Citation Nr: 1036136 Decision Date: 09/24/10 Archive Date: 09/30/10 DOCKET NO. 08-09 009 ) DATE ) ) On appeal from the Department of Veterans Affairs Regional Office in Los Angeles, California THE ISSUES 1. Entitlement to an evaluation in excess of 10 percent for residual status post right shoulder wound, with C5-C6 nerve damage causing paresthesias of the right hand and wrist. 2. Entitlement to an evaluation in excess of 30 percent for scars of the right scapular area and superior lateral aspects of the right shoulder, with moderately severe injury of muscle group II. REPRESENTATION Appellant represented by: Disabled American Veterans WITNESSES AT HEARING ON APPEAL The appellant and his daughter-in-law ATTORNEY FOR THE BOARD T. L. Anderson, Associate Counsel INTRODUCTION The Veteran had active service from January 1943 to January 1946, and received a Purple Heart. This matter comes before the Board of Veterans' Appeals (BVA or Board) from a May 2007 rating decision by the above Department of Veterans Affairs (VA) Regional Office (RO). The Veteran provided testimony at a January 2010 Travel Board hearing before the undersigned at the RO. A hearing transcript is associated with the claims folder. This appeal has been advanced on the Board's docket pursuant to 38 U.S.C.A. § 7107(a)(2) (West 2002); 38 C.F.R. § 20.900(c) (2010). FINDINGS OF FACT 1. The preponderance of the competent evidence of record demonstrates mild, and not moderate, neuritis of the median nerve. 2. During the January 2010 hearing before the Board, prior to the promulgation of a decision in the appeal, the Veteran indicated that he wished to withdraw his claim of entitlement to an evaluation in excess of 30 percent for scars of the right scapular area and superior lateral aspects of the right shoulder, with moderately severe injury of muscle group II. CONCLUSIONS OF LAW 1. The criteria for entitlement to an evaluation in excess of 10 percent for residual status post right shoulder wound, with C5-C6 nerve damage causing paresthesias of the right hand and wrist, have not been met. 38 U.S.C.A. §§ 1155, 5103(a), 5103A, 5107(b) (West 2002); 38 C.F.R. §§ 3.102, 3.159, 4.124a, Diagnostic Code 8615 (2010). 2. The criteria for withdrawal of an appeal by the Veteran (or his or her authorized representative) have been met with regard to the issue of entitlement to an evaluation in excess of 30 percent for scars of the right scapular area and superior lateral aspects of the right shoulder, with moderately severe injury of muscle group II. 38 U.S.C.A. § 7105(b)(2), (d)(5) (West 2002 & Supp. 2010); 38 C.F.R. § 20.204 (2010). REASONS AND BASES FOR FINDINGS AND CONCLUSIONS I. Duty to Notify and Assist The Veterans Claims Assistance Act of 2000 (VCAA) enhanced VA's duty to notify and assist claimants in substantiating a claim for VA benefits, as codified in pertinent part at 38 U.S.C.A. §§ 5103, 5103A, 5107, 5126 (West 2002 & Supp. 2009); 38 C.F.R. §§ 3.102, 3.159, 3.326(a) (2009). Upon receipt of a complete or substantially complete application for benefits, VA is required to notify the claimant and his representative of any information, and any medical or lay evidence, that is necessary to substantiate the claim. 38 U.S.C.A. § 5103(a); 38 C.F.R. § 3.159(b); Quartuccio v. Principi, 16 Vet. App. 183 (2002). Proper notice from VA must inform the claimant of any information and evidence not of record (1) that is necessary to substantiate the claim; (2) that VA will seek to provide; and (3) that the claimant is expected to provide, in accordance with 38 C.F.R. § 3.159(b)(1). This notice must be provided prior to an initial unfavorable decision on a claim by the RO. Mayfield v. Nicholson, 444 F.3d 1328 (Fed. Cir. 2006); Pelegrini v. Principi, 18 Vet. App. 112 (2004). In addition, the decision of the U.S. Court of Appeals for Veterans Claims, in Dingess v. Nicholson, 19 Vet. App. 473 (2006) requires more extensive notice in claims for compensation, e.g., as to potential downstream issues such as disability rating and effective date. In a claim for increase, the VCAA requirement is generic notice, that is, the type of evidence needed to substantiate the claim, namely, evidence demonstrating a worsening or increase in severity of the disability and the effect that worsening has on employment and earning capacity, as well as general notice regarding how disability ratings and effective dates are assigned. Vazquez-Flores v. Shinseki, 580 F.3d 1270 (2009). See Dingess v. Nicholson, supra. The U.S. Supreme Court has held that an error in VCAA notice should not be presumed prejudicial, and that the burden of showing harmful error rests with the party raising the issue, to be determined on a case-by-case basis. Shinseki v. Sanders, 129 S. Ct. 1696 (2009). In this case, the appellant has not demonstrated any prejudicial or harmful error in VCAA notice, and, as discussed herein, the Board has