Citation Nr: 1018752 Decision Date: 05/20/10 Archive Date: 06/04/10 DOCKET NO. 06-19 618 ) DATE ) ) On appeal from the Department of Veterans Affairs Regional Office in St. Louis, Missouri THE ISSUE Entitlement to service connection for an acquired psychiatric disorder, to include posttraumatic stress disorder (PTSD). REPRESENTATION Appellant represented by: Disabled American Veterans ATTORNEY FOR THE BOARD James A. DeFrank, Counsel INTRODUCTION The Veteran had active military service from April 1971 to April 1973. The Veteran's DD-214 states he served in Vietnam from September 1971 to April 1972. The appeal comes before the Board of Veterans' Appeals (Board) from a November 2004 rating decision of the Department of Veterans Affairs (VA) Regional Office (RO) in St. Louis, Missouri, which denied entitlement to service connection for PTSD. In May 2009, the Board remanded the claim for further development. In a March 2006 statement, the Veteran requested a hearing on his appeal. Accordingly, the Veteran was scheduled to appear for a hearing on December 2, 2009. In a November 2009 correspondence, the Veteran's representative indicated that the Veteran stated that he wished to withdraw his request for a hearing. The Veteran's request for a Board hearing is considered withdrawn. 38 C.F.R. § 20.704 (2009). With regard to the Veteran's claim for service connection for PTSD, the Board is cognizant of the recent decision of the U.S. Court of Appeals for Veterans Claims, Clemons v. Shinseki, 23 Vet. App. 1 (2009). In Clemons, the Court found that the Board erred in not considering the scope of the Veteran's claim for service connection for PTSD as including any mental disability that may reasonably be encompassed by the claimant's description of the claim, reported symptoms, and the other information of record (in that case, a diagnosis of anxiety neurosis). In light of Clemons, and based on the medical evidence of record, the Board has recharacterized the Veteran's claim as one for service connection for an acquired psychiatric disorder, to include PTSD. FINDINGS OF FACT 1. The Veteran is not shown to have developed PTSD as a result of a stressor event verified by credible supporting evidence as having occurred in service. 2. The Veteran has a diagnosis of major depression, which was not shown during service or for many years thereafter, and is not otherwise related to his period of military service. CONCLUSION OF LAW The criteria for service connection for an acquired psychiatric disorder, to include PTSD, are not met. 38 U.S.C.A. §§ 1110, 5103, 5103A, 5107 (West 2002); 38 C.F.R. §§ 3.102, 3.159, 3.303 (2009). REASONS AND BASES FOR FINDINGS AND CONCLUSION VA's duties to notify and assist claimants in substantiating a claim for VA benefits are found at 38 U.S.C.A. §§ 5100, 5102, 5103, 5103A, 5107, 5126 and 38 C.F.R. §§ 3.102, 3.156(a), 3.159, 3.326(a). See also 73 Fed. Reg. 23,353- 23,356 (April 30, 2008) (concerning revisions to 38 C.F.R. § 3.159). Upon receipt of a complete or substantially complete application for benefits, VA is required to notify the claimant and his or her representative, if any, of any information, and any medical evidence or lay evidence that is necessary to substantiate the claim. 38 U.S.C.A. § 5103(a); 38 C.F.R. § 3.159(b); see also Quartuccio v. Principi, 16 Vet. App. 183 (2002). In accordance with 38 C.F.R. § 3.159(b)(1), proper notice must inform the claimant of any information and evidence not of record (1) that is necessary to substantiate the claim; (2) that VA will seek to provide; and (3) that the claimant is expected to provide. Notice should be sent prior to the appealed rating decision or, if sent after the rating decision, before a readjudication of the appeal. A Supplemental Statement of the Case, when issued following a notice letter, satisfies the due process and notification requirements for an adjudicative decision for these purposes. See Mayfield v. Nicholson, 444 F.3d 1328 (Fed. Cir. 2006). In this case, the notice fulfilling the requirements of 38 C.F.R. § 3.159(b) was furnished to the Veteran in September 2004, prior to the date of the issuance of the appealed November 2004 rating decision. The Board further notes that, in March 2006, the Veteran was notified that a disability rating and an effective date for the award of benefits are assigned in cases where service connection is warranted. See Dingess/Hartman v. Nicholson, 19 Vet. App. 473 (2006). After issuance of the March 2006 letter, and opportunity for the Veteran to respond, the January 2010 supplemental statement of the case (SSOC) reflects readjudication of the claim. Hence, the Veteran is not shown to be prejudiced by the timing of the latter notice. See Mayfield, 20 Vet. App. at 543 (2006); see also Prickett v. Nicholson, 20 Vet. App. 370, 376 (2006) (the issuance of a fully compliant VCAA notification followed by readjudication of the claim, such as in an SOC or SSOC, is sufficient to cure a timing defect). The