Citation Nr: 1035532 Decision Date: 09/20/10 Archive Date: 09/28/10 DOCKET NO. 05-19 864 ) DATE ) ) On appeal from the Department of Veterans Affairs Regional Office in Columbia, South Carolina THE ISSUE Entitlement to compensation under 38 U.S.C.A. § 1151 for left shoulder rotator cuff repair with surgical repair. REPRESENTATION Appellant represented by: Veterans of Foreign Wars of the United States WITNESS AT HEARING ON APPEAL Appellant ATTORNEY FOR THE BOARD John Kitlas, Counsel INTRODUCTION The Veteran served on active duty from September 1971 to September 1991. This matter is before the Board of Veterans' Appeals (Board) on appeal from a May 2005 rating decision by the Department of Veterans Affairs (VA) Regional Office (RO) in Columbia, South Carolina, which denied the 38 U.S.C.A. § 1151 claim. The Veteran provided testimony at a hearing before the undersigned in July 2006. A transcript of this hearing has been associated with the Veteran's VA claims folder. In May 2007, the Board remanded this case for further development to include obtaining additional records and a VA orthopedic examination to address his 38 U.S.C.A. § 1151 claim. Additional records were added to the file, an examination was conducted in February 2010, and all other development directed by the May 2007 remand appears to have been accomplished. Accordingly, a new remand is not required to comply with the holding of Stegall v. West, 11 Vet. App. 268 (1998). The Board notes that, in addition to the aforementioned 38 U.S.C.A. § 1151 claim, the Veteran had also perfected appeals on the issue of entitlement to ratings in excess of 10 percent for service-connected disabilities of the right and left knees, as well as service connection for posttraumatic stress disorder (PTSD) and sleep apnea. However, the Board denied the knee and sleep apnea claims in May 2007, and nothing reflects the Veteran appealed that decision to the United States Court of Appeals for Veterans Claims (Court). As such, the Board no longer has jurisdiction over those issues. In regard to the PTSD claim, the Board directed further development also be conducted on this issue as part of the May 2007 remand. Service connection was subsequently established for PTSD by a March 2010 rating decision, and nothing indicates the Veteran has disagreed with the initial rating assigned or effective date thereof. In view of the foregoing, this issue has been resolved and is not on appeal before the Board. See generally Grantham v. Brown, 114 F.3d 1156 (Fed. Cir. 1997), and Barrera v. Gober, 122 F.3d 1030 (Fed. Cir. 1997). As an additional matter, the Board notes that it referred the issue of service connection for a left shoulder disorder secondary to the service-connected knee disabilities to the RO for appropriate development. However, the documents assembled for the Board's review do not reflect such development has been conducted. Further, statements from the Veteran submitted while the case was on remand reflect he has raised new increased rating claims for his service-connected knee disabilities as well as his service-connected back disorder, a claim of service connection for chronic obstructive pulmonary disease (COPD) to include as due to asbestos exposure, and a claim of entitlement to special monthly compensation based on the need for regular aid and attendance or being housebound. Based upon a review of the record, none of these claims appears to have been adjudicated and/or addressed by the RO (the Agency of Original Jurisdiction (AOJ) in this case). Therefore, the Board does not have jurisdiction over these claims, and they are referred to the RO for appropriate action. FINDINGS OF FACT 1. All reasonable notification and development necessary for the equitable disposition of the instant case have been completed. 2. The record reflects the Veteran sustained a left shoulder injury in September 2002 while attempting to mount a stationary bicycle while undergoing physical therapy at a VA Medical Center (VAMC). 3. The left shoulder injury incurred as a result of the September 2002 VA physical therapy was not the result of carelessness, negligence, lack of proper skill, error in judgment, or lack or appropriate supervision. CONCLUSION OF LAW The criteria for compensation under 38 U.S.C.A. § 1151 for left shoulder rotator cuff repair with surgical repair are not met. 38 U.S.C.A. §§ 1151, 5103, 5103A, 5107 (West 2002 & Supp. 2009); 38 C.F.R. §§ 3.159, 3.361 (2009). REASONS AND BASES FOR FINDINGS AND CONCLUSION Preliminary Matters The Board notes at the outset that, in accord with the Veterans Claims Assistance Act of 2000 (VCAA), VA has an obligation to notify claimants what information or evidence is needed in order to substantiate a claim, as well as a duty to assist claimants by making reasonable efforts to get the evidence needed. See 38 U.S.C.A. §§ 5100, 5102, 5103, 5103A and 5107 (West 2002 & Supp. 2009); 38 C.F.R. §§ 3.102, 3.156(a), 3.159, 3.326(a) (2009); see also Quartuccio v. Principi, 16 Vet. App. 183, 187 (2002). The Court has held that adequate notice, as required by 38 U.S.C. § 5103(a), must be provided to a claimant before the initial unfavorable agency of original jurisdiction decision on a claim for VA benefits. Pelegrini v. Principi, 