Citation Nr: 1034068 Decision Date: 09/10/10 Archive Date: 09/21/10 DOCKET NO. 05-07 739 ) DATE ) ) On appeal from the Department of Veterans Affairs Regional Office in Detroit, Michigan THE ISSUES 1. Whether new and material evidence has been submitted to reopen the claim of entitlement to service connection for a right knee disorder. 2. Entitlement to an increased rating for a right ankle disability, currently evaluated as 10 percent disabling. REPRESENTATION Veteran represented by: The American Legion ATTORNEY FOR THE BOARD Arif Syed, Associate Counsel INTRODUCTION The Veteran served on active duty from May 1966 to May 1968. This matter comes before the Board of Veterans' Appeals (Board) on appeal from a September 2004 rating decision by the Department of Veterans Affairs (VA) Regional Office in Detroit, Michigan (RO). In February 2009, the Board remanded the Veteran's claims. The Appeals Management Center (AMC) continued the previous denial of the claims in a February 2010 supplemental statement of the case (SSOC). Accordingly, the Veteran's VA claims folder has been returned to the Board for further appellate proceedings. FINDINGS OF FACT 1. In an unappealed March 1969 rating decision, the RO denied the Veteran's claim of entitlement to service connection for a right knee disability. 2. Evidence submitted since the March 1969 rating decision is cumulative or redundant of the evidence of record at the time of the prior final denial of the claim sought to be reopened, and does not raise a reasonable possibility of substantiating the claim. 3. The Veteran's service-connected right ankle disability is manifested by complaints of pain and giving out; marked limitation of motion is not shown. 4. The competent medical evidence does not show that the Veteran's service-connected right ankle disability is so exceptional or unusual that referral for extraschedular consideration by a designated authority is required. CONCLUSIONS OF LAW 1. The March 1969 rating decision denying service connection for a right knee disability is final. 38 U.S.C.A. § 7105 (West 2002); 38 C.F.R. § 20.1103 (2009). 2. Since the March 1969 rating decision, new and material evidence has not been received, and the claim of entitlement to service connection for a right knee disability is not reopened. 38 U.S.C.A. § 5108 (West 2002); 38 C.F.R. § 3.156 (2009). 3. The criteria for assignment in excess of the currently assigned 10 percent disability rating for the service-connected right ankle disability have not been met. 38 U.S.C.A. § 1155 (West 2002); 38 C.F.R. § 4.71a, Diagnostic Code 5271 (2009). 4. Application of the extraschedular rating provisions is not warranted for the Veteran's service-connected right ankle disability. 38 C.F.R. § 3.321(b) (2009). REASONS AND BASES FOR FINDINGS AND CONCLUSIONS The Veteran seeks entitlement to service connection for a right knee disability. Implicit in his claim is the contention that new and material evidence which is sufficient to reopen the previously-denied claim has been received. The Veteran also seeks entitlement to an increased disability rating for his service-connected right ankle disability In the interest of clarity, the Board will discuss certain preliminary matters. The issues on appeal will then be analyzed and a decision rendered. Stegall concerns As indicated above, in February 2009, the Board remanded these claims and ordered the agency of original jurisdiction (AOJ) to provide proper notice to the Veteran under the Veterans Claims Assistance Act of 2000 (VCAA), as well as schedule the Veteran for a VA examination pertaining to his service-connected right ankle disability and associate a report of the examination with the Veteran's claims folder. The Veteran's claims were then to be readjudicated. Pursuant to the Board's remand instructions, the Veteran was provided appropriate VCAA notice. This will be discussed in greater detail below. Additionally, the Veteran was afforded a VA examination pertaining to his service-connected right ankle disability. A report of the examination has been associated with the Veteran's claims folder. The Veteran's right knee and right ankle claims were readjudicated via the February 2010 SSOC. Accordingly, the Board's remand instructions have been complied with. See Stegall v. West, 11 Vet. App. 268, 271 (1998) [where the remand orders of the Board are not complied with, the Board errs as a matter of law when it fails to ensure compliance]. The Veterans Claims Assistance Act of 2000 The Board has given consideration to the Veterans Claims Assistance Act of 2000 (VCAA). The VCAA includes an enhanced duty on the part of VA to notify a claimant as to the information and evidence necessary to substantiate a claim for VA benefits. The VCAA also redefines the obligations of VA with respect to its statutory duty to assist a claimant in the development of his claim. See 38 U.S.C.A. §§ 5103, 5103A (West 2002). For a claim to reopen, such as the Veteran's claim of service connection for a right knee disability, the VCAA appears to have left intact the requirement that a veteran must first present new and material evidence in order to reopen a previously and finally denied claim under 38 U.S.C.A. § 5108 before the Board may determine whether the duty to assist is fulfilled and proceed to evaluate the merits of that claim. It is specifically noted that nothing in the VCAA shall be construed to require VA to reopen a claim that has been disallowed except when new and material evidence is presented or secured, as described in 38 U.S.C.A. § 5108. See 38 U.S.C.A. § 5103A(f) (West 2002). Once the claim is reopened, the VCAA provides that VA shall make reasonable efforts to assist a claimant in obtaining evidence necessary to substantiate a veteran's claim for benefits under a law administered by the Secretary, unless no reasonable possibility exists that such assistance would aid in substantiating the claim. 