Citation Nr: 1002137 Decision Date: 01/13/10 Archive Date: 01/22/10 DOCKET NO. 08-16 302A ) DATE ) ) On appeal from the Department of Veterans Affairs Regional Office in St. Petersburg, Florida THE ISSUES 1. Entitlement to an evaluation in excess of 10 percent for headaches, on appeal from an initial grant of service connection. 2. Entitlement to an effective date earlier than October 15, 2001, for the granting of service connection for headaches. ATTORNEY FOR THE BOARD Patrick J. Costello, Counsel INTRODUCTION The appellant served on active duty from July 1980 to June 1983, and from June 1984 to September 1992, to include service in the Southwest Asia theatre-of-operations from January to April 1991. This case comes before the Board of Veterans' Appeals (Board) on appeal from a September 2007 rating decision of the Department of Veterans Affairs (VA), Regional Office (RO), located in St. Petersburg, Florida, that implemented the Board's May 2007 determination that service connection was warranted and assigned 10 percent rating, effective October 15, 2001. The appellant challenges the effective date of service connection and the quantum of the award assigned. The higher rating issue is addressed in the REMAND portion of the decision below and it is REMANDED to the RO via the Appeals Management Center (AMC), in Washington, DC. FINDINGS OF FACT 1. Service connection for headaches was originally denied by a rating decision issued on November 20, 1997. The appellant was notified of that decision but did not appeal that action. Hence, it became final. 2. The appellant did not submit a claim, either formal or informal, asking that his claim for entitlement to service connection for headaches be reopened until October 15, 2001. CONCLUSION OF LAW Entitlement to an effective date prior to October 15, 2001, for the granting of service connection for headaches, is not warranted. 38 U.S.C.A. §§ 5101, 5110, 7104 (West 2002); 38 C.F.R. §§ 3.1(p), 3.400 (2009). REASONS AND BASES FOR FINDINGS AND CONCLUSIONS This claim arises from the appellant's disagreement with the effective date that has been assigned following the granting of service connection for a headache disability. Per the claims folder, the appellant contends that he began suffering from headaches while he was in service and as such, he believes that the effective date for the grant of service connection should be the day after he discharged. Alternatively, he contends that the effective date should extend from 1997, when he originally submitted his claim for benefits. Once service connection has been granted, the claim has been substantiated, and additional notice is not required because any defect in the notice is not prejudicial. Hartman v. Nicholson, 483 F.3d 1311 (Fed. Cir. 2007). Further, because the application of the law to the undisputed facts is dispositive of this appeal, no discussion of VA's duties to notify and assist is necessary. See Mason v. Principi, 16 Vet. App. 129 (2002). The record shows that following the appellant's discharge from service, he filed a claim of service connection for headaches in August 1994, which was denied by the RO in a November 1997 rating decision. The appellant received notification of that decision in a letter from the RO in December 1997. In that letter, the appellant was specifically informed that if he disagreed with the outcome of the November 1997 action that he should contact the RO and tell the RO why he disagreed with the denial of benefits. The record indicates that the appellant did not contact the RO - he did not appeal. Hence, that decision became final. In October 2001, the appellant requested that his service connection claim be reopened. The claim was originally denied by the RO and the appellant appealed to the Board for review. In a May 2007, the Board reopened the appellant's claim and then granted service connection. The claim was returned to the RO which, in turn, awarded a disability rating and assigned an effective date. The effective date of the grant was determined to be the original date of the claim to reopen, or October 15, 2001. The determination of this date was based on 38 C.F.R. § 3.400(q)(2) and 38 C.F.R. § 3.156 (2009). Unless specifically provided otherwise in the statute, the effective date of an award based on an original claim for compensation benefits shall be the date of receipt of the claim or the date entitlement arose, whichever is later. 38 U.S.C.A. § 5110(a) (West 2002); 38 C.F.R. § 3.400 (2009). The effective date of an award of disability compensation shall be the day following separation from service or the date entitlement arose if the claim is received within one year of separation, otherwise the date of claim or the date entitlement arose, whichever is later. 38 U.S.C.A. § 5110(b) (West 2002); 38 C.F.R. § 3.400(b)(2) (2009). The first date of any evidence added to the claims file, in this case, the appellant's correspondence, was October 15, 2001. An effective date retroactive to the initial filing of the claim was not warranted because the United States Court of Appeals for Veterans Claims (Court) has held that the rule of finality regarding an original claim implies that the date of that claim is not to be a factor in determining an effective date if the claim is later reopened. The Court held that the term "new claim," as it appears in 38 C.F.R. § 3.400(q)(1)(ii) (2009), means a claim to reopen a previously and finally denied claim. See Sears v. Principi, 16 Vet. App. 244, (2002); see also Livesay v. Principi, 15 Vet. App. 165, 172 (2001) (holding that the plain meaning of § 5110 to be that "the phrase 'application therefore' means the application which resulted in the award of disability compensation that it to be assigned an effective dated under section 5110."); Cook v. Principi, 258 F.3d 1311, 1314 (Fed. Cir. 2001) (affirming assignment of an effective date for a service-connection award based upon the reopened claim as the date on which the service member (or the appellant) "first sought to reopen his claim". Further, in Rudd v. Nicholson, 20 Vet. App. 296 (2006), the Court stated that a claimant