Citation Nr: 1032258 Decision Date: 08/27/10 Archive Date: 09/01/10 DOCKET NO. 06-26 188 ) DATE ) ) On appeal from the Department of Veterans Affairs Regional Office in Detroit, Michigan THE ISSUES 1. Entitlement to service connection for diabetes, also claimed as sugar problems. 2. Entitlement to nonservice-connected (NSC) pension benefits. REPRESENTATION Appellant represented by: The American Legion ATTORNEY FOR THE BOARD D. M. Casula, Counsel INTRODUCTION The Veteran had active service from April 1968 to January 1970. This matter comes before the Board of Veterans' Appeals (Board) from a February 2006 rating decision of the above Regional Office (RO) of the Department of Veterans Affairs (VA) which denied service connection for sugar problems and denied entitlement to a NSC pension. At his request, the Veteran was scheduled for a Travel Board hearing at the RO, before a Veterans Law Judge. However, the record reflects that he did not report for the hearing scheduled in October 2007. The issue of entitlement to NSC pension is addressed in the REMAND portion of the decision below and is REMANDED to the RO via the Appeals Management Center (AMC), in Washington, DC. VA will notify the appellant if additional action is required on his part. FINDINGS OF FACT 1. The Veteran is not shown to currently have diabetes that may be related to active service or any incident therein. 2. The preponderance of the competent evidence of record is against a finding that the Veteran's hypoglycemia is related to his active service. CONCLUSION OF LAW Claimed diabetes and hypoglycemia were not incurred in or aggravated by active service. 38 U.S.C.A. § 1110 (West 2002); 38 C.F.R. § 3.303 (2009). REASONS AND BASES FOR FINDINGS AND CONCLUSION The Board has thoroughly reviewed all the evidence in the Veteran's claims folder. Although the Board has an obligation to provide reasons and bases supporting this decision, there is no need to discuss, in detail, the evidence submitted by the Veteran or on his behalf. See Gonzales v. West, 218 F.3d 1378, 1380-81 (Fed. Cir. 2000). The analysis below focuses on the most salient and relevant evidence and on what this evidence shows, or fails to show, on the claim. The Veteran must not assume that the Board has overlooked pieces of evidence that are not explicitly discussed herein. See Timberlake v. Gober, 14 Vet. App. 122 (2000). I. Duty to Notify and Assist The Veterans Claims Assistance Act of 2000 (VCAA) enhanced VA's duty to notify and assist claimants in substantiating a claim for VA benefits, as codified in pertinent part at 38 U.S.C.A. §§ 5103, 5103A, 5107, 5126; 38 C.F.R. §§ 3.102, 3.159, 3.326(a). Upon receipt of a complete or substantially complete application for benefits, VA is required to notify the claimant and his representative of any information, and any medical or lay evidence, that is necessary to substantiate the claim. 38 U.S.C.A. § 5103(a); 38 C.F.R. § 3.159(b); Quartuccio v. Principi, 16 Vet. App. 183 (2002). Proper notice from VA must inform the claimant of any information and evidence not of record (1) that is necessary to substantiate the claim; (2) that VA will seek to provide; and (3) that the claimant is expected to provide. 38 C.F.R. § 3.159(b)(1), as amended, 73 Fed. Reg. 23,353 (April 30, 2008). This notice must be provided prior to an initial decision on a claim by the RO. Mayfield v. Nicholson, 444 F.3d 1328 (Fed. Cir. 2006); Pelegrini v. Principi, 18 Vet. App. 112 (2004). The VCAA notice requirements apply to all five elements of a service connection claim: (1) veteran status; (2) existence of disability; (3) connection between service and the disability; (4) degree of disability; and (5) effective date of benefits where a claim is granted. Dingess v. Nicholson, 19 Vet. App. 473, 484 (2006). If complete notice is not provided until after the initial adjudication, such a timing error can be cured by subsequent legally adequate VCAA notice, followed by readjudication of the claim, as in a Statement of the Case (SOC) or Supplemental SOC (SSOC). Moreover, where there is an uncured timing defect in the notice, subsequent action by the RO which provides the claimant a meaningful opportunity to participate in the processing of the claim can prevent any such defect from being prejudicial. Mayfield v. Nicholson, 499 F.3d 1317, 1323-24 (Fed. Cir. 2007); Prickett v. Nicholson, 20 Vet. App. 370, 376 (2006). The United States Court of Appeals for the Federal Circuit (Federal Circuit) previously held that any error in VCAA notice should