Citation Nr: 1007151 Decision Date: 02/26/10 Archive Date: 03/05/10 DOCKET NO. 06-31 652A ) DATE ) ) On appeal from the Department of Veterans Affairs Regional Office in Waco, Texas THE ISSUE Entitlement to a disability rating in excess of 10 percent for service-connected scar, residual of appendectomy. REPRESENTATION Appellant represented by: Texas Veterans Commission ATTORNEY FOR THE BOARD A. Barone, Associate Counsel INTRODUCTION The Veteran had active service from September 1984 to December 1992. This matter comes to the Board of Veterans' Appeals (Board) on appeal from an October 2005 rating decision by a Regional Office (RO) of the Department of Veterans Affairs (VA). A notice of disagreement was received in March 2006, a statement of the case was issued in June 2006, and a substantive appeal was received in October 2006. The Board notes that the Veteran requested a Board hearing and has been scheduled and rescheduled (at his request) for such a hearing. Most recently, the Veteran was scheduled for a Travel Board hearing in January 2010 and was notified of this in November 2009. However, the Veteran failed to report for the hearing and has neither indicated good cause nor requested another rescheduling of the hearing. Therefore, the Board shall proceed with a final decision based upon the available evidence of record. See 38 C.F.R. § 20.704(d). FINDING OF FACT The Veteran's service-connected scar, residual of appendectomy, is manifested by a depressed scar (not on the head, face, or neck) that is no longer than 18 centimeters and is no wider than 4 centimeters in its widest portion, without limitation of function. CONCLUSION OF LAW The criteria for assignment of a rating in excess of 10 percent for the Veteran's service-connected scar, residual of appendectomy, have not been met. 38 U.S.C.A. §§ 1155, 5107 (West 2002); 38 C.F.R. Part 4, including § 4.7, Diagnostic Codes 7801, 7802, 7803, 7804, and 7805 (2009). REASONS AND BASES FOR FINDING AND CONCLUSION Veterans Claims Assistance Act of 2000 The Board acknowledges the Veterans Claims Assistance Act of 2000 (VCAA). 38 U.S.C.A. §§ 5102, 5103, 5103A, 5107 (West 2002). This legislation provides, among other things, for notice and assistance to claimants under certain circumstances. VA has issued final rules to amend adjudication regulations to implement the provisions of VCAA. See 38 C.F.R §§ 3.102, 3.156(a), 3.159 and 3.326(a). The intended effect of the regulations is to establish clear guidelines consistent with the intent of Congress regarding the timing and the scope of assistance VA will provide to a claimant who files a substantially complete application for VA benefits, or who attempts to reopen a previously denied claim. Duty to Notify After reviewing the claims folder, the Board finds that the claimant has been notified of the applicable laws and regulations which set forth the necessary criteria for the benefits currently sought. The claimant was informed of the information and evidence necessary to warrant entitlement to the benefits sought in letters dated in February 2005 and July 2005. Moreover, in these letters, the appellant was advised of the types of evidence VA would assist him in obtaining as well as his own responsibilities with regard to identifying relevant evidence. See Quartuccio v. Principi, 16 Vet. App. 183 (2002); Charles v. Principi, 16 Vet. App. 370 (2002). The Board notes that these letters were sent to the appellant prior to the most recent RO-level readjudication of the issue on appeal, as evidenced by the November 2008 supplemental statement of the case. The VCAA notice was therefore effectively timely. See Pelegrini v. Principi, 18 Vet. App. 112 (2004). The Board finds that all notices required by VCAA and implementing regulations were furnished to the appellant and that no useful purpose would be served by delaying appellate review to send out additional VCAA notice letters. During the pendency of this appeal, on March 3, 2006, the United States Court of Appeals for Veterans Claims (Court) issued a decision in the consolidated appeal of Dingess/Hartman v. Nicholson, 19 Vet. App. 473 (2006), which held that the VCAA notice requirements of 38 U.S.C.A. § 5103(a) and 38 C.F.R. § 3.159(b) apply to all five elements of a service connection claim. Those five elements include: 1) veteran status; 2) existence of a disability; 3) a connection between the veteran's service and the disability; 4) degree of disability; and 5) effective date of the disability. The Court held that upon receipt of an application for a service-connection claim, 38 U.S.C.A. § 5103(a) and 38 C.F.R. § 3.159(b) require VA to review the information and the evidence presented with the claim and to provide the claimant with notice of what information and evidence not previously provided, if any, will assist in substantiating or is necessary to substantiate the elements of the claim as reasonably contemplated by the application. Id. at 486. Additionally, this notice must include notification that a disability rating and an effective date for the award of benefits will be assigned if the benefits are awarded. Id. at 488. In this case, an effectively timely letter sent in April 2006 provided the notice contemplated by Dingess. The appellant was provided with notice of the types of evidence necessary to