Citation Nr: 1002887 Decision Date: 01/20/10 Archive Date: 02/01/10 DOCKET NO. 08-19 060 ) DATE ) ) On appeal from the Department of Veterans Affairs Regional Office in Anchorage, Alaska THE ISSUES 1. Entitlement to service connection for bilateral hearing loss. 2. Entitlement to service connection for bilateral tinnitus. 3. Entitlement to service connection for hypertension. REPRESENTATION Appellant represented by: Veterans of Foreign Wars of the United States WITNESS AT HEARING ON APPEAL Veteran ATTORNEY FOR THE BOARD J. Connolly, Counsel INTRODUCTION The Veteran served on active duty from January 14, 1982 to August 27, 1994; from June 15, 2000 to September 30, 2000; from November 27, 2001 to April 2, 2002; from April 13, 2002 to August 21, 2002; and from December 27, 2002 to May 14, 2003. The Veteran also had multiple periods of National Guard service spanning from 1982-2005. This matter comes before the Board of Veterans' Appeals (Board) on appeal from an October 2006 rating decision of the Department of Veterans Affairs (VA) Regional Office (RO) in Anchorage, Alaska. In that decision, it was noted that service connection for hypertension, bilateral hearing loss, and tinnitus had been previously denied in a rating decision dated in approximately 1994 or 1995, later deemed to be 1994. The RO reopened the claims as the rating decision has apparently been lost. The RO later indicated that the Veteran's initial claims folder had indeed been lost so there was no physical record of the rating decision, but a master record showed a denial of a "heart condition" and presumably hearing loss and tinnitus. The Board finds that although there is a presumed prior denial of a "heart condition," it is not reasonable to assume is specifically included hypertension. Nevertheless, due to the loss of the claims file, the rating decision, and the subsequent inability to review any prior rating decision and the evidence then of record, the Board finds that a de novo review of these claims is appropriate, warranted, and more advantageous to the Veteran. The issue of service connection for hypertension is addressed in the REMAND portion of the decision below and is REMANDED to the RO via the Appeals Management Center (AMC), in Washington, DC. FINDINGS OF FACT 1. The Veteran does not have bilateral hearing loss disability as contemplated by 38 C.F.R. § 3.385; any current hearing impairment is not attributable to service nor was such present within one year of separation from active service. 2. Bilateral tinnitus is attributable to service. CONCLUSIONS OF LAW 1. Bilateral hearing loss was not incurred in or aggravated by service and sensorineural hearing loss may not be presumed to have been incurred or aggravated in service. 38 U.S.C.A. §§ 101, 106, 1101, 1110, 1112, 1113, 1131, 1137 (West 2002 & Supp. 2009); 38 C.F.R. §§ 3.303, 3.304, 3.307, 3.309, 3.385 (2009). 2. Bilateral tinnitus was incurred or aggravated in service. 38 U.S.C.A. §§ 101, 106, 1101, 1110, 1131 (West 2002 & Supp. 2009); 38 C.F.R. §§ 3.303, 3.304 (2009). REASONS AND BASES FOR FINDINGS AND CONCLUSIONS Veterans Claims Assistance Act of 2000 (VCAA) With respect to the claimant's claims, VA has met all statutory and regulatory notice and duty to assist provisions. See 38 U.S.C.A. §§ 5100, 5102, 5103, 5103A, 5106, 5107, 5126; 38 C.F.R. §§ 3.102, 3.156(a), 3.159, 3.326. Prior to the initial adjudication of the claimant's claim, a VCAA letter was sent to the claimant which fully satisfied the duty to notify provisions. 38 U.S.C.A. § 5103(a); 38 C.F.R. § 3.159(b)(1); Quartuccio v. Principi, 16 Vet. App. 183, 187 (2002). The claimant was aware that it was ultimately the claimant's responsibility to give VA any evidence pertaining to the claims. The VCAA letter told the claimant to provide any relevant evidence in the claimant's possession. See Pelegrini v. Principi, 18 Vet. App. 112, 120-21 (2004) (Pelegrini II). In particular, the VCAA notification: (1) informed the claimant about the information and evidence not of record that is necessary to substantiate the claim; (2) informed the claimant about the information and evidence that VA will seek to provide; and (3) informed the claimant about the information and evidence that the claimant is expected to provide. In any event, the Board finds that any deficiency in the notice to the claimant or the timing of these notices is harmless error. See Overton v. Nicholson, 20 Vet. App. 427, 435 (2006) (finding that the Board erred by relying on various post-decisional documents to conclude that adequate 38 U.S.C.A. § 5103(a) notice had been provided to the claimant, the United States Court of Appeals for Veterans Claims (Court) found that the evidence established that the claimant was afforded a meaningful opportunity to participate in the adjudication of the claim, and found that the error was harmless, as the Board has done in this case.) If any notice deficiency is present in this case, the Board