OIG Seal
Department of Veterans Affairs, Office of Inspector General
Michael J. Missal, Inspector General

Oversight Reports

Inspection of the VA Regional Office Anchorage, Alaska

9/29/2017 | 17-02084-343 | Summary | Report | 5 Recommendations

Legend:   Open|   Closed

No. 1   to Veterans Benefits Administration (VBA)

We recommended the Anchorage VA Regional Office Director implement a plan to ensure prioritization of proposed rating reduction cases for completion at the expiration of the due process time period.

No. 2   to Veterans Benefits Administration (VBA)

We recommended the Anchorage VA Regional Office Director strengthen oversight to ensure data input at the time of claims establishment is reviewed for accuracy.

No. 3   to Veterans Benefits Administration (VBA)

We recommended the Anchorage VA Regional Office Director implement a plan to monitor the effectiveness of training related to claims establishment procedures.

No. 4   to Veterans Benefits Administration (VBA)

We recommended the Anchorage VA Regional Office Director provide training for designated congressional liaison staff who process special controlled correspondence and monitor the effectiveness of the training.

No. 5   to Veterans Benefits Administration (VBA)

We recommended the Anchorage VA Regional Office Director implement a plan to ensure oversight is strengthened for special controlled correspondence.

Total Monetary Impact of All Recommendations

These recommendations have no monetary value.

Inspection of the VA Regional Office Winston-Salem, North Carolina

9/28/2017 | 17-00266-349 | Summary | Report | 7 Recommendations

Legend:   Open|   Closed

No. 1   to Veterans Benefits Administration (VBA)

We recommended the Winston-Salem Regional Office Director develop and implement a plan to monitor the effectiveness of training on higher-level special monthly compensation and ancillary benefits claims at the Winston-Salem VA Regional Office.

No. 2   to Veterans Benefits Administration (VBA)

We recommended the Winston-Salem VARO Director develop and implement a plan to ensure secondary reviewers accurately evaluate higher-level special monthly compensation and ancillary benefits claims at the Winston-Salem VA Regional Office.

No. 3   to Veterans Benefits Administration (VBA)

We recommended the North Atlantic District Director implement a plan to ensure oversight and prioritization of proposed rating reduction cases at the Winston-Salem VA Regional Office.

No. 4   to Veterans Benefits Administration (VBA)

We recommended that the Winston-Salem VARO Director ensure management provides a consistent quality review process addressing all elements required when establishing claims in the electronic record.

No. 5   to Veterans Benefits Administration (VBA)

We recommended the Winston-Salem VA Regional Office Director ensure VSC staff receive all mandatory annual training on claims establishment procedures.

No. 6   to Veterans Benefits Administration (VBA)

We recommended the Winston-Salem VA Regional Office Director implement a plan to ensure the Public Contact Coach and Congressional Liaisons adhere to Veterans Benefits Administration policy when processing special controlled correspondence.

No. 7   to Veterans Benefits Administration (VBA)

We recommended the Winston-Salem VA Regional Office Director provide standardized training to Congressional Liaisons on processing special controlled correspondence.

Total Monetary Impact of All Recommendations

These recommendations have no monetary value.

Inspection of the VA Regional Office, Detroit, Michigan

9/21/2017 | 17-02073-317 | Summary | Report | 4 Recommendations

Legend:   Open|   Closed

No. 1   to Veterans Benefits Administration (VBA)

We recommended the Detroit VA Regional Office Director develop and implement a plan to improve the accuracy of the second-signature review process for higher-level Special Monthly Compensation and ancillary benefits.

No. 2   to Veterans Benefits Administration (VBA)

We recommended the Detroit VA Regional Office Director implement a plan to conduct comprehensive training for Claims Assistants that emphasizes the importance of ensuring all elements are considered when establishing claims, and assess the effectiveness of that training.

No. 3   to Veterans Benefits Administration (VBA)

We recommended the Detroit VA Regional Office Director implement a plan to modify the quality review checklist on claims establishment to include claim label and claimed issue classification indicators.

No. 4   to Veterans Benefits Administration (VBA)

We recommended the Detroit VA Regional Office Director implement a plan to ensure staff adhere to Veterans Benefits Administration policy and use the correct dates of claim for end products 500 used to manage special controlled correspondence.

Total Monetary Impact of All Recommendations

These recommendations have no monetary value.

Inspection of the VA Regional Office San Juan, Puerto Rico

9/11/2017 | 17-02079-328 | Summary | Report | 2 Recommendations

Legend:   Open|   Closed

No. 1   to Veterans Benefits Administration (VBA)

We recommended that the San Juan VA Regional Office Director develop and implement a plan to ensure secondary reviewers accurately evaluate higher-level special monthly compensation and ancillary benefits claims.