38 U.S.C.A. § 5103A (West 2002). Therefore, with respect to the claim to reopen, the VCAA standard of review and duty to notify does not apply to the merits of the underlying claim of entitlement to service connection for a right knee disability unless the claim is reopened. See Holliday v. Principi, 14 Vet. App. 280 (2000) [the Board must make a determination as to the applicability of the various provisions of the VCAA to a particular claim]. The VCAA alters the legal landscape in three distinct ways: standard of review, notice, and duty to assist. The Board will now address these concepts within the context of the circumstances presented in this case. Standard of review After the evidence is assembled, it is the Board's responsibility to evaluate the entire record. See 38 U.S.C.A. § 7104(a) (West 2002). When there is an approximate balance of evidence regarding the merits of an issue material to the determination of the matter, the benefit of the doubt in resolving each issue shall be given to the claimant. See 38 U.S.C.A. § 5107 (West 2002); 38 C.F.R. §§ 3.102, 4.3 (2009). In Gilbert v. Derwinski, 1 Vet. App. 49, 53 (1990), the United States Court of Appeals for Veterans Claims (Court) stated that "a veteran need only demonstrate that there is an 'approximate balance of positive and negative evidence' in order to prevail." To deny a claim on its merits, the preponderance of the evidence must be against the claim. See Alemany v. Brown, 9 Vet App. 518, 519 (1996), citing Gilbert, 1 Vet. App. at 54. Notice The Veterans Claims Assistance Act of 2000 (VCAA), codified in pertinent part at 38 U.S.C.A. §§ 5103, 5103A (West 2002 & Supp. 2009), and the pertinent implementing regulation, codified at 38 C.F.R. § 3.159 (2009), provide that VA will assist a claimant in obtaining evidence necessary to substantiate a claim but is not required to provide assistance to a claimant if there is no reasonable possibility that such assistance would aid in substantiating the claim. They also require VA to notify the claimant and the claimant's representative, if any, of any information, and any medical or lay evidence, not previously provided to the Secretary that is necessary to substantiate the claim. As part of the notice, VA is to specifically inform the claimant and the claimant's representative, if any, of which portion, if any, of the evidence is to be provided by the claimant and which part, if any, VA will attempt to obtain on behalf of the claimant. In Kent v. Nicholson, 20 Vet. App. 1 (2006), the United States Court of Appeals for Veterans Claims (the Court) specifically addressed VCAA notice requirements in the context of a veteran's request to reopen a previously and finally denied claim. The Court found that VA must notify a claimant of the evidence and information that is necessary to reopen the claim, and must provide notice that describes what evidence would be necessary to substantiate the element or elements required to establish service connection that were not found in the previous denial. The Board also notes that the United States Court of Appeals for Veterans Claims (Court) has held that the plain language of 38 U.S.C.A. § 5103(a) requires that notice to a claimant pursuant to the VCAA be provided "at the time" that, or "immediately after," VA receives a complete or substantially complete application for VA-administered benefits. Pelegrini v. Principi, 18 Vet. App. 112, 119 (2004). In the case at hand, the record reflects that the originating agency provided the Veteran with the required notice by letters mailed in May 2004 and March 2009, and notice with respect to the effective-date element of the claim, by a letter mailed in February 2010. Although the March 2009 VCAA letter as well as the February 2010 letter pertaining to the effective-date element of the claim were provided after the initial adjudication of the claim, the Board finds that the Veteran has not been prejudiced by the timing of these letters. See Bernard v. Brown, 4 Vet. App. 384, 394 (1993). In this regard, the Board notes that following the provision of the required notice and the completion of all indicated development of the record, the AMC readjudicated the Veteran's claims in the February 2010 SSOC. See Overton v. Nicholson, 20 Vet. App. 427, 437 (2006) (A timing error may be cured by a new VCAA notification followed by a readjudication of the claim). There is no indication or reason to believe that the ultimate decision of the originating agency on the merits of the claim would have been different had complete VCAA notice been provided at an earlier time. Additionally, the May 2005 letter informed the Veteran as to the reason his right knee disability claim was previously denied: "[y]our claim was previously denied because no evidence of injury to knees during service ... Therefore, the evidence you submit must relate to this fact." As such, the Veteran was adequately advised of the basis for the previous denial and of what evidence would be new and material to reopen the claim. See Kent, supra. The Board is cognizant of the fact that that the Veteran was not provided notice with respect to the effective date element of his claims until issuance of the February 2010 SSOC. In Dingess v. Nicholson, 19 Vet. App. 473 (2006), the Court observed that a claim of entitlement to service connection consists of five elements: (1) veteran status; (2) existence of a disability; (3) a connection between the veteran's service and the disability; (4) degree of disability; and (5) effective date. Because a service connection claim is comprised of five elements, the Court further held that the notice requirements of section 5103(a) apply generally to all five elements of that claim. Therefore, upon receipt of an application for a service connection claim, section 5103(a) and section 3.159(b) require VA to review the information and the evidence presented with the claim and to provide the claimant with notice of what information and evidence not previously provided, if any, will assist in substantiating or is necessary to substantiate the elements of the claim as reasonably contemplated by the application. This includes notice that a disability rating and an effective date for the award of benefits will be assigned if service connection is awarded. Crucially, however, the Board observes that the Veteran responded to the February 2010 SSOC stating that he had no further information or evidence to submit. See the Veteran's SSOC Notice Response dated in February 2010. Additionally, the Veteran's representative indicated in the March 2010 Statement of Accredited Representative that he had no further argument. Indeed, the Veteran's representative has not alleged that he Veteran has received inadequate VCAA notice. See Goodwin v. Peake, 22 Vet. App. 28 (2008) [holding as to the notice requirements for downstream earlier effective date claims following the grant of service connection: "that where a claim has been substantiated after the enactment of the VCAA, the appellant bears the burden of demonstrating any prejudice from defective VCAA notice with respect to the downstream elements"]; see also Mayfield v. Nicholson, 19 Vet. App. 