finds that any prejudice due to such error has been overcome in this case by the following: (1) based on the communications sent to the claimant over the course of this appeal, the claimant clearly has actual knowledge of the evidence the claimant is required to submit in this case; and (2) based on the claimant's contentions as well as the communications provided to the claimant by VA, it is reasonable to expect that the claimant understands what was needed to prevail. See Shinseki v. Sanders/Simmons, 129 S.Ct. 1696 (2009); Fenstermacher v. Phila. Nat'l Bank, 493 F.2d 333, 337 (3d Cir. 1974) ("[N]o error can be predicated on insufficiency of notice since its purpose had been served."). In order for the Court to be persuaded that no prejudice resulted from a notice error, "the record must demonstrate that, despite the error, the adjudication was nevertheless essentially fair." Dunlap v. Nicholson, 21 Vet. App. 112, 118 (2007). VA also fulfilled its duty to obtain all relevant evidence with respect to the issue on appeal. 38 U.S.C.A. § 5103A; 38 C.F.R. § 3.159. The claimant's service treatment records, VA medical treatment records, and identified private medical records have been obtained, to the extent available. 38 U.S.C.A. § 5103A; 38 C.F.R. § 3.159. There is no indication in the record that any additional evidence, relevant to the issue decided herein, is available and not part of the claims file. The claimant was also afforded a VA examination in January 2009. 38 C.F.R. § 3.159(c)(4). This examination is adequate as the claims file was reviewed, the examiner reviewed the pertinent history, examined the Veteran, and provided rationale. The records satisfy 38 C.F.R. § 3.326. The claimant was also sent a letter regarding the appropriate disability rating or effective date to be assigned in March 2006. See Dingess/Hartman v. Nicholson, 19 Vet. App. 473 (2006). In summary, the Board finds that "it is difficult to discern what additional guidance VA could have provided to the veteran regarding what further evidence he should submit to substantiate his claim." Conway v. Principi, 353 F.3d 1369 (Fed. Cir. 2004); see also Livesay v. Principi, 15 Vet. App. 165, 178 (2001) (en banc) (observing that "the VCAA is a reason to remand many, many claims, but it is not an excuse to remand all claims."); Reyes v. Brown, 7 Vet. App. 113, 116 (1994); Soyini v. Derwinski, 1 Vet. App. 540, 546 (1991) (both observing circumstances as to when a remand would not result in any significant benefit to the claimant). Competency and Credibility The Veteran can attest to factual matters of which he had first-hand knowledge, e.g., experiencing pain in service, reporting to sick call, being placed on limited duty, and undergoing physical therapy. See Washington v. Nicholson, 19 Vet. App. 362, 368 (2005). However, the Veteran as a lay person has not been shown to be capable of making medical conclusions, thus, his statements regarding causation are not competent. Espiritu v. Derwinski, 2 Vet. App. 492, 495 (1992). Competent medical evidence means evidence provided by a person who is qualified through education, training or experience to offer medical diagnoses, statements or opinions. See Duenas v. Principi, 18 Vet. App. 512, 520 (2004). A layperson is generally not capable of opining on matters requiring medical knowledge. Routen v. Brown, 10 Vet. App. 183, 186 (1997); see also Bostain v. West, 11 Vet. App. 124, 127 (1998). Thus, while the Veteran is competent to report what comes to him through his senses, he does not have medical expertise. See Layno v. Brown, 6 Vet. App. 465 (1994). However, the United States Court of Appeals for the Federal Circuit (Federal Circuit) has held that lay evidence is one type of evidence that must be considered and competent lay evidence can be sufficient in and of itself. The Board, however, retains the discretion to make credibility determinations and otherwise weigh the evidence submitted, including lay evidence. See Buchanan v. Nicholson, 451 F.3d 1331, 1335 (Fed. Cir. 2006). This would include weighing the absence of contemporary medical evidence against lay statements. In Barr v. Nicholson, 21 Vet. App. 303 (2007), the Court indicated that varicose veins was a condition involving "veins that are unnaturally distended or abnormally swollen and tortuous." Such symptomatology, the Court concluded, was observable and identifiable by lay people. Because varicose veins "may be diagnosed by their unique and readily identifiable features, the presence of varicose veins was not a determination 'medical in nature' and was capable of lay observation." Thus, that veteran's lay testimony regarding varicose vein symptomatology in service represented competent evidence. In Jandreau v. Nicholson, 492 F. 3d 1372 (Fed. Cir. 2007), the Federal Circuit determined that lay evidence can be competent and sufficient to establish a diagnosis of a condition when (1) a layperson is competent to identify