Citation Nr: 1007178 Decision Date: 02/26/10 Archive Date: 03/05/10 DOCKET NO. 08-04 255 ) DATE ) ) On appeal from the Department of Veterans Affairs Regional Office in St. Paul, Minnesota THE ISSUES 1. Entitlement to service connection for right carpal tunnel syndrome. 2. Entitlement to service connection for a right shoulder disability, claimed as secondary to carpal tunnel syndrome. REPRESENTATION Appellant represented by: The American Legion WITNESS AT HEARING ON APPEAL Appellant ATTORNEY FOR THE BOARD Amy M. Smith, Associate Counsel INTRODUCTION The Veteran served on active duty in the United States Air Force from January 1981 to January 1985, with subsequent service in the Minnesota Air National Guard. This matter comes before the Board of Veterans' Appeals (Board) on appeal from a July 2007 rating action of the Department of Veterans Affairs Regional Office (RO) in St. Paul, Minnesota. The Veteran presented testimony at a Travel Board hearing chaired by the undersigned Veterans Law Judge in September 2009. A transcript of the hearing is associated with the claims file. The issue of entitlement to service connection for right carpal tunnel syndrome is addressed in the REMAND portion of the decision below and is REMANDED to the RO via the Appeals Management Center (AMC), in Washington, DC. FINDING OF FACT The Veteran does not have a current chronic right shoulder disability. CONCLUSION OF LAW Service connection for a right shoulder disability is not warranted. 38 U.S.C.A. §§ 1110, 1131, 5107 (West 2002 & Supp. 2009); 38 C.F.R. §§ 3.102, 3.303, 3.310 (2009). REASONS AND BASES FOR FINDING AND CONCLUSION Duties To Notify And Assist The Veterans Claims Assistance Act of 2000 (VCAA) describes VA's duty to notify and assist claimants in substantiating a claim for VA benefits. 38 U.S.C.A. §§ 5100, 5102, 5103, 5103A, 5107, 5126; 38 C.F.R. §§ 3.102, 3.156(a), 3.159, 3.326(a). Upon receipt of a complete or substantially complete application for benefits, VA is required to notify the claimant and his or her representative of any information, and any medical or lay evidence, that is necessary to substantiate the claim. 38 U.S.C.A. § 5103(a); 38 C.F.R. § 3.159(b). Proper VCAA notice must inform the claimant of any information and evidence not of record (1) that is necessary to substantiate the claim; (2) that VA will seek to provide; and (3) that the claimant is expected to provide in accordance with 38 C.F.R. § 3.159(b)(1). Pelegrini v. Principi, 18 Vet. App. 112, 120-121 (2004). The foregoing notice requirements were satisfied by a July 2006 letter, which informed the Veteran of the evidence necessary to support her claim on both a direct and secondary service connection basis. This letter also informed the Veteran of the law and regulations governing the assignment of disability ratings and effective dates. See Dingess/Hartman v. Nicholson, 19 Vet. App. 473 (2006). In addition, following the letter, the September 2007 statement of the case, and October 2008, December 2008, and February 2009 supplemental statements of the case were issued, each of which provided the Veteran an additional 60 days to submit more evidence. The Board also finds that the duty to assist provisions of the VCAA have been met in this case. The Veteran underwent a pertinent VA examination in October 2006. Additionally, all relevant treatment records adequately identified by the Veteran have been obtained and associated with the claims file. Neither she nor her representative has identified any other pertinent evidence, not already of record, which would need to be obtained for a fair disposition of this appeal. Standard Of Review Once the evidence has been assembled, it is the Board's responsibility to evaluate the record. 38 U.S.C.A. § 7104(a). When there is an approximate balance of evidence regarding the merits of an issue material to the determination of the matter, the benefit of the doubt in resolving each such issue shall be given to the claimant. 38 U.S.C.A. § 5107; 38 C.F.R. § 3.102. In Gilbert v. Derwinski, 1 Vet. App. 49, 53 (1990), the United States Court of Appeals for Veterans Claims (Court) stated that "a [V]eteran need only demonstrate that there is an 'approximate balance of positive and negative evidence' in order to prevail." To deny a claim on its merits, the evidence must preponderate against the claim. General Laws And Regulations Generally, service connection may be granted for any disability resulting from injury suffered or disease contracted in line of duty, or for aggravation in service of a pre-existing injury or disease. 38 U.S.C.A. § 1110. Service connection may be established by demonstrating that the disability was first manifested during service and has continued since service to the present time or by showing that a disability which pre-existed service was aggravated during service. Service connection may be granted for any disease diagnosed after discharge from service, when all the evidence, including that pertinent to service, establishes that the disease was incurred in service. 38 C.F.R. § 3.303. Service connection may also be granted for a disability resulting from disease or injury incurred in or aggravated while performing active duty for training (ACDUTRA) or injury incurred or aggravated while performing inactive duty for training (INACDUTRA). 38 U.S.C.A. §§ 101(22)-(24), 106(d), 1110; 38 C.F.R. § 3.6(c), (d), 3.303. Further, service connection may be granted for disability shown to be proximately due to, or the result of, a service- connected disorder. See 38 C.F.R. § 3.310(a). This regulation has been interpreted by the United States Court of Appeals for Veterans Claims (Court) to allow service connection for a disorder which is caused by a service- connected disorder, or for the degree of additional disability resulting from aggravation of a non service- connected disorder by a service-connected disorder. See Allen v. Brown, 7 Vet. App. 439 (1995). A threshold requirement for the grant of service connection for any disability is that the disability claimed must be shown to be present. 