Citation Nr: 1007282 Decision Date: 02/26/10 Archive Date: 03/05/10 DOCKET NO. 03-08 611A ) DATE ) ) On appeal from the Department of Veterans Affairs Regional Office in North Little Rock, Arkansas THE ISSUE Entitlement to service connection for schizophrenia, paranoid type. REPRESENTATION Appellant represented by: Disabled American Veterans ATTORNEY FOR THE BOARD M. Scott Walker, Associate Counsel INTRODUCTION The Veteran served on active duty from August 1980 to July 1982. This matter comes before the Board of Veterans' Appeals (Board) on appeal from a December 2002 rating decision by the Department of Veterans Affairs (VA) Regional Office (RO) in North Little Rock, Arkansas, which denied entitlement to the benefit currently sought on appeal. The Board notes that the claim was originally denied in January 1999 and was not appealed. The Veteran attempted to reopen the claim in August 2000. The RO did so by the December 2002 rating decision, due to the enactment of the Veterans Claims Assistance Act of 2000, which changed the standards by which veterans' claims are adjudicated. It is this rating decision the Veteran has appealed. It is further noted that the Veteran requested a personal hearing before the Board in April 2003. The Veteran was then, and remains, incarcerated in an Arkansas prison. The Board contacted the Arkansas Department of Correction (ADC) in an effort to determine whether the Veteran would be permitted to travel to a hearing. In January 2004, the ADC notified the Board that it does not provide transportation to this type of hearing. The Veteran was notified of the ADC's decision directly. In November 2004, the Board denied the Veteran's appeal for service connection for his paranoid schizophrenia. He appealed to the United States Court of Appeals for Veterans Claims (Court). In an Order dated in August 2006, the Court vacated the November 2004 Board decision and remanded the matter. In its August 2006 Order, the Court noted the Veteran's contention that VA was required to obtain and consider his service personnel records, as well as private records, prior to final adjudication. The Court noted that these records could be pertinent and relevant, and that the records should be obtained. The Court also noted that the Veteran requested a medical examination and opinion. However, as there was no evidence of psychiatric symptoms in service, there was no basis for an opinion and development was not needed. The Court left open the possibility that, when obtained, the service personnel records could indicate psychiatric symptoms in service and demonstrate a need for the requested medical opinion. As such, the Veteran's claim was remanded in July 2007 so as to obtain any additional private medical records, as well as a complete copy of the Veteran's service personnel records (particularly those relating to his performance and separation from service). The Veteran's service personnel records were associated with his claims file in January 2008. Subsequent to the receipt of the Veteran's amended claims file, the Board requested a medical opinion from the Veterans Health Administration (VHA) in September 2009. That opinion was provided in November 2009. Therefore, as all development has been completed, the issue on appeal is properly before the Board. The Board further notes that the Appellant's Brief, dated January 18, 2010, waived the right to have additional evidence referred to the agency of original jurisdiction for review and preparation of a supplemental statement of the case (SOC) pursuant to 38 C.F.R. § 20.1304 (2009). FINDING OF FACT Schizophrenia, paranoid type, was not manifest during service, was not manifest within one year of separation, and the Veteran's current diagnosis of schizophrenia, paranoid type, is not attributable to service. CONCLUSION OF LAW Schizophrenia, paranoid type, was not incurred in or aggravated by service and may not be presumed to have been incurred or aggravated therein. 38 U.S.C.A. §§ 1101, 1112, 1113, 1131, 1137 (West 2002 & Supp. 2008); 38 C.F.R. §§ 3.303, 3.307, 3.309 (2009). REASONS AND BASES FOR FINDING AND CONCLUSION The Board has thoroughly reviewed all the evidence in the Veteran's claims file. Although the Board has an obligation to provide reasons and bases supporting this decision, there is no need to discuss, in detail, all of the evidence submitted by the Veteran or on his behalf. See Gonzales v. West, 218 F.3d 1378, 1380-81 (Fed. Cir. 2000) (the Board must review the entire record, but does not have to discuss each piece of evidence). The analysis below focuses on the most salient and relevant evidence and on what this evidence shows, or fails to show, on the claims. The Veteran must not assume that