103 (2005). The Veteran is obviously aware of what is required of him and of VA. Because there is no indication that there exists any evidence which could be obtained which would have an effect on the outcome of this case, no further VCAA notice is necessary. See Dela Cruz v. Principi, 15 Vet. App. 143, 149 (2001) [VCAA notice not required where there is no reasonable possibility that additional development will aid the veteran]. Duty to assist In general, the VCAA provides that VA shall make reasonable efforts to assist a claimant in obtaining evidence necessary to substantiate a claim for VA benefits, unless no reasonable possibility exists that such assistance would aid in substantiating the claim. The law affords that the assistance provided by VA shall include providing a medical examination or obtaining a medical opinion when such an examination or opinion is necessary to make a decision on the claim. See 38 U.S.C.A. § 5103A (West 2002); 38 C.F.R. § 3.159 (2009). In the instant case, the Board finds reasonable efforts have been made to assist the Veteran in obtaining evidence necessary to substantiate his claims. There is no reasonable possibility that further assistance would aid in substantiating the claims. The pertinent evidence of record includes statements from the Veteran and his wife, the Veteran's service treatment records, Social Security Administration (SSA) records, as well as VA and private treatment records. The Veteran was afforded VA examinations with respect to his right ankle in June 2004 and September 2009. The examination reports reflect that the examiner interviewed and examined the Veteran, reviewed his past medical history, documented his current medical conditions, and rendered appropriate diagnoses consistent with the remainder of the evidence of record. Furthermore, these examination reports contain sufficient information to rate the Veteran's right ankle disability under the appropriate diagnostic criteria. The Board therefore concludes that the VA examination reports are adequate for evaluation purposes. See 38 C.F.R. § 4.2 (2009); see also Barr v. Nicholson, 21 Vet. App. 303, 312 (2007) [holding that when VA undertakes to provide a VA examination or obtain a VA opinion, it must ensure that the examination or opinion is adequate]. The Board notes that the Veteran was not provided a recent VA examination and nexus opinion with regard to his claim for a right knee disability. However, to the extent that this claim involves an attempt to reopen a previously disallowed claim, VA does not have a duty to provide the Veteran with medical examination and opinion in response to a claim to reopen as it is the Veteran's responsibility in such a claim to generate new and material evidence that would warrant a reopening of the claim. See Paralyzed Veterans of America v. Secretary of Veterans Affairs, 345 F.3d 1334, 1341-44 (Fed. Cir. 2003) (upholding validity of 3.159(c)(4)(C)(iii) and finding that, "without the introduction of new and material evidence, VA is not required to provide a medical examination or opinion"). See also Woehlaert v. Nicholson, 21 Vet. App. 456 (2007). The Board observes with concern that the Veteran has been asked to provide VA with specific details, to include approximate dates, hospital name(s), and approximate location, with regard to his 1967 in-service hospitalization for a right knee injury. See a VCAA letter from the AMC dated in March 2009. The Veteran did not respond. Nor did he respond with any of the above information in the May 2004 VCAA letter. The Court has held that the duty to assist "is not always a one- way street" and that, "[i]f a veteran wishes help, he cannot passively wait for it in those circumstances where he may or should have information that is essential in obtaining the putative evidence." See Wood v. Derwinski, 1 Vet. App. 190, 193 (1991). Without sufficient input from the Veteran, efforts to obtain these records would be futile. See Gobber v. Derwinski, 2 Vet. App. 470, 472 (1992) [VA's duty to assist is not a license for a "fishing expedition" to determine if there might be some unspecified information which could possibly support a claim]. The Board finds that under the circumstances of this case, VA has satisfied the notification and duty to assist provisions of the law and that no further action pursuant to the VCAA need be undertaken on the Veteran's behalf. The Board additionally observes that all appropriate due process concerns have been satisfied. See 38 C.F.R. § 3.103 (2009). The Veteran has been accorded the opportunity to present evidence and argument in support of his claims. He has retained the services of a representative. With respect to the Veteran's right knee disability claim, the Veteran presented sworn testimony before the RO hearing officer in April 2005. A copy of the transcript of the hearing has been associated with the Veteran's VA claims folder. He has not requested a hearing as to the right ankle disability claim. Accordingly, the Board will proceed to a decision. Service connection for a Right Knee Disability Pertinent legal criteria Generally, service connection may be granted for disability or injury incurred in or aggravated by active military service. See 38 U.S.C.A. §§ 1110, 1131 (West 2002); 38 C.F.R. § 3.303 (2009). For certain chronic disorders, including arthritis, service connection may be granted if the disease becomes manifest to a compensable degree within one year following separation from service. 38 U.S.C.A. §§ 1101, 1112, 1113, 1137 (West 2002); 38 C.F.R. §§ 3.307, 3.309 (2009). In order to establish service connection for the claimed disorder, there must be (1) medical evidence of a current disability; (2) medical, or in certain circumstances, lay evidence of in-service incurrence or aggravation of a disease or injury; and (3) medical evidence of a nexus between the claimed in-service disease or injury and the current disability. See Hickson v. West, 12 Vet. App. 247, 253 (1999). The determination as to whether these requirements are met is based on an analysis of all the evidence of record and the evaluation of its credibility and probative value. See Baldwin v. West, 13 Vet. App. 1, 8 (1999). In order to show a chronic disease in service there is required a combination of manifestations sufficient to identify the disease entity, and sufficient observation to establish chronicity at the time, as distinguished from merely isolated findings or a diagnosis including the word "chronic." When the fact or chronicity in service is not adequately supported, then a showing of continuity after discharge is required to support a claim. There must be competent medical evidence unless the evidence relates to a condition as to which lay observation is competent to identify its existence. See 38 C.F.R. § 3.303(b) (2009). A veteran will be considered to have been in sound condition when examined, accepted and enrolled for service, except as to defects, infirmities, or disorders noted at entrance into service, or where clear and unmistakable (obvious or manifest) evidence demonstrates that an injury or disease existed prior thereto. 