record reflects that VA has made reasonable efforts to obtain relevant records adequately identified by the Veteran, including service personnel and treatment records and VA and private treatment records, as well as requests for relevant records from the U.S. Army and Joint Services Records Research Center (JSRRC). VA has also fulfilled its duty to assist in obtaining the identified and available evidence needed to substantiate the claim adjudicated in this decision. The Veteran was not provided with a VA examination and opinion to assess the current nature and etiology of any acquired psychiatric disorder, to include PTSD. However, VA need not conduct an examination with respect to the claim on appeal, as information and evidence of record contains sufficient competent medical evidence to decide the claim. See 38 C.F.R. § 3.159(c)(4). Under McLendon v. Nicholson, 20 Vet. App. 79 (2006), in disability compensation (service connection) claims, the VA must provide a VA medical examination when there is (1) competent evidence of a current disability or persistent or recurrent symptoms of a disability, and (2) evidence establishing that an event, injury, or disease occurred in service or establishing certain diseases manifesting during an applicable presumptive period for which the claimant qualifies, and (3) an indication that the disability or persistent or recurrent symptoms of a disability may be associated with the Veteran's service or with another service-connected disability, but (4) insufficient competent medical evidence on file for the VA to make a decision on the claim. Simply stated, the standards of McLendon are not met in this case, as the available evidence does not indicate that PTSD may be the result of a verifiable event, injury, or disease occurring in service. Also, there is no indication that major depression may be associated with the Veteran's service. Thus remand for a VA examination is not necessary. Overall, there is no evidence of any VA error in notifying or assisting the Veteran that reasonably affects the fairness of this adjudication. Service Connection Laws and Regulations Generally Service connection will be granted if the evidence demonstrates that a current disability resulted from an injury or disease incurred in or aggravated by active military service. 38 U.S.C.A. § 1110; 38 C.F.R. § 3.303(a). Establishing service connection generally requires (1) medical evidence of a current disability; (2) medical or, in certain circumstances, lay evidence of in-service incurrence or aggravation of a disease or injury; and (3) medical evidence of a nexus between the claimed in-service disease or injury and the present disability. Shedden v. Principi, 381 F.3d 1163, 1167 (Fed. Cir. 2004); see Caluza v. Brown, 7 Vet. App. 498, 506 (1995), aff'd per curiam, 78 F.3d 604 (Fed.Cir.1996) (table); see also Shedden v. Principi, 381 F.3d 1163, 1167 (Fed. Cir. 2004); Hickson v. West, 12 Vet. App. 247, 253 (1999); 38 C.F.R. § 3.303. Under 38 C.F.R. § 3.303(b), an alternative method of establishing the second and third Shedden/Caluza element is through a demonstration of continuity of symptomatology. Barr v. Nicholson, 21 Vet. App. 303 (2007); see Savage 10 Vet. App. 488, 495-97 (1997); see also Clyburn v. West, 12 Vet. App. 296, 302 (1999). Continuity of symptomatology may be established if a claimant can demonstrate (1) that a condition was "noted" during service; (2) evidence of post- service continuity of the same symptomatology; and (3) medical or, in certain circumstances, lay evidence of a nexus between the present disability and the post-service symptomatology. Savage, 10 Vet. App. at 495-96; see Hickson, 12 Vet. App. at 253 (lay evidence of in-service incurrence sufficient in some circumstances for purposes of establishing service connection); 38 C.F.R. § 3.303(b). In relevant part, 38 U.S.C. § 1154(a) requires that the VA give "due consideration" to "all pertinent medical and lay evidence" in evaluating a claim to disability or death benefits. Lay evidence can be competent and sufficient to establish a diagnosis of a condition when (1) a layperson is competent to identify the medical condition, (2) the layperson is reporting a contemporaneous medical diagnosis, or (3) lay testimony describing symptoms at the time supports a later diagnosis by a medical professional." Jandreau v. Nicholson, 492 F.3d 1372, 1377 (Fed.Cir.2007) In fact, competent medical evidence is not necessarily required when the determinative issue involves either medical etiology or a medical diagnosis. Id. at 1376-77; see also Buchanan v. Nicholson, 451 F .3d 1331, 1337 (Fed.Cir.2006); Davidson v. Shinseki, 581 F.3d 1313 (Fed. Cir. Sept. 14, 2009). If psychosis becomes manifest to a degree of 10 percent within one year of separation from active service, then it is presumed to have been incurred during active service, even though there is no evidence of arthritis during service. This presumption is rebuttable by affirmative evidence to the contrary. 