Citation Nr: 1032887 Decision Date: 09/01/10 Archive Date: 09/13/10 DOCKET NO. 08-24 311 ) DATE ) ) On appeal from the Department of Veterans Affairs Regional Office in St. Louis, Missouri THE ISSUE Entitlement to service connection for the cause of the Veteran's death. REPRESENTATION Appellant represented by: Missouri Veterans Commission ATTORNEY FOR THE BOARD Shauna M. Watkins, Associate Counsel INTRODUCTION The Veteran had active military service from July 1998 to October 1999. He died in April 2006. The Appellant is bringing the claim on behalf of the Veteran's surviving child. This matter comes before the Board of Veterans' Appeals (Board) from a July 2007 rating decision of the Department of Veterans Affairs (VA) Regional Office (RO) in St. Louis, Missouri, which denied the Appellant's claim for service connection for the cause of the Veteran's death. FINDINGS OF FACT 1. According to the death certificate, the Veteran died in April 2006 at the age of 27 years as a result of a probable myocardial infarction. Bipolar disorder was listed as a significant condition. The Veteran's history of drug abuse was also listed on the death certificate. 2. At the time of the Veteran's death, service connection had not been established for any disability. 3. A myocardial infarction was not present during the Veteran's active military duty or within one year of discharge therefrom, and is not associated in any way to such service. 4. According to VA's Chief of Behavioral Medicine, the Veteran's bipolar disorder/posttraumatic stress disorder (PTSD) was not a contributory cause of his death. CONCLUSION OF LAW Service connection for the cause of the Veteran's death is not warranted. 38 U.S.C.A. §§ 1110, 1112, 1113, 1310, 5103, 5103A, 5107 (West 2002); 38 C.F.R. §§ 3.159, 3.303, 3.307, 3.309, 3.312 (2009). REASONS AND BASES FOR FINDINGS AND CONCLUSION In the interest of clarity, the Board will initially discuss whether the claim has been properly developed for appellate review. The Board will then address the claim on its merits, providing relevant VA case law, regulations and statutory provisions, the relevant factual background, and an analysis of its decision. The Duties to Notify and Assist As provided by the Veterans Claims Assistance Act (VCAA), VA has duties to notify and assist claimants in substantiating a claim for VA benefits. 38 U.S.C.A. §§ 5100, 5102, 5103, 5103A, 5107, 5126 (West 2002); 38 C.F.R. §§ 3.102, 3.156(a), 3.159 and 3.326(a) (2009). Proper notice from VA must inform the claimant of any information and medical or lay evidence not of record (1) that is necessary to substantiate the claim; (2) that VA will obtain and assist the claimant in obtaining; and (3) that the claimant is expected to provide. See 38 C.F.R. § 3.159(b)(1); see also Quartuccio v. Principi, 16 Vet. App. 183, 187 (2002); Charles v. Principi, 16 Vet. App. 370, 373-74 (2002). In this case, letters satisfying the notice requirements of 38 C.F.R. § 3.159(b)(1) were sent to the Appellant in October 2006, January 2007, June 2007, February 2008, August 2008, and October 2008. The letters informed the Appellant of the evidence required to substantiate the claim and of the respective responsibilities in obtaining supporting evidence. Additionally, the October 2006 and January 2007 letters complied with the decision in Hupp v. Nicholson, 21 Vet. App. 342, 352-53 (2007), wherein it was held that for DIC benefits - including claims for cause of death, VCAA notice must include: (1) a statement of the conditions, if any, for which a Veteran was service connected at the time of his or her death; (2) an explanation of the evidence and information required to substantiate the DIC claim based on a previously service- connected condition; and (3) an explanation of the evidence and information required to substantiate a DIC claim based on a condition not yet service connected. The RO issued the October 2006, January 2007, and June 2007 VCAA notice letters prior to initially adjudicating the Appellant's claim in July 2007, the preferred sequence. Pelegrini v. Principi, 18 Vet. App. 112, 120 (2004) (Pelegrini II). And since providing the additional VCAA notice in February 2008, August 2008, and October 2008, the RO has readjudicated the claim in the May 2008 statement of the case (SOC) and in the February 2009 supplemental SOC (SSOC) - including considering additional evidence received in response to that additional notice and since the initial rating decision at issue. This is important to point out because if there was no VCAA notice provided prior to the initial adjudication of the claim, or for whatever reason the notice provided was inadequate or incomplete, this timing error may be effectively "cured" by providing any necessary notice and then going back and readjudicating the claim, including in a SOC or SSOC, such that the intended purpose of the notice is not frustrated and the Appellant is given ample opportunity to participate effectively in the adjudication of his claim. In other words, this timing error in the provision of the notice is ultimately inconsequential and, therefore, at most nonprejudicial, i.e., harmless error. VA also fulfilled its duty to assist the Appellant by obtaining all relevant evidence in support of his claim that is obtainable, and therefore appellate review may proceed without prejudicing him. 38 U.S.C.A. § 5103A; 38 C.F.R. § 3.159; see also Bernard v. Brown, 4 Vet. App. 384 (1993). The RO obtained the Veteran's service treatment records (STRs) and VA treatment records. In addition, the RO arranged for a VA medical opinion concerning the cause of the Veteran's death - and in particular, whether it was related to his military service. See McLendon v. Nicholson, 20 Vet. App. 79 (2006), citing 38 U.S.C.A. § 5103A(d) and 38 C.F.R. § 3.159(c)(4). Service Connection for the Cause of the Veteran's Death According to applicable laws and regulations, service connection for the cause of a Veteran's death requires evidence that a service-connected disability was the principal or contributory cause of death. 