the Board has overlooked pieces of evidence that are not explicitly discussed herein. See Timberlake v. Gober, 14 Vet. App. 122 (2000) (the law requires only that the Board address its reasons for rejecting evidence favorable to the Veteran). The Board must assess the credibility and weight of all evidence, including the medical evidence, to determine its probative value, accounting for evidence which it finds to be persuasive or unpersuasive, and providing reasons for rejecting any evidence favorable to the claimant. Equal weight is not accorded to each piece of evidence contained in the record; every item of evidence does not have the same probative value. When all the evidence is assembled, VA is responsible for determining whether the evidence supports the claim or is in relative equipoise, with the appellant prevailing in either event, or whether a preponderance of the evidence is against a claim, in which case, the claim is denied. See Gilbert v. Derwinski, 1 Vet. App. 49 (1990). I. Veterans Claims Assistance Act of 2000 (VCAA) As a preliminary matter, the Board notes that regulations enacted under the VCAA require VA to notify claimants and their representatives of any information that is necessary to substantiate a claim for benefits. See 38 U.S.C.A. §§ 5100, 5102, 5103, 5103(a), 5106, 5107, 5126; 38 C.F.R. §§ 3.102, 3.156(a), 3.159(b), 3.326(a). In Pelegrini v. Principi, 18 Vet. App. 112, 120-21 (2004) (Pelegrini II), the United States Court of Appeals for Veterans Claims (Court) held that VA must inform the claimant of any information and evidence not of record (1) that is necessary to substantiate the claim; (2) that VA will seek to provide; (3) that the claimant is expected to provide; and (4) request that the claimant provide any evidence in his possession that pertains to the claim. The Board notes that 38 C.F.R. § 3.159 was recently revised, effective as of May 30, 2008, and several portions of the revisions are pertinent to the claim at issue. See 73 Fed. Reg. 23,353-23,356 (April 30, 2008). Notably, the final rule removes the third sentence of 38 C.F.R. § 3.159(b)(1), which had stated that VA will request the claimant to provide any evidence in the claimant's possession that pertains to the claim. In addition, the notice requirements of the VCAA apply to all five elements of a service-connection claim, including: (1) veteran status; (2) existence of a disability; (3) a connection between the Veteran's service and the disability; (4) degree of disability; and (5) effective date of the disability. Dingess/Hartman v. Nicholson, 19 Vet. App. 473 (2006). Specifically, the notice must include notice that a disability rating and an effective date for the award of benefits will be assigned if service connection is awarded. Id. at 486. In this case, VA has met all statutory and regulatory notice and duty to assist provisions. See 38 U.S.C.A. §§ 5100, 5102, 5103, 5103A, 5106, 5107, 5126 (West 2002); 38 C.F.R. §§ 3.102, 3.156(a), 3.159, 3.326 (2009). A letter dated in December 2001, prior to the initial adjudication of his claim, informed the Veteran of the information necessary to substantiate his claim. He was also informed of the evidence VA would seek on his behalf and the evidence he was expected to provide. See 38 U.S.C.A. § 5103(a) (West 2002); 38 C.F.R. § 3.159(b)(1) (2009); Quartuccio, at 187. An October 2007 letter included information with regard to the assignment of a disability rating and effective date. See Dingess/Hartman v. Nicholson, 19 Vet. App. 473 (2006). Further, the claimant's service treatment records and pertinent post-service medical records have been obtained, to the extent available. See 38 U.S.C.A. § 5103A; 38 C.F.R. § 3.159 (2009). Pursuant to a November 2007 Board remand, the Veteran's service personnel records were associated with his claims file in January 2008. There is no indication in the record that any additional evidence, relevant to the issue decided herein, is available and not part of the claims file. The duty to assist also includes providing a medical examination or obtaining a medical opinion when such is necessary to make a decision on the claim, as defined by law. See Green v. Derwinski, 1 Vet. App. 121 (1991). Subsequent to a Board request, a VHA opinion was obtained in November 2009 so as to assess whether the Veteran's current diagnosis schizophrenia, paranoid type, was incurred in or aggravated by active service. To that end, when VA undertakes to provide a VA examination or obtain a VA opinion, it must ensure that the examination or opinion is adequate. See Barr v. Nicholson, 21 Vet. App. 303, 312 (2007). The VA opinion obtained in this case is adequate, as it is predicated on a reading of pertinent medical