Citation Nr: 1035442 Decision Date: 09/20/10 Archive Date: 09/28/10 DOCKET NO. 09-47 527 ) DATE ) ) On appeal from the Department of Veterans Affairs Regional Office in Cheyenne, Wyoming THE ISSUE Whether new and material evidence has been received to reopen a claim for service connection for a bilateral ankle condition. REPRESENTATION Appellant represented by: Disabled American Veterans ATTORNEY FOR THE BOARD H.J. Baucom INTRODUCTION The Veteran served in the Army from April 1946 to July 1947, the Air Force from April 1951 to October 1951 and the Army from November 1956 to November 1958. This matter comes before the Board of Veterans' Appeals (BVA or Board) from a June 2009 rating decision of the Department of Veterans Affairs (VA), Regional Office (RO) in Oakland, California, which denied reopening the claim for service connection for a bilateral ankle condition. Irrespective of the RO's action, the Board must decide whether the Veteran has submitted new and material evidence to reopen the claim of service connection for bilateral ankle condition. Barnett v. Brown, 83 F.3d 1380 (Fed. Cir. 1996). This appeal has been advanced on the Board's docket pursuant to 38 C.F.R. § 20.900(c) (2007). 38 U.S.C.A. § 7107(a)(2) (West 2002). FINDINGS OF FACT 1. In a September 2005 rating decision, the RO denied service connection for a bilateral ankle condition. The Veteran did not appeal the decision and the determination is now final. 2. Evidence submitted since the RO's September 2005 rating decision, by itself or when considered with previous evidence of record, does not relate to an unestablished fact necessary to substantiate the claim, and does not raise a reasonable possibility of substantiating the claim for service connection for a bilateral ankle condition. CONCLUSION OF LAW Evidence received since September 2005 rating decision is not new and material and the criteria to reopen the previously denied claim for entitlement to service connection for hypertension are not met. 38 U.S.C.A. §§ 5108, 7105 (West 2002); 38 C.F.R. § 3.156 (2009). REASONS AND BASES FOR FINDINGS AND CONCLUSION Notice and Assistance Upon receipt of a complete or substantially complete application, VA must notify the claimant of the information and evidence not of record that is necessary to substantiate a claim, which information and evidence VA will obtain, and which information and evidence the claimant is expected to provide. 38 U.S.C.A. § 5103(a). The notice requirements apply to all five elements of a service connection claim: 1) veteran status; 2) existence of a disability; 3) a connection between the veteran's service and the disability; 4) degree of disability; and 5) effective date of the disability. Dingess v. Nicholson, 19 Vet. App. 473 (2006). The notice must be provided to a claimant before the initial unfavorable adjudication by the RO. Pelegrini v. Principi, 18 Vet. App.112 (2004). The notice requirements may be satisfied if any errors in the timing or content of such notice are not prejudicial to the claimant. Mayfield v. Nicholson, 19 Vet. App. 103 (2005), rev'd on other grounds, 444 F.3d 1328 (Fed. Cir. 2006). The RO provided the Veteran pre-adjudication notice by letters dated August 2008 which substantially complied with the specificity requirements of Dingess v. Nicholson, 19 Vet. App. 473 (2006) identifying the five elements of a service connection claim; and Quartuccio v. Principi, 16 Vet. App. 183 (2002), identifying the evidence necessary to substantiate a claim and the relative duties of VA and the claimant to obtain evidence. The notification also informed the Veteran of the evidence and information necessary to reopen the claim for service connection for a bilateral ankle condition including the basis on which the prior claim was denied in compliance with Kent v. Nicholson, 20 Vet. App. 1 (2006). In any event, the Veteran has neither alleged nor demonstrated any prejudice with regard to the content or timing of the notices. See Shinseki v. Sanders, 129 S.Ct. 1696, (2009) (Reversing prior case law imposing a presumption of prejudice on any notice deficiency, and clarifying that the burden of showing that an error is harmful, or prejudicial, normally falls upon the party attacking the agency's determination.) See also Mayfield v. Nicholson, 444 F.3d 1328, 1333-34 (Fed. Cir. 2006). VA has obtained service medical records and assisted the Veteran in obtaining evidence. All known and available records relevant to the issue on appeal have been obtained and associated with the Veteran's claims file; and the Veteran has not contended otherwise. VA has substantially complied with the notice and assistance requirements and the Veteran is not prejudiced by a decision on the claim at this time. Analysis The Veteran initially contended that his bilateral ankle condition was secondary to his service connected pes planus. In a September 2005 rating decision, the RO denied service connection for a bilateral ankle condition. The basis of the denial was that there was that there was no evidence of a bilateral ankle condition in service or within one year of discharge, nor any evidence that a bilateral ankle condition was related to pes planus. The determination is now final. In August 2008 the Veteran filed another claim for service connection for a bilateral ankle condition. Generally, when a claim is disallowed, it may not be reopened and allowed, and a claim based on the same factual basis may not be considered. Id. However, a claim on which there is a final decision may be reopened if new and material evidence is submitted. 