the medical condition (noting that sometimes the layperson will be competent to identify the condition where the condition is simple, for example a broken leg, and sometimes not, for example, a form of cancer), (2) the layperson is reporting a contemporaneous medical diagnosis, or (3) lay testimony describing symptoms at the time supports a later diagnosis by a medical professional. The relevance of lay evidence is not limited to the third situation, but extends to the first two as well. Whether lay evidence is competent and sufficient in a particular case is a fact issue. However, although the Veteran is competent in certain situations to provide a diagnosis of a simple condition such as a broken leg or varicose veins, the Veteran is not competent to provide evidence as to more complex medical questions. See Woehlaert v. Nicholson, 21 Vet. App. 456 (2007). Once evidence is determined to be competent, the Board must determine whether such evidence is also credible. See Layno, supra (distinguishing between competency ("a legal concept determining whether testimony may be heard and considered") and credibility ("a factual determination going to the probative value of the evidence to be made after the evidence has been admitted")). See Barr. In Davidson v. Shinseki, 581 F.3d 1313 (Fed. Cir. Sept. 14, 2009), the Federal Circuit stated that it had previously and explicitly rejected the view that competent medical evidence is required when the determinative issue in a claim for benefits involves either medical etiology or a medical diagnosis. Instead, under section 1154(a) lay evidence can be competent and sufficient to establish a diagnosis of a condition when: a layperson is competent to identify the medical condition; the layperson is reporting a contemporaneous medical diagnosis; or lay testimony describing symptoms at the time supports a later diagnosis by a medical professional. Davidson reaffirms the holdings in Jandreau and Buchanan that VA must consider the competency of the lay evidence and cannot outright reject such evidence on the basis that such evidence can never establish a medical diagnosis or nexus. This does not mean, however, that lay evidence is necessarily always sufficient to identify a medical diagnosis, but rather only that it is sufficient in those cases where the lay person is competent and does not otherwise require specialized medical training and expertise to do so, i.e., the Board must determine whether the claimed disability is a type of disability for which a lay person is competent to provide etiology or nexus evidence. The Court has specifically indicated that lay evidence may establish the existence of a current disorder capable of lay observation, to specifically include varicose veins, tinnitus, and flat feet. See Barr; Charles v. Principi, 16 Vet. App. 370, 374 (2002); and Falzone v. Brown, 8 Vet. App. 398, 405 (1995). A claimant generally is not competent to diagnose his mental condition; he is only competent to identify and explain the symptoms that he observes and experiences. Clemons v . Shinseki, 23 Vet. App. 1 (2009). The Veteran is competent to report ringing in his ears. However, while the Veteran is also competent to report that he has trouble hearing, he is not competent to report that he has a certain level of hearing impairment as measured in Hertz as such assessments are not simple in nature. See Jandreau; see also Woehlaert. The January 2009 VA examiner's opinion set forth below is more probative as to the matter of the nature of the Veteran's hearing ability on audiological testing because he has the requisite medical expertise. Service Connection Service connection may be granted for disability resulting from disease or injury incurred in or aggravated by service. 38 U.S.C.A. §§ 1110; 1131; 38 C.F.R. §§ 3.303, 3.304. Service connection may be granted for disability resulting from disease or injury incurred during active duty for training (ADT), or injuries suffered during inactive duty training (IDT) to include when a cardiac arrest or a cerebrovascular accident occurs during such training. See 38 U.S.C.A. §§ 101(24), 106. Reserve and National Guard service generally means ADT and IDT. ADT is full time duty for training purposes performed by Reservists and National Guardsmen pursuant to 32 U.S.C.A. §§ 316, 502, 503, 504, or 505. 38 U.S.C.A. § 101(22); 38 C.F.R. § 3.6(c). Basically, this refers to the two weeks of annual training, sometimes referred to as "summer camp," that each Reservist or National Guardsman must perform each year. It can also refer to the Reservist's or Guardsman's initial period of training. IDT includes duty, other than full-time duty, performed for training purposes by Reservists and National Guardsmen pursuant to 32 U.S.C.A. §§ 316, 502, 503, 504, or 505. 