Citation Nr: 1000402 Decision Date: 01/05/10 Archive Date: 01/15/10 DOCKET NO. 03-12 213A ) DATE ) ) On appeal from the Department of Veterans Affairs Regional Office in Oakland, California THE ISSUE Entitlement to service connection for diabetes mellitus, Type II. REPRESENTATION Appellant represented by: California Department of Veterans Affairs ATTORNEY FOR THE BOARD L. Cramp, Counsel INTRODUCTION The Veteran had active service from March 1968 to February 1972. This appeal comes before the Board of Veterans' Appeals (Board) from a March 2003 rating decision of the Department of Veterans Affairs (VA) Regional Office (RO) in Albuquerque, New Mexico, sent to the Veteran under cover letter from the RO in Oakland, California. The Board notes that, although the Veteran requested a BVA hearing in his May 2003 substantive appeal (VA Form 9), he specifically withdrew his request in a March 2007 letter, signed by him. FINDINGS OF FACT 1. The Veteran did not serve in the Republic of Vietnam during the Vietnam era, and was not exposed to herbicides during service. 2. Type II diabetes mellitus is not etiologically related to an injury or disease in service. CONCLUSION OF LAW Type II diabetes mellitus was not incurred in or aggravated by service, and such incurrence or aggravation may not be presumed. 38 U.S.C.A. §§ 1101, 1110, 1112, 1113 (West 2002); 38 C.F.R. §§3.303, 3.307, 3.309 (2009). REASONS AND BASES FOR FINDINGS AND CONCLUSION I. Duties to Notify and Assist The Veterans Claims Assistance Act of 2000 (VCAA), Pub. L. No. 106-475, 114 Stat. 2096 (Nov. 9, 2000) (codified at 38 U.S.C.A. §§ 5100, 5102, 5103, 5103A, 5106, 5107, and 5126 (West 2002 & Supp. 2009)) includes enhanced duties to notify and assist claimants for VA benefits. VA regulations implementing the VCAA were codified as amended at 38 C.F.R. §§ 3.102, 3.156(a), 3.159, and 3.326(a) (2009). Notice requirements under the VCAA essentially require VA to notify a claimant of any evidence that is necessary to substantiate the claim(s), as well as the evidence that VA will attempt to obtain and which evidence he or she is responsible for providing. See, e.g., Quartuccio v. Principi, 16 Vet. App. 183 (2002) (addressing the duties imposed by 38 U.S.C.A. § 5103(a) and 38 C.F.R. § 3.159(b)). As delineated in Pelegrini v. Principi, 18 Vet. App. 112 (2004), after a substantially complete application for benefits is received, proper VCAA notice must inform the claimant of any information and evidence not of record (1) that is necessary to substantiate the claim(s); (2) that VA will seek to provide; (3) that the claimant is expected to provide; and (4) must ask the claimant to provide any evidence in her or his possession that pertains to the claim(s), in accordance with 38 C.F.R. § 3.159(b)(1). The Board notes that, effective May 30, 2008, 38 C.F.R. § 3.159 has been revised, in part. See 73 Fed. Reg. 23,353-23,356 (April 30, 2008). Notably, the final rule removes the third sentence of 38 C.F.R. § 3.159(b)(1), which had stated that VA will request that a claimant provide any pertinent evidence in his or her possession. VA's notice requirements apply to all five elements of a service connection claim: veteran status, existence of a disability, a connection between a Veteran's service and the disability, degree of disability, and effective date of the disability. Dingess/Hartman v. Nicholson, 19 Vet. App. 473 (2006). VCAA-compliant notice must be provided to a claimant before the initial unfavorable decision on a claim for VA benefits by the agency of original jurisdiction (in this case, the RO). Id.; Pelegrini, 18 Vet. App. at 112. See also Disabled American Veterans v. Secretary of Veterans Affairs, 327 F.3d 1339 (Fed. Cir. 2003). However, the VCAA notice requirements may, nonetheless, be satisfied if any errors in the timing or content of such notice are not prejudicial to the claimant. Id. In this appeal, in a July 2002 pre-rating letter, the RO provided notice to the appellant regarding what information and evidence was needed to substantiate the claim for service connection, as well as what information and evidence must be submitted by the appellant, and what information and evidence would be obtained by VA. Another such letter was sent in March 2004. An October 2009 letter provided the Veteran with information