Citation Nr: 1004576 Decision Date: 01/29/10 Archive Date: 02/16/10 DOCKET NO. 08-05 118 ) DATE ) ) On appeal from the Department of Veterans Affairs Regional Office in Lincoln, Nebraska THE ISSUE Entitlement to service connection for migraine headaches. ATTORNEY FOR THE BOARD Gina E. Fenice, Associate Counsel INTRODUCTION The Veteran served on active duty from August 1978 to August 1981. This case comes before the Board of Veterans' Appeals (Board) on appeal of an October 2007 rating decision of the Department of Veterans Affairs (VA) Regional Office (RO) in Lincoln, Nebraska. When this case was previously before the Board in July 2009, it was decided in part and remanded in part. It has since returned to the Board for further appellate action. FINDING OF FACT The competent medical evidence of record does not support a finding that the Veteran's current headache disability is related to service. CONCLUSION OF LAW A migraine headache disability was not incurred in or aggravated by active naval service. 38 U.S.C.A. §§ 1110, 1131 (West 2002); 38 C.F.R. §3.303 (2009). REASONS AND BASES FOR FINDING AND CONCLUSION Stegall considerations As was alluded to in the Introduction, the Board remanded the claim in July 2009. In essence, the Board instructed the agency of original jurisdiction (AOJ) to afford the Veteran a VA examination to determine the etiology of any currently present migraine headache disability as well as to consider new evidence submitted by the Veteran since the February 2008 Statement of the Case. The AOJ was then to readjudicate the claim. The record reflects that the Veteran was afforded a VA examination in August 2009 pertaining to his claimed migraine headache disability. The Appeals Management Center (AMC) subsequently readjudicated the claim in the September 2009 Supplemental Statement of the Case in consideration of these examination results as well as the recently submitted evidence. Thus, all of the Board's remand instructions have now been complied with. See Stegall v. West, 11 Vet. App. 268, 271 (1998) (where the remand orders of the Board are not complied with, the Board errs as a matter of law when it fails to ensure compliance). The Veterans Claims Assistance Act of 2000 The VCAA, codified in pertinent part at 38 U.S.C.A. §§ 5103, 5103A (West 2002 & Supp. 2009), and the pertinent implementing regulation, codified at 38 C.F.R. § 3.159 (2009), provides that VA will assist a claimant in obtaining evidence necessary to substantiate a claim but is not required to provide assistance to a claimant if there is no reasonable possibility that such assistance would aid in substantiating the claim. The VCAA also requires VA to notify the claimant and the claimant's representative, if any, of any information, and any medical or lay evidence, not previously provided to the Secretary that is necessary to substantiate the claim. As part of the notice, VA is to specifically inform the claimant and the claimant's representative, if any, of which portion, if any, of the evidence is to be provided by the claimant and which part, if any, VA will attempt to obtain on behalf of the claimant. Although the regulation previously required VA to request that the claimant provide any evidence in the claimant's possession that pertains to the claim, the regulation has been amended to eliminate that requirement for claims pending before VA on or after May 30, 2008. The Board also notes that the United States Court of Appeals for Veterans Claims (Court) has held that the plain language of 38 U.S.C.A. § 5103(a) requires that notice to a claimant pursuant to the VCAA be provided "at the time" that, or "immediately after," VA receives a complete or substantially complete application for VA-administered benefits. Pelegrini v. Principi, 18 Vet. App. 112, 119 (2004). The timing requirement enunciated in Pelegrini applies equally to the initial-disability-rating and effective-date elements of a service-connection claim. Dingess v. Nicholson, 19 Vet. App. 473 (2006). In the case at hand, the record reflects that the originating agency provided the Veteran with the notice required under the VCAA, including Dingess-compliant notice, by letter mailed in June 2007. The Board also notes that the Veteran has been afforded appropriate a VA examination and service treatment records and pertinent VA and private medical records have been obtained. The report of the VA examination reflects that the examiner considered the Veteran's past medical history, recorded his current complaints, conducted an appropriate physical examination and rendered appropriate diagnoses and opinions consistent with the remainder of the evidence of record. The Board therefore concludes that the examination is adequate for rating purposes. See 38 C.F.R. § 4.2 (2009); see also Barr v. Nicholson, 21 Vet. App. 303, 312 (2007). The Veteran has not identified any outstanding evidence, to include medical records, that could be obtained to substantiate the claim. The Board is also unaware of any such outstanding evidence. In sum, the Board is satisfied that any procedural errors in the originating agency's development and consideration of the claim were insignificant and non prejudicial to the Veteran. Accordingly, the Board will address the merits of the claim. Legal Criteria Service connection may be granted for disability resulting from disease or injury incurred in or aggravated by active military service. 38 U.S.C.A. §§ 1110, 1131; 38 C.F.R. § 3.303. Service connection may be granted for any disease initially diagnosed after service, when all the evidence, including that pertinent to service, establishes that the disease was incurred in service. 38 C.F.R. § 3.303(d). In order to establish service connection for the claimed disorder, there must be (1) medical evidence of a current disability; (2) medical, or in certain circumstances, lay evidence of in-service incurrence or aggravation of a disease or injury; and (3) medical evidence of a nexus between the claimed in-service disease or injury and the current disability. See Hickson v. West, 12 Vet. App. 247, 253 (1999). Except as otherwise provided by law, a claimant has the responsibility to present and support a claim for benefits under laws administered by the Secretary. The Secretary shall consider all information and lay and medical evidence of record in a case before the Secretary with respect to benefits under laws administered by the Secretary. When there is an approximate balance of positive and negative evidence regarding any issue material to the determination of a matter, the Secretary shall give the benefit of the doubt to the claimant. 