Citation Nr: 1012467 Decision Date: 04/02/10 Archive Date: 04/14/10 DOCKET NO. 09-11 725 ) DATE ) ) On appeal from the Department of Veterans Affairs Regional Office in Buffalo, New York THE ISSUES 1. Entitlement to service connection for bilateral hearing loss. 2. Entitlement to service connection for chronic fatigue syndrome. REPRESENTATION Appellant represented by: New York State Division of Veterans' Affairs ATTORNEY FOR THE BOARD K. J. Kunz, Counsel INTRODUCTION The Veteran served on active duty from June 1977 to April 1983, from November 1990 to July 1991, and from May 2004 to November 2005. He served in Southwest Asia during the second and third periods of active duty. During the years between and after periods of active duty, the Veteran was a civilian employee of the New York Army National Guard. He was also a member of the National Guard for many years, and had periods of active duty for training. This appeal comes before the Board of Veterans' Appeals (Board) from a June 2007 rating decision by the Buffalo, New York Regional Office (RO) of the United States Department of Veterans Affairs (VA). In that decision, the RO denied service connection for hearing loss and chronic fatigue syndrome. The Veteran also appealed the RO's denial in that decision of service connection for a psychiatric disability. That appeal was resolved in a January 2009 rating decision, when the RO granted service connection for post-traumatic stress disorder (PTSD). In the January 2009 rating decision, the RO also granted service connection for tinnitus, and assigned a 10 percent disability rating. In a February 2009 letter, the Veteran expressed disagreement with the rating assigned for tinnitus. In July 2009, the RO issued a statement of the case (SOC) regarding the rating for tinnitus. The claims file does not show that the Veteran has perfected an appeal of the rating for tinnitus by filing a substantive appeal. This issue is not in appellate status and will not be further addressed. The issue of service connection for chronic fatigue syndrome is addressed in the REMAND portion of the decision below, and is REMANDED to the RO via the Appeals Management Center (AMC), in Washington, DC. FINDING OF FACT Bilateral hearing loss was caused by noise exposure during a period of active service. CONCLUSION OF LAW The criteria for service connection for bilateral hearing loss is met. 38 U.S.C.A. §§ 1110, 1131, 5107 (West 2002); 38 C.F.R. §§ 3.303, 3.385 (2009). REASONS AND BASES FOR FINDINGS AND CONCLUSIONS Duties to Notify and Assist The Veterans Claims Assistance Act of 2000 (VCAA), Pub. L. No. 106-475, 114 Stat. 2096 (Nov. 9, 2000) (codified at 38 U.S.C.A. §§ 5100, 5102, 5103, 5103A, 5106, 5107, and 5126 (West 2002 & Supp. 2008)) redefined VA's duty to assist a claimant in the development of a claim for VA benefits. VA regulations for the implementation of the VCAA were codified as amended at 38 C.F.R. §§ 3.102, 3.156(a), 3.159, and 3.326(a) (2009). Considering the record in light of the above-noted legal authority, and in view of the Board's favorable disposition of the claim on appeal, the Board finds that all notification and development action needed to fairly adjudicate the claim of service connection for bilateral hearing loss is met. Hearing Loss The Veteran contends that current hearing loss is attributable to noise exposure during one or more of his three periods of active service. Service connection may be established for a disability resulting from disease or injury incurred in or aggravated by service. 38 U.S.C.A. §§ 1110, 1131; 38 C.F.R. § 3.303. Service connection may be granted for a disease diagnosed after discharge, when all the evidence, including that pertinent to service, establishes that the disease was incurred in service. 38 C.F.R. § 3.303(d). When there is an approximate balance of positive and negative evidence regarding any issue material to the determination of a claim, VA shall give the benefit of the doubt to the claimant. 38 U.S.C.A. § 5107. Service connection for hearing loss is regulated at 38 C.F.R. § 3.385, which provides that: For the purposes of applying the laws administered by VA, impaired hearing will be considered to be a disability when the auditory threshold in any of the frequencies 500, 1000, 2000, 3000, 4000 Hertz is 40 decibels or greater; or when the auditory thresholds for at least three of the frequencies 500, 1000, 2000, 3000, or 4000 Hertz are 26 decibels or greater; or when speech recognition scores using the Maryland CNC Test are less than 94 percent. 38 C.F.R. § 3.385. In Hensley v. Brown, 5 Vet. App. 155 (1993), the Court noted that 38 C.F.R. § 3.385, "does not preclude service connection for a current hearing disability where hearing was within normal limits on audiometric testing at separation from service." 