Citation Nr: 1017233 Decision Date: 05/10/10 Archive Date: 05/26/10 DOCKET NO. 09-35 201 ) DATE ) ) On appeal from the Department of Veterans Affairs Regional Office in Newark, New Jersey THE ISSUE Entitlement to service connection for diabetes mellitus, type II (DM). REPRESENTATION Appellant represented by: New Jersey Department of Military and Veterans' Affairs WITNESS AT HEARING ON APPEAL The Veteran ATTORNEY FOR THE BOARD K. Haddock, Associate Counsel INTRODUCTION The Veteran had active military service from October 1961 to September 1963. This case comes before the Board of Veterans' Appeals (Board) on appeal from an April 2008 rating decision by the Department of Veterans Affairs (VA) Regional Office (RO) in Newark, New Jersey. In connection with his appeal the Veteran testified at a videoconference hearing before the undersigned Veterans Law Judge in March 2010 and accepted such hearing in lieu of an in-person hearing before a Veterans Law Judge. A transcript of the hearing is associated with the claims file. FINDING OF FACT DM was not present until more than one year following the Veteran's discharge from service and is not etiologically related to his active service. CONCLUSION OF LAW DM was not incurred in or aggravated by active service, and its incurrence or aggravation during such service may not be presumed. 38 U.S.C.A. §§ 1101, 1112, 1131, 1137 (West 2002); 38 C.F.R. §§ 3.303, 3.307, 3.309 (2009). REASONS AND BASES FOR FINDING AND CONCLUSION Duties to Notify and Assist The Veterans Claims Assistance Act of 2000 (VCAA), codified in pertinent part at 38 U.S.C.A. §§ 5103, 5103A (West 2002 & Supp. 2009), and the pertinent implementing regulation, codified at 38 C.F.R. § 3.159 (2009), provide that VA will assist a claimant in obtaining evidence necessary to substantiate a claim but is not required to provide assistance to a claimant if there is no reasonable possibility that such assistance would aid in substantiating the claim. They also require VA to notify the claimant and the claimant's representative, if any, of any information, and any medical or lay evidence, not previously provided to the Secretary that is necessary to substantiate the claim. As part of the notice, VA is to specifically inform the claimant and the claimant's representative, if any, of which portion, if any, of the evidence is to be provided by the claimant and which part, if any, VA will attempt to obtain on behalf of the claimant. Although the regulation previously required VA to request that the claimant provide any evidence in the claimant's possession that pertains to the claim, the regulation has been amended to eliminate that requirement for claims pending before VA on or after May 30, 2008. The Board also notes that the United States Court of Appeals for Veterans Claims (Court) has held that the plain language of 38 U.S.C.A. § 5103(a) requires that notice to a claimant pursuant to the VCAA be provided "at the time" that, or "immediately after," VA receives a complete or substantially complete application for VA-administered benefits. Pelegrini v. Principi, 18 Vet. App. 112, 119 (2004). The timing requirement enunciated in Pelegrini applies equally to the initial-disability-rating and effective-date elements of a service-connection claim. Dingess v. Nicholson, 19 Vet. App. 473 (2006). The record reflects that prior to the initial adjudication of the claim, the Veteran was mailed a letter in August 2007 advising him of what the evidence must show in order to establish a claim of entitlement to service connection and of the respective duties of VA and the claimant in obtaining evidence. The August 2007 letter also included appropriate notice with respect to the disability-rating and effective- date elements of the claim. The Board also finds the Veteran has been afforded adequate assistance in response to his claim. The Veteran's service treatment records (STRs) are on file. Private treatment records have been obtained. The Veteran was afforded a VA examination in November 2009. Neither the Veteran nor his representative has identified any outstanding evidence, to include medical records, which could be obtained to substantiate the claim. The Board is also unaware of any such evidence. In sum, the Board is satisfied that any procedural errors in the RO's development and consideration of the claim were insignificant and non prejudicial to the Veteran. Accordingly, the Board will address the merits of the claim. Legal Criteria Service connection may be granted for disability resulting from disease or injury incurred in or aggravated by active military service. 38 U.S.C.A. § 1131; 38 C.F.R. § 3.303. Where a veteran served for at least 90 days during a period of war or after December 31, 1946, and manifests DM to a degree of 10 percent within one year from the date of termination of such service, such disease shall be presumed to have been incurred or aggravated in service, even though there is no evidence of such disease during the period of service. 38 U.S.C.A. §§ 1101, 1112, 1137; 38 C.F.R. §§ 3.307, 3.309. Except as otherwise provided by law, a claimant has the responsibility to present and support a claim for benefits under laws administered by the Secretary. The Secretary shall consider all information and lay and medical evidence of record in a case before the Secretary with respect to benefits under laws administered by the Secretary. When there is an approximate balance of positive and negative evidence regarding any issue material to the determination of a matter, the Secretary shall give the benefit of the doubt to the claimant. 