be presumed prejudicial, and that VA must bear the burden of proving that such an error did not cause harm. Sanders v. Nicholson, 487 F.3d 881 (Fed. Cir. 2007). However, the United States Supreme Court (Supreme Court) has recently reversed that decision, finding it unlawful in light of 38 U.S.C.A. § 7261(b)(2), which provides that, in conducting review of a decision of the Board, a court shall take due account of the rule of prejudicial error. The Supreme Court in essence held that - except for cases in which VA has failed to meet the first requirement of 38 C.F.R. § 3.159(b) by not informing the claimant of the information and evidence necessary to substantiate the claim - the burden of proving harmful error must rest with the party raising the issue, the Federal Circuit's presumption of prejudicial error imposed an unreasonable evidentiary burden upon VA and encouraged abuse of the judicial process, and determinations on the issue of harmless error should be made on a case-by-case basis. Shinseki v. Sanders, 129 S. Ct. 1696 (2009). In this case, the VCAA duty to notify was satisfied by way of a letter sent to the Veteran in October 2005 that fully addressed the notice elements and was sent prior to the initial RO decision in this matter. The letter informed the Veteran of what evidence was required to substantiate the claim decided herein and of his and VA's respective duties for obtaining evidence. The Board also notes that the RO sent the Veteran a letter in March 2006 informing him of how disability ratings and effective dates are assigned. See Dingess v. Nicholson, supra. Moreover, he has not demonstrated any error in VCAA notice, and therefore the presumption of prejudicial error as to such notice does not arise in this case. See Sanders v. Nicholson, supra. Thus, the Board concludes that all required notice has been given to the Veteran. The Board notes that while the VA examination in 2005 addressed whether the Veteran had "sugar problems", the Veteran has not been scheduled for a VA examination to determine whether his hypoglycemia may be related to service. Pursuant to 38 C.F.R. § 3.159(c)(4), VA will provide a medical examination or obtain a medical opinion based upon a review of the evidence of record if VA determines it is necessary to decide the claim. A medical examination or medical opinion is necessary if the information and evidence of record does not contain sufficient competent medical evidence to decide the claim but (1) contains competent lay or medical evidence of a current diagnosed disability or persistent or recurrent symptoms of disability; (2) establishes that the veteran suffered an event, injury, or disease in service; and (3) indicates that the claimed disability or symptoms may be associated with the established event, injury, or disease in service. The third part could be satisfied by competent evidence showing post- service treatment for a condition or other possible association with military service. As delineated in 38 C.F.R. § 3.159(c)(4), a VA examination to address the question of etiology as related to service is required when the Veteran presents a claim for service connection in which there was a pertinent event, injury, or disease in service; there is evidence of current disability; the medical evidence of record does not contain sufficient competent medical evidence to decide the claim; and the Veteran indicates that the claimed disability or symptoms may be associated with service. McLendon v. Nicholson, 20 Vet. App. 79 (2006). With regard to the claim for service connection, there is competent medical evidence of a current disability - as shown in an October 2005 VA treatment record diagnosing hypoglycemia. There is, however, nothing in the service treatment records (STRs) showing any complaint of or treatment for "sugar problems" or hypoglycemia. Additionally, there is no competent evidence of record (other than the Veteran's lay assertions) showing that his hypoglycemia may be related to service. Although he has contended that his "sugar problems" began in 1968 in service, his lay statements alone are not competent evidence to support a finding on a medical question (such as diagnosis or etiology) requiring special experience or special knowledge. See Espiritu v. Derwinski, 2 Vet. App. 492 (1992). The Board also finds VA has satisfied its duty to assist the Veteran in the development of the claim decided herein. VA treatment records have been submitted, and in December 2005 the Veteran underwent a VA examination. The