Citation Nr: 0845012 Decision Date: 12/31/08 Archive Date: 01/07/09 DOCKET NO. 06-04 972 ) DATE ) ) On appeal from the Department of Veterans Affairs Regional Office in Louisville, Kentucky THE ISSUE Entitlement to recognition as the veteran's surviving spouse for VA death benefits purposes. REPRESENTATION Appellant represented by: Disabled American Veterans WITNESS AT HEARING ON APPEAL Appellant ATTORNEY FOR THE BOARD Thomas H. O'Shay, Counsel INTRODUCTION The veteran had active military service from October 1978 to October 1981. He died in March 2005. He was married to the appellant at the time of his death. This matter comes before the Board of Veterans' Appeals (Board) on appeal of an April 2005 rating decision by the Department of Veterans Affairs (VA) Regional Office (RO) in Louisville, Kentucky. In April 2007 the appellant cancelled her request for a Board hearing and requested a hearing before a Decision Review Officer instead. She attended the that hearing in March 2008. FINDINGS OF FACT 1. The State of Kentucky does not recognize common law marriages; the appellant was aware of this impediment to marriage. 2. The appellant and the deceased veteran were married in a solemnized marriage ceremony in October 2004; no child was born of the marriage. 3. The veteran died in March 2005. CONCLUSION OF LAW The appellant is not entitled to recognition as the veteran's surviving spouse for purposes of VA death benefits. 38 U.S.C.A. §§ 101, 103 (West 2002); 38 C.F.R. §§ 3.1, 3.5, 3.50, 3.52, 3.54 (2008). REASONS AND BASES FOR FINDINGS AND CONCLUSION Under 38 U.S.C.A. § 5103, VA must notify the claimant of the information and evidence not of record that is necessary to substantiate the claim, and of which information and evidence that VA will seek to provide and which information and evidence the claimant is expected to provide. The appellant was not provided with notice of the information and evidence necessary to substantiate her claim prior to the April 2005 rating decision from which this appeal originates. The record reflects, however, that in the April 2005 notice of the rating decision, and in the May 2005 response to her notice of disagreement with the decision, the RO advised her of the information and evidence necessary to substantiate her claim. Her claim was readjudicated in a January 2006 statement of the case. See Mayfield v. Nicholson, 499 F.3d 1317, 1323-24 (Fed. Cir. 2007); Prickett v. Nicholson, 20 Vet. App. 370, 376-77 (2006). Moreover, the record shows that she has actual notice of the information and evidence necessary to substantiate her claim. She also has actual notice of the respective responsibilities of she and VA in obtaining evidence in support of her claim. In multiple statements and in testimony at the RO, she addressed the regulation at issue concerning the length of time to which she was married to the veteran. From the outset, she has presented extensive argument to establish that she and the veteran were involved in a common law marriage for years prior to his death, and has provided supporting evidence, as well as testimony, in this regard. The Board points out that the issue before the Board involves evidence which is under the appellant's control, and for which VA is clearly not in the position to obtain. Specifically, given that the appellant's marriage certificate is on file, the most relevant evidence is that tending to show that she and the veteran believed they were in a valid marriage prior to October 2004. Such evidence, including statements from those who knew them at the time, or bills they jointly paid, is within the control of the appellant to provide, and not reasonably within the province of VA to obtain. In addition, there simply is no indication that there is any more evidence to obtain in this case. See DelaCruz v. Principi, 15 Vet. App. 143, 149 (2001). In short, the appellant clearly is not only aware of what evidence is required in order to substantiate her claim, but has been proactive in securing such evidence, and there is no indication of any outstanding evidence left to be obtained. Under the circumstances the Board finds that any notice deficiency has been rebutted. See Sanders v. Nicholson, 487 F.3d 881 (Fed. Cir. 2007). Based on the procedural history of this case, it is the conclusion of the Board that VA has complied with any duty to notify obligations set forth in 38 U.S.C.A. § 5103(a). With respect to VA's duty to assist the appellant, the Board notes that pertinent records from all relevant sources identified by her, and for which she authorized VA to request, were obtained by the RO or, as it turns out, provided by the appellant herself. 