Citation Nr: 1007243 Decision Date: 02/26/10 Archive Date: 03/05/10 DOCKET NO. 08-13 056A ) DATE ) ) On appeal from the Department of Veterans Affairs Medical Center in Gainesville, Florida THE ISSUE Entitlement to payment or reimbursement for unauthorized medical expenses incurred at a private medical facility on August 21, 2007. ATTORNEY FOR THE BOARD David Traskey, Associate Counsel INTRODUCTION The Veteran had active service from April 1964 to April 1966. He has no service-connected disabilities. This matter came before the Board of Veterans' Appeals (Board) on appeal from decisions of November 2007 by the Department of Veterans Affairs Medical Center (VAMC) in Gainesville, Florida. FINDINGS OF FACT 1. The Veteran was treated on August 21, 2007 at Putnam Community Medical Center in Palatka, Florida. 2. The Veteran has no service-connected disabilities. 3. Resolving all doubt in the Veteran's favor, the Veteran's high blood pressure and headache on August 21, 2007 was of such nature that a prudent layperson would have reasonably expected that delay in seeking immediate medical attention would have been hazardous to life or health. CONCLUSION OF LAW Resolving all doubt in the Veteran's favor, the criteria for payment or reimbursement of unauthorized medical expenses incurred by the Veteran on August 21, 2007 at Putnam Community Medical Center have been met. 38 U.S.C.A. § 1725 (West 2002); 38 C.F.R. §§ 17.1000-17.1008 (2009). REASONS AND BASES FOR FINDINGS AND CONCLUSION The Veteran contends that pursuant to the Veterans Millennium Health Care and Benefits Act, he is entitled to payment or reimbursement for medical care received on August 21, 2007 at Putnam Community Medical Center (PCMC) in Palatka, Florida. See 38 U.S.C.A. § 1725 (West 2002); 38 C.F.R. §§ 17.1000- 17.1008 (2009). According to 38 C.F.R. § 17.1002, payment or reimbursement for emergency treatment for non-service-connected disabilities in non-VA facilities is made only if all of the following criteria are met: (a) The emergency services were provided in a hospital emergency department or similar facility held out as providing emergency care to the public; (b) The claim for payment or reimbursement for the initial evaluation and treatment is for a condition of such nature that a prudent layperson would have reasonably expected that delay in seeking immediate medical attention would have been hazardous to life or health (this standard would be met if there was an emergency medical condition manifesting itself by acute symptoms of sufficient severity (including severe pain) that a prudent layperson who possesses an average knowledge of health and medicine could reasonably expect the absence of immediate medical attention to result in placing the health of the individual in serious jeopardy, serious impairment to bodily function, or serious dysfunction of any bodily organ or part); (c) A VA or other Federal facility/provider was not feasibly available and an attempt to use them beforehand would not have been considered reasonable by a prudent layperson (as an example, these conditions would be met by evidence establishing that the Veteran was brought to a hospital in an ambulance and the ambulance personnel determined that the nearest available appropriate level of care was at a non-VA medical center); (d) The claim for payment or reimbursement for any medical care beyond the initial emergency evaluation and treatment is for a continued medical emergency of such a nature that the Veteran could not have been safely discharged or transferred to a VA or other Federal facility (the medical emergency lasts only until the time the Veteran becomes stabilized); (e) At the time the emergency treatment was furnished, the Veteran was enrolled in the VA health care system and had received medical services under authority of 38 U.S.C. chapter 17 within the 24-month period preceding the furnishing of such emergency treatment; (f) The Veteran is financially liable to the provider of emergency treatment for that treatment; (g) The Veteran has no coverage under a health-plan contract for payment or reimbursement, in whole or in part, for the emergency treatment (this condition cannot be met if the Veteran has coverage under a health-plan contract but payment is barred because of a failure by the Veteran or the provider to comply with the provisions of that health-plan contract, e.g., failure to submit a bill or medical records within specified time limits, or failure to exhaust appeals for a denial of payment); (h) If the condition for which the emergency treatment was furnished was caused by an accident or work-related injury, the claimant has exhausted without success all claims and remedies reasonably available to the Veteran or provider against a third party for payment of such treatment; and the veteran has no contractual or legal recourse against a third party that could reasonably be pursued for the purpose of extinguishing, in whole or in part, the Veteran's liability to the provider; and (i) The Veteran is not eligible for reimbursement under 38 U.S.C. 1728 for the emergency treatment provided (38 U.S.C. § 1728 authorizes VA payment or reimbursement for emergency treatment to a limited group of veterans, primarily those who receive emergency treatment for a service-connected disability). The Board has reviewed the evidence of record. Resolving all doubt in the Veteran's favor, the criteria for payment or reimbursement for unauthorized medical expenses incurred at a private medical facility on August 21, 2007 are met. The Veteran presented to the PCMC emergency department on August 21, 2007 with a chief complaint of elevated blood pressure. A notation on the triage note indicated that the Veteran's past medical history was significant for hypertension. The onset of symptoms, according to the Veteran, occurred earlier that morning at 10 A.M. The Veteran was seen at PCMC at 11 A.M. and the severity of his symptoms was described as "medium," but his condition was noted to be "improved." He was found to be in no acute distress at the time of a physical examination. However, the Veteran also reported having a headache and he subsequently underwent a