Citation Nr: 1007492 Decision Date: 03/01/10 Archive Date: 03/11/10 DOCKET NO. 08-16 966 ) DATE ) ) On appeal from the Department of Veterans Affairs Regional Office in Lincoln, Nebraska THE ISSUES 1. Entitlement to service connection for hypertension. 2. Entitlement to a compensable evaluation for bilateral hearing loss. REPRESENTATION Appellant represented by: Veterans of Foreign Wars of the United States ATTORNEY FOR THE BOARD P. Olson, Counsel INTRODUCTION The Veteran had active military service from May 1966 to May 1970. This matter comes before the Board of Veterans' Appeals (Board or BVA) on appeal from rating decisions dated in January 2008 and September 2008 of the Department of Veterans Affairs (VA) Regional Office (RO) in Lincoln, Nebraska. The issue of entitlement to service connection for hypertension is addressed in the REMAND portion of the decision below and is REMANDED to the RO via the Appeals Management Center (AMC), in Washington, DC. FINDING OF FACT The Veteran's right ear is manifested by Level I hearing and his left ear is manifested by Level II hearing. CONCLUSION OF LAW The criteria for an initial compensable evaluation for bilateral hearing loss have not been met. 38 U.S.C.A. § 1155 (West 2002); 38 C.F.R. §§ 4.1, 4.7, 4.85, 4.86, 4.87, Diagnostic Code 6100 (2009). REASONS AND BASES FOR FINDING AND CONCLUSION Preliminary Matter The Board has thoroughly reviewed all the evidence in the Veteran's claims folder. Although the Board has an obligation to provide reasons and bases supporting this decision, there is no need to discuss, in detail, all of the evidence submitted by the Veteran or on his behalf. See Gonzales v. West, 218 F.3d 1378, 1380-81 (Fed. Cir. 2000) (the Board must review the entire record, but does not have to discuss each piece of evidence). The analysis below focuses on the most salient and relevant evidence and on what this evidence shows, or fails to show, on the claim. The Veteran must not assume that the Board has overlooked pieces of evidence that are not explicitly discussed herein. See Timberlake v. Gober, 14 Vet. App. 122 (2000) (the law requires only that the Board address its reasons for rejecting evidence favorable to the veteran). Veterans Claims Assistance Act of 2000 As provided for by the Veterans Claims Assistance Act of 2000 (VCAA), the United States Department of Veterans Affairs (VA) has a duty to notify and assist claimants in substantiating a claim for VA benefits. 38 U.S.C.A. §§ 5100, 5102, 5103, 5103A, 5107, 5126 (West 2002); 38 C.F.R. §§ 3.102, 3.156(a), 3.159 and 3.326(a) (2009). Upon receipt of a complete or substantially complete application for benefits, VA is required to notify the claimant and his or her representative, if any, of any information, and any medical or lay evidence, that is necessary to substantiate the claim. 38 U.S.C.A. § 5103(a); 38 C.F.R. § 3.159(b); Quartuccio v. Principi, 16 Vet. App. 183 (2002). Proper notice from VA must inform the claimant of any information and evidence not of record (1) that is necessary to substantiate the claim; (2) that VA will seek to provide; and (3) that the claimant is expected to provide. With respect to service connection claims, the U.S. Court of Appeals for Veterans Claims held that, upon receipt of an application for a service-connection claim, 38 U.S.C. § 5103(a) and 38 C.F.R. § 3.159(b) require VA to review the information and the evidence presented with the claim and to provide the claimant with notice of what information and evidence not previously provided, if any, will assist in substantiating, or is necessary to substantiate, each of the five elements of the claim, including notice of what is required to establish service connection and that a disability rating and an effective date for the award of benefits will be assigned if service connection is awarded. Dingess/Hartman v. Nicholson, 19 Vet. App. 473 (2006). With respect increased rating claims, In Vazquez-Flores v. Peake, 22 Vet. App. 37 (2008), the United States Court of Appeals for Veterans Claims held that, pursuant to 38 U.S.C. § 5103(a) (2008) (currently at 38 U.S.C. § 5103(a)(1)), a VCAA notice for an increased rating claim must include the following information: (1) the VA must notify the Veteran that in order to substantiate a claim, he or she must provide (or ask the VA to obtain) medical or lay evidence demonstrating that his or her disability has worsened or increased in severity and the effect the worsening has had on his or her employment and daily life; (2) if the Veteran's current diagnostic code "contains criteria necessary for entitlement to a higher disability rating that would not be satisfied" by providing the evidence described above-the example provided was where a "specific measurement