38 U.S.C.A. § 5108. The regulations define 'new' evidence as existing evidence not previously submitted to agency decisionmakers. 'Material' evidence is defined as existing evidence that, by itself or when considered with previous evidence of record, relates to an unestablished fact necessary to substantiate the claim. 38 C.F.R. § 3.156(a). New and material evidence can be neither cumulative nor redundant of the evidence of record at the time of the last prior final denial of the claim sought to be reopened, and must raise a reasonable possibility of substantiating the claim. Id. When determining whether the claim should be reopened, the credibility of the newly submitted evidence is to be presumed. Justus v. Principi, 3 Vet. App. 510 (1992). In reaching a determination on whether the claim should be reopened, the reason for the prior denial should be considered. In essence, at the time of the prior denial, there was no evidence of a bilateral ankle condition in service or within one year of service. There was also no evidence of VA treatment for a bilateral ankle condition and no evidence that a bilateral ankle condition was secondary to pes planus. However of note at the time of the September 2005 rating decision was a July 2005 examination for pes planus which noted hematogenous pigmentation in the ankles bilaterally. The Veteran currently contends that he slipped and fell on a log in service resulting in deep cuts on the inside left and right ankles. Ashford v. Brown, 10 Vet. App. 120 (1997) (a claim based on a new theory of entitlement is not a new claim, but constitutes an application to reopen the previously denied claim). Evidence received since the September 2005 RO decision includes VA treatment from 2005 through 2009. At an August 2009 evaluation the Veteran complained about his ankle skin problems. He was diagnosed with moderately severe stasis dermatitis with typical brownish-purple discoloration of the lower legs with some areas that are cracking with blisters that could ooze. The Veteran told the physician that he thought this condition was caused by an incident of slipping on a log resulting in abrasions on his legs in service. The physician opined that it was unlikely that the incident could cause something like stasis dermatitis this many years later. Although, the additional evidence received is new, it is not material. It does not include any evidence which relates to an unestablished fact necessary to substantiate the claim. While the Veteran now has a more thorough diagnosis of his ankle condition, stasis dermatitis, it is not material as this fact does not substantiate the claim. Rather the evidence confirms a denial of the claim based on the Veteran's alternative theory as the physician opinioned that it was unlikely that an abrasion from a log in service 50 years prior could case stasis dermatitis. The Veteran genuinely believes that his bilateral ankle condition was caused by scraping his legs on a log in service. However, as a layperson, lacking in medical training and expertise, the Veteran cannot provide a competent opinion on a matter as complex as the etiology of stasis dermatitis and his views are of no probative value. And, even if his opinion was entitled to be accorded some probative value, it is far outweighed by the opinion provided by the physician who evaluated his condition. See Jandreau v. Nicholson, 492 F.3d 1372 (Fed. Cir. 2007); Buchanan v. Nicholson, 451 F.3d 1331 (Fed. Cir. 2006). In sum, the evidence received since the RO's September 2005 decision, by itself or when considered with previous evidence of record, does not relate to an unestablished fact necessary to substantiate the claim, and does not raise a reasonable possibility of substantiating the claim. New and material evidence has not been received since the RO's September 2005 decision and reopening the claim is not warranted. 38 U.S.C.A. §§ 5108, 7105; 38 C.F.R. § 3.156. ORDER New and material evidence has not been received and the petition to reopen a claim for service connection for a bilateral ankle condition is denied. ____________________________________________ MARK W. GREENSTREET Chief Veterans Law Judge, Board of Veterans' Appeals Department of Veterans Affairs