38 U.S.C.A. §§ 1101, 1112, 1113; 38 C.F.R. §§ 3.307, 3.309. Service connection may be granted for any disease diagnosed after discharge, when all the evidence, including that pertinent to service, establishes that the disease was incurred in service. Presumptive periods are not intended to limit service connection to diseases so diagnosed when the evidence warrants direct service connection. The presumptive provisions of the statute and VA regulations implementing them are intended as liberalizations applicable when the evidence would not warrant service connection without their aid. 38 C.F.R. § 3.303(d). A disorder may be service connected if the evidence of record, regardless of its date, shows that the Veteran had a chronic disorder in service or during an applicable presumptive period, and that the Veteran still has such a disorder. 38 C.F.R. § 3.303(b); Savage, supra., 10 Vet. App. 488, 494-95 (1997). Service connection may also be granted for a disease first diagnosed after discharge when all of the evidence, including that pertinent to service, establishes that the disease was incurred in service. 38 C.F.R. § 3.303(d). Entitlement to service connection for PTSD requires: (1) medical evidence diagnosing the condition in accordance with 38 C.F.R. § 4.125(a); (2) a link, established by medical evidence, between current symptoms and an in-service stressor; and (3) credible supporting evidence that the claimed in-service stressor occurred. 38 C.F.R. § 3.304. If the evidence establishes that the veteran engaged in combat with the enemy and the claimed stressor is related to that combat, in the absence of clear and convincing evidence to the contrary, and provided that the claimed stressor is consistent with circumstances, conditions, or hardships of the veteran's service, the veteran's lay testimony alone may establish the occurrence of the claimed in-service stressor. 38 C.F.R. § 3.304(f); West v. Brown, 7 Vet. App. 70 (1994). If the veteran did not engage in combat with the enemy, or if the claimed stressors are not related to combat, the veteran's testimony alone is not sufficient to establish the occurrence of the claimed stressors, and those stressors must be corroborated by credible supporting evidence. Cohen v. Brown, 10 Vet. App. 128 (1997). Service department records must support, and not contradict, the claimant's testimony regarding non-combat stressors. Doran v. Brown, 6 Vet. App. 283 (1994). When there is an approximate balance of positive and negative evidence regarding any issue material to the determination of a matter, the VA shall give the benefit of the doubt to the claimant. 38 U.S.C.A. § 5107(b). The Board has reviewed all the evidence in the Veteran's claims file. Although the Board has an obligation to provide adequate reasons and bases supporting this decision, there is no requirement that the evidence submitted by the Veteran or obtained on his behalf be discussed in detail. Rather, the Board's analysis below will focus specifically on what evidence is needed to substantiate the claim and what the evidence in the claims file shows, or fails to show, with respect to the claim. See Gonzales v. West, 218 F.3d 1378, 1380-81 (Fed. Cir. 2000) and Timberlake v. Gober, 14 Vet. App. 122, 128-30 (2000). Analysis The Veteran contends that he has PTSD as a result of various combat-related, in-service stressors. Service records indicate that his military occupational specialty (MOS) was that of 11B20 light weapons infantryman. He was awarded the following medals and campaign ribbons for his service: National Defense Service Medal, Vietnam Campaign Medal w/60 device and Vietnam Service Medal w/Bronze Service Star. The Board notes that he was not awarded any medal or decoration that clearly indicates combat status and evidence of participation in a campaign does not, in itself, establish that a veteran engaged in combat because those terms ordinarily may encompass both combat and non-combat activities. VAOPGCPREC 12-99 (Oct. 18, 1999), 65 Fed. Reg. 6257 (2000). Thus, the Board finds that combat status has not been clearly established by the objective evidence of record. 38 U.S.C.A. § 1154(b) (West 2002); 38 C.F.R. § 3.304(d), (f) (2009). Therefore, credible supporting evidence that the claimed in- service stressors occurred is necessary. 38 C.F.R. § 3.304(f) (2009). The Board notes that VA and private treatment records dated from 2004 to 2005, confirm diagnoses of and treatment for PTSD. However, a diagnosis alone is insufficient to establish service connection for PTSD. Since it is not otherwise shown by the record that the Veteran engaged in combat, there must be evidence that corroborates the existence of the claimed stressors. See Cohen, 10 Vet. App. at 128; 38 C.F.R. § 3.304(f). The Court has held that credible supporting evidence of the actual occurrence of an in-service stressor cannot consist solely of after-the-fact medical nexus evidence. See Moreau v. Brown, 9 Vet. App. 389, 396 (1996). Accordingly, in order to grant service- connection for PTSD, the evidence must contain credible supporting evidence that the claimed in-service stressors occurred. 