Citation Nr: 1030948 Decision Date: 08/18/10 Archive Date: 08/24/10 DOCKET NO. 05-03 555A ) DATE ) ) On appeal from the Department of Veterans Affairs Regional Office in Montgomery, Alabama THE ISSUES 1. Entitlement to service connection for tinnitus. 2. Entitlement to service connection for ulcerative colitis, to include as secondary to Agent Orange exposure. 3. Entitlement to service connection for chronic peripheral neuropathy, to include as secondary to Agent Orange exposure. 4. Entitlement to a compensable initial rating for residuals of a fractured nose. REPRESENTATION Appellant represented by: The American Legion WITNESS AT HEARING ON APPEAL Appellant ATTORNEY FOR THE BOARD Thomas D. Jones, Counsel INTRODUCTION The Veteran served on active duty from February 1965 to February 1969. This matter comes before the Board of Veterans' Appeals (Board) on appeal from July 2004, September 2008, and April 2009 rating decisions of a Regional Office (RO) of the Department of Veterans Affairs (VA). In June 2010, the Veteran testified before the undersigned Acting Veterans Law Judge, seated at the RO. The Board notes that the Veteran has also perfected appeals of the RO's denial of service connection for Raynaud's phenomenon, and for an increased rating for his service-connected posttraumatic stress disorder (PTSD). However, in April 200 and December 2009 letters, respectively, he withdrew those issues on appeal before the Board; thus, they are no longer within the Board's jurisdiction. See 38 C.F.R. § 20.204 (2009). The issue of entitlement to a compensable initial rating for residuals of a fractured nose is addressed in the REMAND portion of the decision below and is REMANDED to the RO via the Appeals Management Center (AMC), in Washington, DC. FINDINGS OF FACT 1. The Veteran had military service in Vietnam, and is presumed to have been exposed to herbicides therein. 2. Competent evidence has been presented establishing a current diagnosis of tinnitus due to acoustic trauma sustained during active military service. 3. Competent evidence has not been presented establishing onset of ulcerative colitis during military service, as the result of a disease or injury incurred therein, or as secondary to herbicide exposure. 4. Competent evidence has not been presented establishing onset of peripheral neuropathy during military service, as the result of a disease or injury incurred therein, or as secondary to herbicide exposure. CONCLUSIONS OF LAW 1. Tinnitus was incurred as a result of military service, and service connection is thus warranted. 38 U.S.C.A. §§ 1110, 5107 (West 2002 & Supp. 2009); 38 C.F.R. §§ 3.303, 3.304 (2009). 2. Ulcerative colitis was not incurred during active military service, and may not be presumed to have been incurred therein, and service connection must thus be denied. 38 U.S.C.A. §§ 1110, 1112, 1116, 5107 (West 2002); 38 C.F.R. §§ 3.303, 3.304, 3.307, 3.309 (2009). 3. Peripheral neuropathy was not incurred during active military service, and may not be presumed to have been incurred therein, and service connection must thus be denied. 38 U.S.C.A. §§ 1110, 1112, 1116, 5107 (West 2002); 38 C.F.R. §§ 3.303, 3.304, 3.307, 3.309 (2009). REASONS AND BASES FOR FINDINGS AND CONCLUSION I. Veterans Claims Assistance Act of 2000 The Veterans Claims Assistance Act of 2000 (VCAA) enhanced VA's duty to notify and assist claimants in substantiating a claim for VA benefits, as codified in pertinent part at 38 U.S.C.A. §§ 5103, 5103A, 5107, 5126 (West 2002 & Supp. 2009); 38 C.F.R. §§ 3.102, 3.159, 3.326(a) (2009). For the reasons to be discussed below, the Board finds that VA has satisfied its duties to the appellant under the VCAA. A VCAA notice consistent with 38 U.S.C.A. § 5103(a) and 38 C.F.R. § 3.159(b) must: (1) inform the claimant about the information and evidence not of record that is necessary to substantiate the claim; (2) inform the claimant about the information and evidence that VA will seek to provide; and (3) inform the claimant about the information and evidence the claimant is expected to provide. See Quartuccio v. Principi, 16 Vet. App. 183 (2002). VCAA notice requirements apply to all five elements of a service connection claim: (1) veteran status; (2) existence of disability; (3) connection between service and the disability; (4) degree of disability; and (5) effective date of benefits where a claim is granted. Dingess v. Nicholson, 19 Vet. App. 473, 484 (2006). VA has made all reasonable efforts to assist the Veteran in the development of his claims, has notified him of the information and evidence necessary to substantiate the claims, and has fully disclosed VA's duties to assist him. In February and March 2004, November 