Citation Nr: 1038037 Decision Date: 10/07/10 Archive Date: 10/15/10 DOCKET NO. 06-16 740 ) DATE ) ) On appeal from the Department of Veterans Affairs Regional Office in Providence, Rhode Island THE ISSUE Entitlement to service connection for a right ankle disability. REPRESENTATION Veteran represented by: Disabled American Veterans ATTORNEY FOR THE BOARD Jebby Rasputnis, Associate Counsel INTRODUCTION The Veteran served on active duty from May 1955 to April 1957. This matter was last before the Board of Veterans' Appeals (Board) in July 2009, on appeal of a January 2006 rating decision of the Providence, Rhode Island Regional Office (RO) of the Department of Veterans Affairs (VA). The Board remanded the claim in May 2009 for the provision of a VA examination and additional notice to the Veteran; in July 2009 the claim was remanded again for the requested examination. FINDINGS OF FACT 1. The Veteran has an old healed fracture of the medial malleolous of the right ankle which results in some pain and mild limitation of motion. 2. The Veteran fractured his ankle prior to service, but experienced pain and swelling of the ankle in service due to performance of his duties. 3. The Veteran's pre-existing right ankle injury was aggravated by active duty service. CONCLUSION OF LAW The criteria for service connection for a right ankle disability have been approximated. 38 U.S.C.A §§ 1110, 1131, 5107 (West 2002 and Supp. 2009); 38 C.F.R. §§ 3.102, 3.303 (2009). REASONS AND BASES FOR FINDINGS AND CONCLUSION Duties to Assist and Notify The Board has considered the Veterans Claims Assistance Act of 2000 (VCAA), codified at 38 U.S.C.A. §§ 5100, 5102, 5103, 5103A, 5106, 5107, 5126 (West 2002 & Supp. 2009), and implemented by 38 C.F.R. §§ 3.102, 3.156(a), 3.159, 3.326(a) (2009). Under the VCAA, VA has a duty to notify the Veteran of any information and evidence needed to substantiate and complete a claim. As the Board has granted the full benefit sought with respect to the issue decided on appeal, there is no prejudice to the Veteran under VA's duties to notify and assist. As such, any error in the sequence of events or content of the notice is not shown to have affected the essential fairness of the adjudication or to cause injury to the claimant. See Shinseki v. Sanders, 129 S. Ct. 1696 (2009). Service Connection Claim The Veteran seeks service connection for a right ankle disability, claimed as a pre-existing injury that was aggravated by his service. Specifically, he contends, through his authorized representative, that he broke his ankle prior to service, but re-injured it during service while parachuting and subsequently experienced pain. The benefit of the doubt rule provides that a veteran will prevail in a case where the positive evidence is in a relative balance with the negative evidence. Therefore, a veteran prevails in a claim when (1) the weight of the evidence supports the claim or (2) when the evidence is in equipoise. It is only when the weight of the evidence is against a veteran's claim that the claim must be denied. 38 U.S.C.A. § 5107(b); 38 C.F.R. § 3.102; Gilbert v. Derwinski, 1 Vet. App. 49 (1990). Having carefully considered the Veteran's contentions in light of the evidence of record and the applicable law, the Board finds that the weight of such evidence is in approximate balance and the claim will be granted on this basis. 38 U.S.C.A. § 5107(b); Alemany v. Brown, 9 Vet. App. 518 (1996); Brown v. Brown, 5 Vet. App. 413 (1993) (Under the "benefit-of-the-doubt" rule, where there exists "an approximate balance of positive and negative evidence regarding the merits of an issue material to the determination of the matter," the claimant shall prevail upon the issue). In general, service connection may be granted for disability or injury incurred in or aggravated by active military service. 38 U.S.C.A. § 1110 (West 2002); 38 C.F.R. § 3.303(a) (2009). Service connection may also be granted for disability shown after service, when all of the evidence, including that pertinent to service, shows that it was incurred in service. 38 C.F.R. § 3.303(d); Cosman v. Principi, 3 Vet. App. 303, 305 (1992). Establishing service connection generally requires (1) medical evidence of a current disability; (2) medical or, in certain circumstances, lay evidence of in-service incurrence or aggravation of a disease or injury; and (3) medical evidence of a nexus between the claimed in-service disease or injury and the present disability. Shedden v. Principi, 381 F.3d 1163, 1167 (Fed. Cir. 2004); see Caluza v. Brown, 7 Vet. App. 498, 506 (1995), aff'd per curiam, 78 F.3d 604 (Fed.Cir.1996) (table); see also Shedden v. Principi, 381 F.3d 1163, 1167 (Fed. Cir. 2004); Hickson v. West, 12 Vet. App. 247, 253 (1999); 38 C.F.R. § 3.303. Demonstration of continuity of symptomatology is an alternative method of establishing the second and third Shedden/Caluza element under 38 C.F.R. § 3.303(b). Barr v. Nicholson, 21 Vet. App. 303 (2007); see Savage v. Brown, 10 Vet. App. 488, 495-97 (1997); see also Clyburn v. West, 12 Vet. App. 296, 302 (1999). Continuity of symptomatology may be established if a claimant can demonstrate (1) that a condition was "noted" during service; (2) evidence of post-service continuity of the same symptomatology; and (3) medical or, in certain circumstances, lay evidence of a nexus between the present disability and the post- service symptomatology. Savage, 10 Vet. App. at 495-96; see Hickson, 12 Vet. App. at 253 (lay evidence of in-service incurrence sufficient in some circumstances for purposes of establishing service connection); 38 C.F.R. § 3.303(b). Generally, veterans are presumed to have entered service in sound health condition. See 38 U.S.C.A. § 1111 (West 2002). The presumption of soundness provides that a veteran shall be taken to have been in sound condition when examined, accepted, and enrolled for service, except as to defects, infirmities, or disorders noted at the time of examination, acceptance, and enrollment, or where clear and unmistakable evidence demonstrates that the injury or disease existed before acceptance and enrollment or was aggravated by such service. 38 C.F.R. § 3.304(b) (2009). VA's General Counsel has held that to rebut the presumption of sound condition, VA must show by clear and unmistakable evidence both that the disease or injury existed prior to service and that the disease or injury was not aggravated by service. The claimant is not required to show that the disease or injury increased in severity during service before VA's duty under the second prong of this rebuttal standard attaches. See VAOPGCPREC 3- 2003; see also Wagner v. Principi, 370 F. 3d 1089 (Fed. Cir. 2004). The Veteran's service treatment records reflect that prior to induction, in March 1955, he was noted to have a prior fracture of his right ankle as the result of a 1951 injury. As such, the presumption of soundness does not apply in regard to his right ankle and the Veteran must show that the disability increased in severity during service. Id. However, a pre-existing injury or disease will be considered to have been aggravated by active service where there is an increase in disability during such service, unless clear and unmistakable evidence shows that the increase in disability is due to the natural progress of the disease. See 38 U.S.C.A. § 1153 (West 2002); 38 C.F.R. § 3.306 (2009). "Clear and unmistakable evidence" is a more formidable evidentiary burden than the preponderance of the evidence standard. See Vanerson v. West, 12 Vet. App. 254, 258 (1999). It is an "onerous" evidentiary standard, requiring that the preexistence of a condition and the no-aggravation result be "undebatable." See Cotant v. West, 17 Vet. App. 116, 131 (2003) ((citing Laposky v. Brown, 4 Vet. App. 331, 334 (1993)). Aggravation may not be conceded where the disability underwent no increase in severity during service on the basis of all the evidence of record pertaining to the manifestations of the disability prior to, during, and subsequent to service. See 38 U.S.C.A. § 1153 (West 2002); 38 C.F.R. §§ 3.304, 3.306(b) (2009). A finding of aggravation is not appropriate in cases where the evidence specifically shows that the increase is due to the natural progress of the disease. Furthermore, temporary or intermittent flare-ups of a pre-existing disease during service are not sufficient to be considered aggravation of the disease unless the underlying condition, as contrasted to symptoms, worsens. See Jensen v. Brown, 4 Vet. App. 304, 306- 07 (1993); Hunt v. Derwinski, 1 Vet. App. 292 (1991). If the disorder becomes worse during service and then improves due to in-service treatment to the point that it was no more disabling than it was at entrance into service, the disorder is not presumed to have been aggravated by service. Verdon v. Brown, 8 Vet. App. 529 (1996). In September 1955, the Veteran was evaluated to determine whether or not he was physically qualified for airborne training. Although the record shows that he was physically disqualified from such training, he subsequently earned the parachutists badge. In October 1955, the Veteran reported for treatment of pain in his right ankle after a parachuting jump. In December 1955, an x-ray revealed the pre-existing healed fracture; an orthopedic treatment note states that there was a mass on his ankle, he was experiencing pain after the October 1955 parachute jump, and that he was prohibited from parachuting. In February 1956, the Veteran again reported for treatment of pain in his right ankle. In June 1956, the Veteran was seen again for right ankle complaints and was noted to have tenderness to palpation. In October 1958, a physician submitted a statement to VA that he treated the Veteran in September 1958 for pain and swelling of the right foot and ankle. An x-ray showed an un-united fracture of the internal mallelous. In October 2005, the Veteran received a private x-ray that showed no evidence of recent fracture, but a corticated bone density that was noted to be