Citation Nr: 1007346 Decision Date: 02/26/10 Archive Date: 03/05/10 DOCKET NO. 03-05 448 ) DATE ) ) On appeal from the Department of Veterans Affairs Regional Office in Houston, Texas THE ISSUES 1. Entitlement to service connection for blackouts. 2. Entitlement to service connection for impaired vision. 3. Entitlement to service connection for a psychiatric disorder. REPRESENTATION Veteran represented by: Texas Veterans Commission WITNESS AT HEARING ON APPEAL Veteran ATTORNEY FOR THE BOARD P. Childers, Associate Counsel INTRODUCTION The Veteran, who is the appellant, served on active duty from April 1963 to March 1965 and from May 1965 to May 1968. This matter is before the Board of Veterans' Appeals (Board) on appeal of a rating decision in June 2002 of a Department of Veterans Affairs (VA) Regional Office (RO). In February 2005, the Veteran appeared at a hearing before a Veterans Law Judge. In a decision in September 2005, the Board reopened the claims of service connection for blackouts, impaired vision, and a psychiatric disorder, and remanded the claims for additional development. During the pendency of the appeal, in a rating decision in July 2006, the RO granted service connection for residuals of head injury with headaches and dizziness. In September 2007, the Board afforded the Veteran the opportunity for another hearing as the Veterans Law Judge, who conducted the hearing in 2005, was no longer at the Board. The Veteran has not indicated that he wants another hearing. In documents received in March 2007 and December 2007, the Veteran raised the claim of service connection for neuropathy secondary to exposure to herbicides, and the claim for an earlier effective date for the grant of service connection for residuals of a head injury to include headaches and dizziness, which are referred to the RO for appropriate action. In September 2005 and in March 2008, the Board remanded the claims for additional development. As the requested development has been completed, no further action is necessary to comply with the Board's remand directives. Stegall v. West, 11 Vet. App. 268 (1998). The claims of service connection for impaired vision and for a psychiatric disorder are REMANDED to the RO via the Appeals Management Center (AMC), in Washington, DC. FINDING OF FACT Blackouts are causally related to the service-connected residuals of head injury with headaches and dizziness. CONCLUSION OF LAW Blackouts are proximately due to the service-connected residuals of head injury with headaches and dizziness. 38 U.S.C.A. §§ 1110, 5107(b) (West 2002 & Supp. 2009); 38 C.F.R. § 3.310(a). The Veterans Claims Assistance Act of 2000 (VCAA) The VCAA, codified in part at 38 U.S.C.A. §§ 5103, 5103A, and implemented in part at 38 C.F.R § 3.159, amended VA's duties to notify and to assist a claimant in developing information and evidence necessary to substantiate a claim. As the claim of service connection for blackouts, the only claim decided, is resolved in the Veteran's favor, the Board need not address VCAA compliance. REASONS AND BASES FOR FINDING AND CONCLUSION Principles of Service Connection Service connection may be granted for disability resulting from disease or injury incurred in or aggravated by active military service. 38 U.S.C.A. § 1110, 38 C.F.R. § 3.303. Service connection means that the facts, shown by evidence, establish that a particular injury or disease resulting in disability was incurred coincident with service, or if preexisting such service, was aggravated by service. This may be accomplished by affirmatively showing inception or aggravation during service. 38 C.F.R. § 3.303(a). For the showing of chronic disease in service there is required a combination of manifestations sufficient to identify the disease entity, and sufficient observation to establish chronicity at the time. If chronicity in service is not established, a showing of continuity of symptoms after discharge is required to support the claim. 38 C.F.R. § 3.303(b). Service connection may also be granted for a disease diagnosed after discharge, when all the evidence, including that pertinent to service, establishes that the disease was incurred in service. 38 C.F.R. § 3.303(d). Secondary service connection may be granted for a disability that is proximately due to or the result of a service- connected disability. 38 C.F.R. § 3.310(a). Secondary service connection includes the concept of aggravation of a nonservice-connected disability by a service-connected disability. Allen v. Brown, 7 Vet. App. 439 (1995). In October 2006, 38 C.F.R. § 3.310(a) was amended to conform with Allen, additionally, other substantive changes were made. As the claim was filed before the other substantive changes were made, only the changes that conform to Allen apply. Evidentiary Standards VA must give due consideration to all pertinent medical and lay evidence in a case where a veteran is seeking service connection. 