38 U.S.C.A. § 5107; 38 C.F.R. § 3.102; see also Gilbert v. Derwinski, 1 Vet. App. 49, 53 (1990). To deny a claim on its merits, the evidence must preponderate against the claim. Alemany v. Brown, 9 Vet. App. 518, 519 (1996), citing Gilbert, 1 Vet. App. at 54. Analysis The Veteran contends that he is entitled to service connection for a migraine headache disability, as he believes this condition originated during his active duty service. The Veteran's service treatment records indicate that he complained of headaches on two occasions. In November 1980, the Veteran complained of headaches along with other symptoms such as body aches and productive cough. He was assessed with viral syndrome at that time. Swelling around the eye lids and headaches were also noted in April 1981. However, there were no abnormalities with respect to any migraine or headache condition noted on the Veteran's August 1981 discharge examination. With respect to post-service medical records, records from the Saint Joseph Hospital from April 1993 indicate that the Veteran complained of a gradually worsening headache originating on the top of his head to the left temple area. Other symptoms noted included double vision and ataxia. The examiner noted an impression of severe headache, possibly due to viral infection or bacterial causes, such as meningoencephalitis. Electroencephalographic and CT scan testing results were both normal at that time. Treating physicians concluded that the Veteran's condition was consistent with viral encephalitis. These records then indicate that the Veteran was discharged a week after his headache resolved. VA outpatient treatment records indicate that the Veteran reported that he was experiencing headaches, as well as other symptoms such as body aches, high fever and blurred vision, in June 2007. Blurry vision and headaches were one again noted in private records dated in January 2008. The Veteran was afforded a VA examination in August 2009 to determine the etiology of any currently present migraine headache disability. The examiner indicated that he reviewed the Veteran's claims file and noted the two occasions where the Veteran had headaches in service. He pointed out that the accompanying treatment notes from these two notations suggest that the headaches were due to an infection and were not migraine in nature. The Veteran told the examiner that his headache condition continuously worsened after service, and claimed that bright lights induced these headaches. He indicated that he now experienced 1 to 2 frontal, non-prostrating headaches per week, lasting approximately 30 to 45 minutes each. Then the examiner performed motor and sensory examinations, and the results of each were normal. The examiner concluded by diagnosing the Veteran with muscle tension-type headaches, and noted a history of headaches associated with febrile infections. He found that the Veteran did not suffer from migraine headaches, as his headaches are localized in the right frontal area and are not incapacitating. With respect to the diagnosed tension- type headaches, the examiner found that this headache condition was not related to service. In so finding, he noted that the headaches in service were associated with febrile infections, and were completely different from the type of headaches the Veteran is currently experiencing. Based on the foregoing evidence, the Board has determined that the Veteran is not entitled to service connection for a headache disability. While the Veteran has complained of an ongoing headache disability since service and there is medical evidence documenting the existence of a headache condition in 1993 and again since 2007, the only medical opinion of record discussing the etiology of this condition, the August 2009 VA examination, is against the Veteran's claim. There is no competent medical opinion to the contrary. The Board has considered the Veteran's assertions that his headaches are a result of military service. However, although a lay person is competent to describe symptoms such as head pain, a layperson is generally not capable of opining on matters requiring medical knowledge, and the asserted relationship between his service and his headache complaints is not a matter to which the Veteran is qualified to render an opinion. See Espiritu v. Derwinski, 2 Vet. App. 492, 494 (1992); see also Jandreau v. Nicholson, 492 F.3d 1372 (Fed. Cir. 2007) (explaining in footnote 4 that a veteran is competent to provide a diagnosis of a simple condition such as a broken leg, but not competent to provide evidence as to more complex medical questions). The Board has also considered the Veteran's contentions of a continuity of symptomatology since service. As noted, the Veteran is competent to describe symptoms, and his assertions of a continuity of symptomatology are of some probative value. However, the Court has held that, even where a veteran asserted continuity of symptomatology since service, medical evidence was required to establish "a nexus between the continuous symptomatology and the current claimed condition . . . " See, e.g., McManaway v. West, 13 Vet. App. 60, 66 (1999), vacated on other grounds sub nom. McManaway v. Principi, 14 Vet. App. 275 (2001); Voerth v. West, 13 Vet. App. 117 (1999). In this instance, a VA examiner conducted a thorough physical evaluation and reviewed the medical evidence of record, and concluded that the Veteran's current headaches were unlikely to be related to service. The Board finds that this opinion by a competent health provider to be more probative than the lay assertions of the Veteran regarding continuity of symptomatology. The Board also notes that following his military service, the Veteran was neither treated nor diagnosed with any headaches until 1993, more than a decade after service. A prolonged period without medical complaint can be considered, along with other factors concerning a claimant's health and medical treatment during and after military service, as evidence of whether an injury or a disease was incurred in service which resulted in any chronic or persistent disability. See Maxson v. Gober, 230 F.3d 1330, 1333 (Fed. Cir. 2000). The amount of time that passed between service and the first treatment or documented complaint of record of headache problems is evidence that weighs against the Veteran's claim. In sum, for the reasons and bases expressed above the Board finds that the preponderance of the evidence is against the Veteran's claim of entitlement to service connection for migraine headaches. In arriving at the decision to deny the claim, the Board has considered the applicability of the benefit-of-the-doubt rule enunciated in 38 U.S.C.A. § 5107(b). However, as there is not an approximate balance of evidence, that rule is not applicable in this case. See Gilbert v. Derwinski, 1 Vet. App. 49 (1990); Ortiz v. Principi, 274 F. 3d 1361 (Fed. Cir. 2001). ORDER Entitlement to service connection for migraine headaches is denied. ____________________________________________ S. BUSH Acting Veterans Law Judge, Board of Veterans' Appeals Department of Veterans Affairs