Citation Nr: 1002811 Decision Date: 01/19/10 Archive Date: 02/01/10 DOCKET NO. 05-01 028 ) DATE ) ) On appeal from the Department of Veterans Affairs Regional Office in Albuquerque, New Mexico THE ISSUE Entitlement to service connection for recurrent melanoma of the right shoulder with various areas of actinic keratosis and non-melanoma skin cancer, to include as a result of exposure to ionizing radiation. REPRESENTATION Appellant represented by: Disabled American Veterans ATTORNEY FOR THE BOARD Heather M. Gogola, Associate Counsel INTRODUCTION The veteran served on active duty from May 1954 to July 1956. This matter is before the Board of Veterans' Appeals (Board) on appeal from a rating decision by the Department of Veterans Affairs (VA) Regional Office (RO) in Seattle, Washington. Subsequently the veteran's claims file was transferred to the RO in Albuquerque, New Mexico. The Board notes that the veteran's original claim was previously remanded to the RO via the Appeals Management Center (AMC) for further development per a Board decisions dated May 2007 and March 2009. Please note this appeal has been advanced on the Board's docket pursuant to 38 C.F.R. § 20.900(c) (2009). 38 U.S.C.A. § 7107(a)(2) (West 2002). FINDINGS OF FACT 1. The appellant is not a radiation exposed veteran, and there is no objective evidence establishing actual in-service exposure to ionizing radiation. 2. The veteran's skin disorder, manifested as recurrent melanoma of the right shoulder with various areas of actinic keratosis and non-melanoma skin cancer, was first diagnosed years following his service discharge, and there is no competent medical evidence linking the disorder to his active service. CONCLUSION OF LAW Recurrent melanoma of the right shoulder with various areas of actinic keratosis and non-melanoma skin cancer was not incurred or aggravated in service. 38 U.S.C.A. §§ 1110, 1131, 5103, 5103A, 5107 (West 2002 & Supp. 2009); 38 C.F.R. §§ 3.102, 3.159, 3.303, 3.311 (2009). REASONS AND BASES FOR FINDINGS AND CONCLUSION VCAA VA's duties to notify and assist claimants in substantiating a claim for VA benefits are found at 38 U.S.C.A. §§ 5100, 5102, 5103, 5103A, 5107, 5126 and 38 C.F.R. §§ 3.102, 3.156(a), 3.159, 3.326(a). See also 73 Fed. Reg. 23,353- 23,356 (April 30, 2008) (concerning revisions to 38 C.F.R. § 3.159). Upon receipt of a complete or substantially complete application for benefits, VA is required to notify the claimant and his or her representative, if any, of any information, and any medical evidence or lay evidence that is necessary to substantiate the claim. 38 U.S.C.A. § 5103(a); 38 C.F.R. § 3.159(b); see also Quartuccio v. Principi, 16 Vet. App. 183 (2002). In accordance with 38 C.F.R. § 3.159(b)(1), proper notice must inform the claimant of any information and evidence not of record (1) that is necessary to substantiate the claim; (2) that VA will seek to provide; and (3) that the claimant is expected to provide. Notice should be sent prior to the appealed rating decision or, if sent after the rating decision, before a readjudication of the appeal. A Supplemental Statement of the Case, when issued following a notice letter, satisfies the due process and notification requirements for an adjudicative decision for these purposes. See Mayfield v. Nicholson, 444 F.3d 1328 (Fed. Cir. 2006). In this case, notice fulfilling the requirements of 38 C.F.R. § 3.159(b) was furnished to the Veteran in March 2004, prior to the date of the issuance of the appealed rating decision. The Board further notes that, in a letter dated April 2008, the Veteran was notified that a disability rating and an effective date for the award of benefits are assigned in cases where service connection is warranted. See Dingess/Hartman v. Nicholson, 19 Vet. App. 473 (2006). VA has also fulfilled its duty to assist in obtaining the identified and available evidence needed to substantiate the claim adjudicated in this decision. The RO has either obtained, or made sufficient efforts to obtain, records corresponding to all treatment for the claimed disorders described by the Veteran. See Barr v. Nicholson, 21 Vet. App. 303 (2007). In summary, the duties imposed by the VCAA have been considered and satisfied. Through various notices of the RO, the Veteran has been notified and made aware of the evidence needed to substantiate this claim, the avenues through which he might obtain such evidence, and the allocation of responsibilities between himself and VA in obtaining such evidence. There is no additional notice that should be provided, nor is there any indication that there is additional existing evidence to obtain or development