2007, and January 2008 letters, the Veteran was notified of the information and evidence needed to substantiate and complete the claims on appeal. Additionally, the November 2007 letter provided him with the general criteria for the assignment of an effective date and initial rating. Id. The Board further notes that, in the present case, initial notice was issued prior to the various adverse determinations on appeal; thus, no timing issue exists with regard to the notice provided the claimant. See Mayfield v. Nicholson, 444 F.3d 1328 (Fed. Cir. 2006); Pelegrini v. Principi, 18 Vet. App. 112 (2004). For an increased-compensation claim, 38 U.S.C.A. § 5103(a) requires, at a minimum, that VA notify the claimant that, to substantiate a claim, the medical or lay evidence must show a worsening or increase in severity of the disability, and the effect that such worsening or increase has on the claimant's employment and daily life. Vazquez-Flores v. Peake, 22 Vet. App. 37 (2008). However, that case was recently overruled by the U.S. Court of Appeals for the Federal Circuit, and is no longer binding on the Board. Vazquez-Flores v. Shinseki, 580 F.3d 1270 (Fed. Cir. 2009). The Board further finds that VA has complied with the duty to assist by aiding the appellant in obtaining evidence. It appears that all known and available records relevant to the issues on appeal have been obtained and are associated with the Veteran's claims files. The RO has obtained the Veteran's service treatment records, as well as VA and non-VA medical records. Social Security Administration records were also obtained by VA. See Murincsak v. Derwinski, 2 Vet. App. 363, 370-72 (1992). He has also been afforded VA medical examination on several occasions, most recently in 2008. The Board notes that the VA examination reports contain sufficiently specific clinical findings and informed discussion of the pertinent history and clinical features of the disabilities on appeal and are adequate for purposes of this appeal. In June 2010, the Veteran was afforded the opportunity to testify before the undersigned Acting Veterans Law Judge. The Board is not aware, and the Veteran has not suggested the existence of, any additional pertinent evidence not yet received. Based on the foregoing, the Board finds that the Veteran has not been prejudiced by any failure of VA in its duties to notify and assist him, and that any such violations could be no more than harmless error. See Conway v. Principi, 353 F.3d 1369 (Fed. Cir. 2004). In any event, the Veteran has neither alleged nor demonstrated any prejudice with regard to the content or timing of VA's notices or other development. See Shinseki v. Sanders, 129 U.S. 1696 (2009) (reversing prior case law imposing a presumption of prejudice on any notice deficiency, and clarifying that the burden of showing that an error is harmful, or prejudicial, normally falls upon the party attacking the agency's determination). Thus, adjudication of his claims at this time is warranted. II. Service connection - Tinnitus The Veteran seeks service connection for tinnitus. Service connection may be awarded for a current disability arising from a disease or injury incurred in or aggravated by active military service. 38 U.S.C.A. § 1110 (West 2002); 38 C.F.R. §§ 3.303, 3.304 (2009). As with any claim, when there is an approximate balance of positive and negative evidence regarding any matter material to the claim, the claimant shall be given the benefit of the doubt. 38 U.S.C.A. § 5107 (West 2002). On examination for service entrance in February 1965, the Veteran denied any history of hearing loss or ear trouble. The remainder of his service treatment records are negative for any diagnosis of or treatment for tinnitus. However, he has reported that during his service in the U.S. Coast Guard, he served in the engine room of his vessel, in close proximity to generators and other loud equipment. On VA audiological examination in April 2008, the Veteran gave a history of tinnitus with onset approximately 15 years prior. Due to the gap of time between the Veteran's reported onset of tinnitus and his separation from service, the examiner found it less likely than not his tinnitus was related to such service. The Board observes that while the Veteran did not report tinnitus during military service, his service records confirm service aboard a military vessel, and thus support his assertions that he had experienced possible acoustic trauma during military service. Additionally, the Veteran has already been awarded service connection for bilateral hearing loss, indicating some form of acoustic trauma has already been conceded by VA. At his June 2010 personal hearing