either a subtibial ossicle or an incompletely united fracture of the medial malleolous. An October 2005 private treatment note describes the x-ray as showing an old fracture with probable traumatic arthritis. The Veteran submitted a claim for service connection to VA in October 2005 stating that he fractured his ankle in service as the result of a parachute jump. A February 2007 private physician submitted an opinion to VA stating that the Veteran's current injuries were causally related to an in-service training accident. In November 2009, the Veteran was afforded a VA examination of his right ankle. The examiner noted that the Veteran was able to ambulate without difficulty, but there was evidence of self-use of an elastic ankle band. The Veteran did not have any palpable tenderness, but his range of motion was zero to 15 degrees of dorsiflexion with slight discomfort and plantar flexion of zero to 45 degrees; for VA purposes, normal plantar flexion of the ankle is from 0 to 45 degrees and normal dorsiflexion of the ankle is from 0 to 20 degrees. 38 C.F.R. § 4.71a, Plate II (2009). The Veteran reported progressive ankle pain that had interfered with prior employment, but the examiner noted no apparent functional impairment upon physical examination. Upon x-ray examination, the examiner diagnosed an old, healed fracture of the medial malleolus. As noted, a pre-existing injury or disease will be considered to have been aggravated by active service where there is an increase in disability during such service, unless clear and unmistakable evidence shows that the increase in disability is due to the natural progress of the disease. See 38 U.S.C.A. § 1153 (West 2002); 38 C.F.R. § 3.306. Here, service treatment records show that the Veteran was admitted to service with evidence of a healed right ankle fracture. Although he did not pass a physical qualification examination for airborne training, he was allowed to train as a parachutist and injured his right ankle during an October 1955 jump. He was observed to have a mass on his right ankle and complained of increased ankle pain on three (3) subsequent occasions during service. He was seen by a private physician for complaints of ankle pain and swelling approximately one (1) year and five (5) months after service. Due to the Veteran's in-service treatment record and post-service 1958 treatment, the Board finds that it is at least debatable whether or not his pre-existing ankle disability underwent aggravation during service. See Cotant, 17 Vet. App. at 131. Although the 2009 VA examiner noted no apparent functional limitation of the right ankle and only "mild" limited motion, even when a claimant is diagnosed with a disability and the severity of the disability lessens (even to the extent that it no longer impairs the claimant), a grant of service connection may be nonetheless appropriate if it is otherwise found to be linked by competent evidence or applicable presumption to some incident of military service. Ferenc v. Nicholson, 20 Vet. App. 58 (2006) (discussing the distinction in the terms "compensation," "rating," and "service connection" as, although related, each having a distinct meaning as specified by Congress). The question of severity is one of rating, not of service connection. Id. There can be no doubt that further medical inquiry could be undertaken with a view towards development of the claim. However, under the "benefit-of-the-doubt" rule, where there exists "an approximate balance of positive and negative evidence regarding the merits of an issue material to the determination of the matter," the Veteran shall prevail upon the issue. Ashley v. Brown, 6 Vet. App. 52, 59 (1993); see also Massey v. Brown, 7 Vet. App. 204, 206-207 (1994). The mandate to accord the benefit of the doubt is triggered when the evidence has reached such a stage of balance. In this matter, the Board is of the opinion that this point has been attained. Because a state of relative equipoise has been reached in this case, the benefit of the doubt rule will therefore be applied. See Alemany v. Brown, 9 Vet. App. 518, 519 (1996); Brown v. Brown, 5 Vet. App. 413, 421 (1993). As there is not clear and unmistakable evidence showing that the in-service increase in disability is due to natural progression (38 U.S.C.A. § 1153; 38 C.F.R. § 3.306) and the 1958 medical record reflects that the right ankle disability did not undergo both worsening and improvement during service to the point that it was no more disabling than it was at entrance into service (Verdon, 8 Vet. App. 529), the Board finds that, under the benefit-of-the-doubt rule, the Veteran is entitled to service connection for a right ankle disability. The claim is therefore granted, and the RO will determine an appropriate disability rating. ORDER Service connection for a right ankle disability, on the basis of aggravation, is granted. ____________________________________________ Vito A. Clementi Veterans Law Judge, Board of Veterans' Appeals Department of Veterans Affairs