required to create any additional evidence to be considered in connection with the claim. Consequently, any error in the sequence of events or content of the notice is not shown to prejudice the Veteran or to have any effect on the appeal. Any such error is deemed harmless and does not preclude appellate consideration of the matter herein decided, at this juncture. See Mayfield v. Nicholson, 20 Vet. App. 537, 543 (2006) (rejecting the argument that the Board lacks authority to consider harmless error). See also ATD Corp. v. Lydall, Inc., 159 F.3d 534, 549 (Fed. Cir. 1998). Background The veteran contends that his skin disorder, including melanoma and non-melanoma skin cancer, is related to his active service. Specifically the veteran states that he was stationed at Nellis Air Force Base, during the time atomic bomb testing was being carried out. The veteran stated that his MOS as an aircraft mechanic required him to service planes that had been flown through the mushroom clouds. He asserts that his exposure to the radiation and dust on the planes was a strong contributing factor to his history of skin cancer. Service treatment records are silent to any treatment of any skin cancer during active service. A report of medical history and examination upon entrance into service noted normal skin and lymphatic system. A September 1954 operation report indicated that he veteran had a sebaceous cyst removed from his left ear. The veteran's July 1956 report of medical history also reflected that the veteran had a cyst removed from his left ear. The veteran's separation examination dated July 1956 indicated that the veteran had a cyst removed from the left cheek, with no complications, no sequalae. Otherwise, the examination indicated that the veteran had normal skin and lymphatic system. Service personnel records show that the veteran was stationed at Nellis Air Force Base from January 1955 to July 1956. During that time, the veteran served as an aircraft mechanic. Post service treatment records reflect treatment for skin disorders, including skin cancer and actinic karatosis. A 1964 dermatology examination found no objective or subjective evidence of skin disease. However, a December 1966 VA examination revealed senile keratosis involving the back of the neck and noted senile elastosis of the neck. A diagnosis of actinic keratoses with actinic damage to the surrounding skin was provided. The examiner noted that the veteran had a ruddy complexion and appeared to be photosensitive. A July 1967 operative report indicated that the veteran had senile keratoses removed from the posterior aspects of the neck. Unidentified records dated 1973 to 1991 reflect treatment for multiple actinic karatoses, chromodermatitis, as well as other skin conditions. Private treatment records from Lovelace medical clinic dated 1991 to 2004 reflected treatment for skin cancer and melanoma. A February 2004 treatment record indicated that the veteran had received treatment through the Lovelace clinic since 1991. In 1999, the veteran had a melanoma removed from the right shoulder, with a recurrence in 2000. The veteran also received treatment for a number of non- melanoma skin cancers and numerous actinic keratoses. The physician indicated that the veteran was of Irish-Scottish descent and worked as a builder with lots of outdoor sun exposure both in the military and later on. The physician noted that the veteran was fair skinned with a history of recurrent melanoma, as well as non-melanoma skin cancer. Examination revealed no evidence of suspicious lesions or melanoma. However, multiple actinic keratoses were removed with liquid nitrogen. A February 2004 medical opinion from J.G., M.D., indicated that the veteran had a history of considerable sun exposure during his military service, as well as a history of recurrent melanoma. The physician opined that it "may very well be that his melanoma is service-connected." VA treatment records dated November 2004 to February 2008 reflect continued treatment for melanoma and non-melanoma skin cancers as well as actinic keratoses. The veteran was afforded a VA examination in September 2008. The examiner noted that the veteran's relevant medical history showed that the veteran first had a malignant melanoma removed from his right shoulder in 1999. A sentinel lymph node biopsy at the time was negative. The examiner noted that during his active service, the veteran was stationed in Nevada and reported that he was involved in providing maintenance on planes that had flown through nuclear clouds. He also often worked outside without sunscreen or a hat. After service, he reported that he worked