establish a disability rating and an effective date for any rating that may be granted, and this letter explained how VA determines disability ratings and effective dates. The Board notes that this letter was sent to the appellant prior to the most recent RO-level readjudication of the issues on appeal as evidenced by the November 2008 supplemental statement of the case. The notice was therefore effectively timely. See Pelegrini v. Principi, 18 Vet. App. 112 (2004). The Veteran has received all essential notice, has had a meaningful opportunity to participate in the development of his claims, and is not prejudiced by any technical notice deficiency along the way. See Conway v. Principi, 353 F.3d 1369 (Fed. Cir. 2004). In any event, the Veteran has not demonstrated any prejudice with regard to the content of the notice. The U.S. Court of Appeals for the Federal Circuit previously held that any error in VCAA notice should be presumed prejudicial, and that VA must bear the burden of proving that such an error did not cause harm. Sanders v. Nicholson, 487 F.3d 881 (2007). However, the U.S. Supreme Court has recently reversed that decision, finding it unlawful in light of 38 U.S.C.A. § 7261(b)(2), which provides that, in conducting review of decision of the Board, a court shall take due account of rule of prejudicial error. The Supreme Court in essence held that -except for cases in which VA has failed to meet the first requirement of 38 C.F.R. § 3.159(b) by not informing the claimant of the information and evidence necessary to substantiate the claim- the burden of proving harmful error must rest with the party raising the issue; the Federal Circuit's presumption of prejudicial error imposed an unreasonable evidentiary burden upon VA and encouraged abuse of the judicial process, and determinations on the issue of harmless error should be made on a case-by- case basis. Shinseki v. Sanders, 129 S. Ct. 1696 (2009). Duty to Assist Furthermore, the Board finds that there has been substantial compliance with the assistance provisions set forth in the law and regulations. The record as it stands includes sufficient competent evidence. All available pertinent records, in-service and VA reports, have been obtained. The Veteran has been afforded multiple VA examinations to evaluate his disability in this appeal; all pertinent VA examination reports are of record, including those dated in August 2005, October 2007, and October 2008. The Board notes that the VA examination reports of record contain sufficiently specific clinical findings and informed discussion of the pertinent features of the disability on appeal to provide probative medical evidence adequately addressing the issue decided below. The Board finds that the record as it stands includes adequate competent evidence to allow the Board to decide the case and no further action is necessary. See generally 38 C.F.R. § 3.159(c)(4). No additional pertinent evidence has been identified by the claimant as relevant to this appeal. Under these circumstances, no further action is necessary to assist the claimant with this appeal. Analysis The Veteran seeks assignment of a disability rating in excess of 10 percent for his post-surgical appendectomy scar. The Veteran essentially contends that the scar is more severely disabling than the 10 percent disability rating reflects. Primarily, the Veteran's correspondence has contended that proper measurement of the scar should reveal that it involves sufficient area to warrant an increased rating. The Veteran has also generally contended that tenderness, irritation, and itching interferes in his functioning. As discussed in detail below, the RO has scheduled the Veteran for three VA examinations to obtain full clinical reports of the scar's features, to include detailed descriptions of the dimensions of the area of involvement, in accordance with the Veteran's requests to have the scar re-measured on multiple occasions. Disability evaluations are determined by the application of the Schedule For Rating Disabilities, which assigns ratings based on the average impairment of earning capacity resulting from a service-connected disability. 38 U.S.C.A. § 1155; 38 C.F.R. Part 4. Where there is a question as to which of two evaluations shall be applied, the higher evaluation will be assigned if the disability picture more nearly approximates the criteria required for that rating. Otherwise, the lower rating will be assigned. 38 C.F.R. § 4.7. In order to evaluate the level of disability and any changes in condition, it is necessary to consider the complete medical history of the veteran's condition. Schafrath v. Derwinski, 1 Vet. App. 589, 594 (1991). Where the appeal arises from the original assignment of a disability evaluation following an award of service connection, the severity of the disability at issue is to be considered during the entire period from the initial assignment of the disability rating to the present time. See Fenderson v. West, 12 Vet. App. 119 (1999). However, where an increase in the level of a service-connected disability is at issue, the primary concern is the present level of disability. Francisco v. Brown, 7 Vet. App. 55 (1994). Nevertheless, the Board acknowledges that a claimant may experience multiple distinct degrees of disability that might result in