38 U.S.C.A. § 5103A. In sum, the facts relevant to this appeal have been properly developed and there is no further action to be undertaken to comply with the provisions of 38 U.S.C.A. §§ 5103(a), 5103A, or 38 C.F.R. § 3.159. Therefore, the appellant will not be prejudiced as a result of the Board proceeding to the merits of the claim. See Bernard v. Brown, 4 Vet. App. 384, 392-94 (1993). Review of the claims files show that in all of his contacts with VA through the years, the veteran consistently reported living at addresses located in Kentucky. At no point did he report living at a [redacted] street address, and he only reported living at a [redacted] street address starting in 2004. In September 1994, the veteran identified his dependents to VA; those dependents were his spouse at the time, and their children. In January 1999 he submitted a VA Form 21-686c, Declaration of Status of Dependents, on which he reported a divorce from that spouse in November 1995, and listed two children as his dependents. In a May 1999 rating decision he was granted a total rating based on individual unemployability due to service-connected disabilities, and received additional compensation for his dependents. At no time prior to November 2004 did he mention the appellant, or otherwise identify her as a dependent. In November 2004, the veteran filed a second VA Form 21-686c, on which he listed the appellant as his spouse. This was the first mention by the veteran to VA of the appellant, and on the form he listed their marriage as occurring in October 2004 in Kentucky. He thereafter died in March 2005. At some point following his death, the appellant submitted a marriage certificate showing she and the veteran were married in a solemnized ceremony in October 2004. On her April 2005 application for VA death benefits, the appellant indicated that she and the veteran were married in October 2004. She indicated that she had divorced a former spouse in February 2002. In April 2005 the appellant submitted a document labeled a quitclaim deed completed in October 2002 purporting to convey certain property from the veteran to himself and the appellant as husband and wife. The document is not signed or notarized. In a March 2006 statement, Mr. E.L. explained that he had known the appellant for more than 15 years, and that although she had been married to the veteran for only a short time, they had been together for more than 3 years. He suggested there was a reason why they cohabitated for so long without marrying, but he refused to elaborate. In an April 2006 statement, Ms. N.A. indicates that she knew the veteran for 7 years and the appellant for 4 years. She explained that she knew they were husband and wife because the veteran told her this information. She indicated that she knew of them as husband and wife as of November 2004, but explained that they had lived together in a common law relationship prior to that time. In an April 2006 statement, Ms. T.T. indicates that she has known the appellant for 10 years, and that she knew the appellant had been in a committed relationship with the veteran even before their formal marriage. She explained that she knew they were husband and wife because the veteran and the appellant had told her this information. She noted that they had lived together since the Summer of 2003. In an April 2006 statement, the appellant indicated that he had divorced her prior husband in February 1998, and began living with the veteran as husband and wife in October 2000. She indicated that she and the veteran had not had children together. The appellant indicated that she and the veteran began living together at a [redacted] street address from October 2000 to August 2002, before moving to a [redacted] street address beginning in August 2002. In other statements on file the veteran contends that she and the veteran were at least in a common law marriage for the three years prior to his death. She indicates that she cared for him during his illnesses and performed the routine chores and caregiving expected of a spouse. At a March 2008 hearing before a decision review officer, the appellant testified that she and the veteran believed they were in a common law marriage for years before his death because they were cohabitating, sharing bills and responsibilities, and holding themselves out as husband and wife and as a family. Her sister testified that the appellant and the veteran held their relationship out as a common law marriage. The appellant testified that "religious overtones" following the death of the veteran's father led them to get a marriage certificate, although they still believed they were already married. The sister clarified that it was she who convinced them to make their marriage official. The representative argued that 38 C.F.R. § 3.54 should not apply to the appellant because that regulation was archaic and designed solely to exclude "women of unsavory character." Governing law provides that Dependency and Indemnity Compensation (DIC) benefits may be paid to the surviving spouse of the veteran if certain requirements are met. 38 U.S.C.A. §§ 1304, 1310, 1311, 1541 (West 2002); 38 C.F.R. § 3.5. A "surviving spouse" is defined as a person of the opposite sex who was the spouse of the veteran at the time of the veteran's