as a mechanic. Examination revealed a well healed scar on the right shoulder with no nodularity or pigmentation. There was no auxiliary, cervical or inguinal lymphadenopathy. On the scalp, forehead, ears and dorsal hands were scattered, adherent, scaly macules. The examiner stated that he felt it would be purely speculation to find that the veteran's melanoma was due directly to radiation exposure or ultraviolet exposure during his military service. The examiner reasoned that sun exposure linked to melanoma was often in short, intense bursts of radiation commonly occurring during childhood. Thus, the examiner stated it would be impossible to state that there was evidence of a direct causal relationship to the veteran's military service Legal Criteria Service connection may be established where the evidence demonstrates that an injury or disease resulting in disability was contracted in the line of duty coincident with military service, or if preexisting such service, was aggravated therein. 38 U.S.C.A. §§ 1110, 1131; 38 C.F.R. § 3.303. Establishing service connection generally requires (1) medical evidence of a current disability; (2) medical or, in certain circumstances, lay evidence of in-service incurrence or aggravation of a disease or injury; and (3) medical evidence of a nexus between the claimed in-service disease or injury and the present disability. Shedden v. Principi, 381 F.3d 1163, 1167 (Fed. Cir. 2004); see Caluza v. Brown, 7 Vet. App. 498, 506 (1995), aff'd per curiam, 78 F.3d 604 (Fed.Cir.1996) (table); see also Shedden v. Principi, 381 F.3d 1163, 1167 (Fed. Cir. 2004); Hickson v. West, 12 Vet. App. 247, 253 (1999); 38 C.F.R. § 3.303. Under 38 C.F.R. § 3.303(b), an alternative method of establishing the second and third Shedden/Caluza element is through a demonstration of continuity of symptomatology. Barr v. Nicholson, 21 Vet. App. 303 (2007); see Savage 10 Vet. App. 488, 495-97 (1997); see also Clyburn v. West, 12 Vet. App. 296, 302 (1999). Continuity of symptomatology may be established if a claimant can demonstrate (1) that a condition was "noted" during service; (2) evidence of post- service continuity of the same symptomatology; and (3) medical or, in certain circumstances, lay evidence of a nexus between the present disability and the post-service symptomatology. Savage, 10 Vet. App. at 495-96; see Hickson, 12 Vet. App. at 253 (lay evidence of in-service incurrence sufficient in some circumstances for purposes of establishing service connection); 38 C.F.R. § 3.303(b). Lay persons are not competent to opine as to medical etiology or render medical opinions. Barr v. Nicholson; see Grover v. West, 12 Vet. App. 109, 112 (1999); Espiritu v. Derwinski, 2 Vet. App. 492, 494 (1992). Lay testimony is competent, however, to establish the presence of observable symptomatology and "may provide sufficient support for a claim of service connection." Layno v. Brown, 6 Vet. App. 465, 469 (1994); see also Falzone v. Brown, 8 Vet. App. 398, 405 (1995) (lay person competent to testify to pain and visible flatness of his feet); Espiritu, 2 Vet. App. at 494- 95 (lay person may provide eyewitness account of medical symptoms). "Symptoms, not treatment, are the essence of any evidence of continuity of symptomatology." Savage, 10 Vet. App. at 496 (citing Wilson v. Derwinski, 2 Vet. App. 16, 19 (1991). Once evidence is determined to be competent, the Board must determine whether such evidence is also credible. See Layno, supra (distinguishing between competency ("a legal concept determining whether testimony may be heard and considered") and credibility ("a factual determination going to the probative value of the evidence to be made after the evidence has been admitted"). Additionally, the Board notes that the veteran has claimed his skin cancer was caused by exposure to ionizing radiation. Where a veteran served 90 days or more during a period of war or after December 31, 1946, and malignant tumors become manifest to a degree of 10 percent within 1 year from date of termination of such service, such disease shall be presumed to have been incurred in service, even though there is no evidence of such disease during the period of service. This presumption is rebuttable by affirmative evidence to the contrary. 