5 Vet. App. at 159. The Court explained that: [W]hen audiometric test results at a veteran's separation from service do not meet the regulatory requirements for establishing a "disability" at that time, he or she may nevertheless establish service connection for a current hearing disability by submitting evidence that the current disability is causally related to service. 5 Vet. App. at 160. The Veteran has had hearing testing on many occasions, including during his three periods of active service, and through the National Guard during other periods. Service and National Guard testing consisted of audiological evaluation, and did not include speech audiometry. In December 1976, on a medical examination of the Veteran conducted for entry into service, audiological evaluation showed pure tone thresholds, in decibels, as follows: HERTZ 500 1000 2000 3000 4000 RIGHT 15 15 10 5 LEFT 10 5 5 15 On another audiological evaluation, in December 1980, pure tone thresholds, in decibels, were as follows: HERTZ 500 1000 2000 3000 4000 RIGHT 10 0 5 0 0 LEFT 5 0 0 0 5 In a February 1983 examination for separation from active service, audiological evaluation showed pure tone thresholds, in decibels, as follows: HERTZ 500 1000 2000 3000 4000 RIGHT 10 5 5 0 5 LEFT 0 5 5 5 10 In November 1990, the Veteran had an examination for entry into his second period of active service. Audiological evaluation showed pure tone thresholds, in decibels, as follows: HERTZ 500 1000 2000 3000 4000 RIGHT 5 0 0 10 0 LEFT 10 0 10 10 15 On an audiological evaluation during active service, in April 1991, it was noted that the Veteran was routinely exposed to hazardous noise. Pure tone thresholds, in decibels, were as follows: HERTZ 500 1000 2000 3000 4000 RIGHT 15 5 5 5 10 LEFT 10 0 5 5 25 On examination in June 1991, for separation from his second period of active service, audiological evaluation in revealed pure tone thresholds, in decibels, as follows: HERTZ 500 1000 2000 3000 4000 RIGHT 15 5 5 5 10 LEFT 10 0 5 5 25 In a National Guard examination in April 1996, audiological evaluation showed pure tone thresholds, in decibels, as follows: HERTZ 500 1000 2000 3000 4000 RIGHT 10 0 10 5 10 LEFT 10 0 5 10 50 The examiner recommended hearing protection. A December 1997 letter from a Veterans Service Organization (VSO) to the Veteran indicates that the Veteran had recently contacted the VSO with the intention of submitting a claim based on hearing loss and Persian Gulf issues. In February 1998, the Veteran submitted a claim for service connection and compensation for multiple disabilities, including bilateral hearing loss. Development letters that the RO sent to the Veteran were returned as undeliverable, and the RO apparently made no decision on the 1998 claim. In a February 2000 National Guard examination, audiological evaluation showed pure tone thresholds, in decibels, as follows: HERTZ 500 1000 2000 3000 4000 RIGHT 10 0 5 20 LEFT 10 5 5 60 The service treatment records in the claims file do not include any records of treatment or examinations during the Veteran's third period of active service, in from May 2004 to November 2005. His service records indicate that he served in Iraq and Kuwait from November 2004 to October 2005, and that he served in a designated imminent danger pay area. The Veteran has reported that he was exposed to noise during that service period. In a September 2008 VA mental health examination, the Veteran stated that in Iraq he served as a mechanic, and was in multiple combat situations. He related that his base was frequently attacked by mortars or rockets, that he was in a vehicle that was hit by an improvised explosive device (IED), and that he came under small arms fire. In a May 2006 claim, the Veteran indicated having had hearing loss since his active service in 1977 to 1983. In a November 2006 letter, a National Guard occupational health specialist informed the Veteran that he had sustained an OSHA reportable hearing loss in his left ear. In January 2007, the Veteran had hearing testing through his employer, the National Guard. The audiological evaluation revealed pure tone thresholds, in decibels, as follows: HERTZ 500 1000 2000 3000 4000 RIGHT 5 5 10 10 50 LEFT 5 5 5 5 60 The examiner found that the Veteran had hearing loss, and recommended additional testing, as well as hearing conservation measures. The Veteran had hearing testing in July 2007 at a private audiology practice. The Veteran reported having worked for the National Guard for 30 years. He stated that he had worked in excessive levels of noise, and that he had used ear protection for the preceding twenty or more years. On the testing, pure tone thresholds, in decibels, were as follows: HERTZ 500 1000 2000 3000 4000 RIGHT 5 5 5 10 55 LEFT 5 0 5 20 60 Speech audiometry revealed speech recognition ability of 100 percent in the right ear and of 100 percent in the left ear. The