Citation Nr: 1033673 Decision Date: 09/08/10 Archive Date: 09/15/10 DOCKET NO. 00-00 230A ) DATE ) ) On appeal from the Department of Veterans Affairs Medical and Regional Office Center in Wichita, Kansas THE ISSUES 1. Entitlement to service connection for an acquired psychiatric disability, claimed as depression. 2. Entitlement to service connection for diabetes mellitus, to include as secondary to his service connected disabilities of the lower extremities. REPRESENTATION Appellant represented by: Disabled American Veterans WITNESS AT HEARING ON APPEAL Appellant ATTORNEY FOR THE BOARD A. G. Alderman INTRODUCTION The Veteran served on active duty from November 1981 to November 1991. This case comes before the Board of Veterans' Appeals (Board) on appeal from a May 2002 rating decision of the Department of Veterans Affairs (VA) Regional Office (RO) in Boise, Idaho. The Veteran appeared and provided testimony before the undersigned Veterans Law Judge (VLJ) in February 2009. A transcript of the hearing has been associated with the claims file. This matter was remanded by the Board in August 2009 for additional development. All development has been completed in relation to the claim for service connection for depression. Per the remand below, all development has not been adequately completed for the service connection claim for diabetes mellitus. Additional information was submitted by the Veteran's representative in July 2010 with a waiver of RO review. This evidence indicates that the Veteran has a diagnosis of depression and PTSD. PTSD is not currently before the Board on appeal is REFERRED to the RO for appropriate action. The issue of service connection for diabetes mellitus, to include as secondary to service connected disabilities of the lower extremities, is addressed in the REMAND portion of the decision below and is REMANDED to the RO via the Appeals Management Center (AMC), in Washington, DC. FINDING OF FACT The Veteran's acquired psychiatric disability, claimed as depression, did not have onset during active service and is not otherwise related to active service. CONCLUSION OF LAW The criteria for service connection for an acquired psychiatric disability, claimed as depression, have not been met. 38 U.S.C.A. §§ 1110, 1112, 1116, 5107 (West 2002); 38 C.F.R. §§ 3.303, 3.307, 3.309 (2009). REASONS AND BASES FOR FINDING AND CONCLUSION Service connection may be granted for a disability resulting from a disease or injury incurred in or aggravated by service. See 38 U.S.C.A. §§ 1110, 113; 38 C.F.R. § 3.303(a) (2009). In general, service connection requires (1) the existence of a present disability; (2) in-service incurrence or aggravation of a disease or injury; and (3) a causal relationship between the present disability and the disease or injury incurred or aggravated during service. Shedden v. Principi, 381 F.3d 1163, 1167 (Fed. Cir. 2004), citing Hansen v. Principi, 16 Vet. App. 110, 111 (2002); see also Caluza v. Brown, 7 Vet. App. 498 (1995). A disorder may also be service connected if the evidence of record reveals that the Veteran currently has a disorder that was chronic in service or, if not chronic, that was seen in service with continuity of symptomatology demonstrated thereafter. 38 C.F.R. § 3.303(b); Savage v. Gober, 10 Vet. App. 488, 494-97 (1997). A demonstration of continuity of symptomatology is an alternative method of demonstrating the second and/or third Caluza elements discussed above. Savage, 10 Vet. App. at 495- 496. Disorders diagnosed after discharge may still be service connected if all the evidence, including pertinent service records, establishes that the disorder was incurred in service. 38 C.F.R. § 3.303(d); Combee, 34 F.3d at 1043 (Fed. Cir. 1994). The Veteran seeks service connection for an acquired psychiatric disability, claimed as depression. Service treatment records (STRs) fail to show a diagnosis or treatment of an acquired psychiatric disability, to include depression, during service or within one year of service. The STRs include an entrance examination, dated July 1981, and a reenlistment examination, dated March 1988, which show no indication of psychiatric disabilities. Report of Medical History, dated March 1988, shows that the Veteran did not self-diagnose depression or excessive worry. The form also states that the Veteran has never been treated for a mental condition. More importantly, the STRs include the September 1991 separation examination which indicates no psychiatric disabilities. Further, the Report of Medical History, also dated September 1991, shows no indication of depression or excessive worry and states that the Veteran has never been treated for a mental condition. A May 1999 VA outpatient treatment record shows a diagnosis of depression and states that the condition was treated with Prozac for the past year. A relationship to service was not indicated. VA outpatient treatment records show that the Veteran had a diagnostic assessment for depression in April 2005. It does not appear that the staff psychiatrist reviewed the Veteran's claims file or STRs. During the assessment the Veteran reported that his problems began in 1989 when he and his first wife divorced, and escalated in 1991 when he was discharged from service as a result of his inability to pass a physical examination. He reported that he was