38 U.S.C.A. §§ 1101, 1112, 1113; 38 C.F.R. §§ 3.307, 3.309. Service connection for disability that is claimed to be attributable to exposure to ionizing radiation during service can be demonstrated by three different methods. See Ramey v. Brown, 9 Vet. App. 40, 44 (1996), aff'd sub nom. Ramey v. Gober, 120 F. 3rd 1239 (Fed. Cir. 1997), cert. denied, 118 S. Ct. 1171 (1998). See also Davis v. Brown, 10 Vet. App. 209, 211 (1997); Rucker v. Brown, 10 Vet. App. 67, 71 (1997). First, if a veteran exposed to radiation during active duty later develops one of the diseases listed in 38 C.F.R. § 3.309(d)(2), a rebuttable presumption of service connection arises. See 38 U.S.C.A. §§ 1112, 1113; 38 C.F.R. §§ 3.307, 3.309. These diseases are ones in which the VA Secretary has determined that a positive association with radiation exposure exists. Basal cell carcinoma is not among these diseases. See 38 C.F.R. § 3.309(d)(2)(i-xxi). Second, service connection may be established if a radiation- exposed veteran develops a "radiogenic disease" (one that may be induced by ionizing radiation, either listed at 38 C.F.R. § 3.311(b)(2) or established by competent scientific or medical evidence to be radiogenic disease), if the VA Undersecretary for Benefits determines that a relationship in fact exists between the disease and the Veteran's exposure in service. Skin cancer is among these listed diseases (see 38 C.F.R. § 3.311(b)(2)(vii)). Third, service connection may be established by competent evidence establishing the existence of a medical nexus between the claimed condition and exposure to ionizing radiation during active service. See Combee v. Brown, 34 F. 3d 1039 (Fed. Cir. 1994). The Board notes that the three alternative methods for establishing service connection all share a common threshold: that the claimant has, in fact, been shown to have been exposed to ionizing radiation. A "radiation-exposed veteran" is defined by 38 C.F.R. § 3.309(d)(3)(i) as a veteran who, while serving on active duty or on active duty for training or inactive duty training, participated in a radiation-risk activity. "Radiation-risk activity" includes on-site participation in a test involving the atmospheric detonation of a nuclear device. 38 C.F.R. § 3.309(d)(3)(ii)(A). "Onsite participation" means, among other things, during the official operational period of an atmospheric nuclear test, performance of official military duties in connection with ships, aircraft or other equipment used in direct support of the nuclear test. 38 C.F.R. § 3.309(d)(3)(iv)(A). "Onsite participation" also means, during the six month period following the official operational period of an atmospheric nuclear test, presence at the test site or other test staging area to perform official military duties in connection with completion of projects related to the nuclear test including decontamination of equipment used during the nuclear test. 38 C.F.R. § 3.309(d)(3)(iv)(B). For tests conducted by the United States, the term "operational period" includes the period from April 25, 1962 through December 31, 1962 for Operation DOMINIC I. 38 C.F.R. § 3.309(d)(3)(v)(R). Analysis The Board notes that the veteran submitted articles regarding the nuclear testing that occurred at the Nevada test site. The articles indicated that atomic bombs were detonated, and that Nellis Air Force Base was adjacent to the test site. One internet article indicated that the atomic testing in the 1950s resulted in devastating health effects to the "downwinders" that were northeast of the site in Nevada and Utah. The Board notes that the three alternative methods for establishing service connection all share a common threshold: that the claimant has, in fact, been shown to have been exposed to ionizing radiation. A "radiation-exposed veteran" is defined by 38 C.F.R. § 3.309(d)(3)(i) as a veteran who, while serving on active duty or on active duty for training or inactive duty training, participated in a radiation-risk activity. "Radiation-risk activity" includes on-site participation in a test involving the atmospheric detonation of a nuclear device. 38 C.F.R. § 3.309(d)(3)(ii)(A). "Onsite participation" means, among other things, during the official operational period of an atmospheric nuclear test, performance of official military duties in connection with ships, aircraft or other equipment used in direct support of the nuclear test. 38 C.F.R. § 3.309(d)(3)(iv)(A). "Onsite participation" also means, during the six month period following the official operational period of an atmospheric nuclear test, presence at the test site or other test staging area to perform official military duties in connection with completion of projects related to the nuclear test including decontamination of equipment used during the nuclear test. 38 C.F.R. § 3.309(d)(3)(iv)(B). Here, the Veteran served as an aircraft mechanic at Nellis Air Force Base during the time nuclear testing was conducted in Nevada. It is not shown, however, that his duties included maintenance of aircraft or other equipment