38 U.S.C.A. § 1310; 38 C.F.R. § 3.312(a). A service-connected disability will be considered the principal (primary) cause of death when such disability, singly or jointly with some other condition, was the immediate or underlying cause of death or was etiologically related thereto. 38 C.F.R. § 3.312(b). A service-connected disability will be considered a contributory cause of death when such disability contributed substantially, or combined to cause death--e.g., when a causal (not just a casual) connection is shown. 38 C.F.R. § 3.312(c). Generally, minor service-connected disabilities, particularly those of a static nature or those not materially affecting a vital organ (e.g., those disabilities affecting muscular or skeletal functions), are not held to have contributed to a death that is primarily due to unrelated disability. Service-connected diseases or injuries affecting vital organs should receive careful consideration as a contributory cause of death, the primary cause being unrelated, from the viewpoint of whether there were resulting debilitating effects and general impairment of health to an extent that would render the person materially less capable of resisting the effects of other diseases or injury primarily causing death. 38 C.F.R. § 3.312(c)(2), (3). There are primary causes of death that by their very nature are so overwhelming that eventual death can be anticipated irrespective of coexisting conditions, but, even in such cases, there is for consideration whether there may be a reasonable basis for holding that a service-connected condition was of such severity as to have a material influence in accelerating death. In this situation, however, it would not generally be reasonable to hold that a service-connected condition accelerated death unless such condition affected a vital organ and was of itself of a progressive or debilitating nature. 38 C.F.R. § 3.312(c)(4). Service connection may be granted for a disorder resulting from disease or injury incurred in or aggravated by service. 38 U.S.C.A. § 1110. Service connection may be granted for any disease diagnosed after discharge when all the evidence, including that pertinent to service, establishes that the disease was incurred in service. 38 C.F.R. § 3.303(d). Cardiovascular disease will be presumed to have been incurred in service if manifested to a compensable degree of at least 10- percent disabling within one year after service. This presumption, however, is rebuttable by probative evidence to the contrary. 38 U.S.C.A. §§ 1101, 1112, 1113; 38 C.F.R. §§ 3.307, 3.309. Direct service connection generally requires evidence of a current disorder with a relationship or connection to an injury or disease or some other manifestation of the disorder during service. Boyer v. West, 210 F.3d 1351, 1353 (Fed. Cir. 2000). A disorder may be service connected if the evidence of record reveals that the Veteran had a disorder that was chronic in service or, if not chronic, that was seen in service with continuity of symptomatology demonstrated subsequent to service. 38 C.F.R. § 3.303(b); Savage v. Gober, 10 Vet. App. 488, 494-97 (1997). Evidence that relates the current disorder to service must be medical unless it relates to a disorder that may be competently demonstrated by lay observation. Savage, 10 Vet. App. at 495-97. For the showing of chronic disease in service, there is a required combination of manifestations sufficient to identify the disease entity, and sufficient observation to establish chronicity at the time, as distinguished from merely isolated findings or a diagnosis including the word "chronic." 38 C.F.R. § 3.303(b). Where the determinative issue involves medical causation or a medical diagnosis, there must be competent medical evidence to the effect that the claim is plausible; lay assertions of medical status do not constitute competent medical evidence. Grottveit v. Brown, 5 Vet. App. 91, 93 (1993); Espiritu v. Derwinski, 2 Vet. App. 492, 494 (1992). When there is an approximate balance of positive and negative evidence regarding any issue material to the determination, the benefit of the doubt is afforded the claimant. 