before the undersigned, the Veteran stated that he first began to notice a ringing in his ears shortly after service separation, but did not say anything because he was told nothing could be done about it. Additionally, tinnitus, defined as a "noise in the ears, such as ringing, buzzing, roaring, or clicking," is a disability susceptible to lay observations of symptomatology. Dorland's Illustrated Medical Dictionary, 1914 (30th ed. 1994); see Jandreau, supra; see also Buchanan v. Nicholson, 451 F.3d 1331 (Fed. Cir. 2006) (addressing lay evidence as potentially competent to support presence of disability even where not corroborated by contemporaneous medical evidence). After considering the totality of the evidence, suggestive of acoustic trauma during active military service resulting in a current diagnosis of tinnitus, the Board affords the Veteran the benefit of the doubt and finds service connection for tinnitus is warranted. See 38 U.S.C.A. § 5107 (West 2002). III. Service connection - Ulcerative Colitis The Veteran seeks service connection for ulcerative colitis, to include as secondary to herbicide exposure. Under the relevant laws and regulations, service connection may be granted for a disability resulting from disease or injury incurred in or aggravated by active service. 38 U.S.C.A. § 1110 (West 2002). As with any claim, when there is an approximate balance of positive and negative evidence regarding any matter material to the claim, the claimant shall be given the benefit of the doubt. 38 U.S.C.A. § 5107 (West 2002). If a chronic disease is shown in service, subsequent manifestations of the same chronic disease at any later date, however remote, may be service connected, unless clearly attributable to intercurrent causes. 38 C.F.R. § 3.303(b) (2009). However, continuity of symptoms is required where a condition in service is noted but is not, in fact, chronic or where a diagnosis of chronicity may be legitimately questioned. 38 C.F.R. § 3.303(b) (2009). The Veteran contends his ulcerative colitis results from herbicide exposure during service. Under the provisions of 38 C.F.R. § 3.309(e), if a Veteran was exposed to an herbicide agent during active military, naval, or air service, the diseases set forth in 38 C.F.R. § 3.309(e) shall be service-connected if the requirements of 38 C.F.R. § 3.307(a)(6) are met even though there is no record of such disease during service, provided that the rebuttable presumption provisions of 38 C.F.R. § 3.307(d) are also satisfied. According to 38 C.F.R. § 3.307(a)(6)(iii), a Veteran who, during active military, naval, or air service, served in the Republic of Vietnam during the Vietnam era shall be presumed to have been exposed during such service to an herbicide agent, unless there is affirmative evidence to establish that the Veteran was not exposed to any such agent during that service. Service in Vietnam includes service in the waters offshore or service in other locations if the conditions of service involved duty or visitation in Vietnam. 38 C.F.R. § 3.313(a) (2009). In the present case, the Veteran's service personnel records indicates he was awarded the Vietnam Service Medal, and the Vietnam Campaign Medal, confirming service in Vietnam pursuant to 38 C.F.R. § 3.307(a)(6). Thus, his exposure to herbicides is presumed. However, ulcerative colitis is not among the disorders listed at 38 C.F.R. § 3.309(e). Therefore, a grant of service connection for ulcerative colitis on a presumptive basis must be denied. Nevertheless, the statutory presumption is not the sole method for showing causation, and the Veteran is not precluded from establishing service connection with competent proof establishing direct causation. See Combee v. Brown, 34 F.3d 1039, 1042 (Fed. Cir. 1994). Therefore, the Board will consider entitlement to direct service connection based on possible onset of ulcerative colitis during service, or as the result of disease or injury sustained therein. In the present case, the Veteran's service treatment records are negative for any diagnosis of or treatment for a gastrointestinal disorder, to include ulcerative colitis. The first diagnosis of ulcerative colitis within the medical record dates to the late 1990's, approximately 30 years after service separation. Within a May 1992 private clinical notation, the Veteran reported a history of peptic ulcer disease, but noted no other gastrointestinal disorders. Private medical records confirm colitis was diagnosed after a colonoscopy in June 1999. Subsequent VA and private medical records confirm a current diagnosis of ulcerative colitis, and this fact is conceded by the Board. A VA gastrointestinal examination was afforded the Veteran in