38 U.S.C.A. § 5107; 38 C.F.R. § 3.102; see also Gilbert v. Derwinski, 1 Vet. App. 49, 53 (1990). To deny a claim on its merits, the evidence must preponderate against the claim. Alemany v. Brown, 9 Vet. App. 518, 519 (1996), citing Gilbert, 1 Vet. App. at 54. Analysis A review of the Veteran's STRs shows that at his separation examination in July 1963 the Veteran was found to have sugar in his urine. At that time blood work was requested in order to rule out a diagnosis of diabetes. In July 1963 the Veteran had a fasting blood sugar test done. His fasting blood sugar was found to be 75 milligrams (mgm). This was noted to be normal. In September 1963 the Veteran had a two hour post prandial test completed. Upon completion his fasting blood sugar was found to be 90 mgm, which was noted to be normal. The examiner diagnosed the Veteran with renal glycosuria and specifically noted that the sugar in the Veteran's urine was not a result of DM as his fasting blood sugar and post prandial sugar test results were within normal limits. At his March 2010 Board hearing, the Veteran reported that following his separation from active service he went to work for Lenox Hill Hospital. According to the Veteran, he was required to have a physical examination every year to maintain employment. The Veteran testified that his urinalysis laboratory results from his physical examinations continued to show sugar in his urine following his separation from active service. Of record are private urinalysis reports from September 1999, July 2001, November 2001, and June 2004. These reports show that the Veteran did, at times, have high levels of sugar in his urine. Additionally, the record reflects that the Veteran was diagnosed with DM in 2004. The Veteran was afforded a VA examination in November 2009. At that time the examiner confirmed the Veteran's diagnosis of DM. The examiner was also asked to provide an opinion as to whether the Veteran's diagnosis of DM was related to his active service, to include the glycosuria noted on his separation examination report. The examiner opined that the Veteran's DM was not related to the glycosuria noted on the Veteran's separation examination report. The examiner based his opinion on the fact that the Veteran had fasting blood sugar and post prandial tests completed before his separation and both tests revealed that the Veteran's blood sugar was within normal limits. The examiner noted that this meant that the Veteran did not have hyperglycemia at that time, but rather just had sugar in his urine. The examiner reported that sugar in the urine with normal or low blood glucose levels was the definition of renal glycosuria. The examiner also reported that renal glycosuria is just a renal tubular defect which can be hereditary and was not a forerunner to the Veteran's diagnosis of DM. The examiner also noted that renal glycosuria is a separate condition from DM and can actually be associated with hypoglycemia. Additionally, the examiner reiterated that the Veteran's DM was not, in any way, related to his active service, including the renal glycosuria noted at separation. In March 2010 VA received a statement from the Veteran's private physician, Dr. D.P. In his statement, Dr. D.P. reported that the Veteran was currently under his care and that the Veteran's glycosuria could be attributed to his DM. Dr. D.P. noted that when sugar levels reach a certain point in the blood, kidneys are no longer able to reabsorb the sugar and eventually glucose will start to leak into the urine, resulting in glycosuria. The findings of a physician are medical conclusions that the Board cannot ignore or disregard. Willis v. Derwinski, 1 Vet. App. 66 (1991). However, greater weight may be placed on one physician's opinion than another's depending on factors such as the reasoning employed by the physician's and whether or not (and the extent to which) they reviewed prior clinical records and other evidence. Gabrielson v. Brown, 7 Vet. App. 36, 40 (1994). The Board finds that the VA examiner's opinion is more probative than the opinion provided by Dr. D.P., the Veteran's private physician. In this regard, the Board notes that Dr. D.P. appears to be reporting that the Veteran's current glycosuria is related to his current DM, while the VA examiner provides an opinion that the Veteran's current DM is not related to his instance of glycosuria in service. Also, the VA examiner was able to complete a thorough review of the Veteran's claims file, to include the separation examination report which noted the first instance of glycosuria. There is no evidence suggesting that the Veteran's private physician has reviewed the Veteran's service records and the separation examination report documenting the Veteran's first instance of glycosuria. Additionally, the VA examiner's opinion was based on the fact that at the time of his separation, the Veteran's blood sugar results were within normal limits following both fasting blood sugar and post prandial blood work. The Board finds that the VA opinion, when combined with the STRs, which explicitly state that the Veteran's renal glycosuria was not due to diabetes mellitus, provide a compelling case against service connection which the Veteran's private physician's statement fails to address. Accordingly, the preponderance of the evidence is against the claim. ORDER Entitlement to service connection for DM is denied. ____________________________________________ Shane A. Durkin Veterans Law Judge, Board of Veterans' Appeals Department of Veterans Affairs