Upcoming Events - Veterans Experiencing Homelessness
Attention A T users. To access the menus on this page please perform the following steps. 1. Please switch auto forms mode to off. 2. Hit enter to expand a main menu option (Health, Benefits, etc). 3. To enter and activate the submenu links, hit the down arrow. You will now be able to tab or arrow up or down through the submenu options to access/activate the submenu links.
Attention A T users. To access the combo box on this page please perform the following steps. 1. Press the alt key and then the down arrow. 2. Use the up and down arrows to navigate this combo box. 3. Press enter on the item you wish to view. This will take you to the page listed.
Menu
Menu

Stay Connected with the VHA Homeless Programs Office

Sign up for email updates.

Subscribe
Contact the Homeless Veterans Outreach
E-Donate
Veterans Crisis Line Badge
help for homeless veterans

Veterans Experiencing Homelessness

 

Upcoming Events

volunteers helping veterans

Due to COVID-19, Stand Down events may be cancelled or postponed until further notice. To verify, check with your local VAMC or Stand Down POCs.

Operation Reveille

Operation Reveille events aim to provide Veterans with the housing and wraparound services they need to successfully exit homelessness—in just one day. To share more about this groundbreaking collaborative effort, VA recently hosted a webinar with community partners.

Operation Reveille events bring together government agencies, faith-based organizations, housing providers, nonprofit agencies, and local businesses to connect homeless Veterans with permanent supportive housing; intensive case management; benefits eligibility screening; and employment, legal assistance, and mental health services. Since 2014, annual Operation Reveille events held in Tampa, Florida, have placed more than 100 Veterans in permanent supportive housing over the initiative’s three years.

During the Operation Reveille webinar, we discussed best practices for event hosting and promotion, shared “how-to” information on involving local collaborators, and addressed common questions. Learn more about Operation Reveille events by downloading the webinar slides below, which include an event checklist to help guide your planning efforts.

Learn more about Operation Reveille events by downloading the webinar slides, including an event checklist to help guide your planning efforts. For more details on planning and hosting an Operation Reveille in your community, download the full webinar transcript or reach out to the points of contact listed below.

Points of Contact for Operation Reveille Events

These points of contact are for inquiries concerning Operation Reveille ONLY. For questions regarding Stand Down events, please see next section.

Anthony Love, Senior Advisor and Director of Community Engagement, Veterans Health Administration Homeless Programs
Anthony.Love@va.gov

Antoinette Hayes-Triplett, CEO, Tampa Hillsborough Homeless Initiative
TriplettA@thhi.org

Materials

Download the Operation Reveille Webinar PDF
Download the Operation Reveille Transcript PDF

Upcoming Events

DatesName of EventLocationMore Information
No Events      

Stand Downs

Stand Downs are typically one- to three-day events during which VA staff and volunteers provide food, clothing and health screenings to homeless and at-risk Veterans. In addition, Veterans also receive referrals for health care, housing solutions, employment, substance use treatment, mental health counseling and other essential services.

Below are upcoming Stand Downs. New events are added regularly, so check this page often for updates. To add upcoming Stand Downs not listed below, please submit a notice of proposed event form to the VA Homeless Coordinator or VA Stand Down point of contact (POC) at your local VA Medical Center.

To participate in an upcoming Stand Down, please contact the VA primary POC listed below.

DatesLocationVA Primary POCAlternate POC
January 15, 2021 Kingman, AZ Jolene Cook
(928) 605-2468
Jolene.Cook@va.gov
Thomas Casados
(928) 718-7396
Thomas.Casados@va.gov
January 23, 2021 Racine, WI Zachary Zdroik
(262) 638-6702
Zachary.Zdroik@racinecounty.com
Shawn Rivers
(262) 638-6702
Shawn.Rivers@racinecounty.com
February 13, 2021 Cleveland, OH Reaver Nelson
(216) 391-0264, x48627
Reaver.Nelson@va.gov
Denise Smith
(216) 471-7411
Denise.Smith26071d@va.gov
March 5, 2021 Tuscaloosa, AL Cristina Rice
(205) 554-2000, x4403
Cristina.Rice@va.gov
Kenneth Turner
(205) 554-2000, x4400
Kenneth.Turner3@va.gov
March 26, 2021 Augusta, GA Sabrina Faircloth
(706) 733-0188, x6375
Sabrina.Faircloth@va.gov
Sherron "Tony" Bostic
(706) 733-0188, x6391
Sherron.Bostic@va.gov
May 3 - 7, 2021 Auburn, CA Tristan Ring
(925) 372-2455
Tristan.Ring@va.gov
Robert Hipwell
(916) 778-9495
roberthipwell1@gmail.com
May 14, 2021 Decatur, IL Thomas Nguyen
(217) 516-1875
Thomas.Nguyen7@va.gov
John Buckles
(217) 372-6629
John.Buckles@usc.salvationarmy.org
June 18, 2021 Worcester, MA Stephen Gagnon
(413) 588-8820
Stephen.Gagnon@va.gov
Sherry Callahan
(508) 791-1213, x1154
sherrycallahan@veteransinc.org
September 9 - 11, 2021 Marysville, CA Tristan Ring
(925) 372-2455
Tristan.Ring@va.gov
Michael Nichols
(530) 749-1036
nichols.mikea@comcast.net
September 14, 2021 Savannah, GA Ruth Keith
(912) 920-0214, x2100
Ruth.Keith@va.gov
Ukia Sims
(912) 920-0214, x2086
Ukia.Sims@va.gov
September 24, 2021 Myrtle Beach, SC Scott Perez
(843) 940-0850
Scott.Perez@va.gov
Walter Gibbins
(843) 952-4262
Walter.Gibbins@va.gov