March 2004. He reported experiencing rectal bleeding upon returning from Vietnam, and was given medication for hemorrhoids. He experienced similar symptoms in 1999, when ulcerative colitis was diagnosed. He continued to experience diarrhea, occasional rectal bleeding, and pus in his stool. On physical examination the Veteran was well-nourished, with active bowel sounds in all abdominal quadrants. No herniation, tenderness, or gastrointestinal symptomatology was noted. A recent colonoscopy confirmed internal hemorrhoids and diverticulitis of the left colon. Another VA medical examination was afforded the Veteran in February 2007, at which time he reported onset of rectal bleeding and related gastrointestinal symptomatology in approximately 1999. Ulcerative colitis was diagnosed, and he was prescribed antibiotics, with some success, although he did continue to experience occasional flare-ups. These resulted in abdominal pain, fever, and some rectal bleeding. On physical examination, diverticulitis with a history of ulcerative colitis was confirmed. At his June 2010 personal hearing, the Veteran stated he experiences frequent episodes of diarrhea, abdominal pain, and bloating secondary to his ulcerative colitis, and he asserts this disorder is the result of his Agent Orange exposure in Vietnam. After considering the totality of the evidence, the Board finds the preponderance of the record to be against the award of service connection for ulcerative colitis, to include as secondary to herbicide exposure. Considering first whether such a disability was incurred during military service, the Board notes the Veteran's service treatment records are negative for any diagnosis of or treatment for a gastrointestinal disorder, to include ulcerative colitis. While the Veteran has stated he experienced rectal bleeding and similar symptoms following his return from Vietnam, his service treatment records and post- service records are negative for any such complaints for many years following his military service in Vietnam. The first report of record of colitis dates to 1999, when colitis was confirmed via colonoscopy. This diagnosis represents a gap of approximately 30 years between service separation and the onset of colitis. See Maxson v. Gober, 230 F.3d 1330, 1333 (Fed. Cir. 2000) (lengthy period of absence of medical complaints for condition can be considered as a factor in resolving claim); see also Mense v. Derwinski, 1 Vet. App. 354, 356 (1991) (affirming Board's denial of service connection where veteran failed to account for lengthy time period between service and initial symptoms of disability). While the Veteran may have experienced rectal bleeding and related symptoms around the time of service separation, this testimony in and of itself does not establish a diagnosis of ulcerative colitis at that time; by the Veteran's own admission, he was told he had hemorrhoids, and colitis was not mentioned. In the absence of evidence to the contrary, the Board finds no competent evidence of onset of ulcerative colitis as a chronic disorder during military service, and service connection on a direct basis must be denied. Likewise, service connection for ulcerative colitis as secondary to herbicide exposure is not established by the evidence of record. As noted above, ulcerative colitis is not a presumptive disorder for veterans with herbicide exposure, and the Veteran has not presented competent evidence establishing a nexus between this disorder and his acknowledged Agent Orange exposure during Vietnam service. The Veteran has offered his own contentions suggesting his ulcerative colitis is the result of military service. However, as a laypersons, the Veteran is not capable of making medical conclusions; thus, his statements regarding causation are not competent evidence. Espiritu v. Derwinski, 2 Vet. App. 492, 495 (1992). It is true that lay statements may be competent to support a claim for service connection by supporting the occurrence of lay-observable events or the presence of disability or symptoms of disability subject to lay observation. See Jandreau v. Nicholson, 492 F.3d 1372 (Fed. Cir. 2007); see also Buchanan v. Nicholson, 451 F.3d 1331 (Fed. Cir. 2006) (addressing lay evidence as potentially competent to support presence of disability even where not corroborated by contemporaneous medical evidence). However, gastrointestinal disorders and disorders resulting from chemical exposure are all complex disorders which require specialized training for a determination as to diagnosis and causation, and they are therefore not susceptible of lay opinions on etiology, and the Veteran's statements therein cannot be accepted as competent medical