Board finds that this VA examination is adequate and included a review of the Veteran's medical record and a history obtained from the Veteran. The examiner did note that the Veteran's claims file was not available. The Board is aware that review of the claims file is not a strict requirement for a medical opinion, although the probative value of a medical opinion is dependent upon whether the clinician had access to, or was otherwise informed of, the relevant facts of the case. See Nieves- Rodriguez v. Peake, 22 Vet. App. 295 (2008). As noted above, the VA examiner in 2005 did have access to the Veteran's medical record, which provided the necessary information to determine whether the Veteran had a current diagnosis of diabetes or a disability manifested by sugar problems. In addition, on the 2005 VA examination, examination findings were reported, along with diagnoses/opinions, which were supported in the record. The examination report is adequate for rating purposes. See Barr v. Nicholson, 21 Vet. App. 303, 310-11 (2007). It appears that all obtainable evidence identified by the Veteran relative to his claim has been obtained and associated with the claims file, and that neither he nor his representative has identified any other pertinent evidence, not already of record, which would need to be obtained for a fair disposition of this appeal. It is therefore the Board's conclusion that no further notice or assistance to the Veteran is required to fulfill VA's duty to assist him in the development of the claim decided herein. Smith v. Gober, 14 Vet. App. 227 (2000), aff'd 281 F.3d 1384 (Fed. Cir. 2002); Dela Cruz v. Principi, 15 Vet. App. 143 (2001); see also Quartuccio v. Principi, supra. Accordingly, the Board finds that VA has satisfied its duty to assist the Veteran in apprising him as to the evidence needed, and in obtaining evidence pertinent to his claim under the VCAA. Therefore, no useful purpose would be served in remanding this matter for yet more development. Such a remand would result in unnecessarily imposing additional burdens on VA, with no additional benefit flowing to the Veteran. The United States Court of Appeals for Veterans Claims (Court) has held that such remands are to be avoided. Sabonis v. Brown, 6 Vet. App. 426, 430 (1994). II. Factual Background and Analysis Service connection may be granted for disability which is the result of disease or injury incurred in or aggravated by service. 38 U.S.C.A. § 1110; 38 C.F.R. § 3.303(a). In order to prevail on the issue of service connection, there must be medical evidence of a (1) current disability; (2) medical, or in certain circumstances, lay evidence of in-service incurrence or aggravation of a disease or injury; and (3) medical evidence of a nexus between the claimed in-service disease or injury and the present disease or injury. Hickson v. West, 12 Vet. App. 247, 253 (1999). The existence of a current disability is the cornerstone of a claim for VA disability compensation. Degmetich v. Brown, 104 F.3d 1328 (Fed. Cir. 1997); see also Brammer v. Derwinski, 3 Vet. App. 223, 225 (1992). In addition, the law provides that, where a veteran served 90 days or more of active military service, and certain chronic diseases, such as diabetes mellitus, become manifest to a degree of 10 percent or more within one year after the date of separation from such service, such disease shall be presumed to have been incurred or aggravated in service, even though there is no evidence of such disease during the period of service. 38 U.S.C.A. §§ 1101, 1112, 1113, 1137; 38 C.F.R. §§ 3.307, 3.309(a). Medical evidence is generally required to establish a medical diagnosis or to address questions of medical causation; lay assertions of medical status do not constitute competent medical evidence for these purposes. Espiritu v. Derwinski, 2 Vet. App. 492, 494 (1992). However, lay statements may serve to support a claim for service connection by supporting the occurrence of lay- observable events or the presence of disability or symptoms of disability subject to lay observation. 