diagnosed with major depression five years ago after an incident at work triggered an anxiety attack. The staff psychiatrist noted the Veteran's five year history of major depressive disorder and treatment with Prozac. He diagnosed the Veteran as having major depressive disorder and anxiety. The psychiatrist stated that the Veteran suffers anxiety about social and job related issues and has suffered, and currently suffers, a great deal of stress, most of which appears to have started in 1989 and 1991 when he divorced his first wife and was discharged from service. Unfortunately, the staff psychiatrist indicates only that the Veteran suffered stress from his divorce and separation from service. He did not state that the Veteran's major depressive disorder or anxiety had onset during service, thus, the assessment does not support a finding of service connection for the acquired psychiatric disabilities and the Board must find that, overall, the medical report provides strong evidence against this claim, indicating a problem that began after service caused by his discharge and divorce. Even if the Board assumes that the staff psychiatrist meant to indicate a relationship between service and the acquired psychiatric disabilities, the psychiatrist did not indicate whether or not he reviewed the Veteran's STRs or claims file in conjunction with the assessment. It appears that the staff psychiatrist's opinion is based solely upon the Veteran's report of symptomatology and medical history which is inconsistent with the STRs which were silent for complaint, treatment, or diagnosis of any acquired psychiatric disability during service. During his February 2009 Board hearing, the Veteran testified that he did not suffer depression prior to service. He related his current depression to incidents that occurred during service, such as his divorce, incidents with superiors during service, and his discharge from service. Specifically, he stated that during service, right before the Gulf War, he and his wife divorced. He described the circumstances surrounding the divorce, including his wife's infidelity with his best friend. He also stated that he lost his house to foreclosure while deployed because his ex- wife failed to make the mortgage payments. The Veteran also described problems that he was having with a superior and a situation that involved a fellow serviceman and the serviceman's eventual death. Finally, the Veteran discussed his reenlistment process and indicated that he was forced out of service. He said that comments written on his re-enlistment paperwork did not match the numerical score assigned for certain categories. After separation from service, the Veteran said he got a job but still had to see the same people that caused his problems during service, including his ex-wife and former best friend. He moved and in 2000, he started having complications with his new job after reporting questionable activity of a co-worker to superiors. He said that he was eventually diagnosed with depression and that a VA provider said that the depression was, in part, related to his time in service. The Veteran had a VA examination in September 2009. The examiner reviewed the claims file and performed the mental health evaluation. During the examination, the Veteran reported that his depression started in 1987 after divorcing his wife. He said that he was stationed on an aircraft carrier when he found out that his wife was having an affair with his best friend. He said that this event, as well as not getting along with some of his supervisors in service, led to his depression. The examiner diagnosed the Veteran with major depressive disorder and stated that the depression has persisted for many years. He stated that given the Veteran's record and report that it is within the "realm of possibility" that the depression began and was exacerbated by events as reported by the Veteran while serving in the military. Despite the examiner's opinion, service connection is granted when the evidence shows that it is "at least as likely as not", or a 50 percent or greater degree of probability, that there is a connection between the claimed disability and service. Unfortunately, the law provides that service connection may not be based on resort to speculation or remote possibility. 38 C.F.R. § 3.102; Obert v. Brown, 5 Vet. App. 30, 33 (1993); Stegman v. Derwinski, 3 Vet. App. 228, 230 (1992). It has been observed that statements from doctors which are inconclusive as to the origin of a disease cannot be employed as suggestive of a linkage between the current disorder and the claimed incident of service. Warren v. Brown, 6 Vet. App. 4, 6 (1993); Sklar v. Brown, 5 Vet. App. 104, 145-6 (1993). In this case, the examiner's finding that "it is within the realm of possibility" that the Veteran's depression is related to service is speculative and cannot be used as the basis for a finding of service connection. In this decision, the Board has considered all lay and medical evidence as it pertains to the issue of service connection for depression. 