Citation Nr: 1007828 Decision Date: 03/02/10 Archive Date: 03/11/10 DOCKET NO. 08-06 927 ) DATE ) ) On appeal from the Department of Veterans Affairs Regional Office in San Juan, the Commonwealth of Puerto Rico THE ISSUE Entitlement to service connection for a chronic respiratory disorder, claimed as asthma. REPRESENTATION Appellant represented by: The American Legion WITNESS AT HEARING ON APPEAL Appellant ATTORNEY FOR THE BOARD Lynne M. Yasui, Associate Counsel INTRODUCTION The Veteran served on active duty from May 1951 to February 1954. This matter comes to the Board of Veterans' Appeals (Board) on appeal from a November 2005 rating decision of the Department of Veterans Affairs (VA) Regional Office (RO) in San Juan, the Commonwealth of Puerto Rico. In September 2009, the Board remanded this matter for further development. It is now ready for appellate consideration. Please note this appeal has been advanced on the Board's docket pursuant to 38 C.F.R. § 20.900(c) (2009). 38 U.S.C.A. § 7107(a)(2) (West 2002). FINDING OF FACT A chronic respiratory disorder was not shown in service or for several years thereafter. A current diagnosis of asthma is not etiologically related to active service. CONCLUSION OF LAW A chronic respiratory disorder, claimed as asthma, was not incurred in or aggravated by service. 38 U.S.C.A. §§ 1110, 5103(a), 5103A, 5107 (West 2002 & Supp. 2009); 38 C.F.R. § 3.303 (2009). REASONS AND BASES FOR FINDING AND CONCLUSION Service connection may be granted for a disability resulting from a disease or injury incurred in or aggravated by service. See 38 U.S.C.A. § 1110 (West 2002); 38 C.F.R. § 3.303(a) (2009). In general, service connection requires (1) medical evidence of a current disability; (2) medical, or in certain circumstances, lay evidence of in- service incurrence or aggravation of a disease or injury; and (3) medical evidence of a nexus between the claimed in-service disease or injury and the current disability. See Hickson v. West, 12 Vet. App. 247, 253 (1999). Service connection may also be established with a showing of continuity of symptomatology in service and after discharge. This is only required where the condition noted during service (or in the presumptive period) is not, in fact, shown to be chronic or where the diagnosis of chronicity may be legitimately questioned. 38 C.F.R. § 3.303(b). In Savage v. Gober, the United States Court of Appeals for Veterans Claims (Court) clarified this provision. The Court explained that if the chronicity provision of 38 C.F.R. § 3.303(b) is not applicable, service connection may still be available if (1) the condition is observed during service or any applicable presumption period; (2) continuity of symptomatology is demonstrated thereafter; and (3) competent evidence relates the present condition to that symptomatology. Savage v. Gober, 10 Vet. App. 488, 498 (1997). The Board must determine whether the evidence supports the claim or is in relative equipoise, with the appellant prevailing in either case, or whether the preponderance of the evidence is against the claim, in which case, service connection must be denied. Gilbert v. Derwinski, 1 Vet. App. 49 (1990). The Veteran contends, in essence, that he developed bronchial asthma at the same time that he was treated for frostbite in service. Service treatment records indicated that in December 1951, while undergoing hospitalization for frostbite, the Veteran reported frontal and maxillary tenderness. A physical examination showed "some infection of the pharynx;" however, the evidence does not show asthma or any symptoms reasonably related thereto and his lungs were clear. Further, hospital records from that time period show diagnoses of frostbite and a contusion of the left great toe but no mention was made of a respiratory disorder of any kind. In February 1952, he was diagnosed with and treated for acute pharyngitis. There were no other indications of treatment for a respiratory disorder, including asthma, at that time. In a November 1952 physical assessment, his lungs were clear. At the time of discharge, the clinical evaluation of his lungs and chest was normal. Therefore, the evidence does not show a chronic respiratory disorder during service. Next, post-service medical evidence does not reflect respiratory symptomatology for several years after service discharge. Specifically, a note from Dr. A.S. in April 1972 indicated that the Veteran had been treated for asthmatiform dyspnea on two occasions in 1958. Thus, the first reported symptoms associated with asthma were noted four years after separation from service. Therefore, the medical evidence does not reflect continuity of symptomatology. In addition to the absence of documented post-service symptomatology related to asthma for several years after discharge, the evidence includes the Veteran's lay statements asserting continuity of symptoms. The Board acknowledges that lay evidence concerning continuity of symptoms after service, if credible, is ultimately competent, regardless of the lack of contemporaneous medical evidence. Buchanan