or test result" would be required-then the VA must give "at least general notice" of that requirement; (3) the VA must tell the Veteran that if he or she is assigned a higher rating, that rating will be determined by applying relevant diagnostic codes, which generally provide for disability ratings between 0-100%, "based on the nature of the symptoms of the condition for which disability compensation is being sought, their severity and duration, and their impact upon employment and daily life"; and (4) the notice must also provide examples of the types of medical and lay evidence- such as job application rejections-that the Veteran may submit (or ask the VA to obtain) "that are relevant to establishing [her or] his entitlement to increased compensation." Recently, the United States Court of Appeals for the Federal Circuit issued a decision on appeal that vacated and remanded the decision of the Veterans Claims Court in Vazquez-Flores. See Vazquez-Flores v. Shinseki, 580 F.3d 1270 (Fed. Cir. Sept. 4, 2009). In view of some potentially qualifying language included in the Federal Circuit's decision in vacating the CAVC's decision ("insofar as"), it appears that only the generic first, third, and fourth elements [contained in the CAVC's decision] are in fact required under the Federal Circuit's decision. VA has met all statutory and regulatory notice and duty to assist provisions. Letters dated in October 2007, May 2008, and August 2008 fully satisfied the duty to notify provisions. 38 U.S.C.A. § 5103(a); 38 C.F.R. § 3.159(b)(1); Quartuccio, 6 Vet. App. at 183, Dingess, 19 Vet. App. at 473. Together, the letters informed the appellant of what evidence was required to substantiate the claims and of the appellant's and VA's respective duties for obtaining evidence, as well as how VA determines disability ratings and effective dates. In Pelegrini v. Principi, 18 Vet. App. 112, 120-21 (2004) (Pelegrini II), the United States Court of Appeals for Veterans Claims (Court) held that VA must request that the claimant provide any evidence in his possession that pertains to the claim based upon 38 C.F.R. § 3.159(b). The requirement of requesting that the claimant provide any evidence in his possession that pertains to the claim was eliminated by the Secretary during the course of this appeal. See 73 Fed. Reg. 23353 (final rule revising 38 C.F.R. § 3.159(b) to rescind fourth element notice as required under Pelegrini II, effective May 30, 2008). Thus, any error related to this element is harmless. However, although this notice is no longer required, the Board notes that the Veteran was aware that it was ultimately his responsibility to give VA any evidence pertaining to the claim. The October 2007 and August 2009 letters told him to provide any relevant evidence in his possession. See Pelegrini, 18 Vet. App. at 120. Ideally, the notice required by 38 U.S.C.A. § 5103(a) should be provided to a claimant before the initial unfavorable agency of original jurisdiction (AOJ) decision on a claim. Pelegrini v. Principi, 18 Vet. App. 112 (2004); see also Mayfield v. Nicholson, 19 Vet. App. 103 (2005). Although that was not done in this case, the Board finds that this error was not prejudicial to the appellant because the actions taken by VA after providing the notice have essentially cured the error in the timing of notice. Not only has the appellant been afforded a meaningful opportunity to participate effectively in the processing of his claim and given ample time to respond, but the AOJ also readjudicated the case after the notice was provided. See Mayfield v. Nicholson, 444 F.3d 1328 (Fed. Cir. 2006) (where notice was not provided prior to the AOJ's initial adjudication, this timing problem can be cured by the Board remanding for the issuance of a VCAA notice followed by readjudication of the claim by the AOJ). For these reasons, it is not prejudicial to the appellant for the Board to proceed to finally decide this appeal as the timing error did not affect the essential fairness of the adjudication. The Veteran's service treatment records and VA medical treatment records have been obtained, to the extent available. 38 U.S.C.A. § 5103A; 38 C.F.R. § 3.159. The Veteran has identified no private medical records that he wished for VA to obtain on his behalf. There is no indication in the record that any additional evidence, relevant to the issues decided herein, is available and not part of the claims file. The duty to assist also includes providing a medical examination or obtaining a medical opinion when such is necessary to make a decision on the claim, as defined by law. The Veteran was accorded a VA examination in November 2007. 