38 U.S.C.A. § 1111 (West 2002); 38 C.F.R. § 3.304(b) (2009). VA's General Counsel has held that to rebut the presumption of sound condition under 38 U.S.C. § 1111, VA must show by clear and unmistakable evidence both that the disease or injury existed prior to service and that the disease or injury was not aggravated by service. See VAOPGCPREC 3-2003 (July 16, 2003); see also Wagner v. Principi, 370 F. 3d 1089 (Fed. Cir. 2004). The Court has held, however, that this presumption attaches only where there has been an entrance examination in which the later complained-of disability was not detected. See Bagby v. Derwinski, 1 Vet. App. 225, 227 (1991). In VAOPGCPREC 3-2003, VA's General Counsel noted that "[u]nder the language of [38 U.S.C. § 1111], VA's burden of showing that the condition was not aggravated by service is conditioned only upon a predicate showing that the condition in question was not noted at entry into service." Cases in which the condition is noted on entrance are, however, still governed by the presumption of aggravation contained in 38 U.S.C. § 1153 (as opposed to that applicable under 38 U.S.C. § 1111 where the complained of condition was not noted on entrance into service). This statute provides that a pre-existing injury or disease will be considered to have been aggravated by active service where there is an increase in disability during such service, unless clear and unmistakable evidence shows that the increase in disability is due to the natural progress of the disease. 38 U.S.C.A. § 1153 (West 2002); 38 C.F.R. § 3.306 (2009). Aggravation may not be conceded where the disability underwent no increase in severity during service on the basis of all the evidence of record pertaining to the manifestations of the disability prior to, during, and subsequent to service. 38 U.S.C.A. § 1153 (West 2002); 38 C.F.R. §§ 3.304, 3.306(b) (2009). A pre-existing disease or injury will be presumed to have been aggravated by service only if the evidence shows that the underlying disability underwent an increase in severity; the occurrence of symptoms, in the absence of an increase in the underlying severity, does not constitute aggravation of the disability. See Davis v. Principi, 276 F.3d 1341, 1345 (Fed. Cir. 2002); 38 C.F.R. § 3.306(a) (2009). Aggravation is characterized by an increase in the severity of a disability during service, and a finding of aggravation is not appropriate in cases where the evidence specifically shows that the increase is due to the natural progress of the disease. Furthermore, temporary or intermittent flare-ups of a pre- existing disease during service are not sufficient to be considered aggravation of the disease unless the underlying condition, as contrasted to symptoms, worsens. See Jensen v. Brown, 4 Vet. App. 304, 306-07 (1993); Hunt v. Derwinski, 1 Vet. App. 292 (1991). In general, VA rating decisions that are not timely appealed are final. See 38 U.S.C.A. § 7105 (West 2002); 38 C.F.R. § 20.1103 (2009). Pursuant to 38 U.S.C.A. § 5108, a finally disallowed claim may be reopened when new and material evidence is presented or secured with respect to that claim. New evidence is defined as evidence not previously submitted to agency decision-makers. Material evidence means existing evidence that, by itself or when considered with previous evidence of record, relates to an unestablished fact necessary to substantiate the claim. New and material evidence can be neither cumulative nor redundant of the evidence of record at the time of the last prior final denial of the claim sought to be reopened, and must raise a reasonable possibility of substantiating the claim. See 38 C.F.R. § 3.156(a) (2009). An adjudicator must follow a two-step process in evaluating a previously denied claim. First, the adjudicator must determine whether the evidence added to the record since the last final decision is new and material. If new and material evidence is presented or secured with respect to a claim that has been finally denied, the claim will be reopened and decided upon the merits. Once it has been determined that a claimant has produced new and material evidence, the adjudicator must evaluate the merits of the claim in light of all the evidence, both new and old, after ensuring that the VA's statutory duty to assist the appellant in the development of his claim has been fulfilled. See 38 U.S.C.A. § 5108 (West 2002); Elkins v. West, 12 Vet. App. 209 (1999); Vargas-Gonzalez v. West, 12 Vet. App. 321, 328 (1999). There must be new and material evidence as to each and every aspect of the claim that was lacking at the time of the final denial in order for there to be new and material evidence to reopen the claim. See Evans v. Brown, 9 Vet. App. 273 (1996). Claim to Reopen When the Veteran's claim of entitlement to service connection for a right knee disability was denied by the RO in March 1969, the following pertinent evidence was of record. The Veteran's October 1963 service pre-induction examination report indicated that the Veteran was physically disqualified from military duty for a recent right knee menesectomy and complaints of swelling. He was similarly disqualified for military duty in an August 1964 service pre-induction examination due to soft tissue swelling at the tibia. An August 1964 report from M.K., M.D., indicated that the Veteran injured his left leg in an automobile accident in May 1963. Although Dr. M.K. noted that discoloration of the injured area had subsided, painless swelling of the area persisted, and the Veteran reported extreme weakness of both legs, particularly the left leg after working all day. The Veteran's February 1966 service pre-induction examination revealed "good" range of motion and "minimal crepitus" in the Veteran's right knee. Further, the Veteran's April 1968 separation from service examination documented the Veteran's complaints of swollen or painful joints, leg cramps, and "trick" or locked knee. There is no indication as to