18 Vet. App. 112, 120 (2004). In this case, the Veteran was sent pre-adjudication notice via a letter dated in March 2005, which is clearly prior to the May 2005 rating decision that is the subject of this appeal. He was also sent additional notification via a May 2007 letter, followed by readjudication of the appeal by an April 2010 Supplemental Statement of the Case which "cures" the timing problem associated with inadequate notice or the lack of notice prior to the initial adjudication. Mayfield v. Nicholson, 20 Vet. App. 537 (2006) (Mayfield III), citing Mayfield II, 444 F.3d at 1333-34. Taken together, the aforementioned VCAA letters informed the Veteran of what was necessary to substantiate his current appellate claim, what information and evidence he must submit, what information and evidence will be obtained by VA, and the need for the Veteran to advise VA of or to submit any evidence in his possession that was relevant to the case. As such, this correspondence fully complied with the notice requirements of 38 U.S.C. § 5103(a) and 38 C.F.R. § 3.159(b), as well as the Court's holding in Quartuccio, supra. Moreover, the May 2007 letter included information regarding disability rating(s) and effective date(s) as mandated by the holding in Dingess v. Nicholson, 19 Vet. App. 473 (2006). (The Board notes that 38 C.F.R. § 3.159 was revised, effective May 30, 2008. See 73 Fed. Reg. 23353-56 (Apr. 30, 2008). The amendments apply to applications for benefits pending before VA on, or filed after, May 30, 2008. The amendments, among other things, removed the notice provision requiring VA to request the veteran to provide any evidence in the veteran's possession that pertains to the claim. See 38 C.F.R. § 3.159(b)(1).) All the law requires is that the duty to notify is satisfied and that claimants are given the opportunity to submit information and evidence in support of their claims. Once this has been accomplished, all due process concerns have been satisfied. See Bernard v. Brown, 4 Vet. App. 384 (1993); Sutton v. Brown, 9 Vet. App. 553 (1996); see also 38 C.F.R. § 20.1102 (harmless error). In view of the foregoing, the Board finds that the Veteran was notified and aware of the evidence needed to substantiate his 38 U.S.C.A. § 1151 claim and the avenues through which he might obtain such evidence, and of the allocation of responsibilities between himself and VA in obtaining such evidence. Accordingly, there is no further duty to notify. In addition, the Board finds that the duty to assist a claimant in the development of his or her case has been satisfied. The Veteran has had the opportunity to present evidence and argument in support of his claim, to include at the July 2006 Board hearing. Various records were obtained and considered in conjunction with this case, and nothing indicates the Veteran has identified the existence of any other relevant evidence that has not been obtained or requested. Moreover, he was accorded VA medical examinations regarding this case in May 2005 and February 2010, the latter of which included an opinion that addressed the criteria for compensation under 38 U.S.C.A. § 1151. As this opinion was based upon both a medical evaluation of the Veteran, and an accurate understanding of his medical history based upon review of his VA claims folder, the Board finds it is supported by an adequate foundation. No competent medical evidence is of record which specifically refutes the findings of the February 2010 VA examination, and the Veteran has not otherwise identified any prejudice therein. Accordingly, the Board finds that this examination is adequate for resolution of this case. Consequently, the Board finds that the duty to assist the Veteran has been satisfied in this case. The Board notes that it has thoroughly reviewed the record in conjunction with this case. Although the Board has an obligation to provide reasons and bases supporting this decision, there is no need to discuss, in detail, the extensive evidence submitted by the appellant or on his behalf. See Gonzales v. West, 218 F.3d 1378, 1380-81 (Fed. Cir. 2000) (the Board must review the entire record, but does not have to discuss each piece of evidence). Rather, the Board's analysis below will focus specifically on what the evidence shows, or fails to show, on the claims. See Timberlake v. Gober, 14 Vet. App. 122, 129 (2000) (noting that the Board must analyze the credibility and probative value of the evidence, account for the evidence which it finds to be persuasive or unpersuasive, and provide the reasons for its rejection of any material evidence favorable to the claimant). When there is an approximate balance of positive and negative evidence regarding any issue material to the determination of a matter, the benefit of the doubt shall be given to the claimant. 38 U.S.C.A. § 5107(b). When a reasonable doubt arises regarding service origin, such doubt will be resolved in the favor of the claimant. Reasonable doubt is doubt which exists because of an approximate balance of positive and negative evidence which does not satisfactorily prove or disprove the claim. 