38 U.S.C.A. § 101(23); 38 C.F.R. § 3.6(d). Basically, this refers to the twelve four-hour weekend drills that each Reservist or National Guardsman must perform each year. These drills are deemed to be part-time training. Active military service includes active duty, any period of ADT during which the individual concerned was disabled or died from a disease or injury incurred or aggravated in line of duty, and any period of IDT during which the individual concerned was disabled or died from an injury incurred or aggravated in line of duty or from an acute myocardial infarction, a cardiac arrest, or a cerebrovascular accident which occurred during such training. 38 U.S.C.A. § 1106; 38 C.F.R. § 3.6(a). Generally, an individual who has only Reserve or National Guard service (ADT or IDT with no active duty) is not a veteran as legally defined. In the service connection context, for example, this means that the presumption of soundness upon entry into service and the presumptive service connection provisions of 38 C.F.R. § 3.307, applicable to active duty, would not apply to ADT or IDT. 38 U.S.C.A. §§ 1111, 1112, 1137; 38 C.F.R. § 3.307. Thus, service connection on a presumptive basis is not available where the only service performed is ADT or IDT. See Biggins v. Derwinski, 1 Vet. App. 474, 476-78 (1991). Hearing loss disability is defined by regulation. For the purposes of applying the laws administered by VA, impaired hearing will be considered to be a disability when the auditory threshold in any of the frequencies 500, 1000, 2000, 3000, 4000 Hertz is 40 decibels or greater; or when the auditory thresholds for at least three of the frequencies 500, 1000, 2000, 3000, or 4000 Hertz are 26 decibels or greater; or when speech recognition scores using the Maryland CNC Test are less than 94 percent. 38 C.F.R. § 3.385. Organic disease of the nervous system such as sensorineural hearing loss will be presumed to have been incurred in or aggravated by service if it had become manifest to a degree of 10 percent or more within one year of the veteran's separation from service. 38 U.S.C.A. §§ 1101, 1110, 1112, 1113; 38 C.F.R. §§ 3.307, 3.309. This presumption is rebuttable by affirmative evidence to the contrary. 38 U.S.C.A. §§ 1101, 1112, 1113; 38 C.F.R. §§ 3.307, 3.309. Further, VA regulation provides that, with chronic disease shown as such in service (or within an applicable presumptive period under section 3.307) so as to permit a finding of service connection, subsequent manifestations of the same chronic disease at any later date, however remote, are service connected, unless clearly attributable to intercurrent causes. For the showing of chronic disease in service there is required a combination of manifestations sufficient to identify the disease entity, and sufficient observation to establish chronicity at the time, as distinguished from merely isolated findings or a diagnosis including the word "chronic." When the disease identity is established (leprosy, tuberculosis, multiple sclerosis, etc.), there is no requirement of an evidentiary showing of continuity. Continuity of symptomatology is required only where the condition noted during service (or in the presumptive period) is not, in fact, shown to be chronic or where the diagnosis of chronicity may be legitimately questioned. When the fact of chronicity in service is not adequately supported, then a showing of continuity after discharge is required to support the claim. 38 C.F.R. 38 C.F.R. § 3.303(b). The Court has held that "the threshold for normal hearing is from 0 to 20 dB [decibels], and higher threshold levels indicate some degree of hearing loss." See Hensley v. Brown, 5 Vet. App. 155, 157 (1993). The Court, in Hensley, 5 Vet. App. 155 (1993), indicated that 38 C.F.R. § 3.385 does not preclude service connection for a current hearing disability where hearing was within normal limits on audiometric testing at separation from service if there is sufficient evidence to demonstrate a relationship between the veteran's service and his current disability. The Board notes that the Court's directives in Hensley are consistent with 38 C.F.R. § 3.303(d) which provides that service connection may be granted for any disease diagnosed after discharge, when all the evidence, including that pertinent to service, establishes that the disease was incurred in service. 38 C.F.R.