different levels of compensation from the time the increased rating claim was filed until a final decision is made. Hart v. Mansfield, 21 Vet. App. 505 (2007). The analysis in the following decision is undertaken with consideration of the possibility that different ratings may be warranted for different time periods. The Board also notes, to the extent that functional impairment and muscular impairment may potentially be associated with post-surgical scarring, that when evaluating disabilities of the musculoskeletal system, 38 C.F.R. § 4.40 allows for consideration of functional loss due to pain and weakness causing additional disability beyond that reflected on range of motion measurements. DeLuca v. Brown, 8 Vet. App. 202 (1995). Further, 38 C.F.R. § 4.45 provides that consideration also be given to weakened movement, excess fatigability and incoordination. The Veteran's service-connected scar residual of appendectomy has been rated by the RO under the provisions of Diagnostic Code 7804. The existence of a superficial scar (not associated with underlying soft tissue damage) that is painful on examination warrants a 10 percent rating, which is the maximum. 38 C.F.R. § 4.118, Diagnostic Code 7804. Additionally, Diagnostic Code 7801 pertains to all scars (other than on the head, face, or neck) which are deep or cause limited motion. Pursuant to Diagnostic Code 7801, such a scar or scars warrants a 10 percent disability evaluation when it involves an area or areas exceeding 6 square inches (39 square centimeters). A 20 percent disability evaluation is warranted for when it involves an area or areas exceeding 12 square inches (77 square centimeters). A 30 percent disability evaluation is warranted when it involves an area or areas exceeding 72 square inches (465 square centimeters). A 40 percent evaluation is warranted when it involves an area or areas exceeding 144 square inches (929 square centimeters). A 10 percent rating is warranted when the veteran has a scar (not on the head, face, or neck) that is superficial and does not cause limitation of motion if the scar has an area exceeding 144 square inches (929 sq. cm.). 38 C.F.R. § 4.118, Diagnostic Code 7802. The existence of a superficial, unstable scar (one where there is frequent loss of covering of skin over the scar) warrants a 10 percent rating, which is the maximum. 38 C.F.R. § 4.118, Diagnostic Code 7803. Pursuant to Diagnostic Code 7805, scars may otherwise be rated based on the limitation of function of the affected part. An August 2005 VA examination report is of record and presents substantial information and clinical findings pertinent to this appeal. The report shows that the Veteran described experiencing numbness, paresthesias, and irritation where his belt and his waistline cross the scar; this caused the Veteran to move his belt frequently and wear looser pants. The examiner indicated that he gave the Veteran several opportunities to report any limitations. The Veteran first stated that regarding his business affairs and his occupation there is no limitation from the scar. The Veteran reported symptoms when he runs, engages in sports, or does sit-up exercises; the symptoms were described to be itching and irritation. Physical examination during the August 2005 VA examination revealed a scar which was 16 centimeters long extending from the level of the umbilicus just to the right of it down to the pubis. The scar was 3 millimeters wide in the upper half and 1.2 centimeters wide in the lower half. The examiner noted that there was no evidence of incisional hernia, ventral hernia, or weakness. The examiner also noted that there was mild tenderness to the lower portion of the scar. The examiner found no adhesions, found normal texture, and found no evidence of ulceration or breakdown of skin. The examiner did find depression of the scar with possibly some underlying tissue loss in the subcutaneous fat area. No inflammation or edema was found. The examiner commented that minimal scarring could be superficial keloids, however actual keloids were not seen. The color of the scar was somewhat lighter than that of the adjoining skin, but the examiner was of the opinion that there was no disfigurement. The examiner found no limitation of function by the scar. The report notes that the Veteran did not describe pain, weakness, fatigue, flare-ups, or incoordination. The Veteran's symptom complaints were numbness, paresthesias, itching, and irritation. Photographs were taken and are included in the claims-file for review; they appear to be consistent with the clinical discussion of the scar provided by the examination report. An October 2007 VA examination report is also of record and presents additional information and clinical findings pertinent to this appeal. The Veteran reported slight tenderness with pressure of the belt buckle and an itching stinging sensation at the bottom end of the scar. The Veteran described this as a mild discomfort, but was more concerned because of retraction or depression and the width of the scar. The report notes that the Veteran denied any disturbance of bowel or bladder function. Physical examination in October 2007 revealed a large vertical lower abdominal scar extending from the suprapubic region 18 centimeters to just above the umbilicus. At the widest point, the