which knee the Veteran was referring to. However, the Veteran reported that he had cartilage removed in his right knee when he was 19 years old. The Veteran was afforded a VA examination in December 1968. He reported a history of surgery to his right knee prior to service, and that the right knee gave out on him sometime in October 1967 which caused him to fall, straining his left knee and left ankle which required a cast. He further reported trouble with his right knee to include swelling, although he also stated that his right knee had not given him any trouble for several months after the initial symptoms from his in-service fall. Upon physical examination, the VA examiner noted a post-operative scar on the Veteran's right knee. However, he reported no swelling or tenderness of the Veteran's right knee, and that it was asymptomatic. An X-ray report of the Veteran's right knee was negative. The Veteran was diagnosed with a post-operative scar of the right knee. In its March 1969 rating decision, the RO denied the Veteran's claim of entitlement to service connection for a right knee disability because "service records show no injury to [the right knee]. The [V]eteran has history of knee injury prior to his military service." The Veteran was informed of the March 1969 rating decision and of his appeal rights by a letter from the RO dated in April 1969. He failed to initiate an appeal with the timely submission of a notice of disagreement (NOD), and the decision became final. In February 2004, the RO received the Veteran's claim of entitlement to service connection for a right knee disability. After the RO declined to reopen the Veteran's previously denied claim based upon his failure to submit new and material evidence, this appeal followed. The evidence which has been added to the record since the March 1969 rating decision will be discussed in the Board's analysis below. In essence, the RO denied the Veteran's claim in March 1969 because the evidence failed to show that his pre-existing right knee disability underwent an increase in severity during his active military service. The unappealed March 1969 RO rating decision is final. See 38 U.S.C.A. § 7105 (West 2002); 38 C.F.R. §§ 3.104, 20.1103 (2009). As explained above, the Veteran's claim for service connection may be reopened only upon the submission of new and material evidence. See 38 U.S.C.A. § 5108 (West 2002); 38 C.F.R. § 3.156 (2009). The Board notes that the RO declined to reopen the Veteran's claim in the September 2004 rating decision. Notwithstanding the RO's actions, it is incumbent on the Board to adjudicate the new and material issue before considering the claim on its merits. The question of whether new and material evidence has been received is one that must be addressed by the Board. See Barnett v. Brown, 83 F.3d 1380 (Fed. Cir. 1996) [before considering a previously adjudicated claim, the Board must determine that new and material evidence was presented or secured for the claim, making RO determination in that regard irrelevant]. After a thorough review of the entire record, and for the reasons expressed immediately below, the Board concludes that new and material evidence sufficient to reopen the claim of entitlement to service connection for a right knee disability has not been submitted. In the present case, the unestablished facts are whether the Veteran's right knee disability aggravated by military service. The newly added evidence, in pertinent part, consists of VA treatment records from February 2003 to January 2004, private treatment records dated from August 1987 to March 2009, VA examination reports dated in June 2004 and September 2009, SSA records, statements from the Veteran's wife, and statements from the Veteran, to include his testimony at an April 2005 DRO hearing. The VA and private treatment records document multiple diagnoses of a right knee disability, to include status post right total knee arthroplasty. See, e.g., a private treatment record from C.S., D.O., dated in October 2002. While these medical records are undoubtedly new, as they were not of record at the time of the March 1969 rating decision, these records essentially replicate the medical evidence which was of record at the time of the March 1969 rating decision, namely that the Veteran has a current right knee disability. Such evidence is not new and material, since the existence of the disability was known in March 1969. See Cornele v. Brown, 6 Vet. App. 59, 62 (1993); Mintz v. Brown, 6 Vet. App. 277, 280 (1994) [medical evidence that merely documents continued diagnosis and treatment of disease, without addressing the crucial matter of medical nexus, does not constitute new and material evidence]. These records do not establish or suggest aggravation of the Veteran's right knee disability during service. There is no competent medical evidence which has been added to the record subsequent to the March 1969 RO denial which suggests that the Veteran's current right knee disability was aggravated by military service. The Board notes the Veteran's recent contentions that he injured his right knee when he fell down a hill during service in Korea in 1967. See, e.g., the April 2005 DRO hearing transcript, page 4. However, his history of an inservice fall was of record at the time of the prior denial. Accordingly, this information is cumulative of information that was before adjudicators at the time of the prior decision. The Board also notes the October 2004 statement from the Veteran's spouse indicating that she received letters from the Veteran while he was stationed at Camp Howse in Korea indicating that he had an accident (a fall) which caused pain in his knee and that he experienced pain in his knee while stationed in Alabama. However, these statements are also duplicative of the reported history of the inservice knee injury as stated by the Veteran which was of record at the time of the prior denial. In short, there is no competent evidence of an inservice right knee injury which aggravated the Veteran's pre-existing right knee disability beyond its natural progression. The Board notes that the Veteran, while entirely competent to report his symptoms both current and past (including pain in his right knee), has presented no competent evidence of in-service aggravation of his pre-existing right knee disability beyond its natural progression which was the evidence lacking at the time of the original denial of his claim. Furthermore, the Board finds that the Veteran and his wife, as lay persons, are not competent to