examiner concluded that the Veteran had normal hearing acuity for conversational speech, but had a high frequency hearing loss bilaterally. In August 2007, a National Guard physical profile indicated that the Veteran had hearing loss, that he was required to use hearing protection to prevent further hearing loss, and that he was not to be assigned duties with excessive noise exposure. Records of private medical treatment indicate that the Veteran had a stroke in November 2007. In a March 2008 statement, the Veteran indicated that he had lost hearing in his right ear. Later in March 2008, the Veteran had a private hearing examination with T. C. C., M.D. The Veteran reported a sudden onset of right ear hearing loss in February 2008. Dr. C. noted that the Veteran had a history of acoustic trauma in the National Guard, and noted the July 2007 test results showing normal hearing for conversational speech, but bilateral high frequency hearing loss. On testing of the right ear, on audiological evaluation, the pure tone threshold at 500 Hertz was 100 decibels. There was no response at 1000, 2000, 3000, or 4000 Hertz. Speech discrimination could not be tested in the right ear. In the left ear, speech audiometry revealed speech recognition ability of 91 percent. Dr. C. stated that the most likely cause of the sudden hearing loss in the right ear was occlusion of blood vessels to the cochlea. Dr. C. indicated that the chance of an acoustic neuroma being the cause was remote. In the report of a VA audiological examination in September 2008, the examiner reported having reviewed the claims file. The Veteran reported having had some impairment of hearing in both ears before he completely lost the hearing in his right ear. He indicated that the complete loss of hearing in his right ear had occurred in 2007, while he was doing yard work. He indicated that he had noise exposure in twenty years of work as a mechanic for the National Guard. On audiological evaluation, pure tone thresholds, in decibels, were as follows: HERTZ 500 1000 2000 3000 4000 RIGHT 90 105+ 105+ 105+ 105+ LEFT 10 0 5 20 65 On speech audiometry, speech recognition ability could not be tested in the right ear, due to no response at equipment limits. Speech recognition ability was 100 percent in the left ear. The examiner noted that the Veteran's left ear hearing showed increased high frequency loss in 1996 and 2000, during periods when the Veteran was not on active duty. The examiner stated the Veteran's current severe right ear hearing loss had not been found until 2007. The examiner concluded that "it is not at least as likely as not that the veteran's current bilateral hearing loss was aggravated by noise exposure during active duty." In a February 2009 statement, the Veteran wrote that, during his period of active service that began in 1977, he was in an artillery unit, and was exposed to loud weapons noise for prolonged periods. He stated that during his work with the National Guard after his first period of service, he was exposed to loud noises, including the engines of tanks on which he worked. He indicated that he was exposed to engine and weapons noise during his two week periods of National Guard active duty for training. He reported that he had additional noise exposure, from engines and weapons fire, during his periods of active service in the two Gulf Wars. He acknowledged that he had lost hearing in his right ear while he was on disability from work; but asserted that his military service had caused the loss of hearing in his right ear and the diminishment of hearing in his left ear. After a full review of the record and resolving all reasonable doubt in favor of the Veteran, the Board concludes that service connection for bilateral hearing loss is warranted. The Veteran has credibly reported noise exposure during his three periods of active service, and also during his periods of employment as a mechanic with the National Guard. The progression of impairment in his hearing into disability, for VA purposes, occurred at different times in each ear. Noise exposure bilaterally is conceded based not only on the Veteran's credible statements but also on the RO's concession of such noise exposure from events in service in the grants of service connection for both tinnitus and PTSD. In the left ear, testing during the Veteran's first period of active service did not show disabling impairment. During his second period of active service, in 1990 and 1991, the threshold at 4000 Hertz increased from 15 to 25 decibels. This is evidence of some hearing loss in the left ear during service even if it did not rise to the level of hearing loss for VA disability purposes at that time. The Veteran has left ear hearing disability as of April 1996, when the threshold at 4000 Hertz was 50. While the VA examiner did not conclude that hearing