evidence. In conclusion, the preponderance of the evidence weighs against the award of service connection for ulcerative colitis, to include as due to herbicide exposure. As a preponderance of the evidence is against the award of service connection, the benefit of the doubt doctrine is not applicable in the instant appeal. See 38 U.S.C.A. § 5107(b) (West 2002); Ortiz v. Principi, 274 F.3d 1361 (Fed. Cir. 2001); Gilbert v. Derwinski, 1 Vet. App. 49, 55-57 (1991). IV. Service connection - Peripheral neuropathy The Veteran seeks service connection for peripheral neuropathy, to include as secondary to herbicide exposure. The general criteria for the award of service connection, to include as secondary to herbicide exposure, have been noted above. As noted above, Veteran who, during active military, naval or air service, served in the Republic of Vietnam during the Vietnam Era is presumed to have been exposed during such service to certain herbicidal agents (e.g., Agent Orange) unless there is affirmative evidence to establish that the Veteran was not exposed to any such agent during service. If the Veteran was exposed to an herbicide agent during service, the following diseases shall be service-connected if the requirements of 38 C.F.R. § 3.307(a)(6) are met, even though there was no record of such disease during service, provided further that the rebuttable presumption provisions of 38 C.F.R. § 3.307(d) are also satisfied; chloracne or other acneform disease consistent with chloracne, Type II diabetes (also known as Type II diabetes colitis or adult-onset diabetes), Hodgkin's disease, multiple myeloma, non-Hodgkin's lymphoma, acute and subacute peripheral neuropathy, porphyria cutaneous tarda, prostate cancer, respiratory cancers (cancer of the lung, bronchitis, laryngitis or trachea) and soft tissue sarcomas, other than osteosarcoma, chondrosarcoma Kaposi's sarcoma, or mesothelioma. 38 C.F.R. § 3.309(e) (2009). In order for the statutory presumption to apply to acute or subacute peripheral neuropathy, symptoms must manifest within weeks or months of exposure, and resolve within two years of the date of onset. See 38 C.F.R. § 3.309(e), Note 2 (2009). The Veteran's service treatment records are negative for any diagnosis of or treatment for peripheral neuropathy of either the upper or lower extremities during military service. He has stated he returned from Vietnam in 1967; however, there is no evidence of peripheral neuropathy within one year of the last date on which he was exposed to an herbicide agent during active military service, or even within one year of his separation from service. Furthermore, by his own admission at his June 2010 personal hearing, he did not experience peripheral neuropathy until 2003, over 30 years after service separation. Although the Veteran is unable to satisfy the requirements discussed above to be entitled to the regulatory presumption of service connection for peripheral neuropathy as a result of exposure to Agent Orange, the Board is required to evaluate the Veteran's claim on a direct basis as well. The availability of presumptive service connection for a disability based on exposure to herbicides does not preclude a Veteran from establishing service connection with proof of direct causation. Stefl v. Nicholson, 21 Vet. App. 120 (2007); see also Combee v. Brown, 34 F.3d 1039 (Fed. Cir. 1994). By the Veteran's own admission, he first sought medical treatment for peripheral neuropathy in approximately 2003, when he reported worsening paresthesias in the hands, feet, ankles, and legs. The initial diagnosis was of peripheral neuropathy of uncertain origin. A March 2004 private treatment record authored by S.R.B., M.D., indicated the Veteran was experiencing systemic paresthesias and discomfort. MRI studies indicated minimal degenerative disc disease of the lumbosacral spine, possible carpal tunnel syndrome of the right upper extremity, and ulnar neuropathy of the left. A brain MRI and nerve conduction studies were within normal limits. Dr. B. noted the Veteran was "concerned about the possibility of Agent Orange exposure in Vietnam", but the examiner himself could find no physiologic basis for the Veteran's reported symptoms. In a prior January 2004 clinical notation, Dr. B. noted the Veteran had a history of "fairly regular alcohol use." The Veteran reported drinking a case of beer per week. VA medical examination was afforded the Veteran in March 2004. He reported onset of tingling and numbness of the extremities in approximately November 2003. His pain was described as a burning sensation. On physical examination his deep tendon reflexes were all within normal limits. No evidence of muscle wasting or paralysis