Citation Nr: 1007648 Decision Date: 03/01/10 Archive Date: 03/11/10 DOCKET NO. 05-07 695 ) DATE ) ) On appeal from the Department of Veterans Affairs Regional Office in Manila, the Republic of the Philippines THE ISSUES Entitlement to service connection for arthritis of the lumbar spine, shoulders, hips, knees, ankles, and feet, including as secondary to service-connected diabetes mellitus. REPRESENTATION Appellant represented by: Veterans of Foreign Wars of the United States ATTORNEY FOR THE BOARD M. McPhaull, Associate Counsel INTRODUCTION The appellant is a Veteran who retired in November 1982 after twenty years of active duty. These matters are before the Board of Veterans' Appeals (Board) on appeal from April 2004 and January 2005 rating decisions by the Manila, Philippines Department of Veterans Affairs (VA) Regional Office (RO). In January 2008, the Veteran withdrew his request for a Central Office hearing scheduled in April 2008. In March 2008, these matters were remanded for further development. FINDINGS OF FACT The Veteran's arthritis of the lumbar spine, shoulders, hips, knees, ankles, and feet was not manifested in service or in the first postservice year, and is not shown to be related to his service or to have been caused or aggravated by his service connected diabetes mellitus. CONCLUSION OF LAW Service connection for arthritis of the lumbar spine, shoulders, hips, knees, ankles, and feet is not warranted. 38 U.S.C.A. §§ 1110, 1112, 1131, 1137, 5107 (West 2002); 38 C.F.R. §§ 3.303, 3.307, 3.309, 3.310 (2009). REASONS AND BASES FOR FINDINGS AND CONCLUSION Veterans Claims Assistance Act of 2000 (VCAA) The VCAA, in part, describes VA's duties to notify and assist claimants in substantiating a claim for VA benefits. 38 U.S.C.A. §§ 5100, 5102, 5103, 5103A, 5106, 5107, 5126; 38 C.F.R. §§ 3.102, 3.156(a), 3.159, 3.326(a). Upon receipt of a complete or substantially complete application for benefits, VA is required to notify the claimant and his or her representative, if any, of any information, and any medical or lay evidence, that is necessary to substantiate the claim. 38 U.S.C.A. § 5103(a); 38 C.F.R. § 3.159(b); Quartuccio v. Principi, 16 Vet. App. 183 (2002). Proper VCAA notice must inform the claimant of any information and evidence not of record (1) that is necessary to substantiate the claim; (2) that VA will seek to provide; and (3) that the claimant is expected to provide. 38 C.F.R. § 3.159(b)(1) (including as amended effective May 30, 2008, 73 Fed. Reg. 23353 (Apr. 30, 2008)). VCAA notice should be provided to a claimant before the initial unfavorable agency of original jurisdiction (AOJ) decision on a claim. Mayfield v. Nicholson, 444 F 3d. 1328 (Fed. Cir. 2006). Pursuant to the March 2008 Board remand, an April 2008 letter informed the Veteran of the evidence and information necessary to substantiate his claim for secondary service connection, the information required of him to enable VA to obtain evidence in support of his claim, the assistance that VA would provide to obtain evidence and information in support of his claim, and the evidence that he should submit if he did not desire VA to obtain such evidence on his behalf. The letter also provided the Veteran notice regarding disability ratings and an effective date of award. (See Dingess v. Nicholson, 19 Vet. App. 473 (2006)). The Veteran's service treatment records (STRs) are associated with his claims file, as are all other pertinent treatment records. He has not identified any pertinent evidence that remains outstanding. He was not afforded a VA examination. The Board finds that a VA examination (for a diagnosis/nexus opinion) is not necessary. In McLendon v. Nicholson, 20 Vet. App. 79 (2006), the Court explained its interpretation of 38 C.F.R. § 3.159(c)(4). This regulation provides that an examination or opinion is necessary if the evidence of record: (A) contains competent evidence that the claimant has a current disability, or persistent or recurrent symptoms of a disability; and (B) establishes that the Veteran suffered an event, injury, or disease in service; (C) indicates that the claimed disability or symptoms may be associated with the established event, injury, or disease in service, but (D) does not contain sufficient medical evidence for the Secretary to make a decision on the claim. The Court noted that the third prong of 38 C.F.R. § 3.159(C)(4) is a low "threshold" standard. The above-listed factors as to when a VA examination for a nexus opinion is necessary are not shown, and even the "low threshold" standard for a nexus examination is not met. Specifically, there is no evidence that the claimed arthritis was manifested in service or might be related to the Veteran's service or to his service-connected diabetes mellitus. Consequently, an examination for a medical nexus opinion is not necessary. 