§ 3.303(d). See Palczewski v. Nicholson, 21 Vet. App. 174 (2007) (stating 38 C.F.R. § 3.385"prescribes the level at which a hearing loss becomes a disability for purposes of entitlement to VA compensation.... [N]ot every change in hearing should be service connected.") In order to establish service connection, the Veteran must show: (1) the existence of a present disability; (2) in- service incurrence or aggravation of a disease or injury; and (3) a causal relationship between the present disability and the disease or injury incurred or aggravated during the service." Shedden v. Principi, 381 F.3d 1163, 1166-67 (Fed. Cir.2004). There must be competent evidence of a current disability; proof as to incurrence or aggravation of a disease or injury in service, as provided by either lay or medical evidence, as the situation dictates; and competent evidence as to a nexus between the inservice injury or disease and the current disability. Cohen v. Brown, 10 Vet. App. 128, 137 (1997); Layno v. Brown, 6 Vet. App. 465 (1994). The existence of a current disability is the cornerstone of a claim for VA disability compensation. See Degmetich v. Brown, 104 F. 3d 1328 (1997) (holding that the VA's and the Court's interpretation of sections 1110 and 1131 of the statute as requiring the existence of a present disability for VA compensation purposes cannot be considered arbitrary and therefore the decision based on that interpretation must be affirmed); see also Gilpin v. West, 155 F.3d 1353 (Fed. Cir. 1998); Brammer v. Derwinski, 3 Vet. App. 223, 225 (1992); Rabideau v. Derwinski, 2 Vet. App. 141, 144 (1992). In determining whether service connection is warranted for a disability, VA is responsible for determining whether the evidence supports the claim or is in relative equipoise, with the veteran prevailing in either event, or whether a preponderance of the evidence is against the claim, in which case the claim is denied. Gilbert v. Derwinski, 1 Vet. App. 49 (1990). To do so, the Board must assess the credibility and weight of all the evidence, including the medical evidence, to determine its probative value, accounting for evidence that it finds to be persuasive or unpersuasive, and providing reasons for rejecting any evidence favorable to the appellant. See Masors v. Derwinski, 2 Vet. App. 181 (1992). Hearing Loss A review of the service treatment records shows that on the authorized audiological evaluation in August 1981, pure tone thresholds, in decibels, were as follows: HERTZ 500 1000 2000 3000 4000 RIGHT 10 5 10 0 0 LEFT 5 10 10 10 10 On the authorized audiological evaluation in August 1982, pure tone thresholds, in decibels, were as follows: HERTZ 500 1000 2000 3000 4000 RIGHT 5 5 5 0 10 LEFT 20 15 15 15 15 On the authorized audiological evaluation in November 1983, pure tone thresholds, in decibels, were as follows: HERTZ 500 1000 2000 3000 4000 RIGHT 5 5 10 0 10 LEFT 10 10 5 10 10 On the authorized audiological evaluation in August 1984, pure tone thresholds, in decibels, were as follows: HERTZ 500 1000 2000 3000 4000 RIGHT 0 5 10 0 0 LEFT 10 5 10 10 5 On the authorized audiological evaluation in June 1985, pure tone thresholds, in decibels, were as follows: HERTZ 500 1000 2000 3000 4000 RIGHT 5 5 5 0 5 LEFT 10 5 10 5 5 On the authorized audiological evaluation in November 1985, pure tone thresholds, in decibels, were as follows: HERTZ 500 1000 2000 3000 4000 RIGHT 5 5 5 0 5 LEFT 10 5 10 5 5 On the authorized audiological evaluation in October 1986, pure tone thresholds, in decibels, were as follows: HERTZ 500 1000 2000 3000 4000 RIGHT 10 10 15 0 10 LEFT 10 5 10 10 15 On the authorized audiological evaluation in June 1987, pure tone thresholds, in decibels, were as follows: HERTZ 500 1000 2000 3000 4000 RIGHT 10 0 10 0 10 LEFT 10 0 10 5 10 On the authorized audiological evaluation in October 1988, pure tone thresholds, in decibels, were as follows: HERTZ 500 1000 2000 3000 4000 RIGHT 5 5 5 0 5 LEFT 20 15 15 15 15 On the authorized audiological evaluation in March 1990, pure tone thresholds, in decibels, were as follows: HERTZ 500 1000 2000 3000 4000 RIGHT 10 10 10 0 10 LEFT 5 5 5 0 20 On the authorized audiological evaluation in November 1990, pure tone thresholds, in decibels, were as follows: HERTZ 500 1000 2000 3000 4000 RIGHT 10 5 10 0 10 LEFT 5 5 5 0 15 On the authorized audiological evaluation in January 1992, pure tone thresholds, in decibels, were as follows: HERTZ 500 1000 2000 3000 4000 RIGHT 5 5 10 0 10 LEFT 20 15 15 15 15 On the authorized audiological evaluation in September 1993, pure tone thresholds, in decibels, were as follows: HERTZ 500 1000 2000 3000 4000 RIGHT 10 10 10 5 15 LEFT 10 5 5 15 20 On the authorized audiological evaluation in May 1995, pure tone thresholds, in decibels, were as follows: HERTZ 500 1000 2000 3000 4000 RIGHT 5 10 10 5 10 LEFT 20 15 15 15 15 On the authorized audiological evaluation in September 1995, pure tone thresholds, in decibels, were as follows: HERTZ 500 1000 2000 3000 4000 RIGHT 5 10 10 5 10 LEFT 15 10 10 15 20 On the authorized audiological evaluation in August 1999, pure tone thresholds, in decibels, were as follows: HERTZ 500 1000 2000 3000 4000 RIGHT 5 10 5 10 10 LEFT 5 10 5 10 10 On the authorized audiological evaluation in October 1999, pure tone thresholds, in decibels, were as follows: HERTZ 500 1000 2000 3000 4000 RIGHT 10 5 5 5 15 LEFT 10 15 5 10 20 Post-service, the Veteran was afforded a VA examination in January 2009 to resolve whether he has hearing loss as defined by VA. On the authorized audiological evaluation, pure tone thresholds, in decibels, were as follows: HERTZ 500 1000 2000 3000 4000 RIGHT 15 15 20 20 30 LEFT 15 25 15 30 35 Speech audiometry