records and is responsive to the medical questions raised in this case. Accordingly, the Board finds that VA's duty to assist with respect to obtaining a VA examination with respect to the issue on appeal has been met. See 38 C.F.R. § 3.159(c) (4) (2009). The opinion is thorough and supported by the record. The opinion noted above is therefore adequate upon which to base a decision. As there is no indication that any failure on the part of VA to provide additional notice or assistance reasonably affects the outcome of this case, the Board finds that any such failure is harmless. See Mayfield v. Nicholson, 19 Vet. App. 103 (2005), rev'd on other grounds, Mayfield v. Nicholson, 444 F.3d 1328 (Fed. Cir. 2006). II. Service connection Following a review of the voluminous collection of letters from the Veteran, the Board notes that he essentially contends that the stress of his last duty assignment in the military caused him to use illegal drugs, which in turn caused him to develop a psychiatric disorder. He has asserted, through his representative, that schizophrenia, paranoid type, was either present or had its onset during his period of active service, or within one year of service, or that his disorder is otherwise related to his period of active service. See Appellant's Brief, January 18, 2010. In order to establish service connection for a claimed disability, the facts must demonstrate that a disease or injury resulting in current disability was incurred in active military service or, if pre-existing active service, was aggravated therein. See 38 U.S.C.A. § 1110 (West 2002); 38 C.F.R. §§ 3.303, 3.304 (2009). Where a Veteran served 90 days or more during a period of war or during peacetime service after December 31, 1946, and schizophrenia, paranoid type, became manifest to a degree of 10 percent within one year from date of termination of such service, such disease shall be presumed to have been incurred in or aggravated by service, even though there is no evidence of such disease during the period of service. This presumption is rebuttable by affirmative evidence to the contrary. See 38 U.S.C.A. § 1101, 1112, 1113, 1137 (West 2002); 38 C.F.R. §§ 3.307, 3.309 (2009). Service connection may also be granted for any disease diagnosed after discharge when all of the evidence, including that pertinent to service, establishes that the disease was incurred in service. See 38 C.F.R. § 3.303(d) (2009). The Court held that, in order to prevail on the issue of service connection on the merits, there must be medical evidence of (1) a current disability; (2) medical, or in certain circumstances, lay evidence of in-service incurrence or aggravation of a disease or injury; and (3) medical evidence of a nexus between the claimed in-service disease or injury and the present disease or injury. See Hickson v. West, 12 Vet. App. 247, 253 (1999). It is also noted that the Board may not base a decision on its own unsubstantiated medical conclusions but, rather, may reach a medical conclusion only on the basis of independent medical evidence in the record. See Hensley v. Brown, 5 Vet. App. 155 (1993). Neither the Board nor the Veteran is competent to supplement the record with unsubstantiated medical conclusions. See Colvin v. Derwinski, 1 Vet. App. 171, 175 (1991). Conversely, health professionals are experts and are presumed to know the requirements applicable to their practice and to have taken them into account in providing a diagnosis. At the outset, the Board notes that the Veteran has been diagnosed with schizophrenia, paranoid type. See Discharge summary, December 1989. Thus, element (1) of Hickson has been satisfied, in that the Veteran has demonstrated that he has a current diagnosis. In October 1998, the RO verified the Veteran's service through the National Personnel Records Center (NPRC). As a result of this request, the Veteran's available service medical records were forwarded to the RO. The Veteran's June 1980 entrance examination was included, in which his psychiatric health was evaluated as "Normal." The service records also document treatment for various non-mental health related disorders through May 1982. The Board notes that the Veteran separated from service in July 1982 and that there is no record of a separation examination. Post-service, the Veteran was hospitalized in the Arkansas State Hospital in August 1986, and he was discharged later that month. At that time, the Veteran reported a two-week history of daily crystal methadrine use. He reported that he heard voices coming through the walls of his home, making statements such as "I'm gonna kill you." The Veteran proceeded to knock holes in the walls in search of friends he thought were in trouble. At the