pertaining to the assignment of disability ratings and effective dates, as well as the type of evidence that impacts those determinations, consistent with Dingess/Hartman. After issuance of the October 2009 letter, and opportunity for the Veteran to respond, the October 2009 supplemental statement of the case reflects readjudication of the claim. See Prickett v. Nicholson, 20 Vet. App. 370, 376 (2006) (the issuance of a fully compliant VCAA notification followed by readjudication of the claim is sufficient to cure a timing defect). The record also reflects that VA has made reasonable efforts to obtain or to assist in obtaining all relevant records pertinent to this matter. Pertinent medical evidence associated with the claims file consists of VA and private treatment records, and the report of a January 2003 VA examination. The Board acknowledges that a medical opinion has not been obtained regarding a nexus between the Veteran's diabetes mellitus and service. However, as will be discussed in more detail below, the evidence deemed credible by the Board demonstrates no injury or disease in service that may be related to current Type II diabetes mellitus. As such, there is no duty to obtain a medical opinion regarding nexus; and indeed, such an opinion would be speculative, at best. See 38 U.S.C.A. § 5103A(d). Also of record and considered in connection with the appeal are various statements submitted by the Veteran. The Board finds that no additional RO action to further develop the record is warranted. II. Analysis The Veteran is seeking service connection for Type II diabetes mellitus, on the basis that it resulted from exposure to herbicides during service. The Veteran stated in his notice of disagreement that he served aboard the Herbert J. Thomas (a destroyer) at a time when it was stationed in the waters off Vietnam. He stated that he drank the water and breathed the air. He also stated that, on several occasions, he was flown by helicopter to the Danang hospital to pick up medical supplies and mail and return to the ship. Veterans are entitled to compensation from the Department of Veterans Affairs if they develop a disability "resulting from personal injury suffered or disease contracted in line of duty, or for aggravation of a preexisting injury suffered or disease contracted in line of duty." 38 U.S.C. § 1110. To establish a right to compensation for a present disability, a veteran must show: "(1) the existence of a present disability; (2) in-service incurrence or aggravation of a disease or injury; and (3) a causal relationship between the present disability and the disease or injury incurred or aggravated during service"-the so-called "nexus" requirement. Shedden v. Principi, 381 F.3d 1163, 1167 (Fed. Cir. 2004). Holton v. Shinseki, 557 F.3d 1362 (2009). Additionally, for veterans who have served 90 days or more of active service during a war period or after December 31, 1946, certain chronic disabilities, such as diabetes mellitus, are presumed to have been incurred in service if manifest to a compensable degree within one year of discharge from service. 38 U.S.C.A. §§ 1101, 1112, 1113; 38 C.F.R. §§ 3.307, 3.309. Service connection may also be granted for any disease diagnosed after discharge, when all the evidence, including that pertinent to service, establishes that the disease was incurred in service. 38 C.F.R. § 3.303(d). Diseases associated with exposure to certain herbicide agents used in support of military operations in the Republic of Vietnam (Vietnam) during the Vietnam era will be considered to have been incurred in service. 38 U.S.C.A. § 1116(a)(1). The presumption requires exposure to an herbicide agent and manifestation of the disease to a degree of 10 percent or more within the time period specified for each disease. 38 C.F.R. § 3.307(a)(6)(ii). The presumption may be rebutted by affirmative, though not necessarily conclusive, evidence to the contrary. 38 U.S.C.A. § 1113(a); 38 C.F.R. § 3.307(d). The following diseases are associated with herbicide exposure for purposes of the presumption: chloracne or other acneform disease consistent with chloracne, type 2 diabetes (also known as type II diabetes mellitus or adult-onset diabetes), Hodgkin's disease, chronic lymphocytic leukemia, multiple myeloma, non-Hodgkin's lymphoma, acute and subacute peripheral neuropathy, porphyria cutanea tarda, prostate cancer, respiratory cancers (cancer of the lung, bronchus, larynx, or trachea), and soft-tissue sarcoma (other than osteosarcoma, chondrosarcoma, Kaposi's sarcoma, or mesothelioma). 