revealed speech recognition ability of 98 percent in the right ear and 94 percent in the left ear. The claims file was reviewed by the examiner. His various periods of military duty were noted. He related that his military noise exposure included rivet guns, pneumatic tools, and aircraft engine noise. The Veteran's occupation during service was documented as "noise hazardous." The Veteran reported that he used single air protection until 1988 when double protection was required. The Veteran indicated that he perforated his right ear drum in 2000-2002 (which was substantiated in the service treatment records). The Veteran denied having non-military noise exposure or recreational noise exposure. The examiner noted that the claims file did not reveal complaints of hearing loss nor was decreased hearing shown during his active duty or National Guard service. The examiner referred to inservice audiological findings and concluded that they showed stable normal thresholds in the ears. The Board notes that health professionals are experts and are presumed to know the requirements applicable to their practice and to have taken them into account in providing a diagnosis. See Cohen. On current testing, the examiner stated that the audiological evaluation revealed normal thresholds 250-3000 Hertz then dropping to a mild sensorineural hearing loss at 4000 Hertz and then recovering to normal thresholds at 6000-8000 Hertz in the right ear. On the left, the Veteran had normal thresholds at 240-2000 Hertz with a mild sensorineural hearing loss at 3000-8000 Hertz. No conductive components were present in either ear. The examiner indicated that since there were no hearing test results after 1999, even though the Veteran did perform service in a hazardous career field until 2003, and since there was no notation of the Veteran complaining of hearing loss, the examiner could not resolve the issue of whether the Veteran's claimed hearing loss tinnitus began during or was caused by his military service without resorting to mere speculation. However, the Board notes that the audiological testing did not reflect hearing loss within the parameters of 38 C.F.R. § 3.385. In sum., the service treatment records do not show that the Veteran had hearing loss disability as defined by VA regulation. During the one year presumptive period after service, hearing loss disability as defined by VA was neither manifest nor diagnosed. The absence of in-service evidence of hearing loss is not fatal to the claim. See Ledford v. Derwinski, 3 Vet. App. 87, 89 (1992); see also Cartright v. Derwinski, 2 Vet. App. 24, 25 (1991) (nowhere do VA regulations provide that a claimant must establish service connection through medical records alone). Evidence of a current hearing loss disability (i.e., one meeting the requirements of 38 C.F.R. § 3.385, as noted above) and a medically sound basis for attributing such disability to service may serve as a basis for a grant of service connection for hearing loss. See Hensley (Section 3.385 does not preclude service connection for a current hearing disability where hearing was within normal limits on audiometric testing at separation from service.) Thus, the lack of a demonstration of hearing loss disability during service may be overcome by post-service findings. However, hearing loss was not manifest during the one year presumptive period after service, and hearing loss within the definition of 38 C.F.R. § 3.385 has not been demonstrated at any time, including the current VA examination where the specific criteria of 38 C.F.R. § 3.385 were not met. The examiner was unable to conclude that the Veteran had hearing loss disability which is attributable to service. The Veteran has never had, during service, or at the current time, hearing loss disability as contemplated by 38 C.F.R. § 3.385. Therefore, the Veteran does not have hearing loss disability as contemplated by 38 C.F.R. § 3.385 which is attributable to service or present within one year of separation from service. Accordingly, service connection for bilateral hearing loss is denied. The evidence in this case is not so evenly balanced so as to allow application of the benefit-of-the-doubt rule as required by law and VA regulations. 