38 U.S.C.A. § 7104(a) ("decisions of the Board shall be based on the entire record in the proceeding and upon consideration of all evidence and material of record"); 38 U.S.C.A. § 5107(b) (VA "shall consider all information and lay and medical evidence of record in a case"); 38 C.F.R. § 3.303(a) (service connection claims "must be considered on the basis of the places, types and circumstances of his service as shown by service records, the official history of each organization in which he served, his medical records and all pertinent medical and lay evidence"). In rendering a decision on appeal, the Board must analyze the credibility and probative value of the evidence, account for the evidence which it finds to be persuasive or unpersuasive, and provide the reasons for its rejection of any material evidence favorable to the claimant. See Gabrielson v. Brown, 7 Vet. App. 36, 39-40 (1994); Gilbert v. Derwinski, 1 Vet. App. 49, 57 (1990). Competency of evidence differs from weight and credibility. Competency is a legal concept determining whether testimony may be heard and considered by the trier of fact, while credibility is a factual determination going to the probative value of the evidence to be made after the evidence has been admitted. Rucker v. Brown, 10 Vet. App. 67, 74 (1997); Layno v. Brown, 6 Vet. App. 465, 469 (1994); see also Cartright v. Derwinski, 2 Vet. App. 24, 25 (1991) ("although interest may affect the credibility of testimony, it does not affect competency to testify"). A veteran is competent to report symptoms that he experiences at any time because this requires only personal knowledge as it comes to him through his senses. Layno, 6 Vet. App. at 470; Barr v. Nicholson, 21 Vet. App. 303, 309 (2007) (when a condition may be diagnosed by its unique and readily identifiable features, the presence of the disorder is not a determination "medical in nature" and is capable of lay observation). The absence of contemporaneous medical evidence is a factor in determining credibility of lay evidence, but lay evidence does not lack credibility merely because it is unaccompanied by contemporaneous medical evidence. See Buchanan v. Nicholson, 451 F.3d 1331, 1337 (Fed. Cir. 2006) (lack of contemporaneous medical records does not serve as an "absolute bar" to the service connection claim); Barr v. Nicholson, 21 Vet. App. 303 (2007) ("Board may not reject as not credible any uncorroborated statements merely because the contemporaneous medical evidence is silent as to complaints or treatment for the relevant condition or symptoms"). In determining whether statements submitted by a veteran are credible, the Board may consider internal consistency, facial plausibility, consistency with other evidence, and statements made during treatment. Caluza v. Brown, 7 Vet. App. 498 (1995). The Board is not required to accept an appellant's uncorroborated account of his active service experiences. Wood v. Derwinski, 1 Vet. App. 190 (1991). In this case, the Veteran is competent to report symptoms because this requires only personal knowledge as it comes to him through his senses. Layno, 6 Vet. App. at 470. As part of the current VA disability compensation claim, in recent statements and sworn testimony, the Veteran has asserted that his symptoms of depression started during service and have been continuous since service. In this case, after a review of all the lay and medical evidence, the Board finds that the weight of the evidence demonstrates that the Veteran did not experience continuous symptoms of depression during and after separation from service. The Board finds that the Veteran's reported history of continued depression since active service is inconsistent with the other evidence of record. Indeed, while he stated that his disorder began in service, the separation examination was absent of any complaints of depression. Neither the examining physician nor the Veteran indicated symptoms, treatment or diagnosis of depression. Moreover, the post-service evidence does not reflect treatment related to depression until seven years after separation from active service. This finding is supported by the April 2005 VA assessment which indicates that the Veteran's depression was diagnosed around 1999 or 2000 after an incident at work (post-service) triggered an anxiety attack and by the May 1999 VA outpatient treatment record, which indicates that the Veteran had been treated for a year for depression. Therefore, the medical evidence does not reflect continuity of symptomatology and, in fact, provides factual evidence against such a finding. The Board has also considered the Veteran's statements and sworn testimony asserting a nexus between his currently-diagnosed acquired psychiatric disability and service. While the Board reiterates that he is competent to report symptoms as they come to him through his senses, acquired psychiatric disabilities, such as depression, are not the types of disorders that a lay person can provide competent evidence on questions of etiology or diagnosis, including the issue of when his depression began and what caused it. Such competent evidence has been provided by the medical personnel who have examined the Veteran during the current appeal and by service records obtained and associated with the claims file. Here, the Board attaches greater probative weight to the clinical findings than to his statements. See Cartright, 2 Vet. App. at 25. The Board finds that the most probative evidence in this case provides evidence against this claim. Based upon the evidence the Board finds that service connection is not warranted