lower 8 centimeters of the scar was 4 centimeters wide. The center of the scar was retracted three-quarters of an inch deep for a length of 8 by 1 centimeter; there was induration in the lower half of the scar extending 3 centimeters by 1.5 centimeters. There was no tenderness observed and the scar was noted to be well healed. The texture was smooth and the color slightly paler than surrounding skin. The scar was retracted and fixed to subcutaneous tissues; there was no loss of underlying tissue, and no sign of inflammation or breakdown. The examiner noted that there had been no change in the appearance of the scar since the photographs taken in connection with the previous August 2005 VA examination report. The examiner characterized the symptoms as 'minor' discomfort and deformity. An October 2008 VA examination report is also of record and provides another presentation of information and clinical findings pertinent to this appeal. The Veteran reported symptoms of occasional numbness and itching sensation in addition to discomfort when his belt rubs against the scar. The Veteran reported that he had been working in real-estate development with no time loss from work. The Veteran denied any bowel complaints, diarrhea, or constipation. The Veteran did not indicate any skin breakdown from the scar site. Physical examination in October 2008 revealed a scar which starts curving all around from the supraumbilical region around the infraumbilical and then goes all the way to the suprapubic region. In length, the scar measured 18 centimeters. The lower 8 centimeters of the scar were 4 centimeters wide and the upper 10 centimeters of the scar were approximately 4 millimeters wide. There was no incisional hernia noted on palpation. The texture was smooth, the color was hyperpigmented compared to the surrounding skin. The scar was retracted. There were no signs of inflammation or skin breakdown. The scar was characterized as deep. The center of the scar was retracted three quarters of an inch deep. There was no pain on scar examination. The scar was stable, and there were no ulcerations seen and no keloid edema or inflammation seen. There was no area of inflexibility of the skin in the area of the scar. The examiner found no limitation of motion or limitation of function caused by the scar. The examiner's final impression characterized the scar as well healed at present and occasionally causing numbness and discomfort. In summary, the various VA examination reports measure the length of the scar as 16 centimeters (August 2005) or 18 centimeters (October 2007 and October 2008). The widest portion of the scar was measured as 1.2 centimeters (August 2005), 4 centimeters (October 2007 and October 2008). The Board notes that the scar is clearly shown to not be 4 centimeters wide throughout, but only in its widest portion. Using 18 centimeters by 4 centimeters as the basis for calculating a total area of 72 square centimeters is an overestimate of the actual total area of the scar. However, even this overestimate of 72 square centimeters fails to meet the criteria for a higher rating under Diagnostic Code 7801, as this measurement is less than 77 square centimeters. Therefore, even contemplating the fact that the Veteran's scar may be characterized as a deep scar, no rating in excess of 10 percent is warranted under Diagnostic Code 7801. The Board notes that a January 2005 VA outpatient treatment record refers to the scar as having dimensions of 8 inches by 1.5 inches. This report was not prepared for the purpose of precisely measuring the scar's dimensions; in contrast to the several VA examination reports, it does not present a detailed discussion focused upon the dimensions and shape of the scar. The Board finds that such measurements of the scar contained in treatment records are significantly less probative than the more precise and detailed measurements presented in the several VA examination reports prepared with attention focused upon the purpose of evaluating those dimensions. In any event, the Board observes that even assuming a scar that was simply 8 inches by 1.5 inches (ignoring that the evidence demonstrates the shape of the Veteran's scar is not as wide throughout its length), the resulting area of 12 square inches would still not be in excess of 12 square inches and would still not meet that criterion for an increased rating. The Board finds no rating in excess of 10 percent is warranted under Diagnostic Code 7801. The Board notes that no rating in excess of 10 percent is available under the provisions of Diagnostic Codes 7802, 7803, or 7804; a 10 percent rating is the maximum rating under those Codes. The Board also notes that no limitation of function of the affected body part is shown in any of the evidence of record to warrant assignment of a disability rating in excess of 10 percent. The Board finds no basis for assignment of an increased disability rating in this case under any applicable Diagnostic Code. Conclusion and Extraschedular Consideration In this decision, the Board has found that the VA examination reports of record are highly probative evidence with regard to evaluating the severity of the Veteran's scar disability on appeal in this case. The reports specifically document and address the Veteran's symptom complaints, document the