38 U.S.C.A. § 5107(b); 38 C.F.R. § 3.102. The preponderance is against the veteran's claim, and it must be denied. Tinnitus The service treatment records do not document tinnitus, but the Veteran maintains that he had hearing loss due to his inservice duties. On the post-service January 2009 VA examination, the examiner noted that the Veteran reported having periodic moderate ringing tinnitus in both ears, not necessarily at the same time. The Veteran indicated that the tinnitus began 20 years ago (during service) and had not changed. He related that his military noise exposure included rivet guns, pneumatic tools, and aircraft engine noise. The Veteran's occupation during service was documented as "noise hazardous." The Veteran reported that he used single air protection until 1988 when double protection was required. The examiner noted that the claims file did not reveal complaints of tinnitus during service. The Veteran denied having non-military noise exposure or recreational noise exposure. The examiner indicated that since there were no hearing test results after 1999, even though the Veteran did perform service in a hazardous career field until 2003, and since there was no notation of the Veteran complaining of tinnitus in the claims file, the examiner could not resolve the issue of whether the Veteran's claimed tinnitus began during or was caused by his military service without resorting to mere speculation. The Board notes that the service treatment records did not reflect a diagnosis of tinnitus; however, unlike hearing loss disability which has specific criteria requirement that are not simply observable by a lay person, tinnitus is the type of disability which is observable by the Veteran. See Davidson. The Veteran has provided lay evidence of inservice tinnitus and there is a current diagnosis of tinnitus. Although the VA examiner did not provide a nexus to service, the examiner noted that the Veteran had a history of inservice noise exposure during his hazardous noise exposure inservice occupation. The Board finds that the evidence of record is in relative equipoise as to the matter of whether tinnitus is attributable to service. The evidence against the claim was the lack of documentation in the service treatment records and the inability of the VA examiner to conclude that tinnitus is service-related. The Board has carefully considered the positive evidence, consisting of lay evidence and finds that the Veteran is credible since his complaints of tinnitus are consistent with his military background which also supports the claim as well as the fact that the symptoms of tinnitus are easily observable by the Veteran. Thus, the Veteran is competent to comment on the date of onset and continuous symptoms since that time, even though a diagnosis was not made until post- service. See generally 38 C.F.R. § 3.303(d). Again, the Board emphasizes that the nature of the Veteran's military service placed him in a position of being exposed to loud noises. When a veteran seeks service connection for a disability, due consideration shall be given to the supporting evidence in light of the places, types, and circumstances of service, as evidenced by service records, the official history of each organization in which he served, his military records, and all pertinent medical and lay evidence. See 38 U.S.C.A. § 1154(a). The Board finds that the lay evidence, when taken into consideration with 38 U.S.C.A. § 1154(a) weighed against the negative evidence in this case places the positive and negative evidence in equipoise as they are both competent in nature. The evidence in this case is so evenly balanced so as to allow application of the benefit-of- the-doubt rule as required by law and VA regulations. See 38 U.S.C.A. § 5107(b); 38 C.F.R. § 3.102. Accordingly, service connection for tinnitus is warranted. ORDER Service connection for bilateral hearing loss disability is denied. Service connection for bilateral tinnitus disability is granted. REMAND Hypertension The Veteran contends that his currently diagnosed hypertension was incurred or aggravated during service. The RO denied this claim as there was no diagnosis in the first period of active service, within one year of that period, and it was diagnosed prior to a period of National Guard service (in December 1995) and the presumption of soundness does not apply to the next National Guard service period. The Veteran maintains that he was seen prior to 1995, but was considered too young to be placed on medication. A review of the service treatment records reveals that on January 13, 1987, an examiner recorded a blood pressure reading of 122/96. This tends to support the Veteran's statement. Besides, the provisional 1995 diagnosis, Air National Guard records reflect that on April 12-15, 1997, the Veteran's blood pressure readings were recorded as 142/99, 142/84, 127/75, and 137/87. On April 15, 1997, it was noted that the Veteran had a history of increased blood pressure readings. At that time, his blood pressure was 134/94. On April 28, 1997, it was noted that the Veteran's blood pressure had improved and an increase in his exercise level was discussed. On February 2, 1998, the Veteran's blood pressure readings were 168/03, 151/100, and 134/84. On February 6, 1998, the Veteran was noted to have high blood pressure readings. The examiner indicated that he had hypertension. His blood pressure readings were 129/85, 128/87, 146/90, 130/80, 134/97, 139/97, 130/90, and 134/92. The Veteran's blood pressure was monitored that month and the readings were consistent with those aforementioned readings. On March 11, 1998, the Veteran was noted to have borderline hypertension. His blood pressure on that day was 195/93. In July 1998, the Veteran continued to have his blood pressure monitored. The readings were 138/91, 132/90, 128/86, 128/84, 128/88, 128/78, 130/72. On an October 1999 periodic physical, it was indicated that the Veteran had transient hypertension with no prior history of hypertension problems. The Veteran has continued to be treated for hypertension. The Veteran has not been afforded a VA hypertension examination. Pursuant to VA's duty to assist, VA will provide a medical examination or obtain a medical opinion based upon a review of the evidence of record if VA determines it is necessary to decide the claim. 