identified none. A letter was sent to the Veteran in April 2007, prior to the initial RO decision which is the subject of this appeal. The letter informed him of what evidence was required to substantiate the claims, and of his and VA's respective duties for obtaining evidence. The letter informed the Veteran that VA would assist him in obtaining evidence necessary to support his claim, such as medical records, employment records, or records from other Federal agencies. It described what the evidence should show, including how the claimed disability had worsened in severity. Although no longer required, the Veteran was also asked to submit evidence and/or information in his possession to the RO. In addition, the letter described how VA determines disability ratings and effective dates. It is acknowledged that the VCAA letter sent to the Veteran in April 2007 does not appear to fully satisfy the requirements of Vasquez-Flores, in that it did not specify that the evidence should show how the disability affected the Veteran's employment. Therefore, to this extent, the duty to notify was not satisfied prior to the initial unfavorable decision on the claim by the RO. Under such circumstances, VA's duty to notify may not be satisfied solely by various post-decisional communications. See Mayfield v. Nicholson, supra, 444 F.3d at 1333. Rather, such notice errors may instead be cured by issuance of a fully compliant notice, followed by readjudication of the claim. Mayfield, supra; see also Prickett v. Nicholson, 20 Vet. App. 370, 376 (2006) (issuance of a fully compliant VCAA notification followed by readjudication of the claim, such as a in a Statement of the Case (SOC) or Supplemental SOC (SSOC), is sufficient to cure a timing defect). Moreover, where there is an uncured timing defect in the notice, subsequent action by the RO which provides the claimant a meaningful opportunity to participate in the processing of the claim can prevent any such defect from being prejudicial. Mayfield v. Nicholson, 499 F.3d 1317, 1323-24 (Fed. Cir. 2007); Prickett, supra, 20 Vet. App. at 376. In this case, the February 2008 included the regulations related to how the Veteran's disability would be evaluated, including the Rating Schedule provisions specific to the Veteran's disability. In addition, a letter was sent to the Veteran in August 2008 that complied with the Vasquez-Flores notice requirements, advising him that the Board would consider evidence showing how his disabilities affect his employment. The claim was subsequently re-adjudicated in the May 2009 SSOC. In addition, the May 2007 rating decision, February 2008 SOC, and May 2009 SSOC explained the basis for the RO's action, and the SOC and SSOC provided him with additional 60-day periods to submit more evidence. Thus, the Board finds that the requirements of 38 U.S.C.A. § 5103(a) and 38 C.F.R. § 3.159(b) regarding VA's duty to notify and assist, including the requirements set forth by the Court in Dingess and Vasquez- Flores have been satisfied. The Board notes that,at the January 2010 Board hearing, the Veteran testified that he had received acupuncture treatment from Dr. Y.S.L. He provided the doctor's address and signed a waiver of initial review by the RO of those records. A request was sent for the records and it appears that the RO received a response that included some records that do not relate to the Veteran's shoulder injury. Also, the Board notes that the claims file includes an April 2007 letter from Dr. Y.S.L. Thus, the Board finds that no further attempts to obtain Dr. Y.S.L.'s records are necessary, as there is sufficient information regarding his treatment in the claims file. Thus, the Board finds that no further notice or assistance to the Veteran is required to fulfill VA's duty to assist the appellant in the development of the claim. Smith v. Gober, 14 Vet. App. 227 (2000), aff'd, 281 F.3d 1384 (Fed. Cir. 2002); Dela Cruz v. Principi, 15 Vet. App. 143 (2001); see also Quartuccio v. Principi, 16 Vet. App. 183 (2002). Rather, it appears further development would serve no useful purpose and would result in unnecessarily imposing additional burdens on VA with no benefit flowing to the Veteran. See Soyini v. Derwinski, 1 Vet. App. 540, 546 (1991); Sabonis v. Brown, 6 Vet. App. 426, 430 (1994). II. Increased Rating A. Applicable Law Disability ratings are determined by applying the criteria set forth in the VA's Schedule for Rating Disabilities (rating schedule), which is based upon the average impairment of earning capacity. Individual disabilities are assigned separate diagnostic codes. See 38 C.F.R. § 4.1. In addition, where there is a question as to which of two evaluations shall be applied, the higher evaluation will be assigned if the disability picture more nearly approximates the criteria required for that rating. Otherwise, the lower rating will be assigned. See 38 