Attention A T users. To access the menus on this page please perform the following steps. 1. Please switch auto forms mode to off. 2. Hit enter to expand a main menu option (Health, Benefits, etc). 3. To enter and activate the submenu links, hit the down arrow. You will now be able to tab or arrow up or down through the submenu options to access/activate the submenu links.

Office of Nursing Services (ONS)

Menu
Menu

Quick Links

Veterans Crisis Line Badge
My healthevet badge
EBenefits Badge
 

About VA Nursing

Mission: To honor the Veteran through excellence in healthcare delivery

Vision: Advancing nursing; Transforming healthcare

About The Office of Nursing Services (ONS)

The Office of Nursing Services (ONS) provides leadership, guidance and strategic direction on all issues related to nursing practice, education, research & workforce for clinical programs across the continuum of care and care delivery sites that impact our Veterans. VA Nursing is a dynamic, diverse group of honored, respected, and compassionate professionals. VA is the leader in the creation of an organizational culture where excellence in nursing is valued as essential for the delivery of quality healthcare to those who served America.

 

Key ONS Staff

Beth Taylor 

Beth Taylor, DHA, RN, NEA-BC
Chief Nursing Officer  (SES Bio) 
beth.taylor@va.gov
202-461-6700

Alan Bernstein 

Alan Bernstein, MS, RN
Deputy Chief Nursing Officer  (SES Bio) 
alan.bernstein@va.gov
202-461-6700

Danielle S. Ocker 

Danielle S. Ocker, BSN, MBA
Executive Director, Policy and Strategic Planning  (SES Bio)
danielle.ocker@va.gov
202-461-6700

 

Karen Ott 
Karen M. Ott, DNP, RN
Director for Policy and Legislation
karen.ott@va.gov
202-461-6966
Christine Engstrom 
Christine Engstrom, PhD, CRNP, AOCN, FAANP
Director, Clinical Practice
christine.engstrom@va.gov
202-461-7260
Kathy Barry 
Kathleen J. Barry RN, MHA, NEA-BC 
Director, Workforce and Leadership
Kathleen.Barry@va.gov
202-461-6794
Sheila Sullivan 
Sheila Cox Sullivan, PhD RN VHA-CM 
Director, Research, Quality & Analytics
Sheila.Sullivan2@va.gov
202-461-6721
Kathryn Sapnas 
Kathryn G. Sapnas, PhD, RN-BC, CCRN Alumnus, CNOR (E)  
Director, Innovation
kathryn.sapnas@va.gov
202-461-0473
Suzanne Thorne-Odem 
Suzanne Thorne-Odem,
DNP, APRN, FNP-C

Clinical Practice Program Manager
suzanne.thorne-odem@va.gov
202-461-6967
Mary Pat Coiuig 
Mary Pat Couig, PhD, MPH, RN, FAAN
Program Manager, RN Residency/Emergency Management
marypat.couig@va.gov
202-465-6878
  Storm Morgan
Storm L. Morgan, MSN, RN, MBA
Clinical Program Manager, Ambulatory and Virtual Care
storm.morgan@va.gov
706-993-8915
Michelle Lucatorto 
Michelle A. Lucatorto, DNP, RN, FNP-BC 
Program Manager, Analytics
michelle.lucatorto@va.gov
304-620-7111
Elizabeth Czekanski 
Elizabeth Czekanski, DNP, MS, RN-BC, NE-BC, VHA-CM
Mental Health Clinical Nurse Advisor (ONS Staff)
Elizabeth.Czekanski@va.gov
(412) 801-1125
Penny Kaye Jensen 
Penny Kaye Jensen, DNP, APRN, FNP-C, FAAN, FAANP
Program Manager, APRN
penny.jensen@va.gov
Colleen Walsh-Irwin 
Colleen Walsh-Irwin, DNP, ANP-BC, AACC, FAANP
Program Manager, Evidence Based Practice
colleen.walsh-irwin@va.gov
631-827-9795

Jade Moore 
Jade T Moore, RN, MS
Program Manager, Staffing, Access and Productivity
jade.moore@va.gov
443-257-7489

Teresa England 
Teresa England, PhD, RN
Program Manager, Access, Productivity and Staffing
Teresa.England@va.gov
423-794-0160

Heather Arredondo 
Heather Arredondo, DHA, RN, VHA-CM 
Program Manager, Nurse Professional Standards Boards
heather.arredondo@va.gov
214-418-5165

Kathryn Rugen 
Kathryn Wirtz Rugen, PhD, FNP-BC, FAANP, FAAN
Program Manager, Research
kathryn.rugen@va.gov
312-402-7364

Lygia Arcaro 
Lygia Lee Arcaro, PhD, RN
VHA SimLEARN National Director, Nursing Programs
lygia.arcaro@va.gov
407-631-9510

Jimmy Boerschmann 
Jimmy Boerschmann, RN, BSN, MSHC 
Field Advisor, Care Coordination & Integrated Case Management Initiative
jimmy.boerschmann@va.gov
706-627-2796

Beth Sprinkle 
Beth Sprinkle, LCSW, C-ASWCM, MVF-ASW
Field Advisor, Care Coordination & Integrated Case Management Initiative
elizabeth.sprinkle@va.gov
804-306-9357

Verna Wells 
Verna B. Wells, MSN, RN, CCM
Field Advisor, Care Coordination & Integrated Case Management Initiative
verna.wells1@va.gov
713-825-1482

Melanie Rouch 
Melanie L. Rouch, MSW, LCSW-C 
Field Advisor, Care Coordination & Integrated Case Management Initiative
melanie.rouch@va.gov
706-945-9431

 

Clinical Contact Centers Staff

Scott Ballard 
M. Scott Ballard
Program Analyst, Clinical Contact Centers
404-860-6114

Office Staff

Ila Flannigan, MHSA, FACHE
Supervisory Health System Specialist
202-461-5718

Tiffany Stubbs, MBA
Health Systems Specialist
Workforce/Leadership
202-461-5125
Sean Campbell MHA
Health Systems Specialist
Clinical Practice
202-461-6651
Amos Mburu, MHA
Health System Specialist
Policy/Legislation
202-461-6467

Carmen Kestner
Staff Assistant
202-461-6792

Austin Moore, MS
Management Analyst
414-379-1506

Kelly Morrow
Program Specialist
269-419-9009

Shameka Jackson
Program Specialist
202-461-6489

Dawn Berry
Program Specialist
202-461-6975

Lenicia Smith
Staff Assistant
202-461-6814

Janye Laity
Program Specialist
202-461-6714

Angelque Nelson
Program Specialist
202-461-0628


 

Office of Nursing Services Main Telephone Number: 202-461-6700

VA Headquarters (10A1)
810 Vermont Ave., N.W.
Washington, DC 20420
Office Fax: 202-461-0933
email ONS