pertinent specialized clinical findings, and present competent medical examiners' assessments of the disability informed by direct interview and inspection of the Veteran together with consideration of the pertinent history. The Board has reviewed the entirety of the evidence of record, including the Veteran's testimony and additional treatment records. The Board finds that none of the evidence of record probatively contradicts the findings discussed above, nor does any of the evidence of record otherwise probatively show that the criteria for any increased rating are met in this case. The Board acknowledges that the Veteran, in advancing this appeal, believes that the disability on appeal has been more severely disabling than the assigned disability rating reflects. Medical evidence is generally required to probatively address questions requiring medical expertise; lay assertions do not constitute competent medical evidence for these purposes. Espiritu v. Derwinski, 2 Vet. App. 492, 494 (1992). However, lay assertions may serve to support a claim by supporting the occurrence of lay-observable events or the presence of symptoms of disability subject to lay observation. 38 U.S.C.A. § 1153(a); 38 C.F.R. § 3.303(a); Jandreau v. Nicholson, 492 F.3d 1372 (Fed. Cir. 2007); see Buchanan v. Nicholson, 451 F.3d 1331, 1336 (Fed. Cir. 2006) (addressing lay evidence as potentially competent to support presence of disability even where not corroborated by contemporaneous medical evidence). The Board has carefully considered the Veteran's contentions and testimony. Lay testimony is competent to describe such complaints as the itching, irritation, and appearance of the scar. In this case, however, the competent medical evidence offering detailed specific findings and specialized determinations pertinent to the rating criteria are the most probative evidence with regard to evaluating the pertinent symptoms for the disability on appeal. The Board accepts the Veteran's testimony regarding his scar, but relies upon the competent medical evidence with regard to the specialized quantification and evaluation of the extent of the area of the scar and its clinical features. The lay testimony has been considered together with the probative medical evidence clinically evaluating the severity of the pertinent disability symptoms. The preponderance of the most probative evidence does not support assignment of any increased rating in this case. The Board observes that in some of the Veteran's statements he contends that the measurements presented in the medical reports of record actually meet the criteria for an increased rating. The Board accepts that a lay person is competent to interpret a reported length and width of a scar and apply multiplication to calculate a surface area. However, the Board has performed such a calculation in this case using the instances of measurements most favorable to the Veteran's claim among those presented in the most probative evidence. In so doing, multiplication of the most favorable length by the most favorable width results in significantly overestimating the surface area by using the width of the widest point of the scar as though it were the width throughout the scar. However, even that overestimation fails to meet the applicable threshold for assignment of an increased rating. In any event, the Board finds that absolutely none of the probative competent clinical measurements of the scar in this case show an area sufficiently large to warrant an increased disability rating, as discussed above. To the extent that the Veteran is otherwise competent to testify that his scar is larger than the medical reports indicate, the Board finds that three highly probative VA examinations of the scar with detailed reported measurements supplemented by photographic evidence are more probative than the Veteran's testimony in this regard. To the extent that the Veteran's statements, including a January 2007 statement, suggest that a VA examiner verbally endorsed the Veteran's belief that his scar is large enough to warrant an increased disability rating, the Board finds that such a presentation of evidence has no probative weight in this case. The Board notes that there is no contemporaneous documentation of any such medical opinion despite the fact that all of the VA examinations are documented by complete reports in the claims file. The Board cannot rely upon the Veteran's account of a doctor's opinion without corroborating consistent medical statements from the doctor. The Board notes that the U.S. Court of Appeals for Veterans Claims has held that a lay person's statement about what a physician told him, i.e., 'hearsay medical evidence,' cannot constitute the medical evidence, as "the connection between what a physician said and the layman's account of what he purportedly said, filtered as it was through a layman's sensibilities, is simply too attenuated and inherently unreliable to constitute 'medical' evidence." See Robinette v. Brown, 8 Vet. App. 69 (1995). Finally, in making these determinations, the Board has considered the provisions of 38 U.S.C.A. § 5107(b), but there is not such a state of approximate balance of the positive evidence with the negative evidence with regard to any adverse determination in this decision. The preponderance of the evidence is against finding entitlement to any increased rating in this appeal. To that extent, as the preponderance of the evidence is against the claim, the benefit-of-the- doubt doctrine does not apply and the claim must be denied. See Gilbert v. Derwinski, 1 Vet. App 49 (1990). The Board also recognizes that the Veteran and the record refer to the impact of the service-connected disability on the Veteran's functioning, which can be understood to include work functioning. In general, the schedular disability evaluations are determined by the application of a schedule of ratings which is based on average impairment of earning capacity. 