C.F.R. § 4.7 (2010). In determining the disability evaluation, VA has a duty to acknowledge and consider all regulations which are potentially applicable based upon the assertions and issues raised in the record and to explain the reasons used to support the conclusion. Schafrath v. Derwinski, 1 Vet. App. 589 (1991). These regulations include, but are not limited to, 38 C.F.R. § 4.1, which requires that each disability be viewed in relation to its history and that there be an emphasis placed upon the limitation of activity imposed by the disabling condition, and 38 C.F.R. § 4.2, which requires that medical reports be interpreted in light of the whole recorded history, and that each disability must be considered from the point of view of the veteran working or seeking work. Additionally, 38 C.F.R. § 4.10 provides that the basis of disability evaluations is the ability of the body as a whole to function under the ordinary conditions of daily life, including employment. These requirements for the evaluation of the complete medical history of the claimant's condition operate to protect claimants against adverse decision based upon a single, incomplete, or inaccurate report, and to enable VA to make a more precise evaluation of the disability level and any changes in the condition. As is the case here, where entitlement to compensation has already been established and an increase in the disability rating is at issue, it is the present level of disability that is of primary concern. See Francisco v. Brown, 7 Vet. App. 55, 58 (1994). Nevertheless, where the evidence contains factual findings that show a change in the severity of symptoms during the course of the rating period on appeal, assignment of staged ratings would be permissible. Hart v. Mansfield, 21 Vet. App. 505 (2007). As to nerve damage (the issue being decided herein), the Veteran's disability has been evaluated under Diagnostic Code (DC) 8516, found in the Schedule of Ratings for Diseases of the Peripheral Nerves. 38 C.F.R. § 4.124a. DC 8516 addresses neuritis of the median nerve. A 10 percent evaluation is assigned where there is mild incomplete paralysis, neuritis, or neuralgia of the median nerve of the major or minor extremity. A 30 percent evaluation is assigned for moderate incomplete paralysis of the median nerve of the major upper extremity. A 50 percent evaluation for the major extremity requires severe incomplete paralysis. 38 C.F.R. § 4.124a, DCs 8515, 8615, 8715. It is the Board's responsibility to evaluate the entire record on appeal. See 38 U.S.C.A. § 7104(a). When there is an approximate balance in the evidence regarding the merits of an issue material to the determination of the matter, the benefit of the doubt in resolving each such issue shall be given to the claimant. 38 U.S.C.A. § 5107(b); 38 C.F.R. § 3.102. In Gilbert v. Derwinski, 1 Vet. App. 49, 53 (1990), the Court of Appeals for Veterans Claims held that an appellant need only demonstrate that there is an "approximate balance of positive and negative evidence" in order to prevail. The Court has also stated, "It is clear that to deny a claim on its merits, the evidence must preponderate against the claim." Alemany v. Brown, 9 Vet. App. 518, 519 (1996), citing Gilbert. B. Facts and Analysis 1. Right Hand and Wrist While involved in combat operations against the enemy in Germany in April 1945, the Veteran sustained a perforating shrapnel wound from artillery fire, with entrance at the border of the trapezius near the right shoulder and exit over the body of the right scapula. The wound was initially dressed at an evacuation hospital. He then underwent debridement and suturing at the 177th General Hospital, and after recuperation was returned to duty in May 1945. Separation examination in January 1946 noted scarring of the right scapular area, on the superior and lateral aspects, noted to have been incurred in military service; the scars were noted to be nonsymptomatic and nondisabling. The Veteran currently has a 30 percent disability rating in effect for the wound residuals including the moderately severe damage to muscle group II on the right, evaluated under Diagnostic Code 5302. As noted below herein, the appeal as to that aspect of his disability has been withdrawn. The Veteran contends that his right hand and wrist disability has become more disabling than indicated by the currently assigned rating. He was granted service connection for a wound to his right shoulder in a March 1946 rating decision. He filed a request for an increased rating in September 2004. He was granted service connection for residuals of the right shoulder wound, to include damage to the C5-C6 nerve causing paresthesias of the right hand and wrist, in a June 2005 rating decision. A 10 percent evaluation was assigned, effective from September 3, 2004, the date the Veteran's claim for an increased evaluation was received. He