No. 2   to Veterans Benefits Administration (VBA)

We recommended that the San Juan VA Regional Office Director implement a plan to ensure Veterans Service Center claims processing staff receive additional training on systems compliance and claims establishment procedures.

Total Monetary Impact of All Recommendations

These recommendations have no monetary value.

Inspection of the VA Regional Office St. Louis, Missouri

9/7/2017 | 17-02150-340 | Summary | Report | 8 Recommendations

Legend:   Open|   Closed

No. 1   to Veterans Benefits Administration (VBA)

We recommended the St. Louis VA Regional Office Director implement a plan to provide refresher training on Special Monthly Compensation and monitor the effectiveness of that training.

No. 2   to Veterans Benefits Administration (VBA)

We recommended the St. Louis VA Regional Office Director implement a plan to ensure Special Monthly Compensation rating decisions receive a second signature review by a designated subject matter expert for processing.

No. 3   to Veterans Benefits Administration (VBA)

We recommended the St. Louis VA Regional Office Director implement a training plan, conducted by qualified staff, on the proper processing of rating reductions, and monitor the effectiveness of that training.

No. 4   to Veterans Benefits Administration (VBA)

We recommended the St. Louis VA Regional Office Director implement a plan to ensure rating reduction cases are processed at the end of the due process time period to minimize overpayments.

No. 5   to Veterans Benefits Administration (VBA)

We recommended the St. Louis VA Regional Office Director implement a plan to monitor the effectiveness of recent training for claims establishment.

No. 6   to Veterans Benefits Administration (VBA)

We recommended the St. Louis VA Regional Office Director implement a plan to ensure data input at the time of claims establishment is reviewed for accuracy.

No. 7   to Veterans Benefits Administration (VBA)

We recommended the St. Louis VA Regional Office Director implement a training plan on how to properly process special controlled correspondence, and monitor the effectiveness of that training.

No. 8   to Veterans Benefits Administration (VBA)

We recommended the St. Louis VA Regional Office Director allocate resources to process special controlled correspondence to ensure timely responses.

Total Monetary Impact of All Recommendations

These recommendations have no monetary value.

Inspection of the VA Regional Office Wilmington, Delaware

9/6/2017 | 17-00970-327 | Summary | Report | 3 Recommendations

Legend:   Open|   Closed

No. 1   to Veterans Benefits Administration (VBA)

We recommended the Wilmington VA Regional Office Director implement a plan to assess the effectiveness of second-signature reviews for Special Monthly Compensation and Ancillary Benefits claims.

No. 2   to Veterans Benefits Administration (VBA)

We recommended the Wilmington VA Regional Office Director implement plans to ensure the effectiveness of training conducted on processing claims for higher-level Special Monthly Compensation and Ancillary Benefits.

No. 3   to Veterans Benefits Administration (VBA)

We recommended that the Wilmington VA Regional Office Director implement a plan to ensure management provides a consistent quality review process which addresses all elements required when establishing claims in the electronic record and monitor the effectiveness of that plan.

Total Monetary Impact of All Recommendations

These recommendations have no monetary value.

Inspection of the VA Regional Office Denver, Colorado

9/5/2017 | 17-01354-336 | Summary | Report | 4 Recommendations

Legend:   Open|   Closed

No. 1   to Veterans Benefits Administration (VBA)

We recommended the Denver VA Regional Director implement a plan to complete proposed rating reduction cases at the end of the due process period.

No. 2   to Veterans Benefits Administration (VBA)

We recommended that the Denver VA Regional Office Director implement a plan to ensure all claims processing staff receive formal training on claims establishment procedures and monitor the effectiveness of that training.

No. 3   to Veterans Benefits Administration (VBA)

We recommended the Denver VA Regional Office Director implement a plan to ensure data input at the time of claims establishment is reviewed for accuracy.

No. 4   to Veterans Benefits Administration (VBA)

We recommended the Denver VA Regional Office Director implement a plan to update the checklist used to evaluate quality at the time of claims establishment.

Total Monetary Impact of All Recommendations

These recommendations have no monetary value.

Inspection of the VA Regional Office Philadelphia, Pennsylvania

8/24/2017 | 17-01276-300 | Summary | Report | 5 Recommendations

Legend:   Open|   Closed

No. 1   to Veterans Benefits Administration (VBA)

We recommended the Philadelphia VA Regional Office Director develop and implement a plan to assess the accuracy of secondary reviews involving higher-level Special Monthly Compensation and ancillary benefits.

No. 2   to Veterans Benefits Administration (VBA)

We recommended the Philadelphia VA Regional Office Director implement a plan to ensure prioritization of proposed rating reduction cases for completion at the expiration of the due process time period.

No. 3   to Veterans Benefits Administration (VBA)

We recommended the Philadelphia VA Regional Office Director implement a plan to assess the effectiveness of the most recent claims establishment training.