was found. Range of motion was full. Peripheral neuropathy of unknown etiology was confirmed. In a January 2005 written statement, R.B.M., M.D., a private physician, stated he first began treating the Veteran in November 2003 for paresthesias in the lower extremities. Dr. M. further noted that the Veteran was exposed to Agent Orange while serving in Vietnam, and therefore "it is entirely possible that [the Veteran's] symptomatology is related to Agent Orange exposure." Dr. M. next stated while the Veteran has been afforded additional treatment and testing at a VA medical center, "it has still not been determined as to whether or not Agent Orange was the causative agent for his symptom complex." The Veteran has also sought VA medical treatment for his peripheral neuropathy. On VA consultation in January 2006, peripheral neuropathy was confirmed, with decreased pinprick sensation in all four extremities. The examiner determined the etiology of the Veteran's peripheral neuropathy was unclear, but it may have been related to his alcohol use. The Veteran was noted to have a longstanding history of daily alcohol intake. On the occasion of his June 2010 personal hearing, the Veteran testified he has been told by his private physician that his peripheral neuropathy is the result of Agent Orange exposure. After considering the totality of the record, the Board finds the preponderance of the evidence to be against the award of service connection for peripheral neuropathy. There is no competent medical evidence linking any current peripheral neuropathy with the Veteran's military service, to include his conceded herbicide exposure. As noted above, the Veteran's peripheral neuropathy did not manifest during military service, or for many years thereafter; thus, service connection on a direct basis, or on a presumptive basis due to herbicide exposure, is not warranted. Nevertheless, the Veteran may still establish an etiological nexus between his herbicide exposure and his subsequent peripheral neuropathy many years later. See Combee, supra. In support of his claim, the Veteran has submitted the March 2004 clinical record of Dr. B., and the January 2005 statement of Dr. M. Considering first the March 2004 clinical record, this document reflects only that the Veteran was "concerned about the possibility of Agent Orange exposure in Vietnam". Dr. B. stated that he himself could find no physiologic basis for the Veteran's reported symptoms. Dr. B. also noted in a prior record that the Veteran had a history of frequent alcohol use. This statement, merely a reflection of the Veteran's own concerns, is not sufficient competent evidence to establish a link between peripheral neuropathy and herbicide exposure. Considering next the January 2005 statement of Dr. M., the Board notes that Dr. M. stated only that it was "entirely possible" the Veteran's peripheral neuropathy was related to Agent Orange exposure. "It is the responsibility of the BVA . . . to assess the credibility and weight to be given to evidence." Hayes v. Brown, 5 Vet. App. 60, 69 (1993) (citing Wood v. Derwinski, 1 Vet. App. 190, 192-93 (1992)). With regard to the weight to assign to these medical opinions, the Court has held that "[t]he probative value of medical opinion evidence is based on the medical expert's personal examination of the patient, the physician's knowledge and skill in analyzing the data, and the medical conclusion that the physician reaches . . . As is true with any piece of evidence, the credibility and weight to be attached to these opinions [are] within the province of the [BVA as] adjudicators . . ." Guerrieri v. Brown, 4 Vet. App. 467, 470-71 (1993). In the present case, the Board notes that Dr. M. stated only that a nexus between the Veteran's peripheral neuropathy and his Agent Orange exposure during military service may be possible. The Board finds this opinion to be speculative at best and of little evidentiary value in that it expressed the relationship as possible, rather than probable. See Perman v. Brown, 5 Vet. App. 237, 241 (1993); Beausoleil v. Brown, 8 Vet. App. 459, 463 (1996); Obert v. Brown, 5 Vet. App. 30 (1993); Tirpak v. Derwinski, 2 Vet. App. 609, 611 (1992). The U.S. Court of Appeals for Veterans Claims (Court) has found that an opinion expressed in speculative terms, such as "may" implies "may or may not", and is inherently speculative. Id. The Board also observes that the record does not reflect that Dr. M. reviewed the Veteran's claims folder or other medical history; among other factors, Dr. M. did not discuss the role the Veteran's age and history of alcohol use may have played in his development of peripheral neuropathy. On VA consultation in