38 U.S.C.A. § 5107(b); 38 C.F.R. § 3.102. A layperson is generally incapable of opining on matters requiring medical knowledge. Routen v. Brown, 10 Vet. App. 183, 186 (1997). See also Bostain v. West, 11 Vet. App. 124, 127 (1998) citing Espiritu, 2 Vet. App. 494 (a layperson without the appropriate medical training and expertise is not competent to provide a probative opinion on a medical matter, to include a diagnosis of a specific disorder and a determination of the origins of a specific disorder). Lay testimony is competent, however, to establish the presence of observable symptomatology and "may provide sufficient support for a claim of service connection." Layno v. Brown, 6 Vet. App. 465, 469 (1994). When, for example, a disorder may be diagnosed by its unique and readily identifiable features, the presence of the disorder is not a determination "medical in nature" and is capable of lay observation. In such cases, the Board is within its province to weigh that testimony and to make a credibility determination as to whether that evidence supports a finding of service incurrence and continuity of symptomatology sufficient to establish service connection. See Barr v. Nicholson, 21 Vet. App. 303 (2007). Lay evidence can be competent and sufficient to establish a diagnosis of a disorder when (1) a layperson is competent to identify the medical disorder, (2) the layperson is reporting a contemporaneous medical diagnosis, or (3) lay testimony describing symptoms at the time supports a later diagnosis by a medical professional. See Davidson v. Shinseki, 581 F.3d 1313 (Fed. Cir. Sept. 14, 2009); Jandreau v. Nicholson, 492 F.3d 1372 (Fed. Cir. 2007). The Appellant contends that the Veteran's bipolar disorder was incurred or aggravated in service, and was a contributing cause of the Veteran's death. According to the death certificate, the Veteran died in April 2006 at the age of 27 years as a result of a probable myocardial infarction. The death certificate also noted that the Veteran had a 15-year history of drug abuse. Bipolar disorder was listed as a significant condition. The Veteran was not service-connected for any disability during his lifetime. The Veteran's May 1998 military entrance examination was negative for any complaints of an acquired psychiatric disorder. During service, the Veteran was diagnosed with bipolar disorder, and hospitalized for treatment. In June 1999, the Veteran was afforded a physical examination by the Medical Evaluation Board. At that time, the Veteran was diagnosed with bipolar disorder. In an August 2009 Medical Evaluation Board proceeding, the Board found that the Veteran's PTSD and bipolar disorder existed prior to his military service, but were aggravated by service. However, a service Physical Evaluation Board report reflects a conclusion that the pre- existing disorder was not aggravated by service. The Veteran was discharged from the military in October 1999. Post-service, the Veteran was treated by the local VA Medical Center (VAMC) for his bipolar disorder. And, as previously mentioned, the Veteran died in April 2006 at the age of 27 years as a result of an immediate probable myocardial infarction. The death certificate also noted that the Veteran had a 15-year history of drug abuse. Bipolar disorder was listed as a significant condition. Based on the foregoing, the Board requested a VA medical opinion. In May 2010, the Chief of VA's Behavioral Medicine reviewed the Veteran's claims file, including the Veteran's death certificate. The physician concluded that there was no objective evidence of record to state that the Veteran's PTSD/bipolar disorder was a contributory cause of his death. The physician based this opinion on the fact that myocardial infarction, the Veteran's immediate cause of death, is not produced as a result of bipolar disorder. The physician stated that the Veteran's significant history of substance abuse is more likely to have caused his myocardial infarction. There is no contrary evidence in the claims file. The medical evidence of record, as a whole, does not corroborate the Appellant's lay assertions that the Veteran's active military experience, including his in-service treatment for his bipolar disorder, caused his eventual death from a myocardial infarction. In this regard, it is noted that the Appellant, as a layperson, is not competent to offer opinions on medical diagnosis or causation, and the Board may not accept unsupported lay speculation with regard to medical issues. See Espiritu v. Derwinski, 2 Vet. App. 482 (1992); Moray v. Brown, 5 Vet. App. 211 (1993). Likewise, the Appellant is not competent to render a medical opinion as to the cause of the Veteran's death. Moreover, there is no evidence that the Veteran developed cardiovascular disease within one year from his discharge from service. Therefore, presumptive service connection is not warranted. 38 C.F.R. § 3.309. Given the absence of competent medical evidence linking the Veteran's death to his active service, the Board finds that the Veteran's active service is not the principal or a contributory cause of the Veteran's death. Accordingly, the Board concludes that the Veteran's death was not due to his active service. For these reasons and bases, the preponderance of the evidence is against the Appellant's claim of service connection for the cause of the Veteran's death. And as the preponderance of the evidence is against the claim, the doctrine of reasonable doubt is not for application. See 38 C.F.R. § 5107(b); 38 C.F.R. § 3.102; Gilbert v. Derwinski, 1 Vet. App. 49 (1990). Accordingly, the appeal is denied. ORDER Service connection for the cause of the Veteran's death is denied. ____________________________________________ MICHAEL MARTIN Acting Veterans Law Judge, Board of Veterans' Appeals Department of Veterans Affairs