38 U.S.C.A. § 1154(a). The Veteran does not argue, and the record does not show, that the claimed disability was the result of participation in combat with the enemy and the combat provision of 38 U.S.C.A. § 1154(b) does not apply. Competency is a legal concept in determining whether medical or lay evidence may be considered, in other words, whether the evidence is admissible as distinguished from weight and credibility, a factual determination going to the probative value of the evidence, that is, does the evidence tend to prove a fact, once the evidence has been admitted. Rucker v. Brown, 10 Vet. App. 67, 74 (1997). Competent lay evidence means any evidence not requiring that the proponent have specialized education, training, or experience. Lay evidence is competent if it is provided by a person who has knowledge of facts or circumstances and conveys matters that can be observed and described by a lay person. 38 C.F.R. § 3.159. Competent medical evidence means evidence provided by a person who is qualified through education, training, or experience to offer a medical diagnosis, statement, or opinion. 38 C.F.R. § 3.159. The Board, as fact finder, must determine the probative value or weight of the admissible evidence. Washington v. Nichloson, 19 Vet. App. 362, 369 (2005) (citing Elkins v. Gober, 229 F.3d 1369, 1377 (Fed.Cir.2000) ("Fact-finding in veterans cases is to be done by the Board)). When there is an approximate balance of positive and negative admissible evidence regarding any issue material to the determination of a matter, the Secretary shall give the benefit of the doubt to the Veteran. 38 U.S.C.A. § 5107(b). Blackouts Facts The Veteran seeks service connection for blackouts. In statements and in testimony, the Veteran asserts that he lost consciousness on two separate occasions during service following blows to the back of the head and that he has suffered from blackouts since then. The service treatment records contain no complaint, finding, history, treatment, or diagnosis of blackouts. After service, private medical records show that in May 1999 the Veteran gave a history of head injuries in service when he fell off a truck and hit the back of his head in 1964 and when he was hit in the back of the head in 1967 and in each instance he had loss of consciousness. In July 2002, the Veteran was evaluated for residuals of head injuries. The assessment was head injury with problems with headache and dizziness and temporary blackout. A CT scan of the brain was normal. In 2005, the Veteran was seen several times for dizziness and blackouts. In a statement in August 2000, F.A., stated that in 1966 or 1967 in Vietnam he and the Veteran were returning from work when they came upon a fight and when the Veteran tried to stop the fight he was hit from behind by a soldier with an entrenching tool and knocked unconscious. In a statement in February 2005, L.E., MD, stated that the Veteran's headaches, dizziness, and blackouts were most likely due to the head trauma in 1964 (fell from a truck) and in 1967 (hit with an entrenching tool). On VA examination in January 2006, the Veteran was evaluated for the head injuries sustained in service. After describing the two head injuries (fell and hit his head in 1964 and was hit in the head with an entrenching tool in 1967), the Veteran stated he had lost consciousness after each incident and that he has had brief blackouts since then. The diagnosis was status post head injuries in the military. The VA examiner expressed the opinion that the etiology of the blackouts was uncertain, but it was reasonable that a person, who had a post-traumatic headache syndrome may have brief episodes of syncope to go along with the above condition. In a rating decision in July 2006, the RO granted service connection for the residuals of head injury with headaches and dizziness. On VA examination in September 2006, the same VA examiner, who conducted the examination in January 2006, stated that the brief history of blackouts during service were at least as likely as not to be secondary to the in-service head trauma. The VA examiner also stated that he could not be sure without resorting to mere speculation that any recent blackouts were related to the head injuries in service. Analysis The Veteran is already service-connected for residuals of head injury with headaches and dizziness. The remaining question is whether the blackouts are related to the service- connected disability. A private physician has expressed the opinion that the Veteran's headaches, dizziness, and blackouts were most likely due to the head trauma in 1964 (fell from a truck) and in 1967 (hit with an entrenching tool). On VA examination in January 2006, the VA examiner expressed the opinion that the etiology of the blackouts was uncertain, but it was reasonable that a person, who had a post-traumatic headache syndrome may have brief episodes of syncope. To this extent, head injury in service, residuals of headaches and dizziness, and blackouts in service and since service, the Board finds both opinions to favorable to the claim. Although the same VA examiner later stated that he that could not be sure without resorting to mere speculation that any recent blackouts were related to the head injuries in service. When, after careful consideration of the entire record, a reasonable doubt arises regarding a material fact, one upon which the outcome of the case turns, such doubt will be resolved in favor of the Veteran. By reasonable doubt is meant one which exists because of an approximate balance of positive and negative evidence which does not satisfactorily prove or disprove the claim. 