38 U.S.C.A. § 1153(a); 38 C.F.R. § 3.303(a); Jandreau v. Nicholson, 492 F.3d 1372 (Fed Cir. 2007); Buchanan v. Nicholson, 451 F.3d 1331, 1336 (Fed. Cir. 2006) (addressing lay evidence as potentially competent to support presence of disability even where not corroborated by contemporaneous medical evidence). With regard to the claim for service connection for diabetes, the Veteran essentially contends that he has a "sugar problem" that started in 1968 in service. STRs show no report of or finding of any sugar problem or diabetes. Post-service treatment records have shown no report of or finding of diabetes. A VA treatment record dated in October 2005 showed that the Veteran complained of light headedness, being dizzy, and seeing spots. He reported that if he was active or exerted himself he needed to eat sugar. The assessment was hypoglycemia, and the plan was to rule out insulinoma and for the Veteran to undergo additional testing. Thus, it appears that there is no current disability of diabetes. Brammer, supra. There is, however, a diagnosis of hypoglycemia of record. What is missing from the record herein is competent medical evidence of a diagnosis of diabetes and competent medical evidence of a link between the Veteran's hypoglycemia and his military service. In the present case, the Veteran has not submitted or identified any medical opinion or other medical evidence regarding an etiological relationship to service that supports his claim. Moreover, as more fully explained above, the Board has concluded that obtaining an additional VA examination is not necessary to decide this claim. Full consideration has been given to the Veteran's assertions that he has sugar problems or diabetes that are related to service; however, the Veteran is a layperson, and as such he has no competence to render a medical opinion on a diagnosis or etiology of a condition. Espiritu v. Derwinski, supra. If the Veteran had symptoms which he characterizes as "sugar problems", he would certainly be competent to report those symptoms. As noted above, his lay statements may be competent to support a claim for service connection by supporting the occurrence of lay-observable events or the presence of disability or symptoms of disability subject to lay observation. 38 U.S.C.A. § 1153(a); 38 C.F.R. §§ 3.303(a), 3.159(a); Jandreau, supra; Buchanan, supra. However, the Board does not believe that a chronic disability such as diabetes, as contrasted with reported symptoms, is subject to lay diagnosis. The Board finds no basis for concluding that a lay person would be capable of discerning whether his hypoglycemia may be related to service and what disorder his symptoms or sugar problems represented, in the absence of specialized training, which the Veteran in this case has not established. The Court has held that the presence of a chronic disability at any time during the claim process can justify a grant of service connection, even where the most recent diagnosis is negative. McClain v. Nicholson, 21 Vet. App. 319 (2007). However, where the overall evidence of record fails to support a diagnosis of the claimed disability, that holding is inapplicable. Based upon the foregoing and lack of competent medical evidence of any current disability of diabetes or of a relationship between hypoglycemia and service, the Board concludes that the preponderance of the evidence is against the claim, the benefit- of-the-doubt rule does not apply, and the claim for service connection for diabetes and for hypoglycemia must be denied. 38 U.S.C.A. § 5107(b); 38 C.F.R. § 3.303; Gilbert v. Derwinski, 1 Vet. App. 49, 55 (1990). ORDER Service connection for diabetes and hypoglycemia is denied. REMAND The Veteran contends that he should be entitled to a NSC pension. He claims that he is unable to work due to problems with his lung. Although he referred to the lung as his "left" one, it appears from the record that his right lung has been compromised (by a nodule), rather than his left. VA shall pay to each veteran who served for 90 days, a portion of which was during a period of war, and who is permanently and totally disabled from non-service connected disability not the result of the veteran's willful misconduct, pension benefits as prescribed by law. 38 U.S.C.A. § 1521(a); 38 C.F.R. § 3.3. Provided that the service requirements of section 1521(j) are met, a Veteran must also meet either a disability or an age requirement. 38 U.S.C.A. § 1513(a), 1521(a); 38 C.F.R. § 3.3(a)(3); see also Hartness v. Nicholson, 20 Vet. App. 216, 221 (2006). The disability requirement is that a veteran must be permanently and totally disabled from nonservice-connected disability not the result of the veteran's willful misconduct. 