magnetic resonance imaging (MRI) scan of his brain. The results of the MRI were interpreted to show no focal abnormalities, intracranial hemorrhage, or subdural collections. The Veteran was prescribed medication to control his symptoms and he was discharged later that day. The clinical impression was elevated blood pressure and headache. A medical bill associated with the Veteran's duplicate combined health record (CHR) for this episode of care totaled $2,042.00. In October 2007, VA conducted a clinical review of the medical records associated with the Veteran's episode of care on August 21, 2007. A VA medical officer determined that there was no evidence of an "emergency situation" at the time care was rendered on the date in question. The Board notes, however, that the VA medical officer neither cited to medical evidence of record nor provided a rationale to support this conclusion. The Veteran's claim for payment or reimbursement was denied in November 2007 on the grounds that no medical emergency existed. Specifically, it was noted that care and services were not rendered in a medical emergency of such nature that delay would have been hazardous to life or health. The Veteran submitted a timely notice of disagreement (NOD) in which he stated that he began receiving treatment for high blood pressure in January 2005 and that his readings were usually 120/70 and controlled with medication. On August 21, 2007, however, the Veteran indicated that the readings were 145/80, 175/85, and 188/92. He also described having head and neck pain (i.e., "like something cracking inside"). These symptoms were exacerbated by movement. The Veteran further stated "I am not a doctor, but was feeling very bad and with these symptoms I felt like my life was threatening." The Veteran subsequently requested reconsideration of the November 2007 decision denying his claim for payment or reimbursement. The Veteran's claim was reconsidered in March 2008, but the original decision denying the Veteran's claim for payment or reimbursement was upheld. The VAMC issued a statement of the case (SOC) in April 2008 as well as a supplemental statement of the case (SSOC) in May 2008 in which it continued to deny the Veteran's claim for payment or reimbursement on the basis that his condition was non-emergent. In his substantive appeal dated May 2008, the Veteran stated that his decision to seek immediate medical attention at a private facility was influenced by the severity of his head and neck pain, dizziness, increasing blood pressure, and proximity (or lack thereof) to a VA medical facility. In this regard, the Veteran expressed his belief that his symptoms were hazardous to his health, particularly where, as here, they were "severe, and constantly increasing, and never experienced by me." Resolving all doubt in the Veteran's favor, the Board finds that the preponderance of the evidence supports a finding of payment or reimbursement for medical care rendered at PCMC on August 21, 2007. At issue in this case is whether the Veteran's symptoms were of such nature that a prudent layperson would have reasonably expected that delay in seeking immediate medical attention would have been hazardous to life or health. (Emphasis added). The United States Court of Appeals for Veterans Claims (Court) has in the past held that lay testimony is competent regarding features or symptoms of injury or disease when the features or symptoms are within the personal knowledge and observations of the witness. See Buchanan v. Nicholson, 451 F.3d 1331, 1336 (Fed. Cir. 2006); Jandreau v. Nicholson, 492 F.3d 1372, 1377 (Fed. Cir. 2007); Davidson v. Shinseki, 581 F.3d. 1313 (Fed. Cir. 2009). In this instance, the Veteran indicated that his decision to seek immediate medical attention at a private facility was influenced by the severity of his head and neck pain, dizziness, increasing blood pressure, and proximity (or lack thereof) to a VA medical facility. The Veteran described his symptoms as "severe" and "constantly increasing" and further stated that he had never experienced these symptoms before. A PCMC triage note dated August 21, 2007 also described the severity of the Veteran's symptoms upon arrival as "medium." It is noted that the Veteran has no medical training. On the other hand, VA medical officers determined that the Veteran's condition on August 21, 2007 was non-emergent and that care and services were not rendered in a medical emergency of such nature that delay would have been hazardous to life or health. See decisions dated October 2007, November 2007, and March 2008. As noted above, however, the VA medical officers neither cited to medical evidence of record nor provided a rationale to support this conclusion. As such, these opinions are entitled to limited probative weight. Based on the symptoms described by the Veteran, the evidence of record, and the absence of a rationale in the opinions provided by VA medical officers, the Board finds that a prudent layperson would have reasonably expected that delay in seeking immediate medical attention would have been hazardous to life or health. Thus, payment or reimbursement of unauthorized medical expenses incurred by the Veteran on August 21, 2007 at Putnam Community Medical Center is warranted. Duty to Notify and Assist As provided for by the Veterans Claims Assistance Act of 2000 (VCAA), the United States Department of Veterans Affairs (VA) has a duty to notify and assist claimants in substantiating a claim for VA benefits. 38 U.S.C.A. §§ 5100, 5102, 5103, 5103A, 5107, 5126 (West 2002 & Supp. 2009); 38 C.F.R. §§ 3.102, 3.156(a), 3.159 and 3.326(a) (2009). In this case, the Board is granting in full the benefit sought on appeal. Accordingly, assuming, without deciding, that any error was committed with respect to either the duty to notify or the duty to assist, such error was harmless and will not be further discussed. ORDER Payment or reimbursement of unauthorized medical expenses incurred by the Veteran on August 21, 2007 at Putnam Community Medical Center is granted. ____________________________________________ S.S. TOTH Veterans Law Judge, Board of Veterans' Appeals Department of Veterans Affairs