for the Veteran's depression. Although he stated that the condition began and persisted since service, the STRs and separation examination fail to show any indication of depression during service. Medical records do not suggest a diagnosis or treatment of depression for several years after service. Further, regarding the April 2005 assessment, the examining psychiatrist did not indicate a nexus between service and depression; he indicated only that the Veteran suffered stress during service. Even if the Board assumes that the psychiatrist intended to link the depression to the Veteran's service, the psychiatrist did not review the Veteran's claims file and STRs in conjunction with rendering an opinion and further, did not provide a rationale to support such an opinion. Finally, the opinion from the September 2009 VA examination used the phrase "within the realm of possibility" when trying to link the Veteran's depression to his service. Unfortunately, the phrase "within the realm of possibility" is speculative and the law provides that service connection may not be based on resort to speculation or remote possibility. 38 C.F.R. § 3.102; Obert, 5 Vet. App. at 33; Stegman, 3 Vet. App. at 230. For the reasons stated above, the Veteran's claim for service connection for depression must be denied. The evidence is not so evenly balanced so as to allow application of the benefit-of- the-doubt rule. Gilbert v. Derwinski, 1 Vet. App. 49 (1990); 38 U.S.C.A. § 5107(b); 38 C.F.R. § 3.102 (2009). The Duty to Notify and Assist As provided for by the Veterans Claims Assistance Act of 2000 (VCAA), the United States Department of Veterans Affairs (VA) has a duty to notify and assist claimants in substantiating a claim for VA benefits. 38 U.S.C.A. §§ 5100, 5102, 5103, 5103A, 5107, 5126 (West 2002 & Supp. 2009); 38 C.F.R. §§ 3.102, 3.156(a), 3.159 and 3.326(a) (2009). Upon receipt of a complete or substantially complete application for benefits, VA is required to notify the claimant and his representative, if any, of any information, and any medical or lay evidence, that is necessary to substantiate the claim. 38 U.S.C.A. § 5103(a); 38 C.F.R. § 3.159(b); Quartuccio v. Principi, 16 Vet. App. 183 (2002). Proper notice from VA must inform the claimant of any information and evidence not of record (1) that is necessary to substantiate the claim; (2) that VA will seek to provide; and (3) that the claimant is expected to provide in accordance with 38 C.F.R. § 3.159(b)(1). This notice must be provided prior to an initial unfavorable decision on a claim by the agency of original jurisdiction, or regional office (RO). Mayfield v. Nicholson, 444 F.3d 1328 (Fed. Cir. 2006); Pelegrini v. Principi, 18 Vet. App. 112 (2004). In Dingess v. Nicholson, 19 Vet. App. 473 (2006), the U.S. Court of Appeals for Veterans Claims held that, upon receipt of an application for a service-connection claim, 38 U.S.C.A. § 5103(a) and 38 C.F.R. § 3.159(b) require VA to provide the claimant with notice that a disability rating and an effective date for the award of benefits will be assigned if service connection is awarded. In this case, although the notice provided did not address either the rating criteria or effective date provisions that are pertinent to the Veteran's claim, such error was harmless given that service connection is being denied, and hence no rating or effective date will be assigned with respect to this claimed condition. Here, the VCAA duty to notify was satisfied by way of a letter sent to the Veteran in November 2001 that fully addressed all three notice elements and was sent prior to the initial RO decision in this matter. The letter informed the Veteran of what evidence was required to substantiate the claim and of the Veteran's and VA's respective duties for obtaining evidence. The Board has considered the issue of whether another VA examination is warranted. However, there is nothing in the record that would support a finding that a second attempt to obtain a medical opinion would be more successful than the first attempt. There are certain situations in which a medical opinion regarding etiology is not possible, and in such situations one must look to the facts of the case to consider whether the Veteran must be given the benefit of the doubt. In this case, there is significant factual evidence against this claim, including the service and post-service treatment records, which clearly indicate to the Board that this problem began well after service. The Board finds that all necessary development has been accomplished, and therefore appellate review may proceed without prejudice to the Veteran. See Bernard v. Brown, 4 Vet. App. 384 (1993). The RO has obtained VA outpatient treatment records and private treatment records. The Veteran submitted statements and private medical records and was provided an opportunity to set forth his contentions during the hearing before the undersigned Veterans Law Judge. The Veteran was afforded a VA medical examination in September 2009. Significantly, neither the Veteran nor his representative has identified, and the record does not otherwise indicate, any additional existing evidence that is necessary for a fair adjudication of the claim that has not been obtained. Hence, no further notice or assistance to the Veteran is required to fulfill VA's duty to assist