v. Nicholson, 451 F.3d 1331 (Fed. Cir. 2006). In rendering a decision on appeal, the Board must analyze the credibility and probative value of the evidence, account for the evidence which it finds to be persuasive or unpersuasive, and provide the reasons for its rejection of any material evidence favorable to the claimant. See Gabrielson v. Brown, 7 Vet. App. 36, 39-40 (1994); Gilbert v. Derwinski, 1 Vet. App. 49, 57 (1990). Competency of evidence differs from weight and credibility. The former is a legal concept determining whether testimony may be heard and considered by the trier of fact, while the latter is a factual determination going to the probative value of the evidence to be made after the evidence has been admitted. Rucker v. Brown, 10 Vet. App. 67, 74 (1997); Layno v. Brown, 6 Vet. App. 465, 469 (1994); see also Cartright v. Derwinski, 2 Vet. App. 24, 25 (1991) ("although interest may affect the credibility of testimony, it does not affect competency to testify"). In this case, the Veteran is competent to report symptoms because this requires only personal knowledge as it comes to him through his senses. Layno, 6 Vet. App. at 470. He has indicated that he continued to experience respiratory symptoms after he was discharged from the service. In determining whether statements submitted by a veteran are credible, the Board may consider internal consistency, facial plausibility, and consistency with other evidence submitted on behalf of the claimant. Caluza v. Brown, 7 Vet. App. 498 (1995). In this case, the Board finds that the Veteran's reported history of continued symptomatology since active service, while competent, is nonetheless not credible. First, while not dispositive, the Board emphasizes the multi-year gap between discharge from active duty service (1954) and initial reported symptoms related to a respiratory disorder in 1953 (a 4-year gap). See Maxson v. Gober, 230 F.3d 1330, 1333 (Fed. Cir. 2000) (lengthy period of absence of medical complaints for condition can be considered as a factor in resolving claim); see also Mense v. Derwinski, 1 Vet. App. 354, 356 (1991) (affirming Board's denial of service connection where veteran failed to account for lengthy time period between service and initial symptoms of disability). Next, the Board finds that the Veteran's reported history of continued symptoms since active service is inconsistent with the other evidence of record. Indeed, while he stated that his disorder began in service, the separation examination was absent of any complaints. Moreover, the in-service evidence shows treatment for pharyngitis, not asthma, during his hospitalization for frostbite. The Board has weighed the Veteran's lay statements as to continuity of symptomatology and finds his current recollections and statements made in connection with a claim for benefits to be of lesser probative value. See Pond v. West, 12 Vet. App. 341 (1999) (although Board must take into consideration the veteran's statements, it may consider whether self-interest may be a factor in making such statements). Therefore, continuity has not here been established, either through the medical evidence or through his lay statements. Next, service connection may be granted when the evidence establishes a medical nexus between active duty service and current complaints. In this case, the Board finds that the weight of the competent evidence does not attribute the Veteran's asthma to active duty, despite his contentions to the contrary. To that end, the Board places significant probative value on a September 2009 VA examination undertaken specifically to address the issue on appeal. At that time, the Veteran reported the onset of asthma at the time he was hospitalized in service for frostbite. The examiner noted that the Veteran had no history of recurrent upper respiratory tract infections in service or at the time of separation from active service in February 1954. She also indicated that he was first treated for asthma in 1958 and had a history of cigarette smoking. Upon objective examination, the examiner diagnosed asthma. The examiner stated that after review of all evidence available in the claims file, including the first report of treatment in 1958 (she misstated that this was 6 years after service when, in fact, it was 4 years after), the Veteran's history as a cigarette smoker, a diagnosis of chronic obstructive pulmonary disease (COPD), and evidence of emphysematous changes in a chest X-ray, she opined that "it is not as likely as not, that veteran's respiratory conditions, were causally related to his military service." This medical opinion weighs against the Veteran's claim for service connection for a respiratory disorder, to include asthma, as it fails to establish the requisite nexus between the currently-diagnosed asthma and active service. The Board finds that the examination was adequate for evaluation purposes. Specifically, the examiner reviewed the claims file, interviewed the Veteran, and conducted a physical examination. There is no indication that the VA examiner was not fully