38 U.S.C.A. § 1155; 38 C.F.R. Part 4. The application of such schedular criteria was discussed in great detail above. To accord justice in an exceptional case where the schedular standards are found to be inadequate, the RO is authorized to refer the case to the Chief Benefits Director or the Director, Compensation and Pension Service for assignment of an extraschedular evaluation commensurate with the average earning capacity impairment. 38 C.F.R. § 3.321(b)(1). The criterion for such an award is a finding that the case presents an exceptional or unusual disability picture with such related factors as marked interference with employment or frequent periods of hospitalization as to render impractical application of regular schedular standards. Id. The Court has held that the Board is precluded by regulation from assigning an extraschedular rating under 38 C.F.R. § 3.321(b)(1) in the first instance; however, the Board is not precluded from raising this question, and in fact is obligated to liberally read all documents and oral testimony of record and identify all potential theories of entitlement to a benefit under the law and regulations. Floyd v. Brown, 9 Vet. App. 88 (1996). The Court further held that the Board must address referral under 38 C.F.R. §3.321(b)(1) only where circumstances are presented which the Director of VA's Compensation and Pension Service might consider exceptional or unusual. Shipwash v. Brown, 8 Vet. App. 218, 227 (1995). In Thun v. Peake, 22 Vet. App. 111 (2008), the Court clarified the analytical steps necessary to determine whether referral for extraschedular consideration is warranted. Either the RO or the Board must first determine whether the schedular rating criteria reasonably describe a veteran's disability level and symptomatology. Id. at 115. If the schedular rating criteria do reasonably describe a veteran's disability level and symptomatology, the assigned schedular evaluation is adequate, referral for extraschedular consideration is not required, and the analysis stops. If the RO or the Board finds that the schedular evaluation does not contemplate a veteran's level of disability and symptomatology, then either the RO or the Board must determine whether a veteran's exceptional disability picture includes other related factors such as marked interference with employment and frequent periods of hospitalization. Id. at116. If this is the case, then the RO or the Board must refer the matter to the Under Secretary for Benefits or the Director of the Compensation and Pension Service for the third step of the analysis, determining whether justice requires assignment of an extraschedular rating. Id. In this case, the symptoms described by the Veteran fit squarely within the criteria found in the relevant Diagnostic Codes for the disability at issue. In short, the rating criteria contemplate not only his symptoms but the severity of his disability. For these reasons, referral for extraschedular consideration is not warranted. Additionally, the Court recently held that a request for a total disability rating for compensation purposes based on individual unemployability due to service-connected disabilities (TDIU), whether expressly raised by the Veteran or reasonably raised by the record, is not a separate 'claim' for benefits, but rather, can be part of a claim for increased compensation. Rice v. Shinseki, 22 Vet. App. 447, 453-54 (2009). In other words, if the claimant or the evidence of record reasonably raises the question of whether the Veteran is unemployable due to a disability for which an increased rating is sought, then part and parcel with the increased rating claim is the issue whether a TDIU is warranted as a result of that disability. Id. The Board has considered whether the claimant or the evidence of record reasonably raises the question of whether the Veteran is unemployable due to a disability for which an increased rating is currently sought in this appeal. In the present case, the Board finds no such question is raised. The Veteran has not contended that he is unemployable due to the service-connected scar on appeal; the Veteran has in fact indicated to a VA examiner in October 2008 that his disability has not caused him to miss any time from his job. The Board finds that neither the evidence nor the contentions of record otherwise raise the question of whether the Veteran is unemployable due to a disability on appeal. Therefore, the Board finds that this appeal does not include an issue of entitlement to TDIU. ORDER The appeal is denied. ____________________________________________ ALAN S. PEEVY Veterans Law Judge, Board of Veterans' Appeals Department of Veterans Affairs