38 C.F.R. § 3.159(c)(4). The November 2007 VA examiner addressed the severity of the Veteran's current hearing loss in conjunction with a review of the claims file and physical examination of and interview with the Veteran. There is no objective evidence indicating that there has been a material change in the severity of the Veteran's service-connected disorders since he was last examined. 38 C.F.R. § 3.327(a). The duty to assist does not require that a claim be remanded solely because of the passage of time since an otherwise adequate VA examination was conducted. VAOPGCPREC 11-95. The November 2007 VA examination report is thorough. The examination in this case is adequate upon which to base a decision. As there is no indication that any failure on the part of VA to provide additional notice or assistance reasonably affects the outcome of this case, the Board finds that any such failure is harmless. See Mayfield v. Nicholson, 19 Vet. App. 103 (2005), rev'd on other grounds, 444 F.3d 1328 (Fed. Cir. 2006). Increased Rating Disability ratings are determined by applying the criteria set forth in the VA's Schedule for Rating Disabilities, which is based on the average impairment of earning capacity. Individual disabilities are assigned separate diagnostic codes. 38 U.S.C.A. § 1155; 38 C.F.R. § 4.1. If two evaluations are potentially applicable, the higher evaluation will be assigned if the disability picture more nearly approximates the criteria required for that rating; otherwise, the lower rating will be assigned. 38 C.F.R. § 4.7. When, as here, the Veteran is requesting a higher rating for an already established service-connected disability, the present disability level is the primary concern and past medical reports do not take precedence over current findings. See Francisco v. Brown, 7 Vet. App. 55 (1994). However, "staged" ratings are appropriate for an increased rating claim when the factual findings show distinct time periods where the service-connected disability exhibits symptoms that would warrant different ratings. Hart v. Mansfield, 21 Vet. App. 505 (2007) The Veteran's service-connected bilateral hearing loss has been evaluated as noncompensably disabling pursuant to 38 C.F.R. § 4.87, Diagnostic Codes 6100 for hearing impairment. Hearing loss ratings range from noncompensable to 100 percent based on organic impairment of hearing acuity, as measured by controlled speech discrimination tests in conjunction with average hearing thresholds determined by pure tone audiometric testing at frequencies of 1000, 2000, 3000 and 4000 cycles per second. "Pure tone threshold average" is the sum of the pure tone thresholds at 1000, 2000, 3000 and 4000 Hertz divided by four. This average is used in all cases (including those in §4.86) to determine the Roman numeral designation for hearing impairment from Table VI or VIa. 38 C.F.R. § 4.85, Diagnostic Code 6100. The rating schedule establishes eleven auditory acuity levels, designated from Level I for essentially normal hearing acuity, through Level XI for profound deafness. 38 C.F.R. § 4.85. The horizontal rows in Table VI (in 38 C.F.R. § 4.85) represent nine categories of the percentage of discrimination based on the controlled speech discrimination test. The vertical columns in Table VI represent nine categories of decibel loss based on the pure tone audiometry test. The Roman numeral designation is located at the point where the percentage of speech discrimination and pure tone threshold average intersect. See 38 C.F.R. §§ 4.85, 4.87. On the authorized audiological evaluation in November 2007, pure tone thresholds, in decibels, were as follows: HERTZ 500 1000 2000 3000 4000 RIGHT 25 10 20 30 80 LEFT 15 10 35 65 85 The average of the pure tones between 1000-4000 Hz was 35 decibels for the right ear and 48.75 decibels in the left ear. Speech audiometry revealed speech recognition ability of 94 percent in the right ear and of 88 percent in the left ear. Using Table VI in 38 C.F.R. § 4.85, the Veteran received numeric designations of I for the right ear and II for the left ear. Level I hearing acuity in the better ear and Level II hearing acuity in the poorer ear equates to a noncompensable evaluation. 38 C.F.R. § 4.85, Table VII. The Board notes that it also considered the alternative rating scheme for exceptional patterns of hearing impairment and found it inapplicable here. When the pure tone threshold at each of the four specified frequencies (1,000, 2,000, 3,000, and 4,000 Hertz) is 55 decibels or more, Table VI or Table VIa is to be used, whichever results in the higher numeral. 38 C.F.R. § 4.86(a) (2009). Additionally, when the pure tone threshold is 30 decibels or less at 1,000 Hertz, and 70 decibels or more at 2,000 Hertz, Table VI or Table VIa is to be used, whichever results in the higher numeral. Thereafter, that numeral will be elevated to the next higher numeral. 