associate any of his claimed symptoms to the claimed knee injury during service. That is, neither is competent to opine on matters such as aggravation of his current right knee disability. Such opinion requires specific medical training and is beyond the competency of the Veteran or any other lay person. See also 38 C.F.R. § 3.159(a)(1) (2009) [competent medical evidence means evidence provided by a person who is qualified through education, training, or experience to offer medical diagnoses, statements, or opinions]. Accordingly, the statements offered by the Veteran and his wife in support of his own claim are not competent evidence of aggravation and are insufficient to reopen the claim. Furthermore, with regard to recent testimony from the Veteran to the effect that his right knee disability was aggravated by his military service, such evidence is cumulative and redundant of similar statements made prior to the March 1969 rating decision. Accordingly, such statements are not new. See Reid v. Derwinski, 2 Vet. App. 312, 315 (1992). Moreover, in Moray v. Brown, 5 Vet. App. 211, 214 (1993), the Court specifically stated that laypersons, such as the Veteran and his wife, are not competent to offer medical opinions, and that such evidence does not provide a basis on which to reopen a claim for service connection. In Routen v. Brown, 10 Vet. App. 183, 186 (1997), the Court noted, "[l]ay assertions of medical causation . . . cannot suffice to reopen a claim under 38 U.S.C.A. § 5108." The Veteran has been accorded ample opportunity to submit new and material evidence, to include competent medical evidence and information specifically stating where he was treated for his claimed in-service right knee injury. He has failed to do so. See 38 U.S.C.A. § 5107(a) [it is a claimant's responsibility to submit evidence in support of his claim]. In short, the element which was missing at the time of the March 1969 denial of service connection remains lacking. In reaching this conclusion, the Board observes that the June 2004 VA examination report incorrectly notes that the Veteran's is service connected for his right knee condition. However, the examiner did not provide an opinion as to whether the Veteran's knee disability was aggravated by service. Likewise, the September 2009 examiner, while noting the Veteran's reported history of an in-service injury to his right knee, did not provide an opinion as to whether the Veteran's knee disability was aggravated during service. Accordingly, neither examination report is material to the issue of whether the Veteran's right knee disability was aggravated during service. Accordingly, neither the June 2004 VA examination report, nor the September 2009 examination report, are sufficient to reopen the claim. New and material evidence has not been received, and the Veteran's claim of entitlement to service connection for a right knee disability may not be reopened. The benefit sought on appeal remains denied. Higher evaluation for Right Ankle Disability Disability ratings are assigned in accordance with the VA's Schedule for Rating Disabilities and are intended to represent the average impairment of earning capacity resulting from disability. See 38 U.S.C.A. § 1155 (West 2002); 38 C.F.R. §§ 3.321(a), 4.1 (2009). Separate diagnostic codes identify the various disabilities. See 38 C.F.R. Part 4 (2009). Where there is a question as to which of two evaluations shall be applied, the higher evaluation will be assigned if the disability picture more nearly approximates the criteria required for that rating. Otherwise, the lower rating will be assigned. See 38 C.F.R. § 4.7 (2009). A request for an increased rating must be viewed in light of the entire relevant medical history. See 38 C.F.R. § 4.1 (2009); see also Peyton v. Derwinski, 1 Vet. App. 282, 287 (1991). However, where entitlement to compensation has already been established and increase in the disability rating is at issue, the present level of disability is of primary concern. See Francisco v. Brown, 7 Vet. App. 55, 58 (1994). In Hart v. Mansfield, 21 Vet. App. 505 (2007), the Court held that "staged ratings are appropriate for an increased-rating claim when the factual findings show distinct time periods where the service-connected disability exhibits symptoms that would warrant different ratings." The evaluation of a service-connected disability involving a joint rated on limitation of motion requires adequate consideration of functional loss due to pain under 38 C.F.R. § 4.40 and functional loss due to weakness, fatigability, incoordination or pain on movement of a joint under 38 C.F.R. § 4.45. See DeLuca v. Brown, 8 Vet. App. 202 (1995). The basis of disability evaluations is the ability of the body as a whole to function under the ordinary conditions of daily life, including employment. See 38 C.F.R. § 4.10 (2009). Disability of the musculoskeletal system is primarily the inability to perform the normal working movements of the body with normal excursion, strength, speed, coordination and endurance. See 38 C.F.R. § 4.40 (2009). Consideration is to be given to whether there is less movement than normal, more movement than normal, weakened movement, excess fatigability, incoordination, pain on movement, swelling, deformity, atrophy of disuse, instability of station, or interference with standing, sitting, or weight bearing. See 38 C.F.R. § 4.45 (2009). The RO has rated the Veteran's disability under Diagnostic Codes 5299-5271. See 38 C.F.R. § 4.27 [hyphenated diagnostic codes are used when a rating under one diagnostic code requires use of an additional diagnostic code to identify the basis for the evaluation assigned; the additional code is shown after the hyphen]. The RO assigned Diagnostic Code 5299 pursuant to 38 C.F.R. § 4.27, which provides that unlisted disabilities requiring rating by analogy will be coded first with the numbers of the most closely related body part and '99'. See 38 C.F.R. § 4.20 (2009) [when an unlisted condition is encountered it will be permissible to rate it under a closely related disease or injury, in which not only the functions affected, but the anatomical localization and symptomatology are closely analogous]. The RO determined that the most closely analogous Diagnostic Code is 38 C.F.R. § 4.71a, Diagnostic Code 5271 (2009) [ankle, limited motion of]. The assignment of a particular diagnostic code is "completely dependent on the facts of a particular case." Butts v. Brown, 5 Vet. App. 532, 538 (1993). One diagnostic code may be more appropriate than