Attention A T users. To access the menus on this page please perform the following steps. 1. Please switch auto forms mode to off. 2. Hit enter to expand a main menu option (Health, Benefits, etc). 3. To enter and activate the submenu links, hit the down arrow. You will now be able to tab or arrow up or down through the submenu options to access/activate the submenu links.

Geriatrics and Extended Care

Menu
Menu

Quick Links

Veterans Crisis Line Badge
My healthevet badge
EBenefits Badge
 

Gerofit - Enrollment

Home  |  Success Stories  |  Enrollment  |  Program Background  |  Contact  |  Learn more about Well-being

Gerofit Logo
How to enroll in Gerofit

We have established Gerofit programs at VA Medical Centers across the country! The current sites are listed below.

  • To be eligible for the program, you must be a Veteran enrolled with the Veterans Health Administration.
  • Your overall health should be stable and sufficient for you to participate without needing continuous assistance.
  • Your primary care provider will need to help you enroll in the program.
  • If you are close to one of the medical centers listed below, please contact the program director at that medical center.
Home Exercise Programs

If you are in one of these areas but live too far away to attend Gerofit classes, some program directors offer a one-time telephone counseling to set up a home exercise program.

Other National Exercise Programs

There are several other exercise programs for older people that are offered in communities across the US. Click on this link and go to the "Stay Active" tab to find out more about these programs. www.va.gov/GERIATRICS/Guide/LongTermCare/Wellness.asp

VA Gerofit locatiions in the US.
VA Gerofit Locations

Gerofit Ann Arbor VA Health Care System (VISN 10)
Neil Alexander, MD, Program Director, nalexand@umich.edu, (734) 845-3043
Katie Althuis, MA, Exercise Physiologist, elderk@med.umich.edu, (734) 998-7424
Martina Nabozny, Clinical Study Coordinator, mgrenier@med.umich.edu,(734)998-7422
Deb Strasburg, PT, MS, Physical Therapist, dstrasbu@med.umich.edu, (734) 998-7423

Gerofit Baltimore VA Health Care System (VISN 5)
Leslie Katzel, MD, PhD, Program Director, Baltimore VAGRECC, Leslie.Katzel@va.gov
Jamie Giffuni, MA, Program Manager, Jamie.Giffuni@va.gov, 410-605-7000 ext 4840
Bethany Lyons, MS, Exercise Physiologist, Bethany.Lyons@va.gov
Rebecca Melvin, MS, Exercise Physiologist, Rebecca.Melvin@va.gov

Gerofit Canandaigua VA Health Care System with outreach toRochester CBOC (VISN 2)
Teri Kopp, PT, MBA, Program Director, Teresa.Kopp@va.gov, 585-463-2600 ext 32529
Heather Cammarata, PTA, Program Coordinator
Erek Biddle, MS, EP-C, CSCS, EIM2, Exercise Physiologist
Greg Reynolds, MS, EP-C, CSCS, EIM2, Exercise Physiologist
Doug Costello, MS, Exercise Physiologist
Patrick Conway, MS, EP-C, CSCS, Exercise Physiologist

Gerofit Cincinnati VA Health Care System (VISN 10)
Alice Holder, PT, DPT, MHS, Program Director, CincinnatiVAMC GRECC,
Madeline L. Versteeg, PT MMSc GCS CEEAA, Gerofit Instructor
Courtney Kindler, PT DPT ATC, Gerofit Instructor, Courtney.Kindler2@va.gov, 513-861-3100 ext 3031
Susan B. Patel, PT DPT CEEAA, Gerofit Instructor
Frank Vieth, PTA RYT, Gerofit Yoga Instructor

Gerofit Denver VA Health Care System (VISN 19)
Wendy M Kohrt, PhD, Associate Director Research, E Co VA GRECC, Wendy.Kohrt@ucdenver.edu, Wendy.Kohrt@va.gov, 303-921-9472
Lauren Abbate, MD, GRECC Physician, Lauren.Abbate@ucdenver.edu, Lauren.Abbate@va.gov, 303-399-8020 ext 3177

Gerofit Durham VA Health Care System (VISN 6)
Miriam Morey, PH.D., Program Director, Miriam.Morey@va.gov, 919-286-0411 ext 6776
Megan Pearson, MA, Program Manager
Juantia Applewhite, MHA, BSN, RN, Gerofit Nurse
Kenneth Manning, MS Exercise Physiologist
Stephen Jennings, MS, RCEP, Exercise Physiologist
Janet Prvu Bettger, ScD, Implementation Scientist

Gerofit Honolulu VA Health Care System (VISN 21)
Michelle McDonald, OTR, Program Director, Michelle.McDonald@va.gov, 808-433-7848
Marcie Kaai, OTR
Grace Mariano, PTA
Charlene Sison, PTA
Sailimalo Harrington, LPN

Gerofit Little Rock VA Health Care System (VISN 16)
Kalpana Padala, MD, Program Director, Kalpana.Padala@va.gov, 501-257-2044
Tammy Evans, RN, Gerofit Nurse, Tammy.Evans3@va.gov
Tanya Taylor, RN, Administrative Nurse, Tanya.Taylor@va.gov, 501-257-2502
Rachele Mcauley, MSA

Gerofit Greater Los Angeles VA Health Care System (VISN 22)
Cathy Lee, MD, Program Director, Greater Los Angeles VA GRECC, Cathy.Lee2@va.gov, 310-478-3711 ext 42627
Steven Castle, MD, Program Lead, Associate Director-Clinical, Greater Los Angeles VA GRECC, Steven.Castle@va.gov
Erin Blanchard, MS, Kinesiologist
Christian Roberts, PhD, Exercise Physiologist
David Segovia, Exercise Instructor

Gerofit Miami VA Health Care System (VISN 8)
Willy Valencia, MD, Program Director, Miami VA GRECC, Willy.Valencia-Rodrigo@va.gov, 305-575-7000 ext 3388
Nakole Coleman, BS, MS, CPT, Recreation Therapist
Arthur Condill, Exercise Instructor
Diego Henriquez, Health Technician

Gerofit Pittsburgh VA Health Care System (VISN 4)
Daniel Forman, MD, Program Director, FormanD@pitt.edu
Rebecca (Beckey) Smith, PT, MPT, MS, GCS, Program Lead, Rebecca.Smith14@va.gov, (412) 360-1358
Garrett Kellar, MS, RCEP, CCRP, EP-C, Program Lead, (412) 688-6000
Laurene Hardy, MSN, CRNP, NP-C, FNP-BC, Chart Reviews, Laurene.Hardy@va.gov
Kelly Allsup, Exercise Physiologist, Finances, Kelly.Allsup@va.gov, (412) 360-2489
James Kostra, MS CCRP, Exercise Physiologist
Thomas Byard, MS, Exercise Physiologist

Gerofit Puget Sound VA Health Care System (VISN 20)
Arti Tayade, MD, Program Director, Arti.Tayade@va.gov, 206-277-1473
Alan Wesley, Program Coordinator, Alan.Wesley@va.gov
Paul Froehlich, PT, Physical Therapist, Paul.Froehlich@va.gov, 253-583-1865

Gerofit Salem VA Health Care System (VISN 6)
Kris Ann Oursler, MD, ScM, Program Director, KrisAnn.Oursler@va.gov, 540-982-2463 ext 2029
Elaine Bryant, MSN RN, Program Coordinator, Elaine.Bryant@va.gov, 540-982-2463 ext. 4059
Whitney Duff, EP-C, Exercise Physiologist,
Brandon Briggs, MS, CEP, Exercise Physiologist
Chani Jain, MBA, MPH, Grants & Data Manager