38 C.F.R. § 3.102. The question is whether the evidence supports the claim or is in relative equipoise, with the claimant prevailing in either event, or whether a fair preponderance of the evidence is against the claim, in which event the claim must be denied. Gilbert v. Derwinski, 1 Vet. App. 49, 54 (1990). Legal Criteria Under the current provisions of 38 U.S.C.A. § 1151 compensation shall be awarded for a qualifying additional disability or a qualifying death of a veteran in the same manner as if such additional disability or death were service-connected. For purposes of this section, a disability or death is a qualifying additional disability or qualifying death if the disability or death was not the result of the veteran's willful misconduct and- (1) the disability or death was caused by hospital care, medical or surgical treatment, or examination furnished the veteran under any law administered by the Secretary, either by a Department employee or in a Department facility as defined in section 1701(3)(A) of this title, and the proximate cause of the disability or death was: (A) carelessness, negligence, lack of proper skill, error in judgment, or similar instance of fault on the part of the Department in furnishing the hospital care, medical or surgical treatment, or examination; or (B) an event not reasonably foreseeable. From the plain language of the statute, it is clear that to establish entitlement to Section 1151 benefits, these factors must be shown: (1) Disability/additional disability; (2) that VA hospitalization, treatment, surgery, examination, or training was the cause of such disability; and (3) that there was an element of fault on the part of VA in providing the treatment, hospitalization, surgery, etc., or that the disability resulted from an event not reasonably foreseeable. The regulation implementing 38 U.S.C.A. § 1151, 38 C.F.R. § 3.361, in pertinent part also provides that (1) Care, treatment, or examination. To establish that carelessness, negligence, lack of proper skill, error in judgment, or similar instance of fault on VA's part in furnishing hospital care, medical or surgical treatment, or examination proximately caused a veteran's additional disability or death, it must be shown that the hospital care, medical or surgical treatment, or examination caused the veteran's additional disability or death (as explained in paragraph (c) of this section); and (i) VA failed to exercise the degree of care that would be expected of a reasonable health care provider . . . . 38 C.F.R. § 3.361(d). Analysis The Veteran essentially contends that he incurred his left shoulder disorder due to VA physical therapy in September 2002. Specifically, in the course of receiving physical therapy at a VAMC for his knee disabilities, he was told to mount an exercise bicycle in spite of the fact that he clearly indicated to the attending VA therapist or technician that he could not lift his leg high enough to do that. He contends that he fell and injured his left shoulder while mounting the exercise bicycle at the direction of that VA clinical employee, and that this occurred after the clearly indicated warning by the Veteran that he was unable to so mount the bicycle. That injury to his left shoulder, he furthermore recounts, tore the rotator cuff in his left shoulder and required surgical treatment. A VA physical therapy treatment record dated in September 2002, includes the Veteran's complaint that he hurt his left shoulder while mounting an exercise bicycle during physical therapy at a VAMC. A September 2002 Kinesiotherapist's note recorded the finding that the Veteran had slipped on a bicycle pedal while attempting to mount the bicycle, after which the patient's left arm fell into a stationary bicycle arm guard. Ice was applied to his left shoulder for 30 minutes, after which no increased symptoms were detected. Also on file is a March 2004 incident report the Veteran filed with VA regarding the circumstances of this injury. An October 2002 rehabilitation medicine outpatient consult notes that the Veteran had reported to an emergency room subsequent to the injury occurring. The October 2002 VA treatment record also records the findings of an X-ray of the left shoulder. The examination was suboptimal secondary to underpenetration. No gross fracture was found. However, there were degenerative changes along the superior lateral aspect of the humoral head. A review of radiographs from a VA orthopedic evaluation conducted the previous day revealed some changes around the greater tuberosity sufficient to suggest possible cuff avulsion. The problem assessed at the time was pain and limitation of motion of the left shoulder secondary to biceptal tendonitis. A partial tear of the cuff, it was stated then, could not be excluded. In October 2003, the Veteran underwent outpatient surgery for the repair of the left rotator cuff. The operation performed included left shoulder diagnostic arthroscopy, left shoulder arthroscopic subacromial decompression, and left shoulder arthroscopic rotator cuff repair. Post-operative diagnoses were left shoulder impairment syndrome and left shoulder full thickness rotator cuff tear. A May 2005 VA examination of the Veteran's left shoulder recorded the Veteran's complaint that his condition had become progressively worse since the injury. X-ray findings of the left shoulder