another based on such factors as an individual's relevant medical history, diagnosis, and demonstrated symptomatology. Any change in diagnostic code by a VA adjudicator must be specifically explained. See Pernorio v. Derwinski, 2 Vet. App. 625, 629 (1992). The Board has considered the potential application of related Diagnostic Codes. In that regard, the Board notes that in the Veteran's case, there are no findings of malunion of the os calcis or astragalus, or of ankylosis of the ankle joint. Ankylosis is "immobility and consolidation of a joint due to a disease, injury, surgical procedure." See Lewis v. Derwinksi, 3 Vet. App. 259 (1992) [citing Saunders Encyclopedia and Dictionary of Medicine, Nursing, and Allied Health at 68 (4th ed. 1987)]. Accordingly, Diagnostic Codes 5270, 5272, and 5273, which require malunion or ankylosis, are not for application in this case; nor has the Veteran so contended. In short, the Board finds that the Veteran's right ankle disability is appropriately rated under Diagnostic Code 5271. Under Diagnostic Code 5271 [ankle, limited motion], marked limitation of motion in the ankle warrants a 20 percent disability rating, and moderate limitation of motion in the ankle warrants a 10 percent disability rating. See 38 C.F.R. § 4.71a, Diagnostic Code 5271 (2009). The Board observes that the words "moderate" and "marked" are not defined in the VA Rating Schedule. Rather than applying a mechanical formula, the Board must evaluate all of the evidence to the end that its decisions are "equitable and just." See 38 C.F.R. § 4.6 (2009). For purposes of VA compensation, normal dorsiflexion of the ankle is zero to 20 degrees and normal ankle plantar flexion is zero to 45 degrees. See 38 C.F.R. § 4.71a, Plate II (2009). As indicated above, the Veteran is currently rated as 10 percent disabling under Diagnostic Code 5271. In order to warrant a 20 percent rating, the evidence must demonstrate marked limitation of motion in the ankle. See 38 C.F.R. § 4.71a, Diagnostic Code 5271 (2009). The Veteran was afforded a VA examination in June 2004 as to his right ankle disability. He complained of stiffness in his ankle, and use of orthotics and medication for treatment. Further, prolonged walking increased the pain and repetitive motion also produced pain. Although he reported no evidence of instability or flare-ups, he indicated that daily activities are somewhat limited. Upon physical examination, the VA examiner noted that the Veteran did not wear any braces for his right ankle or use a cane. Further, he walked with normal heel-toe gait, although diffuse soft swelling of the ankle was reported. Alignment of the right ankle was normal without any tenderness. Range of motion testing revealed dorsiflexion of 15 degrees, plantar flexion of 20 degrees, inversion of 15 degrees, and eversion of 10 degrees. Power against resistance was noted as satisfactory. A X-ray report of the right ankle revealed normal findings without any residual of bony injury. The VA examiner diagnosed with Veteran with a history of injury to the right ankle, but the right ankle failed to reveal any residual of trauma and the Veteran had adequate range of motion. Finally, the VA examiner reported that range of motion or joint function of the right ankle was not likely to be limited by pain, fatigue, weakness, or lack of endurance. Additionally, the Veteran was provided a VA examination for his right ankle in September 2009. He complained of pain in his ankle, limitation of daily activities and work, and that the ankle would give out off and on. He used ankle support "at times" and medication for treatment. Repetitive motion did not produce any additional loss of motion, and there was no history of flare-ups. Upon physical examination, the VA examiner noted that the Veteran's posture was "good," but that he walked with a limp and used a right shoe insert. Alignment of the right ankle was normal with no deformity or swelling, power against resistance was 5/5, and no tenderness was noted. Range of motion testing revealed dorsiflexion of 15 degrees, plantar flexion of 25 degrees, inversion of 15 degrees, and eversion of 10 degrees. The Veteran did not complain of any pain during motion. Moreover, there was no evidence of instability, drawer test was negative, and Achilles tendon and heel were neutral. An X-ray report of the right ankle revealed normal findings with no evidence of arthritis or chipped bone. The VA examiner diagnosed the Veteran with a normal right ankle without any residual of trauma at the present time. The examiner added that the Veteran did not demonstrate any limitation of function, and there was no evidence of weakened movement, excess fatigability, or incoordination on repetitive use of the ankle, nor was there evidence of any pain during the ankle examination. The examiner concluded that the Veteran did not demonstrate impairment of function during the examination. Taking into consideration the evidence of record, the Board finds that the Veteran's service-connected right ankle disability does not closely approach marked disability pursuant to Diagnostic Code 5271. Although it revealed some limitation of motion, the June 2004 and September 2009 VA examination reports showed that the Veteran demonstrated nearly normal dorsiflexion [15 degrees] and plantar flexion [20 to 25 degrees] range of motion. [The Board notes that normal dorsiflexion is 20 degrees and normal plantar flexion is 45 degrees. See 38 C.F.R. § 4.71a, Plate II (2009).] Further, there was no decrease in range of motion upon repetition, minimal to no signs of pain upon manipulation of the ankle, good strength, and no tenderness or abnormal alignment. These findings are consistent with no more than moderate degree of limitation of motion and are not consistent with "marked" limitation of motion of the ankle as contemplated by a higher rating. Therefore, the Veteran's service-connected right ankle disability does not warrant an increased disability rating under Diagnostic Code 5271. In reaching this conclusion, the Board has considered the provisions of 38 C.F.R. § 4.40 and 4.45 (2009). See DeLuca, supra. In this regard, the Board notes the VA examiner's report that the Veteran's right ankle periodically gives out on him and he suffers from stiffness in his right ankle, as well as the Veteran's report that he has used ankle support and that his daily activities are limited. See the June 2004 and November 2009 VA examination reports. The Board further observes that the Veteran has not complained of flare-ups with respect to his right ankle during the period under consideration. However, functional loss due to pain or weakness must be supported by adequate pathology and evidenced by the visible behavior of the claimant. 