38 U.S.C.A. § 1521(a). For veterans 65 years of age and older, the permanent-and-total-disability requirement under section 1521(a) is excluded. See 1513(a); see also Hartness v. Nicholson, supra. In addition to the disability or age requirement, a Veteran must also meet certain net worth and income requirements. See 38 U.S.C.A. §§ 1521, 1522; 38 C.F.R. §§ 3.3(a)(3)(v), 3.23, 3.274. The net worth and income requirements are not relevant here. The record reflects that the Veteran in this case served for more than 90 days during a period of war. The Vietnam era was from August 1964 to May 1975. See 38 C.F.R. § 3.2. He entered service in April 1968 and served until January 1970. Thus, e meets the service requirements of 38 U.S.C.A. § 1521(j). The next determination is whether the Veteran is permanently and totally disabled due to non-service connected disabilities. The Veteran's date of birth is in December 1947; thus he is presently younger than 65, and is not presumed to be totally and permanently disabled. Therefore, the issue is whether the Veteran is unemployable as a result of non-service connected disability that is reasonably certain to continue throughout his life. As a preliminary matter, the Board finds that additional evidentiary development is required in this case. The Board notes that the record contains VA treatment records dated through July 10, 2006, primarily regarding the Veteran's treatment for a questionable pulmonary nodule of the right lung. In March 2006, the assessment was coin lesion, pulmonary (primary) and tobacco use disorder. In April 2006, other than his peripheral pulmonary nodule, the Veteran was otherwise asymptomatic, with no shortness of breath, hemoptysis, chest pain, or dizziness. The assessment was that the Veteran was an asymptomatic man with a newly discovered pulmonary nodule which could represent a fungal infection, a cancer, TB, a haratoma, or some other benign structure. The plan was to monitor the nodule closely with CT scans at three month intervals. If the nodule showed signs of growth, the doctor would evaluate for a possible biopsy. In June 2006, an x-ray showed that the Veteran's nodule had increased in size since the study made in February 2006, and that it was peripheral and amendable to a biopsy. The impression was increasing size of non-calcified nodule. Contained within the VA treatment records was the text of a letter from a VA physician to the Veteran, dated in June 2006, advising him that his test results had been received and his abnormalities were "of no concern". The impression was increasing size of non- calcified nodule, and the Veteran was referred to the clinic. VA treatment records show that several days later, in June 2006, the Veteran's wife called to find out what was meant by "increasing size of non-calcified nodule", and also called to get test results from the "BCVA" in June 2006. The last VA treatment record notation was in July 2006, when a staff nurse appears to have posted a note to the VA physician saying that he had no idea what test results the Veteran was requesting. It appears that the VA physician received this notation; however, there are no additional entries or treatment records after that date. Thus, the last VA treatment record in the claims folder is dated in July 2006. Because the last VA treatment record is dated in July 2006, there is no indication as to whether or how the Veteran's wife's questions were answered and there is no indication as to the significance of the increasing size of the nodule. Moreover, in June 2006 the Veteran submitted a copy of the letter he received from the VA staff physician which was almost identical to the text of the letter cited in the VA treatment records. However, the letter received by the Veteran indicated that the abnormalities noted in the test results were "of concern". Since there are no VA treatment records dated beyond July 2006, it is unclear as to the status (and significance, if any) of the Veteran's right pulmonary nodule. The Board notes that records generated by VA facilities that may have an impact on the adjudication of a claim are considered constructively in the possession of VA adjudicators during the consideration of a claim, regardless of whether those records are physically on file. Bell v. Derwinski, 2 Vet. App. 611, 613 (1992). As these records could be relevant to the Veteran's claim and are considered in the possession of VA adjudicators, a remand is necessary to obtain complete VA treatment records from July 2006 to the present. 