### **BL/CS Staff Present:**

Jane Battles, PhD, Program Manager Michael Burgio, PhD. Scientific Review Program Manager Alex Chui, PhD Acting Deputy Director for BLRD Pauline Cilladi-Rehrer, MSBA Alternate DFO Shakeria Cohen, PhD, Program Manager Joseph Constans, PhD, Senior Program Manager Carol Fowler, PhD, Program Manager Amanda Hunt, PhD Program Manager Holly Krull, PhD Acting Director for BLR&D Kenute Myrie, PhD, Senior Program Manager Kimberlee Potter, PhD, Program Manager Mark Roltsch, PhD, Program Manager Miriam Smyth, Director of CSRD Chinagozi Ugwu, MS JIT Manager Jayanthi Sankar PhD, Program Manager Arun Sharma, PhD, Program Manager Nicholas Simon, PhD, Program Manager Natalie Washington Alternate DFO

Public Participants: None

### **OPEN SESSION:**

- I. Dr. Paula Bickford called the meeting to order.
- II. Ms. Pauline Cilladi-Rehrer led the roll call of the Board Members and BLCS staff.
- III. Service Directors' Remarks were given by Dr. Holly Krull and Dr. Miriam Smyth.
- IV. ORD Updates
  - Dr. Holly Krull presented a review on an update on the Investigators, Scientific Review and Management transformation.
  - Dr. Miriam Smyth introduced Dr. Ken Myrie.
  - Dr. Michael Burgio reported the Spring 2023 cycle results.
  - Dr Michael Burgio gave a presentation on conflicts of interest in peer review

## **CLOSED SESSION:**

- I. Subcommittee Chairs presented the results and subsequent recommendations of their respective subcommittee meeting. Chairs not present at the meeting will be sent an email asking them to concur with their respective panel recommendations.
- II. Proposed next meeting date: Tuesday, July 9, 2024, at 3PM EDT.
- III. Dr. Bickford adjourned the meeting at 4:30 PM EST.

/s/ Paula Bickford, PhD February 27, 2024