38 C.F.R. § 3.304(f). Based upon the evidence of record, the Board finds the Veteran is not shown to have developed PTSD as a result of a stressor event verified by credible supporting evidence as having occurred in service. The Veteran has alleged four principal stressors in service that caused his current PTSD. First, in Vietnam, while the Veteran was setting up his camp for the evening, he also had to set up his claymore mine. He stated that he set it up about 25 feet from two other soldiers and pulled 75 feet of cord back to where his sleeping area was. Suddenly there was an explosion, and the other soldiers started yelling that someone had set off their claymore. He was then surrounded by the other men, accused of trying to kill his fellow soldiers, and threatened with physical harm. The platoon leader was able to calm the situation by stating that the safety trigger on the Veteran's claymore was broken. The Veteran stated he felt he had to "watch his back" until he came out of that patrol, as the other men would not speak nor have anything to do with him. The second incident took place when the helicopter the Veteran was in was under heavy gunfire upon landing. The Veteran and 8 or 9 other men were forced to jump from the helicopter into the area of heavy fire. The helicopter took off before it was subject to more gunfire and the men were left alone in the area. It seemed as long as 25 minutes or so went by before they received any help. A gunship arrived and started shooting in the Veteran's direction. The Veteran was afraid he would be shot, but the gunship fired over him and into the jungle. The Veteran stated that he was terrified and it shook him up to see that much gunfire coming so close to him. He stated that he still sees it today. The third incident was when the Veteran was in the jungle of Vietnam setting up camp. The company decided that because of enemy activity in the area they would call in artillery to prep the area surrounding the location. When they made the call, they gave a location too close to where the camp was. Each round that came in was getting closer and closer to the Veteran's tent. The Veteran stated the gunfire came so close, that chunks of dirt and other debris began to hit the tent as the men ran for cover. The platoon was yelling trying to stop the incoming. Finally, the shooting stopped. The fourth stressful time was when his platoon was on a search and destroy mission. He went through the jungle and hills until he came to an open field where they spotted the dead body of a Vietcong soldier. He stated that the solider must have been dead for a while because the smell was awful. It was the first time the Veteran had seen a dead body in combat in an open field. The Veteran explained that all four of these events had an effect on him, and that he could not function as a soldier for a while. He believes he had a nervous breakdown, because there were many times that he could not follow orders and was very confused. He stated that it came to a point where they let him do as he wished. While at one of the fire bases, he was told to see a psychiatrist. He spoke to the doctor and answered questions, but was only told to "let go." The Veteran stated he was continually depressed and stressed while in Vietnam. The RO attempted to verify the stressors identified by the Veteran and by obtaining the Veteran's service treatment and service personnel records. As noted above, these records showed that the Veteran was an 11B20 light weapons infantryman. And was awarded the National Defense Service Medal, Vietnam Campaign Medal w/60 device and Vietnam Service Medal w/Bronze Service Star. However, the records contained no reference to the described events. In further attempts to verify the claimed stressor, the RO sent the Veteran an August 2009 letter. In the August 2009 letter, the RO informed the Veteran that his claimed stressor could not be verified and that, in order to corroborate the stressor, he needed to provide more specific details. There is no indication that the Veteran responded to the letter. In a December 2009 Memorandum, a Military Records Specialist indicated that they researched the October 1971 Daily Staff Journals (DJ's) submitted by the 1st Battalion, 37th Infantry. The October 29, 1971 DJ documented that a solider sustained injuries due to a blasting cap but the DJ did not provide the company assignment of that particular soldier. They also did not maintain 1971 Morning Reports submitted by the 1st Battalion, 37th Infantry. They indicated that a Morning Report search may be conducted in order to verify the unit assignment of the particular soldier at the time of his injuries. JSSRC was also unable to provide a response to the second stressor reported by the