January 2006, alcohol use was found to have possibly played a role in the Veteran's development of peripheral neuropathy. Dr. M.'s lack of discussion of the Veteran's prior medical history further erodes the probative value of his opinion. Overall, the Board does not find this medical opinion to be sufficient to establish a nexus between the Veteran's Agent Orange exposure and his peripheral neuropathy. In the absence of such nexus evidence, service connection for peripheral neuropathy must be denied. The Veteran and his representative have alleged that his peripheral neuropathy is the result of herbicide exposure during military service in Vietnam. However, the Board finds that the Veteran, a lay person, is not competent to offer an opinion on a matter clearly requiring medical expertise, such as opining that his current neurological problems are related to military service. See Jandreau v. Nicholson, 492 F.3d 1372 (Fed. Cir. 2007) (hold that a veteran is competent to provide a diagnosis of a simple disability subject to lay observation, but not competent to provide evidence as to more complex medical questions). Therefore, this is not a case in which the Veteran and his representative's lay statements alone can serve to establish any association between the claimed disability and his military service. See Espiritu v. Derwinski, 2 Vet. App. 492 (1992); Moray v. Brown, 5 Vet. App. 211 (1993). In conclusion, the preponderance of the evidence is against the Veteran's claim of service connection for peripheral neuropathy, to include as secondary to herbicide exposure. While herbicide exposure is conceded by VA, onset of such a disability was many years after military service, such that a statutory presumption is not warranted, and the competent evidence of record does not suggest a nexus between such exposure, or any other incident of military service, and his current peripheral neuropathy. Thus, service connection for peripheral neuropathy must be denied. As a preponderance of the evidence is against the award of service connection, the benefit of the doubt doctrine is not applicable in the instant appeal. See 38 U.S.C.A. § 5107(b) (West 2002); Ortiz v. Principi, 274 F.3d 1361 (Fed. Cir. 2001); Gilbert v. Derwinski, 1 Vet. App. 49, 55-57 (1991). ORDER Entitlement to service connection for bilateral tinnitus is granted. Entitlement to service connection for ulcerative colitis, to include as secondary to herbicide exposure, is denied. Entitlement to service connection for peripheral neuropathy, to include as secondary to herbicide exposure, is denied. REMAND The Veteran seeks a compensable initial rating for his residuals of a fractured nose. According to his June 2010 personal hearing testimony, he was afforded a VA examination of his nose and sinuses in early 2010 at the Tuskegee VA medical center. Review of the record does not indicate the report of this examination has been associated with the claims file. As this examination report is clearly pertinent to the Veteran's pending claim, it must be obtained prior to any final adjudication of this claim. See 38 U.S.C.A. § 5103A (West 2002). Accordingly, the case is REMANDED for the following action: 1. Request all VA medical records not yet obtained from the Tuskegee VA medical center regarding examination and/or treatment of the Veteran's fractured nose disability. If no record of a 2010 VA examination of the Veteran's nose is available, that fact must be noted for the record. 2. After undertaking any additional development deemed appropriate, and giving the appellant full opportunity to supplement the record, adjudicate the Veteran's pending claim in light of any additional evidence added to the record. If any benefit sought on appeal remains denied, the Veteran and his representative should be furnished with a supplemental statement of the case and be afforded the applicable opportunity to respond before the record is returned to the Board for further review. The Board offers no opinion at this time regarding the ultimate outcome of this appeal. The appellant has the right to submit additional evidence and argument on the matter or matters the Board has remanded. Kutscherousky v. West, 12 Vet. App. 369 (1999). This claim must be afforded expeditious treatment. The law requires that all claims that are remanded by the Board of Veterans' Appeals or by the United States Court of Appeals for Veterans Claims for additional development or other appropriate action must be handled in an expeditious manner. See 38 U.S.C.A. §§ 5109B, 7112 (West Supp. 2009). ______________________________________________ KRISTI BARLOW Acting Veterans Law Judge, Board of Veterans' Appeals Department of Veterans Affairs