in the development of the claim. Smith v. Gober, 14 Vet. App. 227 (2000), aff'd 281 F.3d 1384 (Fed. Cir. 2002); Dela Cruz v. Principi, 15 Vet. App. 143 (2001); see also Quartuccio v. Principi, 16 Vet. App. 183 (2002). ORDER Service connection for an acquired psychiatric disorder, claimed as depression, is denied. REMAND In August 2009, the Board remanded the Veteran's claim for service connection for diabetes mellitus, to include as secondary to service connected disabilities of the lower extremities, for a VA examination to determine the nature and etiology of his diabetes mellitus and its relationship, if any, between service and service connected disabilities. The Veteran argues that the September 2009 VA examination is not adequate as the examiner failed to answer the correct questions. A review of the September VA examination shows that the examiner did not have the correct information about the Veteran's service connected disabilities when he rendered an opinion regarding the etiology of the Veteran's diabetes mellitus. Specifically, the examiner states that the claims file showed that the Veteran was service connected only for right knee arthritis, when in fact, the Veteran is service connected for limitation of extension of both knees; residuals of bilateral knee injuries; a low back disability associated with the service connected right knee injury; right ankle pain with synovitis and arthritis associated with right knee injury residuals; and left knee arthritis. Accordingly, the Board finds that a remand is necessary so that the examiner can provide an opinion with rational as to whether any of the service connected disabilities, to include limitation of extension of both knees, residuals of bilateral knee injuries, a low back disability associated with the service connected right knee injury, right ankle pain with synovitis and arthritis associated with right knee injury residuals, and left knee arthritis caused or aggravated the Veteran's diabetes mellitus. Accordingly, the case is REMANDED for the following action: 1. Send the Veteran's claims file to a VA examiner to determine the nature and etiology of his diabetes mellitus. The examiner is asked to furnish an opinion, with rationale, as to whether it is at least as likely as not (50 percent or greater likelihood) that the currently diagnosed diabetes mellitus (a) had its onset during the Veteran's period of service from November 1981 to November 1991, (b) is proximately due to or the result of his service-connected disabilities, or (c) is aggravated or underwent a permanent increase in severity beyond the natural progression of the disease by his service-connected disabilities (that is, a worsening of the underlying condition as contrasted to a worsening of symptoms). The examiner must be notified that the Veteran's service connected disabilities include limitation of extension of both knees, residuals of bilateral knee injuries, a low back disability associated with the service connected right knee injury, right ankle pain with synovitis and arthritis associated with right knee injury residuals, and left knee arthritis. Each of the service connected disabilities must be considered when rendering the opinion and all opinions must be supported by rationale. The examiner is asked (but not required) to comment on the clinical significance of the following: service treatment records dated in September 1988 and September 1991, which appear to show laboratory findings of normal glucose levels; private records dated in October 1997 showing a diagnosis of adult onset diabetes mellitus; VA records dated in March 1999 indicating a medical history of Type 2 diabetes reportedly having been diagnosed in 1993; and a January 2007 statement of a VA physician, opining on the likelihood that the Veteran's in-service high glucose readings were the beginning of his diabetic condition, and opining that his service-connected orthopedic disabilities would have directly caused and aggravated his current diabetic condition. In formulating the opinion, the examiner is asked to consider that the term "at least as likely as not" does not mean "within the realm of possibility." Rather, it means that the weight of the medical evidence both for and against the conclusion is so evenly divided that it is as medically sound to find in favor of causation as it is to find against causation. If the examiner unable to provide the requested opinions without examining the Veteran, a VA examination should be 2. Upon completion of the foregoing, the claim should be adjudicated. If the decision remains adverse to the Veteran, then provide him with a supplemental statement of the case and return the case to the Board. The Veteran has the right to submit additional evidence and argument on the matter or matters the Board has remanded. Kutscherousky v. West, 12 Vet. App. 369 (1999). This claim must be afforded expeditious treatment. The law requires that all claims remanded by the Board of Veterans' Appeals or by the United States Court of Appeals for Veterans Claims for additional development or other appropriate action must be handled in an expeditious manner. See 38 U.S.C.A. §§ 5109B, 7112 (West Supp. 2009). ______________________________________________ JOHN J. CROWLEY Veterans Law Judge, Board of Veterans' Appeals Department of Veterans Affairs