death, and who lived with the veteran continuously from the date of marriage to the date of the veteran's death (except where there was a separation which was due to the misconduct of, or procured by, the veteran without the fault of the spouse) and who has not remarried or (in cases not involving remarriage) has not, since the death of the veteran, lived with another person and held himself or herself out openly to the public to be the spouse of such other person. See 38 U.S.C.A. § 101(3); 38 C.F.R. § 3.50. A surviving spouse may qualify for pension, compensation or dependency and indemnity compensation if the marriage to the veteran occurred before or during his or her service or, if married to him or her after his or her separation from service, for one year or more prior to the veteran's death, or for any period of time if a child was born of the marriage, or was born to them before the marriage. 38 C.F.R. § 3.54(a)(1),(2). Where an attempted marriage is invalid by reason of legal impediment, VA regulations allow for certain attempted marriages to be nevertheless "deemed valid" if specific legal requirements are met. Basically, such an attempted marriage will be "deemed valid" if (a) the attempted marriage occurred one year or more before the veteran died; and (b) the claimant entered into the marriage without knowledge of the impediment; and (c) the claimant cohabited with the veteran continuously from the date of the attempted marriage until his death; and (d) no other claimant has been found to be entitled to gratuitous VA death benefits. 38 U.S.C.A. § 103(a); 38 C.F.R. § 3.52. If the provisions of 38 C.F.R. § 3.205(a) are satisfied as well as those of 38 C.F.R. § 3.52, the claimant's signed statement that she had no knowledge of an impediment to a marriage to the veteran will be accepted as proof of the fact, in the absence of information to the contrary. 38 C.F.R. § 3.205(c). In VAOPGCPREC 58-91, VA's Office of General Counsel held that the requirement for a marriage ceremony by a jurisdiction, that does not recognize common-law marriage, constitutes a legal impediment to such a marriage for purposes of 38 U.S.C.A. § 103(a). See also Colon v. Brown, 9 Vet. App. 104 (1996). In the absence of conflicting information, proof of marriage by a copy of the public record of marriage containing sufficient data to identify the parties, date and place of marriage, and the number of prior marriages if shown on the official record along with a certified statement by the appellant concerning the date, place, and circumstances of the dissolution of any prior marriage may be accepted as establishing a valid marriage. Where there is conflicting information, proof of termination of a prior marriage will be shown by proof of death or a certified copy or abstract of a final divorce decree or annulment. 38 C.F.R. § 3.205(a), (b). The record shows, and the appellant does not dispute, that she and the veteran were formally married (i.e. in a solemnized ceremony) in October 2004 (less than one year prior to his death), and that no child was born at any point to the parties. She contends that she and the veteran nevertheless had a common law relationship for the three years prior to his death. The Board first points out that she and veteran could not have established a common law marriage in the Commonwealth of Kentucky, because that state prohibits that type of a marriage. See KY.REV.STAT.ANN § 402.020 (marriage prohibited and void when not solemnized or contracted in the presence of an authorized person or society); Gilbert v. Gilbert, 275 Ky. 559, 122 S.W. 2d. 137 (1938). The appellant contends that she and the veteran were unaware of that legal impediment when they entered into what they believed was a common law marriage. Moreover, the Board does not find credible the appellant's statements and testimony (nor those of her supporters) that she and the veteran lived together prior to their October 2004 marriage in a relationship they believed was a common law marriage. In this regard the Board points out that the veteran himself never mentioned the appellant to VA until November 2004. This is significant, given that he had been in receipt of a total disability rating since 1999, and was well aware that he could receive additional benefits from having another dependent added to his award. Moreover, the information provided by the appellant herself as to their cohabitation is not only internally inconsistent across several of her statements, but with the records on file. She initially claimed that they began living together around 2002 (i.e. three years prior to his death). She later contended that they began living together in October 2000, a substantial difference in time. Moreover, she contends that they lived together at a [redacted] street address from October 2000 to August 2002, and at a [redacted] street address from August 2002 until his death. The record shows, however, that the veteran reported several addresses