38 C.F.R. § 4.40. In this case, the September 2009 examination report in particular indicates no decreased range of motion due to pain, fatigue, weakness, or lack of endurance after repetitive range of motion examinations. No competent medical opinion contradictory to that of the VA examiner is of record. The Board is unable to identify any clinical findings that would warrant an increased evaluation under 38 C.F.R. § 4.40 and 4.45. The current 10 percent rating adequately compensates the Veteran for any functional impairment attributable to his right ankle disability. See 38 C.F.R. §§ 4.41, 4.10 (2009). In Hart, supra, the Court held that staged ratings are appropriate for an increased rating claim when the factual findings show distinct time periods where the service-connected disability exhibited symptoms that would warrant different ratings. In reaching its conclusion, the Court observed that when a claim for an increased rating is granted, the effective date assigned may be up to one year prior to the date that the application for increase was received if it is factually ascertainable that an increase in disability had occurred within that timeframe. See 38 U.S.C.A. § 5110 (West 2002). After a careful review of the record, the Board can find no evidence to support a finding that the Veteran's right ankle disability was more or less severe during the appeal period. Specifically, as discussed above, the June 2004 and September 2009 VA examination reports indicate that the Veteran's right ankle limitation of motion has remained relatively consistent throughout the period. As such, there is no basis for awarding the Veteran a disability rating other than the currently assigned 10 percent for any time from February 2003 to the present. The Board has considered the question of whether an extraschedular rating may be appropriate for the Veteran's right ankle disability. See Bagwell v. Brown, 9 Vet. App. 157 (1966). Ordinarily, the VA Rating Schedule will apply unless there are exceptional or unusual factors which would render application of the schedule impractical. See Fisher v. Principi, 4 Vet. App. 57, 60 (1993). According to the regulation, an extraschedular disability rating is warranted upon a finding that the case presents such an exceptional or unusual disability picture with such related factors as marked interference with employment or frequent period of hospitalization that would render impractical the application of the regular schedular standards. See 38 C.F.R. § 3.21(b)(1) (2009). Under Thun v. Peake, 22 Vet. App. 111 (2008), there is a three- step inquiry for determining whether a veteran is entitled to an extraschedular rating. First, the Board must first determine whether the evidence presents such an exceptional disability picture that the available schedular evaluations for that service-connected disability are inadequate. Second, if the schedular evaluation does not contemplate the level of disability and symptomatology and is found to be inadequate, the Board must then determine whether the claimant's disability picture exhibits other related factors such as those provided by the regulation as "governing norms." Third, if the rating schedule is inadequate to evaluate a veteran's disability picture and that picture has attendant thereto related factors such as marked interference with employment or frequent periods of hospitalization, then the case must be referred to the Under Secretary for Benefits or the Director of the Compensation and Pension Service to determine whether, to accord justice, the veteran's disability picture requires the assignment of an extraschedular rating. The Veteran has not identified any factors which may be considered to be exceptional or unusual, and the Board has been similarly unsuccessful. The evidence of record indicates that the Veteran is currently in receipt of SSA disability benefits. Notably, a review of the Veteran's SSA records does not reveal any contention by the Veteran for disability benefits based on his right ankle disability, but rather for his back and bilateral knee disabilities. In any event, the Board notes that it has no reason to doubt that the Veteran's right ankle symptomatology adversely impacts his employability; however, this is specifically contemplated by the assigned schedular rating. See Van Hoose v. Brown, 4 Vet. App. 361, 363 (1993) [noting that the disability rating itself is recognition that industrial capabilities are impaired]. In addition, there is no evidence in the medical records of an exceptional or unusual clinical picture. The record demonstrates that the Veteran has not required hospitalization as a result of his right ankle disability during the period on appeal. Further, the record does not demonstrate any other reason why an extraschedular rating should be assigned. Accordingly, the Board therefore has determined that referral of the case for extraschedular consideration pursuant to 38 C.F.R. § 3.321(b)(1) is not warranted. In denying the Veteran's claim for an increased rating, the Board observes that in Rice v. Shinseki, 22 Vet. App. 447 (2009), the Court of Appeals for Veterans Claims (Court) held that a claim for a total rating based on unemployability due to service- connected disability (TDIU), either expressly raised by the Veteran or reasonably raised by the record involves an attempt to obtain an appropriate rating for a disability and is part of the claim for an increased rating. In this case, the Veteran has not asserted that he is unemployable because of his service-connected right ankle disability. Further, as stated above, although the Veteran is currently in receipt of SSA disability benefits, he did not contend that he was entitled to benefits for his right ankle disability, but rather for his back and bilateral knee disabilities. Accordingly, the issue of TDIU has not been raised in this case. ORDER New and material evidence has not been received to reopen the claim of entitlement to service connection for a right knee disability. The benefit sought on appeal remains denied. Entitlement to an increased disability rating, in excess of 10 percent disabling, for the service-connected right ankle disability is denied. ______________________________________________ DAVID L. WIGHT Veterans Law Judge, Board of Veterans' Appeals Department of Veterans Affairs