38 C.F.R. § 3.159(c)(4)(i). A medical examination or medical opinion may be deemed necessary where the record contains competent medical evidence of a current diagnosed disability, establishes that the Veteran suffered an event, injury or disease in service, and indicates that the claimed disability may be associated with the established event, injury or disease in service. See Id. The record before VA need only (1) contain evidence that the Veteran has persistent or recurrent symptoms of current disability and (2) indicate that those symptoms may be associated with the Veteran's active military service. Duenas v. Principi, 18 Vet. App. 512 (2004). In McLendon, the Court noted that the third prong of 38 C.F.R. § 3.159(c)(4)(I), requires that the evidence of record "indicate" that the claimed disability or symptoms may be associated with service, establishes a low threshold. See also Locklear v. Nicholson, 20 Vet. App. 410, at 418 (2006). There is no opinion of record regarding whether hypertension was manifest in the first period of service. There is no opinion of record if hypertension had its onset prior to a subsequent period of active duty, if it was aggravated during a subsequent period of active duty. Because this case presents complex medical and unresolved factual questions and since the Board is precluded from reaching its own unsubstantiated medical conclusions, further development is required. See Jones v. Principi, 16 Vet. App. 219, 225 (2002), citing Smith v. Brown, 8 Vet. App. 546, 553 (1996) (en banc); Colvin v. Derwinski, 1 Vet. App. 171 (1991). Accordingly, this matter is REMANDED for the following actions: 1. Schedule the Veteran for a VA hypertension examination to determine the nature and etiology of any current hypertension disability. Any indicated tests should be accomplished. The examiner should review the claims folder prior to examination. The examiner should provide an opinion as to whether it is more likely than not, less likely than not, or at least as likely as not, that hypertension had its clinical onset during the initial period of active service (from January 14, 1982 to August 27, 1994) or is related to any in-service disease, event, or injury, from that period. The examiner should comment on the January 13, 1987 blood pressure reading of 122/96, or any other noted symptom of hypertension. The examiner should also opine if hypertension was manifest in the initial post-service year. The examiner should provide a complete rationale for all opinions expressed and conclusions reached. If hypertension was not manifest during the initial period of service or within a year thereof, the examiner should opine as to the following: A. If the Veteran's hypertension underwent an increase in disability during a subsequent period of active service. B. If the Veteran's hypertension underwent an increase in disability during a subsequent period of active service, was the increase in disability due to the natural progress of the disease or was the increase in disability beyond the natural progress of the disease. The examiner should again provide a complete rationale for all opinions expressed and conclusions reached. 2. The AMC should then readjudicate the claim on appeal in light of all of the evidence of record. If the issue remains denied, the Veteran should be provided with a supplemental statement of the case as to the issue on appeal, and afforded a reasonable period of time within which to respond thereto. Thereafter, subject to current appellate procedures, the case should be returned to the Board for further appellate consideration, if appropriate. The appellant has the right to submit additional evidence and argument on the matter or matters the Board has remanded. Kutscherousky v. West, 12 Vet. App. 369 (1999). This claim must be afforded expeditious treatment. The law requires that all claims that are remanded by the Board of Veterans' Appeals or by the United States Court of Appeals for Veterans Claims for additional development or other appropriate action must be handled in an expeditious manner. See 38 U.S.C.A. §§ 5109B, 7112 (West 2002 & Supp. 2009). ____________________________________________ D. C. Spickler Veterans Law Judge, Board of Veterans' Appeals Department of Veterans Affairs