38 C.F.R. § 4.86(b) (2009). The record demonstrates that the Veteran does not exhibit exceptional patterns of hearing impairment and, therefore, evaluation pursuant to 38 C.F.R. § 4.86 is not authorized. The Board has considered the doctrine of reasonable doubt; however, hearing evaluations are performed by mechanically applying the rating criteria to certified test results. Lendenmann v. Principi, 3 Vet. App. 345, 349 (1992). As such there is no basis to establish a higher rating than the assigned rating. 38 U.S.C.A. § 5107(b); 38 C.F.R. § 3.102. In Martinak v. Nicholson, 21 Vet. App. 447, 455-56 (2007), the United States Court of Appeals for Veterans Claims (Court), noted that VA had revised its hearing examination worksheets to include the effect of the Veteran's hearing loss disability on occupational functioning and daily activities. See Revised Disability Examination Worksheets, Fast Letter 07-10 (Dept of Veterans Affairs Veterans Apr. 24, 2007); see also 38 C.F.R. § 4.10 (2007). The Court also noted, however, that even if an audiologist's description of the functional effects of the Veteran's hearing disability was somehow defective, the Veteran bears the burden of demonstrating any prejudice caused by a deficiency in the examination. In this case, the Veteran has not reported to VA that there was any prejudice caused by a deficiency in the examination. The Veteran, as a lay person, is nevertheless competent to submit evidence of how the hearing loss affects his everyday life. See Layno v. Brown, 6 Vet. App. 465, 469- 470 (1994) (finding that lay testimony is competent when it regards features or symptoms of injury or illness). The November 2007 VA examiner noted that the Veteran reported that he must often ask others to repeat in order to understand conversations. Thus, the examination report did include information concerning how the Veteran's hearing loss affects his daily functioning. In sum, the evidence does not support a compensable rating at any time covered by this appeal. Accordingly, the Veteran's claim for a compensable rating for bilateral hearing loss must be denied. The Board is aware that an extraschedular rating is a component of an increased rating claim. Barringer v. Peake, 22 Vet. App. 242 (2008); see Bagwell v. Brown, 9 Vet. App. 337, 338-39 (1996). The threshold factor for extraschedular consideration is a finding on the part of the RO or the Board that the evidence presents such an exceptional disability picture that the available schedular evaluations for the service-connected disability at issue are inadequate. Thun v. Peake, 22 Vet. App. 111 (2008); see Fisher v. Principi, 4 Vet. App. 57, 60 (1993); 38 C.F.R. § 3.321(b)(1). If so, factors for consideration in determining whether referral for an extraschedular rating is warranted include marked interference with employment or frequent periods of hospitalization that indicate that application of the regular schedular standards would be impracticable. Thun, citing 38 C.F.R. § 3.321(b)(1) (2008). In the present case, the Board finds no evidence that the Veteran's service-connected bilateral hearing loss presents such an unusual or exceptional disability picture at any time so as to require consideration of an extra-schedular evaluation pursuant to the provisions of 38 C.F.R. § 3.321(b)(1). The disability does not result in symptoms not contemplated by the criteria in the rating schedule. Hence the Board is not required to remand this matter to the RO for the procedural actions outlined in 38 C.F.R. § 3.321(b)(1) for assignment of an extraschedular evaluation. ORDER Entitlement to a compensable evaluation for bilateral hearing loss is denied REMAND The Veteran has not been afforded a VA examination, with an opinion as to the etiology of his hypertension. In determining whether the duty to assist requires that a VA medical examination be provided or medical opinion obtained with respect to a Veteran's claim for benefits, there are four factors for consideration. These four factors are: (1) whether there is competent evidence of a current disability or persistent or recurrent symptoms of a disability; (2) whether there is evidence establishing that an event, injury, or disease occurred in service, or evidence establishing certain diseases manifesting during an applicable presumption period; (3) whether there is an indication that the disability or symptoms may be associated with the Veteran's service or with another service-connected disability; and (4) whether there otherwise is sufficient competent medical evidence of record to make a decision on the claim. 