time of his discharge, he thought it was his friends playing tricks on him. A mental status examination revealed an alert, oriented gentleman who was calm and cooperative. His conversation had become logical and goal directed by the time of the examination, and there was no evidence of thought blocking or inhibition. He reported that the voices had discontinued by the time he arrived at the hospital. He was neither depressed nor anxious. His cognitive functioning appeared to be normal. His primary diagnosis was amphetamine-induced delirium with secondary diagnoses of mixed substance abuse, alcohol abuse, and antisocial personality traits. In February 1988, the Veteran was charged with capital felony murder in connection with the deaths of two women. He was found guilty and was sentenced to life in prison without parole plus twenty years. During the course of the legal proceeding, in September 1988, he underwent psychiatric examination. A full history was taken and an examination was conducted. No mention was made referable to the Veteran's military service. A provisional diagnosis of schizophrenia paranoid type versus possible schizoaffective disorder or possible bipolar disorder with psychosis was noted. In February 1989, he was diagnosed, at the same institution, with schizophrenia, paranoid type. At that time, he was admitted for forensic evaluation in connection with two counts of felony murder. He was generally uncooperative, and made a number of irrational statements. He noted that he had "wheels of knowledge" at his home which allowed him to predict the future, and he compared himself to a deity. The Veteran was extremely guarded during the examination, and he was generally hostile in mood and demeanor. In December 1989, the Veteran was again examined to determine his competency to stand trial. Upon examination, a full history was taken and the Veteran examined. No mention of the Veteran's military service was made. A diagnosis of schizophrenia, paranoid type, was confirmed. His insight and judgment were considered fair upon discharge to the county jail. Other post-service treatment records include psychiatric and medical treatment at the state prison facility from July 1990 to July 2001. The majority of these records discuss only current treatment for the Veteran's psychiatric disorder. On only one occasion was the Veteran's past military service referenced. An inmate report from October 1981 noted that the Veteran was still hearing voices. At that time, the Veteran gave a detailed personal history to his treating psychiatrist. He stated that he started having problems when he was 15 years old, at which point he began to skip school and smoke marijuana. He went into counseling, which seemed to help, per the Veteran. He then reported entering the military, during which time he continued to smoke marijuana because of feeling pressure at work as an "orderly room specialist." He eventually attended a drug rehabilitation program. He did not finish the program, and was discharged from service. No further mention is made of his military service in the medical records. To review, service connection requires a medical nexus, or causal link, between an in-service incurrence of a disease or injury and a current disability. It is clear that the Veteran has a diagnosed current psychiatric disability. The issue, therefore, is whether there was an in-service incurrence of a psychiatric disorder which has been linked, medically, to the current disability. The Board notes that although the Veteran's service medical records are negative for any complaint, diagnosis, or treatment of a psychiatric disorder, a review of his service personnel records reveals that, prior to his discharge, he was given a letter of admonishment for alcohol abuse, and for an incident involving tampering with government property (fire extinguisher) in January 1981. At that time, the Veteran was reported to be drunk and disorderly on the second floor of his barracks. According to a January 1981 witness statement, the Veteran obtained a fire extinguisher and sprayed the floor, ceiling, and hallway with fire retardant. It was further noted that the Veteran stated that he was tired of being picked on. Another witness confirmed the incident, and reported that the Veteran stated that he would not let the witness pick on him. He was reduced in rank in April 1982 as a result of improper use of marijuana, and he was ultimately discharged under honorable conditions for that offense. Although the Veteran was not diagnosed with paranoid schizophrenia during his period of active service, or within one year thereafter, the Board nonetheless requested a VHA opinion in September 2009 in order to determine whether