Celebrating 25 Years - Center for Minority Veterans (CMV)
Attention A T users. To access the menus on this page please perform the following steps. 1. Please switch auto forms mode to off. 2. Hit enter to expand a main menu option (Health, Benefits, etc). 3. To enter and activate the submenu links, hit the down arrow. You will now be able to tab or arrow up or down through the submenu options to access/activate the submenu links.
Attention A T users. To access the combo box on this page please perform the following steps. 1. Press the alt key and then the down arrow. 2. Use the up and down arrows to navigate this combo box. 3. Press enter on the item you wish to view. This will take you to the page listed.
Veterans Crisis Line Badge

Center for Minority Veterans (CMV)


Celebrating 25 Years

25th Anniversary - 1994-2019

The Center for Minority Veterans (CMV) Commemorated its 25th Anniversary on December 5, 2019 during its annual Advisory Committee on Minority Veterans (ACMV) fall meeting.

The ceremony started with an invocation from Chaplain Marvin L. Mills, and included introductory remarks from Stephen B. Dillard, CMV Executive Director, and special guest VA Secretary Robert Wilkie who gave keynote remarks and presented the Presidential Message. The ceremony was attended by former CMV Directors Lucretia McClenney (2005) and Barbara Ward (2012) along with previous Deputy/Associate Directors: Anthony “Tony” Hawkins (1994) and Ruby L. Miller (2002). Current and former CMV and ACMV members also attended. The Secretary, along with all CMV and ACMV (past and present) in attendance were awarded with the inaugural CMV 25th Anniversary Commemoration poker chip.

CMV was established on November 2, 1994, under Section 509 of Public Law 103-446; section 510 of the law also established the Advisory Committee on Minority Veterans (ACMV). The law authorized the VA Secretary to establish a Center for Minority Veterans to advise the Secretary on the adoption and implementation of policies and programs affecting minority Veterans.

Over the past 25 years, CMV has been instrumental in ensuring minority Veterans are knowledgeable of VA benefits and services and understand how to take advantage of those services. In addition to celebrating its 25th anniversary, 2019 was a banner year for the Center as they reached a record number of Veterans through their outreach efforts and hosted the first-ever National Minority Veterans Summit in Dallas, TX.

Images Gallery

The Honorable Secretary Robert L. Wilkie delivers heartfelt remarks during the 25th Anniversary Commemoration CMV Deputy Director Dennis O. May applauds the Secretary being joined at the podium by CMV Director Stephen Dillard The past and present members of both the CMV and the ACMV pose for a group photo. Pictured from left to right: (bottom row) Barbara Ward, Lucretia McClenney, Ruby Miller, Anthony Hawkins, Stephen Dillard; (top row) Dennis May, Nestor Aliga, Denise Wright, Carlos Rivera, Carl McPherson, Dr. Glenda L. Wrenn-Gordon, Dwayne Campbell, Juanita Mullen, Robert B. “Bobby” McDonald, Margaret G. “Muggs” Garvin, Irvin Lyons Jr., Lisa Carrington Firmin, Ron Sagudan, Wilmya Goldsberry, Dorothy A. Button, Dee Jacobs, Robson M. Henry, ACMV Chairwoman Ginger M. Miller, and William “Bill” Cundiff Stephen Dillard, Barbara Ward, Lucretia McClenney along side prior CMV Associate/Deputy Directors Ruby Miller and Tony Hawkins Stephen Dillard stands with his predecessors Barbara Ward and Lucretia McClenney The Secretary addresses CMV Director and Deputy Director during his remarks The Secretary presents the Presidential Message to CMV Director Stephen Dillard during the CMV’s 25th Anniversary Commemoration 25th Anniversay Celebration Cake Advisory Committee for Minority Veterans

Subscribe to Receive Email Updates

Contact Us