38 U.S.C. § 5103A(d) and 38 C.F.R. § 3.159(c)(4). With respect to the third factor above, the Court of Appeals for Veterans Claims has stated that this element establishes a low threshold and requires only that the evidence "indicates" that there "may" be a nexus between the current disability or symptoms and the Veteran's service. The types of evidence that "indicate" that a current disability "may be associated" with military service include, but are not limited to, medical evidence that suggests a nexus but is too equivocal or lacking in specificity to support a decision on the merits, or credible evidence of continuity of symptomatology such as pain or other symptoms capable of lay observation. McLendon v. Nicholson, 20 Vet. App. 79 (2006). VA regulations provide that hypertension or isolated systolic hypertension must be confirmed by readings taken two or more times on at least three different days and that the term hypertension means that the diastolic blood pressure is predominantly 90mm. or greater, and isolated systolic hypertension means that the systolic blood pressure is predominantly 160mm. or greater with a diastolic blood pressure of less than 90mm. See 38 C.F.R. § 4.104, Diagnostic Code 7101, Note (1). The service treatment records are absent complaints, findings or diagnoses of hypertension. However, there is an elevated blood pressure reading, 130/90, on the Report of Medical Examination conducted in May 1970 at the Veteran's separation from service. In order to afford the Veteran every consideration with respect to the present appeal and to ensure due process, it is the Board's opinion that further development of the case is necessary. In this regard, a medical opinion in conjunction with the review of the entire record and examination of the Veteran is warranted to indicate whether or not the Veteran's current hypertension is related to his military service. 38 C.F.R. § 3.159(c)(4). Accordingly, the case is REMANDED for the following action: 1. The Veteran should be afforded the appropriate VA examination to determine the etiology of his current hypertension. The claims file must be made available to and reviewed by the examiner in conjunction with the examination, and the examination report should reflect that such a review was made. All pertinent symptomatology and findings should be reported in detail. Any indicated diagnostic tests and studies should be accomplished. The examiner should provide an opinion as to whether it is at least as likely as not that the Veteran's current hypertension is related to any symptoms documented during the Veteran's active duty service. It would be helpful if the examiner would use the following language, as may be appropriate: "more likely than not" (meaning likelihood greater than 50%), "at least as likely as not" (meaning likelihood of at least 50%), or "less likely than not" or "unlikely" (meaning that there is a less than 50% likelihood). The term "at least as likely as not" does not mean "within the realm of medical possibility." Rather, it means that the weight of medical evidence both for and against a conclusion is so evenly divided that it is as medically sound to find in favor of that conclusion as it is to find against it. The examiner should provide a complete rationale for any opinion provided. 2. The case should be reviewed on the basis of the additional evidence. If the benefit sought is not granted in full, the Veteran should be furnished a Supplemental Statement of the Case and be afforded a reasonable opportunity to respond before the record is returned to the Board for further review. No action is required of the appellant until further notice. However, the Board takes this opportunity to advise the appellant that the conduct of the efforts as directed in this remand, as well as any other development deemed necessary, is needed for a comprehensive and correct adjudication of his claim. His cooperation in VA's efforts to develop his claim, including reporting for any scheduled VA examination, is both critical and appreciated. The appellant is also advised that failure to report for any scheduled examination may result in the denial of a claim. 38 C.F.R. § 3.655. The appellant has the right to submit additional evidence and argument on the matter or matters the Board has remanded. Kutscherousky v. West, 12 Vet. App. 369 (1999). This claim must be afforded expeditious treatment. The law requires that all claims that are remanded by the Board of Veterans' Appeals or by the United States Court of Appeals for Veterans Claims for additional development or other appropriate action must be handled in an expeditious manner. See 38 U.S.C.A. §§ 5109B, 7112 (West Supp. 2009). ______________________________________________ MILO H. HAWLEY Veterans Law Judge, Board of Veterans' Appeals Department of Veterans Affairs