the Veteran's in-service behavior was indicative of his currently-diagnosed disorder. A VHA opinion was provided in November 2009. The examiner opined that it was very unlikely that the Veteran's illness was present or had its onset during his period of service, or within one year of service, or that his disorder was otherwise related to his period of active service. Instead, the examiner stated that all of the evidence of record, when viewed as a whole, indicates that the Veteran's dysfunction during his period of service was directly related to abuse of, and dependence on, substances. Specifically, the examiner noted a pattern of fluctuating achievement and dysfunction that corresponded directly to periods of abstinence from the use of alcohol and marijuana, making it more likely than not that his in-service difficulties which led to his discharge were better explained by substance abuse than any underlying, undetected psychosis or schizophrenia. The examiner further stated that the only behavioral symptoms he demonstrated in service were during periods of increased substance abuse, and did not include any clear signs of psychotic thought or behavior. In support of his opinion, the examiner pointed to documents written by the Veteran during service which showed no signs of psychotic process such as delusions, disorganized thought process, or odd communication style. It was noted that these documents stood in direct contrast to the hundreds of documents received since 1988 that show disorganization, severe irrelevance, and delusions. He further noted that a psychosis was not diagnosed in any in-service treatment reports, nor were symptoms associated with psychosis documented. Regarding the fire extinguisher incident, the examiner pointed to reports that the Veteran was intoxicated, and not suffering from a mental disorder. It was also noted that the Veteran denied any history of a mental defect upon entry into service, however a history of marijuana and alcohol abuse was reported since adolescence. The examiner pointed out that the Veteran's first annual performance report was excellent, indicating that he was outstanding and admirable, and called for immediate promotion. According to the Veteran's own statement to police, his marijuana use in the military began near the end of this review period and continued until he was caught using marijuana several months later. The examiner also stated that all records of admonishment occurred following the Veteran's reported period of substance abuse, and not before. Further, statements noting a decline in performance, along with a lack of drive and self-initiative were consistent with the psychological effects of marijuana use. Although the Veteran maintained that his substance abuse in service and decline of functioning were the early signs of his disorder, this was not supported by the fact that he showed educational dysfunction prior to the service, and that these signs disappeared when he attained sobriety. Again, the examiner noted the absence of any psychotic, mood, or behavioral symptoms of schizophrenia during his period of service. Regarding the Veteran's claimed use of LSD, the examiner pointed out that the only substance use reported during service was alcohol and marijuana. The examiner also stated that it was unlikely the Veteran suffered from schizophrenia within one year after service, as records from the Veteran's first two hospitalizations indicate that his very first psychotic symptoms appeared in late 1985 to early 1986. This time period was marked by abuse of many substances, to include crystal methamphetamine. Because the psychotic symptoms leading to his first hospitalization resolved quickly upon sobriety without the aid of antipsychotic medication, he was initially diagnosed with Amphetamine Induced Delirium instead of a primary psychotic disorder. Testing during that period revealed no organic process, showing only antisocial personality traits. The examiner stated that these findings support the probability that the Veteran's onset of schizophrenia occurred well after discharge from service in 1982, and only after substantial use of mind-altering drugs. As to the Veteran's assertions that his claimed disorder first occurred during active service, the Federal Circuit held that lay evidence is one type of evidence that must be considered, and competent lay evidence can be sufficient in and of itself. The Board, however, retains the discretion to make credibility determinations and otherwise weigh the evidence submitted, including lay evidence. See Buchanan v. Nicholson, 451 F.3d 1331, 1335 (Fed. Cir. 2006). This would include weighing the absence of contemporary medical evidence against lay