between 1999 and 2004, none of which involved the [redacted] street address. He reported living at the [redacted] street address only starting in 2004. Although the veteran may have visited the appellant at the [redacted] street address, the evidence suggests he never lived with her at that location. The Board has also considered the quitclaim deed submitted by the appellant, but points out that it was not actually signed by any party, that it is not notarized, and that it otherwise contains no indication that it was ever recorded or is authentic. The Board accords the "quitclaim deed" no probative weight as to the question of whether the veteran and the appellant cohabitated or otherwise believed themselves to be man and wife in 2002. The Board has also considered the statements of Ms. N.A., Ms. T.T., and Mr. E.L., as well as the testimony of the appellant's sister, to the extent they allege that the veteran and the appellant lived together prior to the October 2004 marriage. Notably, however, despite their purported familiarity with the veteran and the appellant, Ms. N.A. and Mr. E.L. were vague about when the appellant and the veteran began to cohabitate (using the terms "years") and Ms. T.T. reported a date inconsistent with both dates reported by the appellant herself. Moreover, each of the acquaintances obtained their knowledge of the "marriage" of the appellant and the veteran either after the formal marriage, or at an unspecified period of time. The sister was also vague concerning the beginning date of cohabitation. Given the inconsistency between the addresses reported by the veteran during his lifetime and the statements of the appellant and her supporters, as well as the inconsistencies in the statements themselves concerning dates of cohabitation, the Board finds that the statements and testimony of the appellant and her supporters lack credibility, and that the evidence as a whole shows that the appellant and the veteran were not involved in a relationship they believed was a common law marriage prior to October 2004. Even if the veteran and the appellant were living together prior to October 2004, the Board finds the evidence to demonstrate that they would have had knowledge of the legal impediment to marriage imposed by the Commonwealth's refusal to recognize common law marriages. Specifically, the fact that they elected to enter into a solemnized ceremony in the first place strongly suggests that they were aware they were not in a marriage prior to October 2004. The Board finds the testimony of the appellant and her sister that the solemnization was done with religious overtones in mind for the sensibilities of others to be unpersuasive. The appellant acknowledged under oath that she and the veteran believed they were already married prior to October 2004, which would tend to make the solemnization ceremony superfluous. Moreover, Ms. T.T. indicated that they were married without a wedding celebration (which is supported by the marriage certificate indicating that a Justice of the Peace performed the ceremony with only 2 witnesses), and that the ceremony was to be planned later. The Board finds it difficult to accept that the veteran and the appellant, who believed themselves already married, would rush ahead to get a marriage certificate without the presence of witnesses other than the sister and another relative, when the entire purpose of the marriage certificate purportedly was to satisfy the sensitivities of a number of others. The Board finds the actions of the appellant and the veteran instead to be more consistent with those of a couple who fully realized that they were not married, and who wished to promptly rectify that situation. In sum, the veteran and the appellant were married for less than one year before he died, they did not have a child with each other, and the evidence as a whole shows that they did not attempt to live in a common law marriage prior to their solemnized marriage ceremony in October 2004. The probative evidence also shows that they were well aware of the legal impediment to an attempted common law marriage in the Commonwealth of Kentucky. Accordingly, the Board finds that although the appellant and the veteran were married at the time of his death, she may not be recognized as his surviving spouse for VA purposes pursuant to 38 C.F.R. § 3.54. The Board has considered the representative's opinions concerning the policy rationale behind the regulation, but points out that the Board is bound by the regulation. The regulation does not allow the Board to treat appellants who fall squarely within the language of the regulation differently, based on an assessment of either their character, or their motivation for marrying a veteran. ORDER Entitlement to recognition as the veteran's surviving spouse for VA death benefits purposes is denied. ____________________________________________ JAMES L. MARCH Veterans Law Judge, Board of Veterans' Appeals Department of Veterans Affairs