38 C.F.R. § 3.102. In this case, the significant facts are not disputed, namely, the Veteran sustained head injuries in service and has residuals of headaches and dizziness, which are service connected, and the Veteran experience blackouts in service and since service. Although the same set of facts were considered in the opinions of the private physician and the VA examiner, the VA examiner ultimately reached a contradictory conclusion that he could not be sure without resorting to mere speculation that any recent blackouts were related to the head injuries in service. To this extent, the opinion opposes the claim. As two physicians, considering the same set of facts, have reached contradictory opinions, the Board finds that there is an approximate balance of positive and negative evidence, which does not satisfactorily prove or disprove the claim of secondary service connection. Under these circumstances, as there is a reasonable doubt regarding whether blackouts are residuals of service-connected head injury, such doubt is resolved in favor of the Veteran. 38 C.F.R. § 3.102. Accordingly, and resolving reasonable doubt in favor of the Veteran, the Board finds that service connection for blackouts secondary to the service-connected residuals of head injury with headaches and dizziness is established under 38 C.F.R. § 3.310. ORDER Service connection for blackouts as secondary to the service- connected residuals of head injury with headaches and dizziness is granted. REMAND On the claim of service connection for impaired vision, after the Veteran's file was forwarded to the Board, the Veteran timely provided information, pertaining to additional evidence in support of the claim. Under 38 C.F.R. § 3.159(c)(1), VA will make an initial request for records not in the custody of a Federal agency. On the claim of service connection for a psychiatric disorder, the service treatment records show that on separation examination the Veteran indicated a history of nervousness, and it was noted that the Veteran took pills for nervous trouble while in Vietnam. On VA examination in September 2006, the diagnosis was anxiety disorder. According to the VA examiner, the Veteran's anxiety disorder was not the result of in-service head injuries, but a full examination for posttraumatic stress disorder may be indicated. As the symptoms for which the Veteran is seeking service connection may be associated with another psychiatric diagnosis with a possible association with service, the claim can not be limited to consideration of a single psychiatric diagnosis. See Clemons v. Shinseki, 23 Vet. App. 1 (2009) (a claim should be construed on the reasonable expectations of the claimant and the evidence developed in processing the claim. As the evidence of record is insufficient to decide the claim of service connection for a psychiatric disorder, further development under the duty to assist is needed. 38 C.F.R. § 3.159. Accordingly, the case is REMANDED for the following action: 1. Obtain the records of Ophthalmology Associates, 400 Nix Medical Center, 414 Navarro St., San Antonio, Texas, 28205, as authorized by the Veteran in January 2010. If the records do not exist or further efforts to obtain the records would be futile, notify the Veteran in accordance with 38 C.F.R. § 3.159(e). 2. Ensure VCAA compliance to include a PTSD Questionnaire on the claim of service connection for posttraumatic stress disorder raised by the record. 3. Obtain the Veteran's service personnel records. 4. After the development requested above has been completed and any further development deemed necessary to decide the claims, for example, affording the Veteran a VA examination or obtaining a VA medical opinion, adjudicate the claims. If any benefit sought on appeal remains denied, furnish the Veteran and his representative a supplemental statement of the case and return the case to the Board. The Veteran has the right to submit additional evidence and argument on the matter the Board has remanded. Kutscherousky v. West, 12 Vet. App. 369 (1999). This claim must be afforded expeditious treatment. The law requires that all claims that are remanded by the Board of Veterans' Appeals or by the United States Court of Appeals for Veterans Claims for additional development or other appropriate action must be handled in an expeditious manner. See 38 U.S.C.A. §§ 5109B, 7112 (West Supp. 2009). ______________________________________________ George E. Guido Jr. Veterans Law Judge, Board of Veterans' Appeals Department of Veterans Affairs