38 U.S.C.A. § 5103A(b),(c). The Board notes that in September 2006, the Veteran submitted an appeal response form in which he indicated he wanted to continue his appeal on all issues without waiting and did not have anything else to add to the issues. However, the Board also notes that the Veteran's representative has contended, in the July 2010 written brief presentation, that "the final diagnosis of the lung growth has not yet been put in the file". As noted above, it is unclear as to the current status and/or significance of the Veteran's pulmonary nodule. And although it is perplexing as to why the Veteran would indicate he had nothing else to add to the issues, presuming he is aware of the status/severity of his pulmonary nodule, the Board at this point will make no assumptions or draw any conclusions on that matter. With regard to employment, in his initial claim received in October 2005, the Veteran claimed he last worked in 2004 for Dependable Fire Protection. On VA examination in 2005, he reported he was unemployed, but not retired, and that his usual occupation was "fire protection". He reported being unemployed for less than a year, and indicated that lack of work and his age were the reasons for his unemployment. In April 2006, a VA treatment record showed that the Veteran reported he worked as a construction worker/pipefitter. In a June 2006 statement and in the August 2006 substantive appeal, however, the Veteran reported that he was not able to work. It is therefore unclear as to the Veteran's employment status, which is a critical factor in determining whether he is totally and permanently disabled by non-service-connected disabilities. Thus, on remand the Veteran should be requested to clarify his employment status. Finally, in considering the Veteran's claim for a NSC pension and whether he is totally and permanently disabled by non-service- connected disabilities, the Board notes that his diagnoses in VA treatment records have included questionable pulmonary nodule in the right lung field; cervical spondylosis, C6-C7; hypoglycemia; and GERD. On remand, after reviewing any additional evidence obtained, a determination should be made as to whether any additional VA examination is necessary to determine the current severity of any and all non-service-connected disabilities, and whether, due to such disabilities, the Veteran is permanently and totally disabled. VA's duty to assist includes a duty to provide a medical examination or obtain a medical opinion where it is deemed necessary to make a decision on the claim. 38 U.S.C.A. § 5103A(d) (West 2002); 38 C.F.R. § 3.159(c)(4) (2009). Thus, on remand, if deemed necessary, the Veteran should be scheduled for another VA examination. Accordingly, the case is REMANDED for the following action: 1. Obtain and associate with the claims file complete and current VA treatment records for the Veteran, from July 2006 to the present. 2. Contact the Veteran to clarify his employment status from April 2006 to the present. 3. After completing the orders above, make a determination as to whether an additional VA examination is necessary in this matter. If deemed necessary, schedule the Veteran for a VA examination. Request that the examiner review the claims folder for the Veteran and provide a list of all of the Veteran's medical conditions. Request that the examiner opine as to whether the Veteran is permanently and totally disabled due to his medical conditions of record. If the examiner determines that the Veteran is permanently and totally disabled due to any medical condition(s), the examiner should specify which condition(s) renders the Veteran as such. The examiner must explain the rationale for any opinion(s) given, and if unable to provide the requested opinions without resorting to speculation, it should be so stated. 4. Thereafter, the issue on appeal should be readjudicated. If the benefit sought on appeal is not granted, the Veteran and his representative should be provided with a Supplemental Statement of the Case which addresses all evidence submitted, and be afforded the appropriate opportunity to respond thereto. The Veteran has the right to submit additional evidence and argument on the matter or matters the Board has remanded. Kutscherousky v. West, 12 Vet. App. 369 (1999). This claim must be afforded expeditious treatment. The law requires that all claims that are remanded by the Board of Veterans' Appeals or by the United States Court of Appeals for Veterans Claims for additional development or other appropriate action must be handled in an expeditious manner. See 38 U.S.C.A. §§ 5109B, 7112 (West Supp. 2009). ______________________________________________ BARBARA B. COPELAND Veterans Law Judge, Board of Veterans' Appeals Department of Veterans Affairs