aware of the Veteran's past medical history or that she misstated any relevant fact. Moreover, there is no contradicting medical evidence of record. Therefore, the Board finds the VA examiner's opinion to be of great probative value. The Board has also considered the Veteran's statements asserting a nexus between his currently-diagnosed disorder and active duty service. While the Board reiterates that he is competent to report symptoms as they come to him through his senses, a respiratory disorder such as asthma is not the type of disorder that a lay person can provide competent evidence on questions of etiology or diagnosis. In fact, the in-service evidence shows that his in-service respiratory complaints were related to pharyngitis, not asthma. In Jandreau v. Nicholson, 492 F.3d 1372 (Fed. Cir. 2007), the U.S. Court of Appeals for the Federal Circuit (Federal Circuit) stated that lay evidence is competent and sufficient in certain instances related to medical matters. Specifically, the Federal Circuit commented that such instances include to establish a diagnosis of a condition when (1) a layperson is competent to identify the medical condition, (2) the layperson is reporting a contemporaneous medical diagnosis, or (3) lay testimony describing symptoms at the time supports a later diagnosis by a medical professional. Id. Similarly, the U.S. Court of Appeals for Veterans Claims has held that when a condition may be diagnosed by its unique and readily identifiable features, the presence of the disorder is not a determination "medical in nature" and is capable of lay observation. Barr v. Nicholson, 21 Vet. App. 303 (2007). In this case, the Veteran's contention regarding a relationship between his claimed disability and his active service is not a statement about symptomatology, an observable medical condition, or a contemporaneous medical diagnosis. Rather, this contention is a statement of causation. Such a statement clearly falls within the realm of opinions requiring medical expertise. The Board has reviewed the Veteran's extensive VA outpatient treatment reports and finds that they provide no favorable evidence to the Veteran's claim for service connection. While these treatment reports indeed reflect treatment of respiratory disorders since April 2001, they merely restate what was already of record - that he has a currently- diagnosed and treated respiratory disorder, asthma. The treatment reports do not provide any indication that his asthma or respiratory symptoms manifested in service or that his current asthma is related to his active service. Based on the above, the preponderance of the evidence of record is against a grant of service connection for a respiratory disorder, to include asthma, and his claim is denied. The evidence in this case is not so evenly balanced so as to allow application of the benefit-of-the-doubt rule. Gilbert v. Derwinski, 1 Vet. App. 49 (1990); 38 U.S.C.A. § 5107(b); 38 C.F.R. § 3.102 (2009). Finally, the Board is required to ensure that VA's "duty to notify" and "duty to assist" obligations have been satisfied. See 38 U.S.C.A. §§ 5103, 5103A (West 2002); 38 C.F.R. § 3.159 (2008). The notification obligation in this case was accomplished by way of letters from the RO to the Veteran dated in August 2005 and August 2006. See Quartuccio v. Principi, 16 Vet. App. 183 (2002); Pelegrini v. Principi, 18 Vet. App. 112 (2004); Mayfield v. Nicholson, 19 Vet. App. 103 (2005), rev'd on other grounds, 444 F. 3d 1328 (Fed. Cir. 2006); Dingess v. Nicholson, 19 Vet. App. 473 (2006). Moreover, service treatment records have been associated with the claims file. Although a February 2008 request for records resulted in a response that service treatment records were destroyed in the fire at the National Personal Records Center in 1973, the Board notes that, in fact, a complete set of service treatment records are associated with the claims file, including induction and separation examinations, and multiple reports generated at the time the Veteran was hospitalized for frostbite in 1951. In addition, VA clinical records and private medical records have been obtained and associated with the Veteran's claims file. The RO also provided assistance to the Veteran as required under 38 U.S.C.A. § 5103A and 38 C.F.R. § 3.159(c), as indicated under the facts and circumstances in this case. He has not made the RO or the Board aware of any additional evidence that needs to be obtained in order to fairly decide this appeal, and has not argued that any error or deficiency in the accomplishment of the duty to assist has prejudiced him in the adjudication of his appeal. Mayfield v. Nicholson, 19 Vet. App. 103 (2005), rev'd on other grounds, 444 F. 3d 1328 (Fed. Cir. 2006). Hence, no further notice or assistance to the Veteran is required to fulfill VA's duty to assist in the development of the claim. ORDER Service connection for a respiratory disorder, claimed as asthma, is denied. ____________________________________________ L. HOWELL Veterans Law Judge, Board of Veterans' Appeals Department of Veterans Affairs