38 C.F.R. § 3.159(c)(4); Duenas v. Principi, 18 Vet. App. 512 (2004). VA's duty to assist is met. Criteria, Evidence and Analysis Initially, the Board notes all of the evidence in the Veteran's claims file, with an emphasis on the evidence relevant to this appeal, has been reviewed. Although the Board has an obligation to provide reasons and bases supporting its decision, there is no need to discuss, in detail, every piece of evidence of record. Gonzales v. West, 218 F.3d 1378, 1380-81 (Fed. Cir. 2000) (holding that VA must review the entire record, but does not have to discuss each piece of evidence). Hence, the Board will summarize the relevant evidence where appropriate, and the analysis below will focus specifically on what the evidence shows, or fails to show, as to the claim. Service connection may be granted for disability due to disease or injury incurred in or aggravated by active military service. 38 U.S.C.A. §§ 1110, 1131, 5107; 38 C.F.R. § 3.303. Service connection may also be granted for any disease diagnosed after discharge, when all the evidence, including that pertinent to service, establishes that the disability was incurred in service. 38 C.F.R. § 3.303(d). Certain chronic diseases (to include arthritis) may be service connected on a presumptive basis if manifested to a compensable degree in a specified period of time postservice (one year for arthritis). 38 U.S.C.A. §§ 1112, 1113, 1137; 38 C.F.R. §§ 3.307, 3.309. Disability that is proximately due to or the result of a service-connected disease or injury shall [also] be service connected. 38 C.F.R. § 3.310(a). When all of the evidence is assembled, VA is responsible for determining whether the evidence supports the claim or in relative equipoise, with the veteran prevailing in either event, or whether a fair preponderance of the evidence is against the claim, in which case the claim is denied. Gilbert v. Derwinski, 1 Vet. App. 49, 55 (1990). The Veteran's STRs are silent for complaints, symptoms, or diagnosis of arthritis of the lumbar spine, shoulders, hips, knees, ankles, and feet. On service retirement physical examination, the spine and upper and lower extremities were normal on clinical evaluation. Service connection has been established for diabetes mellitus. October 2002 to February 2009 VA treatment records include a May 2003 notation of degenerative arthritis of the lumbar spine. A June 2007 VA aid and attendance examination report notes degenerative arthritis of the shoulders, hips, knees, feet and lumbar spine. Private records from 2002 to 2004 show the Veteran has degenerative arthritis of the lumbar spine and shoulders. As there is no medical evidence of arthritis in service, and no competent (medical) evidence that the Veteran had degenerative changes of the lumbar spine, shoulders, hips, knees, ankles and feet prior to 2003, service connection for such disability on the basis that it became manifest in service and persisted, or on a presumptive basis (for arthritis as a chronic disease under 38 U.S.C.A. § 1112) is not warranted. The Veteran may establish service connection for his arthritis of the lumbar spine, shoulders, hips, knees, ankles and feet, if there is competent evidence shows that shows such disability is related to an event, injury, or disease in service; however, there is no such evidence. There is no medical opinion in the evidence of record that relates the Veteran's arthritis to his service, and no competent evidence (medical opinion, supporting textual evidence, e.g.) that even suggests that the Veteran's arthritis might somehow be directly related to his service/an event therein. Notably, a lengthy interval of time between service and the initial postservice clinical manifestation of a disability for which service connection is sought (here some 21 years) is, of itself, a factor weighing against a finding of service connection. See Maxson v. Gober, 230 F.3d. 1330, 1333 (Fed. Cir. 2000). The Veteran has claimed that his arthritis is secondary to his service connected diabetes. Three threshold requirements must be met to establish secondary service connection: There must be (1) Competent evidence (medical diagnosis) of current disability. This requirement is met; as degenerative arthritis of the lumbar spine, shoulders, hips, knees, ankles and feet is diagnosed. (2) A service-connected disability. This requirement is also met, as diabetes mellitus is service connected. (3) Competent evidence of a nexus between the service-connected disability and the disability for which secondary service connection is sought. Here, there is no competent (medical) evidence of record that shows, or even suggests, that there is, or might be, a nexus between the Veteran's arthritis and his service-connected diabetes mellitus. Because he is a layperson, the Veteran's own opinion in this matter is not competent (and probative) evidence in this matter. Whether there is a nexus arthritis and diabetes mellitus is a medical question not capable of lay observation or opinion. See Espiritu v. Derwinski, 2 Vet. App. 492 (1992); see also Jandreau v. Nicholson, 492 F. 3d 1372 (Fed. Cir. 2007). Accordingly, the preponderance of the evidence is against the Veteran's claim. Therefore, the benefit-of -the-doubt doctrine does not apply; the claim must be denied. ORDER Service connection for arthritis of the lumbar spine, shoulders, hips, knees, ankles, and feet, including as secondary to service-connected diabetes mellitus is denied. ____________________________________________ GEORGE R. SENYK Veterans Law Judge, Board of Veterans' Appeals Department of Veterans Affairs