loss was related to service, the Board finds that there is sufficient evidence of onset of hearing loss in the left ear in service to support the grant of service connection. Test results showed no disabling hearing impairment in the Veteran's right ear during his first or second periods of active service. His right ear hearing was within normal limits in the latest testing, in February 2000, before his third period of active service. He had hearing loss disability, with a threshold of 50 decibels at 4000 Hertz, on the earliest testing, in January 2007, after his third period of service. The absence of evidence of testing during the third period of service precludes a precise determination as to when the hearing disability arose. However, as indicated above the noise exposure during his periods of service, including the service in Iraq, to loud noises, such as an IED explosion, has been conceded. While the VA examiner noted that Veteran's reported of a sudden right ear hearing loss in February 2008, the evidence supports the finding that the his initial right ear hearing loss was incurred during that period of service. Therefore service connection for the right ear hearing loss was warranted and service connection for bilateral hearing loss is granted. ORDER Entitlement to service connection for bilateral hearing loss is granted. REMAND The Veteran contends that he has had chronic fatigue since his Persian Gulf War service in Kuwait in 1990 and 1991. He indicates that a physician he saw in 1992 and 1993 began a work up to determine if he had chronic fatigue syndrome. The claims file does not contain any records of that treatment. The Veteran's 1997 compensation claim included a claim of fatigue. Recent medical records also contain complaints of fatigue. The Veteran has not had a diagnosis of chronic fatigue syndrome. On VA examination in September 2008, the examiner stated that, because the Veteran has multiple overlapping symptoms from depression, PTSD, vascular dementia, and a possible sleep disorder, it would be speculative to find that the Veteran has chronic fatigue syndrome. In addition to consideration for direct service connection, the Veteran's chronic fatigue syndrome claim should be considered under 38 C.F.R. § 3.317 (2009). That regulation provides for compensation for Persian Gulf War veterans who develop certain chronic disabilities, including chronic fatigue syndrome. The Board will remand the issue to seek the 1992 and 1993 medical records, and to arrange a new file review and medical examination with medical opinion, in order to clarify whether the Veteran has chronic fatigue syndrome. Accordingly, this case is REMANDED for the following action: 1. Ask the Veteran to identify the physician who began in 1992 and 1993 a work up for chronic fatigue syndrome. Request records of treatment of the Veteran from the physician that the Veteran identifies. 2. Schedule the Veteran for a VA medical examination to clarify whether the Veteran has chronic fatigue syndrome, and, if so, to address the likely etiology of that disorder. The examiner must be provided with the Veteran's claims file for review. The record contains the Veteran's complaints, dated from 1997 forward, of fatigue. After examining the Veteran and reviewing the claims file, the examiner should express an opinion as to whether the Veteran has chronic fatigue syndrome or any other disease or disorder that causes his complained of symptoms and, if so, whether it is at least as likely as not that the Veteran's chronic fatigue syndrome, or other disease or disorder, is related to service. The examiner should explain the conclusion reached. 3. After completion of the above, review the expanded record and determine if the Veteran's remanded claim for service connection for chronic fatigue syndrome can be granted, either via direct service connection or as related to Persian Gulf War service, in accordance with 38 C.F.R. § 3.317. If that claim remains denied, issue a supplemental statement of the case and afford the Veteran an opportunity to respond. Thereafter, return the case to the Board for appellate review. The Board intimates no opinion as to the ultimate outcome of this case. The Veteran has the right to submit additional evidence and argument on the matter that the Board has remanded. Kutscherousky v. West, 12 Vet. App. 369 (1999). This claim must be afforded expeditious treatment. The law requires that all claims that are remanded by the Board of Veterans' Appeals or by the United States Court of Appeals for Veterans Claims for additional development or other appropriate action must be handled in an expeditious manner. See 38 U.S.C.A. §§ 5109B, 7112 (West Supp. 2009). ____________________________________________ K. J. ALIBRANDO Acting Veterans Law Judge, Board of Veterans' Appeals Department of Veterans Affairs