

News Release Office of Public Affairs Media Relations Washington, DC 20420 (202) 461-7600

www.va.gov

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE Dec. 5, 2017

VA Announces Formation of Veterans and Community

Oversight and Engagement Board Advisory Committee for Los Angeles Area

Group will focus on improving services for Veteran and, active duty service members

WASHINGTON — Today the U.S. Department of Veterans Affairs (VA) announced the formation of the Veterans and Community Oversight and Engagement Board Federal Advisory Committee, part of its commitment to supporting Veterans and their families in the greater Los Angeles area.

The committee will coordinate with the local LA local community and VA to identify goals and provide advice and recommendations to the VA Secretary to improve services and outcomes for Veterans, members of the armed forces and their families.

"The creation of this committee supports VA's goal of educating and empowering Veterans and their families through outreach and advocacy," said VA Secretary Dr. David J. Shulkin. "We will focus on initiatives such as assisting homeless Veterans in the Greater Los Angeles area, supporting underserved populations of women Veterans, aging Veterans, physically or mentally disabled Veterans and those with addiction issues.

The new committee will be chaired by retired Air Force Lt. Gen. John D. Hopper Jr., a noted advocate for Veterans and their families. Hopper completed 35 years of service as a combat pilot, and is currently CEO of the Air Force Aid Society. While on active duty, he completed two Air Force assignments in the Los Angeles area, including as the commander of Norton Air Force Base in San Bernadino, California, as it prepared to close.

"VA is honored that General Hopper will chair this important committee," said Shulkin said.

The following members will serve alongside Hopper on the committee: Phillip H. Tagami, (vice chairman); Anthony P. Allman; Arthur M. DelaCruz; Raymond G. Delgado; Kate A. Holt; Lisa J. Mahoney; Phillip F. Managano; Roger B. McReiane; Daisy C. Mo; Terrence P. Pallend; Stephen W. Rutledge; Jeffrey A. Scheire; David Tenenbaum; and Debra L. Thomas.

Additional information about the committee may be found on the Federal Register.