No. 4   to Veterans Benefits Administration (VBA)

We recommended the Philadelphia VA Regional Office Director provide training on special controlled correspondence to ensure accurate and complete responses to the veteran and Congressional staff, and monitor the effectiveness of the training.

No. 5   to Veterans Benefits Administration (VBA)

We recommended the Philadelphia VA Regional Office Director improve oversight of special controlled correspondence.

Total Monetary Impact of All Recommendations

These recommendations have no monetary value.

Inspection of the VA Regional Office Louisville, Kentucky

8/23/2017 | 17-00394-298 | Summary | Report | 5 Recommendations

Legend:   Open|   Closed

No. 1   to Veterans Benefits Administration (VBA)

We recommended the Louisville VA Regional Office Director assess the effectiveness of the most recent refresher training for higher level special monthly compensation.

No. 2   to Veterans Benefits Administration (VBA)

We recommended the Louisville VA Regional Office Director implement a plan to strengthen oversight and assess the accuracy of secondary reviews involving higher-level special monthly compensation and ancillary benefits.

No. 3   to Veterans Benefits Administration (VBA)

We recommended the Louisville VA Regional Office Director implement a plan to ensure prioritization of proposed rating reduction cases for completion at the expiration of the due process time period.

No. 4   to Veterans Benefits Administration (VBA)

We recommended the Louisville VA Regional Office Director implement a plan to conduct training that emphasizes date of claim policies and accurate contention classifications, and to monitor the effectiveness of the training.

No. 5   to Veterans Benefits Administration (VBA)

We recommended the Louisville VA Regional Office Director implement a plan to strengthen oversight for newly hired staff who establish claims.

Total Monetary Impact of All Recommendations

These recommendations have no monetary value.

Inspection of the VA Regional Office Phoenix, Arizona

8/17/2017 | 17-00515-299 | Summary | Report | 7 Recommendations

Legend:   Open|   Closed

No. 1   to Veterans Benefits Administration (VBA)

We recommended the Phoenix VA Regional Office Director implement a plan to ensure Rating Veterans Service Representatives follow second signature policy requirements for special monthly compensation rating decisions and perform an effective review.

No. 2   to Veterans Benefits Administration (VBA)

We recommended the Phoenix VA Regional Office Director implement a plan to improve the second signature review process for special monthly compensation rating decisions.

No. 3   to Veterans Benefits Administration (VBA)

We recommended the Phoenix VA Regional Director implement a plan to prioritize proposed rating reduction cases for completion at the end of the due process time period.

No. 4   to Veterans Benefits Administration (VBA)

We recommended the Phoenix VA Regional Office Director implement a plan to ensure data input at the time of claims establishment is accurate.

No. 5   to Veterans Benefits Administration (VBA)

We recommended the Phoenix VA Regional Office Director implement a plan to update the checklist used to evaluate quality at the time of claims establishment.

No. 6   to Veterans Benefits Administration (VBA)

We recommended the Phoenix VA Regional Office Director provide training to congressional liaisons on special controlled correspondence to ensure all documents are included in the electronic record in accordance with current Veterans Benefits Administration guidance.

No. 7   to Veterans Benefits Administration (VBA)

We recommended the Phoenix VA Regional Office Director update the office’s local procedures relating to special controlled correspondence in accordance with current Veterans Benefits Administration procedures.

Total Monetary Impact of All Recommendations

These recommendations have no monetary value.

Filter Options

Use the controls below to filter the list of oversight reports. Click on the headings to view the filter choices.

Current Filter

  • Report Type: Benefits Inspection

Records 1 - 10 of 131 oversight reports that match your filter criteria.

2/23/2018 2:07:52 PM


Date RangeRemove

Limits the list of reports to those published in the date range specified below.

Report LocationRemove

Limits the list of reports to those pertaining to the cities selected below. Hold down the control key to select multiple values or to toggle an individual value on or off.

VA Administration/Staff OfficeRemove

Limits the list of reports to those pertaining to the VA offices selected below. Hold down the control key to select multiple values or to toggle an individual value on or off.

Report TypeRemove

Limits the list of reports to the report types selected below. Hold down the control key to select multiple values or to toggle an individual value on or off. For a description of the types of oversight reports published by the OIG, please visit our Reports and Publications homepage.

OIG Report AuthorRemove

Limits reports to those authored by specific OIG elements. Hold down the control key to select multiple values or to toggle an individual value on or off.

Report NumbersRemove

Helpful for finding reports if you know the report number. Separate multiple values with semicolons.

Search TermsRemove

Limit the results to reports that match your search terms.

Recommendation StatusRemove

Limits reports to those with open or closed recommendations.

Recommendation Action OfficeRemove

Limits reports to those with recommendations specific to the following VA Offices

Displaying records at a time.