filed a request for an increased rating in February 2007, and an increase was denied in the May 2007 rating decision that is the subject of this appeal. The Board will begin by reviewing the medical evidence relevant to the rating period on appeal. In February 2007, Dr. R.F. wrote a short note stating that the Veteran's right shoulder injury had increased in severity from a level of 3 out of 10 to a level of 7 or 8 out of 10. Also included in the claims file is an April 2007 letter from Dr. Y.S.L., of Young's Health Center. Dr. Y.S.L. provided acupuncture treatments for the Veteran's shoulder twice a week from October 2006 to April 2007. The doctor wrote that the Veteran's main complaint was right shoulder pain (trapezius superior fibers and deltoid). Sensory nerves were noted to be intact. Before starting treatment, the Veteran's pain was at a level of 5 out of 10 in severity. After continued acupuncture treatment, the Veteran stated that the treatment was working, but he continued to experienced shoulder pain at night. The doctor noted tenderness in the trapezius superior fibers and deltoid muscle. He assessed shoulder joint pain and arthritis. The goal of the acupuncture was to reduce pain and promote better circulation in the Veteran's body. The doctor recommended exercise for the shoulder and ongoing acupuncture. Later that month, the Veteran was afforded a VA examination. It was noted that he was working as an insurance agent for State Farm, where he had been working for the last 52 years. He reported recurrent pain from the muscles inserting into his right shoulder, primarily located in the anterior and superior aspect of the shoulder. This pain occurred once or twice weekly, lasting for 2 or 3 hours each time. He also reported loss of strength in the right upper extremity, but he could control his movement. His main problem was weakness in utilizing his right arm repetitively above the right shoulder level, and he had some decreased sensation in his right hand. The only treatment he received was acupuncture treatments once or twice a month. On physical examination, there was sensory deficit to pinprick in the right arm in the lateral aspect of the right lower biceps and right lateral forearm areas in the distribution of the C5-C6 dermatomes. The decreased sensation in the right arm corresponded to the distribution of the lateral cutaneous nerve of the arm and forearm. Motor power was at a level of 4/5 in muscle groups I and II. The Veteran was able to tie his shoelaces, fasten buttons, and pick up a piece of paper and tear it with both hands without difficulty. The tips of all fingers could approximate the proximal transverse crease of the palms, bilaterally. The tip of the thumb and thumb pad opposed all fingers. The Veteran's hand strength was normal. There was no ankylosis to either thumb joint, and range of motion of the thumbs was normal. The examiner assessed a shrapnel injury to the right shoulder with peripheral nerve injury to the C5-C6 peripheral nerves. A May 2008 Sepulveda VA Medical Center (VAMC) note indicates that the Veteran had right hand immobility with residual weakness following a stroke in 1985. He continued to report chronic right shoulder pain. He had a neurology clinic consultation that month in which a motor examination revealed mild pronation of the right hand. Sensory examination showed reduced pinprick sensation in a glove patter to the mid-wrist on the right. The right hand also had agraphesthesia, an inability to recognize writing on the skin purely by the sensation of touch. A May 2009 VAMC note indicates the Veteran was using a walking cane in his right hand. At his January 2010 hearing, the Veteran testified that every morning he ran his hands under hot water and massaged them for 5 to 10 minutes to make sure they were functioning well. Additionally, he massaged his hands throughout the day when they would get tired. He painted and decorated birdhouses as a hobby, lifted some weights, walked around his pool 25 times daily, and exercised on a stationary bike. He further testified that he never wears shoes with laces. The Veteran's daughter-in-law also testified at the hearing, and stated that she could tell that the Veteran's shoulder caused him pain during the day. She would see him stretching or moving his right shoulder. Additionally, the Veteran was unable to put cups back up in the cupboard, and had to sit down and rest after doing an activity for awhile. It was noted that the Veteran's son and daughter-in-law lived with him to help him out with daily chores due to the Veteran's various medical problems. Based on the foregoing, the Board finds that the criteria for an evaluation in excess of 10 percent for residuals of a right shoulder injury involving the C5-C6 nerves causing paresthesias in the right hand and wrist have not been met. As described above, the next higher 30 percent