Veteran. Regarding the other reported stressors, the Military Records Specialist noted that JSRRC researched the March 1972 DJ's submitted by the 1st Battalion, 7th Calvary which documented that at various times during the reporting period that various elements of Company A, 1st Battalion, 7th Calvary requested artillery support. However, the DJ's did not specifically document what the Veteran described. The Memorandum concluded that the Veteran's stressor statements failed to adequately describe the claimed stressors and that unless further detailed information could be obtained, the Veteran's stressors were inherently impossible to verify. The Board acknowledges the statements received from the Veteran regarding his current symptoms and his experiences in service. Unfortunately, however, he has been unable to adequately describe the claimed stressors and as a result, the JSSRC indicated that the Veteran's stressors were currently inherently impossible to verify. The Board notes that while the VA is obligated to assist a claimant in the development of a claim, there is no duty on the VA to prove the claim. See Wood v. Derwinski, 1 Vet. App. 190, 193 (1991). Again, the RO sent the Veteran an August 2009 letter in a further attempt to verify the claimed stressor, but there is no indication that the Veteran responded to the letter. Without sufficient evidence to corroborate the stressor described by the Veteran, the Board has no basis upon which to grant service connection for PTSD. While acknowledging the Veteran's belief that PTSD is due to the various stressor events that purportedly occurred during his military service, it is well established that as a layperson, the Veteran is not considered capable of opining as to the nature or etiology of his disability. Espiritu v. Derwinski, 2 Vet. App. 492 (1992). In short, the only evidence of the occurrence of the Veteran's claimed stressors are his own statements. As the record contains no indication of combat service, and the Veteran's alleged stressors are not corroborated by service records or other credible supporting evidence, the Board finds that the evidence of record preponderates against the Veteran's service connection claim for PTSD. The Board's analysis, however, does not end here. As the Court found in Clemons, the Board must consider the Veteran's claim in light of the reported symptoms and medical evidence. Clemons, 23 Vet. App. at 5. Here, the evidence of record included treatment notes from the VA Medical Center (VAMC) in Kansas City, Missouri dated from July 2004 to April 2005 that reflect diagnoses of mood disorder NOS - Major depression vs. Dysthymia with late onset PTSD, chronic. The Board must consider entitlement to service connection for these mental health disabilities as well as for PTSD. The Veteran's March 1971 enlistment examination report is silent for any psychiatric disorders. On his April 1973 separation examination report, the Veteran noted nervous trouble. The physician remarked that the Veteran had noise- related nervousness. However, the report of his April 1973 separation examination physical indicates that his psychiatric evaluation was normal. The first documented medical evidence of major depression is in the July 2004 VA treatment record-over 31 years after military service. The Board points out that the passage of many years between discharge from active service and the medical documentation of a claimed disability is a factor that tends to weigh against a claim for service connection. See Maxson v. Gober, 230 F.3d 1330, 1333 (Fed. Cir. 2000); Shaw v. Principi, 3 Vet. App. 365 (1992). In sum, there is no medical evidence or opinion even suggesting a relationship between major depression (or any other psychiatric disorder) and military service, and neither the Veteran nor his representative has presented or identified any such existing medical evidence or opinion. Again, an additional VA examination is not required as the evidence already of record fails to indicate that that any present psychiatric condition is related to the Veteran's tour of active duty. 38 C.F.R. § 3.159. Furthermore, there is no evidence that psychosis was manifested in the first post service year (so as to trigger application of presumptive provisions in 38 U.S.C.A. § 1112; 38 C.F.R. §§ 3.307, 3.309 for such chronic disease). For the foregoing reasons, the claim for service connection for an acquired psychiatric disorder, including PTSD must be denied. The Board has considered the applicability of the benefit-of-the-doubt doctrine. However, as the preponderance of the evidence is against the claim, that doctrine is not applicable. See 38 U.S.C.A. § 5107(b); 38 C.F.R. § 3.102; Gilbert v. Derwinski, 1 Vet. App. 49, 53- 56 (1990). ORDER Service connection for an acquired psychiatric disorder, including PTSD, is denied. ____________________________________________ WAYNE M. BRAEUER Veterans Law Judge, Board of Veterans' Appeals Department of Veterans Affairs