38 U.S.C.A. § 1110. The Court has interpreted the requirement of current disability thus: Congress specifically limits entitlement for service-connected disease or injury to cases where such incidents have resulted in a disability. See 38 U.S.C. § 1110. In the absence of proof of a present disability there can be no valid claim. Brammer v. Derwinski, 3 Vet. App. 223, 225 (1992). In relevant part, 38 U.S.C.A. 1154(a) requires that VA give "due consideration" to "all pertinent medical and lay evidence" in evaluating a claim for disability or death benefits. Davidson v. Shinseki, 581 F.3d 1313 (Fed. Cir. Sept. 14, 2009). Lay testimony is competent to establish the presence of observable symptomatology and "may provide sufficient support for a claim of service connection." Layno v. Brown, 6 Vet. App. 465, 469 (1994); see also Falzone v. Brown, 8 Vet. App. 398, 405 (1995) (lay person competent to testify to pain and visible flatness of his feet); Espiritu v. Derwinski, 2 Vet. App. at 494-95 (lay person may provide eyewitness account of medical symptoms). Competency, however, must be distinguished from weight and credibility, which are factual determinations going to the probative value of the evidence. See Rucker v. Brown, 10 Vet. App. 67, 74 (1997). Analysis The Veteran contends that she developed a right shoulder disability as a result of her currently-shown right carpal tunnel syndrome. As reflected by the March 1980 pre-induction examination findings and subsequent physical examination reports, the Veteran evidenced no right shoulder problems upon entry into or during her period of active service in the Air Force. National Guard records reflect a September 2004 complaint of right shoulder blade pain following a slip and fall at a department store in July 2004 while the Veteran was not on active duty, active duty for training or inactive duty training. Physical examination of the shoulder revealed full mobility with diffuse tenderness to palpation in the girdle region. No diagnosis was provided. Post-service treatment records, including an October 2006 VA examination, reflect continued complaints of right shoulder pain, with no clinical pathology indicated. Based on the foregoing evidence, the Board finds that service connection for a right shoulder disability is not warranted. While the record reflect complaints of right shoulder pain, the Board notes that pain alone, without a diagnosed or identifiable underlying condition, does not constitute a disability for which service connection may be granted, Sanchez-Benitez v. West, 13 Vet. App. 282 (1999). While the Veteran is competent to describe her right shoulder symptoms, she does not possess the medical expertise to provide a diagnosis in this case. See Espiritu, 2 Vet. App. 492 (1992). In the absence of a currently-shown right shoulder disability, there is no basis to award service connection. Brammer. ORDER Service connection for a right shoulder disability is denied. REMAND The Veteran asserts that her currently-shown right carpal tunnel syndrome is attributable to duties she performed while in the Minnesota Air National Guard. Specifically, she asserts that repetitive key boarding during active duty for training or inactive duty training periods caused a right wrist injury to progress to carpal tunnel syndrome. National Guard records reflect a September 2004 private diagnosis of a right wrist sprain following a slip and fall in July 2004 while not performing military duty. The Veteran was issued a temporary physical profile until October 2004, but continued to complain of right wrist pain. She was diagnosed with right carpal tunnel syndrome by private EMG in August 2005. These records also reflect a military occupational specialty of information management journeyman, and that from July 2004 to August 2005 the Veteran had 8 days of ACDUTRA and 22 days of INACDUTRA. Initially, the Board notes that because the Veteran was not diagnosed with carpal tunnel syndrome while on ACDUTRA, direct service connection for this disease is not warranted. In addition, since she had no subsequent ACDUTRA during which the disease might have been aggravated, service connection on this basis is also not warranted. However, the question remains whether the Veteran's right wrist injury (sprain) was aggravated by subsequent ACDUTRA or INACDUTRA so as to result in carpal tunnel syndrome in August 2005. The Board notes that in a September 2005 statement, the Veteran's private physician opined that the repetitive gripping, grasping, and torquing activities performed in her civilian job as a dental hygienist were significant contributing factors to the progression of her right wrist condition. Nevertheless, the Board finds that the question of whether the Veteran's right wrist sprain was aggravated by her service as to produce carpal tunnel syndrome should be addressed by a VA medical professional. Accordingly, the case is REMANDED for the following action: 1. The Veteran's claims file, including this remand, should be reviewed by an individual with the appropriate expertise. The reviewer is asked to express an opinion as to whether the Veteran's right wrist sprain underwent any increase in severity beyond its natural progression during active service (ACDUTRA or INACDUTRA) from July 2004 to August 2005 (30 days altogether) so as to result in carpel tunnel syndrome. A complete rationale should be provided for all opinions expressed. If the requested opinion cannot be made without a physical examination of the Veteran, that should be arranged. 2. When the development requested has been completed, the claim should be readjudicated. If the benefit sought on appeal remains denied, the Veteran and her representative should be provided with a supplemental statement of the case, and provided with an appropriate time for response. The case should then be returned to the Board for further appellate review. The Veteran has the right to submit additional evidence and argument on the matters the Board has remanded. Kutscherousky v. West, 12 Vet. App. 369 (1999). This claim must be afforded expeditious treatment. The law requires that all claims that are remanded by the Board or by the Court for additional development or other appropriate action must be handled in an expeditious manner. See 38 U.S.C.A. §§ 5109B, 7112 (West Supp. 2009). ______________________________________________ MICHAEL E. KILCOYNE Veterans Law Judge, Board of Veterans' Appeals Department of Veterans Affairs