evaluation under DC 8615 is assigned where there is moderate incomplete paralysis of the median nerve. The evidence is against a finding of moderate incomplete paralysis. At the April 2007 VA examination, the Veteran was able to tear a piece of paper (which he testified he was able to do at the January 2010 Board hearing), the tips of all fingers could approximate the proximal transverse crease of the palm, the tip of the thumb and thumb pad opposed all fingers, and his hand strength was normal. Also, the Veteran was seen using a cane in his right hand in May 2009. Although the evidence demonstrates some decreased sensation in the right hand, as demonstrated by reduced pinprick sensation in a glove pattern to the mid-wrist and agraphesthesia at a May 2008 VAMC evaluation, the overall disability picture more nearly approximates the currently assigned 10 percent evaluation under DC 8615. The Board has considered whether any alternative diagnostic codes would allow for an increased rating. The April 2007 VA examiner assessed damage to the cutaneous nerve of the right arm. However, DCs 8517, 8617, and 8717, which address damage to the musculocutaneous nerve, only allow for a 0 percent rating for mild incomplete paralysis, neuritis, and neuralgia, and a 10 percent evaluation where the damage is moderate. There is no evidence that the Veteran has severe incomplete paralysis of the cutaneous nerve, and thus, DCs 8517, 8617, and 8717 would not allow for an increased rating. There are no other applicable diagnostic codes. The Board has also considered the complaints of tiredness and functional limitation detailed above, and acknowledges that the Veteran is competent to give evidence about the symptoms he has experienced. See Layno v. Brown, 6 Vet. App. 465 (1994). However, the evidence does not demonstrate a disability picture warranting higher than the currently assigned 10 percent rating. In addition to the foregoing, the Board has considered whether the Veteran's service-connected right hand and wrist disability warrants an increased rating on an extra-schedular basis. The governing criteria for the award of an extra-schedular rating call for a finding that the case presents such an exceptional or unusual disability picture, with such related factors as marked inference with employment or frequent periods of hospitalization, as to render impractical the application of the regular schedular standards. In these instances, the RO is authorized to refer the case to the Under Secretary for Benefits or the Director, Compensation and Pension Service, for assignment of an extra- schedular evaluation commensurate with average earning capacity impairment. 38 C.F.R. § 3.321(b)(1). In this case, frequent hospitalization has not been shown. Further, the Veteran testified at the January 2010 Board hearing that he continued to work full-time as an insurance agent and did not report missing work due to his disability. Moreover, the Court has held that, "if the criteria reasonably describe the claimant's disability level and symptomatology, then the claimant's disability picture is contemplated by the rating schedule, the assigned schedular evaluation is, therefore, adequate, and no referral is required." Thun v. Peake, 22 Vet. App. 111, 115 (2008). Thus, the evidence does not indicate that application of the regular schedular standards is rendered impracticable, and referral for consideration of an extra- schedular evaluation under 38 C.F.R. § 3.321 is not warranted. 2. Right Shoulder The Board may dismiss any appeal which fails to allege specific error of fact or law in the determination being appealed. 38 U.S.C.A. § 7105. An appeal may be withdrawn as to any or all issues involved in the appeal at any time before the Board promulgates a decision. Withdrawal may be made by the appellant or by his or her authorized representative. 38 C.F.R. § 20.204. In the present case, the Veteran withdrew his appeal on the issue of entitlement to an evaluation in excess of 30 percent for scars of the right scapular area and superior lateral aspects of the right shoulder, moderately severe injury of muscle group II, at the January 2010 Travel Board hearing, and, hence, there remain no allegations of errors of fact or law for appellate consideration. Accordingly, the Board does not have jurisdiction to review the appeal of this issue, and it is dismissed. ORDER Entitlement to an evaluation in excess of 10 percent for residual status post right shoulder wound, C5-C6 nerve damage causing paresthesias of the right hand and wrist, is denied. A claim of entitlement to an evaluation in excess of 30 percent for scars of the right scapular area and superior lateral aspects of the right shoulder, moderately severe injury of muscle group II, is dismissed. ___________________________ ANDREW J. MULLEN Veterans Law Judge, Board of Veterans' Appeals Department of Veterans Affairs