can attempt to overcome the finality of a decision which assigns an effective date in one of two ways, by a request for revision of those regional office decisions based on clear and unmistakable error (CUE), or by a claim to reopen based upon new and material evidence. See Cook v. Principi, 318 F.3d 1334, 1339 (Fed. Cir. 2002) (en banc); see also 38 U.S.C.A. § 5109A(a) (West 2002) ("A decision by the Secretary . . . is subject to revision on the grounds of clear and unmistakable error. If evidence establishes the error, the prior decision shall be reversed or revised."); 38 U.S.C.A. § 5108 (West 2002) ("If new and material evidence is presented or secured with respect to a claim which has been disallowed, the Secretary shall reopen the claim and review the former disposition of the claim."); Andrews v. Nicholson, 421 F.3d 1278, 1281 (Fed. Cir. 2005). Because the proper effective date for an award based on a claim to reopen can be no earlier than the date on which that claim was received, 38 U.S.C.A. § 5110(a) (West 2002), only a request for revision premised on CUE could result in the assignment of an earlier effective date. See Leonard v. Nicholson, 405 F.3d 1333, 1337 (Fed. Cir. 2005) ("[A]bsent a showing of [clear and unmistakable error, the appellant] cannot receive disability payments for a time frame earlier than the application date of his claim to reopen, even with new evidence supporting an earlier disability date."); Flash v. Brown, 8 Vet. App. 332, 340 (1995) ("When a claim to reopen is successful and the benefit sought is awarded upon readjudication, the effective date is the date of the claim to reopen."); see also Bingham v. Principi, 18 Vet. App. 470, 475 (2004). The claimant in this case sought an effective date prior to the date of her claim to reopen (October 15, 2001), but he did not claim CUE. Thus, the assigned effective date was the first possible date of the claim to reopen, October 15, 2001. The claim is, therefore, denied. Although it is sympathetic to the appellant's claim, the Board is without authority to grant the claim on an equitable basis and instead is constrained to follow the specific provisions of law. See 38 U.S.C.A. § 7104 (West 2002); Harvey v. Brown, 6 Vet. App. 416, 425 (1994). ORDER An effective date of service connection for headaches prior to October 15, 2001, is denied. REMAND The appellant has averred that since last being seen by VA medical personnel in November 2006, his service-connected headache disability had become more severe. Pursuant to VA's duty to assist, VA will provide a medical examination or obtain a medical opinion based upon a review of the evidence of record if VA determines it is necessary to decide the claim. 38 C.F.R. § 3.159(c)(4)(i) (2009). Where a claimant asserts that the disability in question has increased in severity since the most recent rating examination, an additional examination is appropriate. See VAOPGCPREC 11-95 (1995); Snuffer v. Gober, 10 Vet. App. 400, 403 (1997). The Board therefore finds that a comprehensive VA examination is necessary to address the current level of the appellant's headache disorder. Thus, the case is REMANDED to the RO for the following development: 1. The RO should contact the appellant and ask that he identify all sources of medical treatment received since January 2006 for his service-connected headache disability, and to furnish signed authorizations for release to the VA of private medical records in connection with each non-VA source identified. Copies of the medical records from all sources, including VA records, (not already in the claims folder) should then be requested. All records obtained should be added to the claims folder. If requests for any private treatment records are not successful, the RO should inform the appellant of the nonresponse so that he will have an opportunity to obtain and submit the records himself, in keeping with his responsibility to submit evidence in support of his claim. 38 C.F.R. § 3.159 (2009). 2. The appellant should be afforded an appropriate VA examination to assess the frequency and severity of his headache disability. The claims folder must be made available and reviewed by the examiner. All appropriate tests should be conducted. The examiner must proffer an opinion as to the specific extent and severity of the appellant's headaches, to include a complete and detailed discussion of all functional limitations associated with the disorder. This should include a discussion of the extent, frequency, severity, and duration of the complained thereof headaches. Also included should be a discussion as to whether the headaches are prostrating in nature or whether ordinary activity is possible; and whether the headaches result in severe economic inadaptability. All findings and conclusions should be set forth in a legible report. Then the RO should readjudicate the claim. If the benefits sought on appeal remain denied, the appellant should be provided a supplemental statement of the case (SSOC). The SSOC must contain notice of all relevant actions taken on the claim for benefits, to include a summary of the evidence and applicable law and regulations considered pertinent to the issue currently on appeal. An appropriate period of time should be allowed for response. Thereafter, the case should be returned to the Board, if in order. The Board intimates no opinion as to the ultimate outcome of this case. The appellant need take no action unless otherwise notified. The appellant has the right to submit additional evidence and argument on the matter or matters the Board has remanded. Kutscherousky v. West, 12 Vet. App. 369 (1999). This claim must be afforded expeditious treatment. The law requires that all claims that are remanded by the Board of Veterans' Appeals or by the United States Court of Appeals for Veterans Claims for additional development or other appropriate action must be handled in an expeditious manner. See 38 U.S.C.A. §§ 5109B, 7112 (West Supp. 2009). ______________________________________________ STEVEN D. REISS Acting Veterans Law Judge, Board of Veterans' Appeals Department of Veterans Affairs