taken at the time revealed a surgical device at the humoral head; no arthritic changes were noted. Diagnosis was left rotator cuff tear with surgical repair. Initially, the Board notes that, as detailed above, there appears to be no dispute that the Veteran sustained a left shoulder injury while attempting to mount a stationary bicycle while undergoing physical therapy at a VAMC. Further, there is no indication of a left shoulder disability prior to this injury, no other injuries are demonstrated in the record, and the Veteran underwent surgery for left rotator cuff tear subsequent to the September 2002 injury. As such, the Board finds that the first two elements necessary for compensation under 38 U.S.C.A. § 1151 are met: (1) disability/additional disability; and (2) VA hospitalization, treatment, surgery, examination, or training was the cause of such disability. Therefore, the resolution of this claim depends upon whether the third element is satisfied: (3) that there was an element of fault on the part of VA in providing the treatment, hospitalization, surgery, etc., or that the disability resulted from an event not reasonably foreseeable. In this case, the Board finds that the left shoulder injury incurred as a result of the September 2002 VA physical therapy was not the result of carelessness, negligence, lack of proper skill, error in judgment, or lack or appropriate supervision. No competent medical opinion appears to be of record to that effect to include the May 2005 VA examination. In fact, no opinion had been requested at the May 2005 VA examination, nor was one proffered; and the examiner reported that the claims file was not reviewed. Consequently, the Board remanded this case for a new examination and opinion to address the requisite elements of this 38 U.S.C.A. § 1151 claim. In accord with the Board's remand directives, the Veteran underwent a new VA medical examination in February 2010. Diagnosis was left shoulder rotator cuff tear and impingement syndrome. Following evaluation of the Veteran and review of his VA claims folder, the examiner opined that it was less likely as not that the Veteran's left shoulder disorder was attributable to carelessness, negligence, lack of proper skill, error in judgment, or any fault of the VA treatment providers. The examiner stated that this was an unfortunate event, but essentially what occurred was an accident, and the examiner believed it was not the fault of the VA or any of the providers at the VA. To substantiate this opinion, the examiner noted the Veteran had the exact same condition occur in 2005 when he was getting out of the bathtub and fell and tore his right rotator cuff, apparently when he had some sort of contact with the toilet after falling. The examiner also stated that the Veteran was susceptible to falls, and believed that the susceptibility was most likely secondary to morbid obesity, which was a problem list and was seen on examination. Moreover, the examiner emphasized there was no data whatsoever to say there was any sort of negligence or this was the fault of VA. Essentially what happed is that the Veteran fell and it was an accident, but no one at VA was to blame just like no one was to blame when he injured his right shoulder. The Board acknowledges that the February 2010 VA examiner's opinion did not explicitly state whether the Veteran's left shoulder injury was due to an event not reasonably foreseeable. However, the examiner did note this element as part of the question he was asked to answer. As such, he was aware of this issue, and it appears that this element was included as part of his description of fault on the part of the VA. Such an interpretation is consistent with the relevant regulatory provisions, and the Board's own description of the elements of a 38 U.S.C.A. § 1151 claim detailed above. Moreover, the examiner emphasis on the injury being an accident goes to a finding that the VA therapist in this case did exercise the degree of care that would be expected of a reasonable health care provider. Consequently, the examiner's opinion is sufficient to address all elements of this U.S.C.A. § 1151 claim. No competent medical evidence is of record which refutes the conclusions of the February 2010 VA medical examiner, to include the rationale in support thereof. In view of the foregoing, the Board finds that the preponderance of the evidence is against a finding that there was an element of fault on the part of VA in providing the treatment, hospitalization, surgery, etc., in this case or that the left shoulder disability resulted from an event not reasonably foreseeable. Therefore, the preponderance of the evidence is against the claim of entitlement to compensation under 38 U.S.C.A. § 1151, and it must be denied. As the preponderance of the evidence is against this claim, the benefit of the doubt doctrine is not for application in the instant case. See generally Gilbert, supra; Ortiz v. Principi, 274 F. 3d 1361 (Fed. Cir. 2001). ORDER Entitlement to compensation under 38 U.S.C.A. § 1151 for left shoulder rotator cuff repair with surgical repair is denied. ____________________________________________ C. TRUEBA Veterans Law Judge, Board of Veterans' Appeals Department of Veterans Affairs