used in direct support of the nuclear testing as required by 38 C.F.R. § 3.309(d)(3)(iv)(A). His recollection of servicing aircraft flown by Korean pilots over the test areas is simply not supported by official or other corrobative evidence. Consequently, he may not be considered to be a "radiation- exposed veteran" is defined by 38 C.F.R. § 3.309(d)(3)(i) While service connection for skin cancer based on exposure to ionizing radiation is not warranted, service connection may be established by competent evidence establishing the existence of a medical nexus between the claimed condition and service. See Combee v. Brown, 34 F.3d 1039 (Fed. Cir. 1994). Based on the evidence listed above, the Board finds that direct service connection is not warranted. The veteran's service medical records reflect that the veteran had cysts removed during his active service, but were silent to any treatment or diagnosis of any skin condition, including skin cancer or severe sun damage. Moreover, a 1964 VA examination indicated no objective or subjective evidence of a skin disorder. The first documentation of a skin disorder was in December 1966, nearly 10 years after the veteran's separation from active service, when the veteran was diagnosed with senile keratosis involving the back of the neck. The veteran's first documented treatment and diagnosis of melanoma was in 1999, when a melanoma was removed from the veteran's right shoulder. The Board notes that the veteran's private physicians noted that his skin cancers and actinic keratoses were likely the result of sun damage. The Board also observes that the veteran's private physicians have noted that the veteran is fair-skinned and photosensitive. Additionally, in his February 2004 opinion, Dr. J.G., indicated that the veteran had a history of considerable sun exposure during his military service, as well as a history of recurrent melanoma. The physician opined that it "may very well be that his melanoma is service-connected." However, a February 2004 treatment record indicated that the veteran reported lots of outdoor sun exposure both during and after his military service. While the conclusions of a physician are medical conclusions that the Board cannot ignore or disregard, see Willis v. Derwinski, 1 Vet. App. 66 (1991), the Board is free to assess medical evidence and is not compelled to accept a physician's opinion. See Wilson v. Derwinski, 2 Vet. App. 614 (1992). Thus, although on initial review the statements of the veteran's private physicians appear to support the veteran's claim, a close reading shows that they do not. The opinion is speculative and, at most, does little more than propose that it is possible the veteran's current skin disorder, including skin cancer and actinic keratosis is related to sun exposure during active service. The physician based his opinion on contemporaneous medical evidence showing that the veteran's current skin disorders were the result of sun exposure, but did not base their opinion on a review of the veteran's service records, nor did they take into consideration the veteran's post-service sun exposure. On the contrary, the September 2008 VA examiner indicated that the veteran was stationed for two years during active service in Nevada, and after discharge moved to Albuquerque, New Mexico where he worked as a mechanic. The examiner, after review of the claims file, stated that he felt it would be purely speculation to find that the veteran's melanoma was due directly to radiation exposure or to ultraviolet exposure during his military service. He provided the rationale that sun exposure linked to melanoma was often in short, intense bursts commonly occurring during childhood. Thus, speculative nature of the private physician's opinions of record is not legally sufficient to establish service connection. See Tirpak v. Derwinski, 2 Vet. App. 609, 611 (1992). As such, they fall short of the level of certainty necessary for the Board to service connect the veteran for skin cancer and actinic keratoses. As there is not an approximate balance of positive and negative evidence regarding the merits of the appellant's claims that would give rise to a reasonable doubt in favor of the appellant, the benefit of the doubt rule as to these issues is not applicable. See 38 U.S.C.A. § 5107(b); Gilbert v. Derwinski, 1 Vet. App. 49, 54-56 (1990). ORDER Service connection for recurrent melanoma of the right shoulder with various areas of actinic keratosis and non- melanoma skin cancer is denied. ____________________________________________ WAYNE M. BRAEUER Veterans Law Judge, Board of Veterans' Appeals Department of Veterans Affairs