38 C.F.R. § 3.309(e). A veteran who, during active military, naval, or air service, served in the Republic of Vietnam during the Vietnam era, and has a disease listed at 38 C.F.R. § 3.309(e), shall be presumed to have been exposed during such service to an herbicide agent containing dioxin, such as Agent Orange, unless there is affirmative evidence to establish that the Veteran was not exposed to any such agent during that service. 38 C.F.R. § 3.307(a)(6)(iii). Furthermore, even if a veteran does not have a disease listed at 38 C.F.R. § 3.309(e), he or she is presumed to have been exposed to herbicides if he or she served in Vietnam between January 9, 1962, and May 7, 1975, unless there is affirmative evidence to establish that the Veteran was not exposed to any such agent during that service. See 38 U.S.C.A. § 1116(f). Service in the Republic of Vietnam includes service in the waters offshore and service in other locations if the conditions of service involved duty or visitation in the Republic of Vietnam. 38 C.F.R. § 3.307(a)(6)(iii). An opinion of the General Counsel for VA held that service on a deep-water naval vessel off the shores of Vietnam may not be considered service in the Republic of Vietnam for purposes of 38 U.S.C. § 101(29)(A), which defines the Vietnam era as the period beginning on February 28, 1961, and ending on May 7, 1975, and that this was not inconsistent with the definition of service in the Republic of Vietnam found in 38 C.F.R. § 3.307(a)(6)(iii). VAOPGCPREC 27-97 (July 23, 1997). A veteran must demonstrate actual duty or visitation in the Republic of Vietnam to have qualifying service. Id. Since issuance of that General Counsel opinion, VA has reiterated its position that service in deep-water naval vessels offshore of Vietnam (as opposed to service aboard vessels in inland waterways of Vietnam) is not included as "service in the Republic of Vietnam" for purposes of presumptive service connection for Agent Orange diseases. See comments section in Federal Register announcement of final rule adding diabetes to the list of Agent Orange presumptive diseases, 66 Fed. Reg. 23166 (May 8, 2001). Subsequently, in May 2008, the Federal Circuit held that the interpretation by the Department of Veterans Affairs (VA) of the phrase "served in the Republic of Vietnam," which required the physical presence of a veteran within the land borders of Vietnam during service, was a permissible interpretation of 38 U.S.C. § 1116(a)(1)(A) and 38 C.F.R. § 3.307(a)(6)(iii). The United States Supreme Court, declined to review the case, and the decision of the Federal Circuit in Haas v. Peake, 525 F.3d 1168 (Fed. Cir. 2008) is now final. The Board notes initially that, the Veteran does not contend, and the evidence does not suggest, that he engaged in combat with the enemy for purposes of the combat presumption afforded under 38 U.S.C.A. § 1154 (b) (West 2002); 38 C.F.R. § 3.304(d) (2009). In addition, the Board notes that the existence of a current disability is not at issue in this case. The report of a January 2003 VA examination reveals a diagnosis of diabetes mellitus, which was first diagnosed in January 2001, almost 30 years after the Veteran's discharge. Thus, the presumption of service connection for certain chronic diseases that become manifest to a degree of 10 percent or more within one year of separation does not attach. See 38 U.S.C.A. §§ 1101, 1112, 1113; 38 C.F.R. §§ 3.307, 3.309. The Veteran contends that he developed Type II diabetes from Agent Orange exposure during visits to Vietnam. However, the Veteran's service personnel records do not show that the Veteran was ever physically present in the Republic of Vietnam for active duty service. Rather, they show that he served in the U.S. Navy aboard several naval vessels. Regarding the Veteran's assertion that he made several trips ashore by helicopter to pick up supplies and mail, the Veteran is certainly competent to describe his duties, including trips ashore; however, in this case, the Board finds that his statements are inconsistent