statements. In Jandreau v. Nicholson, 492 F. 3d 1372 (Fed. Cir. 2007), the Federal Circuit determined that lay evidence can be competent and sufficient to establish a diagnosis of a condition when (1) a layperson is competent to identify the medical condition (noting that sometimes the layperson will be competent to identify the condition where the condition is simple, for example difficulty hearing, and sometimes not, for example, a form of cancer), (2) the layperson is reporting a contemporaneous medical diagnosis, or (3) lay testimony describing symptoms at the time supports a later diagnosis by a medical professional. The relevance of lay evidence is not limited to the third situation, but extends to the first two as well. Whether lay evidence is competent and sufficient in a particular case is a factual issue. Once evidence is determined to be competent, the Board must determine whether such evidence is also credible. See Layno v. Brown, 6 Vet. App. 465, 470 (1992) (distinguishing between competency, a legal concept determining whether testimony may be heard and considered, and credibility, factual determination going to the probative value of the evidence to be made after the evidence has been admitted). See Barr v. Nicholson, 21 Vet. App. 303 (2007). In Robinson v. Shinseki, the Court held that, in some cases, lay evidence will be competent and credible evidence of etiology. Whether lay evidence is competent in a particular case is a question of fact to be decided by the Board in the first instance. The Court set forth a two-step analysis to evaluate the competency of lay evidence. First, Board must first determine whether the disability is the type of injury for which lay evidence is competent evidence. If so, the Board must weigh that evidence against the other evidence of record. See Robinson v. Shinseki, 557 F.3d 1355 (Fed. Cir. 2009). The Board does not find that the Veteran is competent to determine the etiology of his current disorder. Not only has the Veteran been diagnosed with a severe mental disorder, he has also not been shown to be possess the medical expertise to link his claimed disorder to his period of active service. See Espiritu v. Derwinski, 2 Vet. App. 492, 495 (1992); see also 38 C.F.R. § 3.159 (a)(1) [competent medical evidence means evidence provided by a person who is qualified through education, training, or experience to offer medical diagnoses, statements, or opinions]. Therefore, although the statements of the Veteran offered in support of his claim have been given full consideration by the Board, they are not considered competent medical evidence and do not serve to establish a medical nexus between his claimed disorder and his period of service. In sum, the competent evidence does not establish that the Veteran's currently-diagnosed schizophrenia, paranoid type, had its onset in service, or a year following service, or is etiologically related to service. The record establishes that the first notation of a diagnosis of schizophrenia, paranoid type, within the Veteran's claims file was provided in February 1988, approximately six years after separation. This significant lapse of time is highly probative evidence against the Veteran's claim of a nexus between a current hypertension and active military service. See Maxson v. Gober, 230 F.3d 1330 (Fed. Cir. 2000) (holding that a significant lapse in time between service and post-service medical treatment may be considered in the analysis of a service connection claim). Moreover, the Veteran's record does not contain medical evidence to demonstrate that his psychiatric disorder was diagnosed within a year following separation from active duty. Therefore, although the Board does not doubt the sincerity of his claims, the Veteran's claim for service connection for schizophrenia, paranoid type, must be denied due to the lack of any evidence of this disorder during service or within a year following service, coupled with the absence of a medical nexus linking his current disorder to his period of active duty. In this case, the record is simply insufficient to grant service connection for schizophrenia, paranoid type. The evidence in this case is not so evenly balanced so as to allow application of the benefit-of-the-doubt rule as required by law and VA regulations. See 38 U.S.C.A. § 5107(b); 38 C.F.R. § 3.102. Accordingly, the Board finds that the preponderance of the evidence is against the Veteran's claim for entitlement to service connection, and it must be denied. ORDER Entitlement to service connection for schizophrenia, paranoid type, is denied. ____________________________________________ S. L. Kennedy Veterans Law Judge, Board of Veterans' Appeals Department of Veterans Affairs