with evidence that the Board deems more reliable. As such, they are accorded little probative weight. In so concluding, the Board notes that the Veteran has not provided the exact dates of his claimed excursions ashore in Vietnam. The Board acknowledges that the National Personnel Records Center has confirmed that the Veteran had service in the waters off Vietnam from July 4, 1969 to August 2, 1969, from August 24, 1969 to September 14, 1969, and from October 7, 1969 to November 1, 1969. The deck logs from the U.S.S. Herbert J. Thomas reveal that, from October 8, 1969 to October 26, 1969, the Thomas performed naval gunfire support in operating areas off the South Vietnam coast. Then, from October 26, 1969 to November 1, 1969, the Thomas was at Yankee Station in the Tonkin Gulf, performing plane guarding duties. However, pertinent to the Veteran's assertion regarding helicopters transferring him from a naval destroyer to shore for the purpose of obtaining supplies and mail, the Veteran has provided no detail as to the necessity for, or the logistics of, such a procedure. The Board does not presume that landing a helicopter on a destroyer is a routine procedure, and the Veteran has not provided any detail other than his assertion that it happened several times. Indeed, the deck logs from the Thomas make reference to several routine transfers of supplies and mail; however, these references do not appear to involve flying medical corpsmen, such as the Veteran, by helicopter, to onshore facilities and back. Rather, the deck logs refer to patrol boats retrieving outgoing mail (and ice cream), as well as eleven "underway replenishments" consisting of fuel, ammunition, food, and supplies. While the Naval Historical Center cautioned that deck logs do not normally list arriving or departing passengers by name, the logs in this case do not mention any helicopter flights to shore, such as described by the Veteran. Moreover, by detailing what appear to be routine underway replenishments and transfers of mail, conducted by other naval vessels, the overall picture presented by a reading of the deck logs casts significant doubt on the Veteran's account. Finally, in evaluating the Veteran's account, the Board notes that the Veteran did not mention his excursions to shore until after the initial denial of his claim, which was denied because he did not have the "required service in Vietnam." The Board finds that the timing of his recent recollections casts additional doubt on the veracity of his account. In sum, for the reasons set out above, the Board finds that the Veteran's account regarding any visitation ashore in Vietnam is lacking in detail, is inconsistent with the record, and is ultimately lacking in credibility. As the Board gives the Veteran's account less probative weight, the Board is thus left with the Veteran's service records, which verify only his service aboard ship. While the Veteran's DD-214 shows that he was awarded the VSM, the award of this medal does not in and of itself entitle the Veteran to presumption to exposure to Agent Orange. As the requisite service in Vietnam is not shown, the presumption of exposure to herbicides does not attach. The Veteran has not asserted actual exposure to herbicides, and there is no evidence of such. Thus, the evidence demonstrates no injury or disease in service that may be related to the Veteran's current diabetes mellitus. Moreover, there is no medical opinion that purports to relate diabetes to any injury or disease in service. The Veteran certainly believes that there is such a relationship; however, he is not shown to possess the requisite medical knowledge or training to offer an opinion regarding the etiology of diabetes mellitus. In sum, the criteria for service connection are not met. In reaching this conclusion, the Board has considered the applicability of the benefit-of-the-doubt doctrine. However, as the preponderance of the evidence is against the claim, that doctrine is not applicable. See 38 U.S.C.A. § 5107(b) (West 2002); 38 C.F.R. § 3.102 (2009); Gilbert v. Derwinski, 1 Vet. App. 49, 53-56 (1990). ORDER Service connection for diabetes mellitus, Type II, is denied. ____________________________________________ H. N. SCHWARTZ Veterans Law Judge, Board of Veterans' Appeals Department of Veterans Affairs