Citation Nr: 1038076 Decision Date: 10/08/10 Archive Date: 10/15/10 DOCKET NO. 07-32 711 ) DATE ) ) On appeal from the Department of Veterans Affairs Regional Office in Atlanta, Georgia THE ISSUES 1. Entitlement to service connection for plantar fasciitis of the left foot. 2. Entitlement to service connection for fatigue and lightheadedness. 3. Entitlement to service connection for high cholesterol. 4. Entitlement to service connection for acute schizophrenic reaction. REPRESENTATION Appellant represented by: Georgia Department of Veterans Services WITNESS AT HEARING ON APPEAL The Veteran ATTORNEY FOR THE BOARD L. Barstow, Associate Counsel INTRODUCTION The Veteran had active military service from June 1974 to July 1979 and from November 1990 to October 1991, along with periods of active duty for training (ACDUTRA). This matter comes before the Board of Veterans' Appeals (Board) on appeal of a January 2006 rating decision of the Department of Veterans Affairs (VA) Regional Office (RO) in Atlanta, Georgia. In July 2010, the Veteran testified at a hearing before the undersigned Veterans Law Judge at the Atlanta RO. Regrettably, VA was unable to produce a good written transcript of the proceeding. An August 2010 letter informed the Veteran of that fact. He was also informed that if he did not respond within 30 days, the Board would assume that he did not want another hearing and proceed with the claim. 38 C.F.R. § 20.717 (2010). As of this date, the Veteran has not indicated that he would like to be offered the opportunity to testify at another hearing. Accordingly, the Board will proceed with the appeal. The issues of service connection for fatigue and lightheadedness, high cholesterol, and acute schizophrenic reaction are addressed in the REMAND portion of the decision below and are being REMANDED to the RO via the Appeals Management Center (AMC), in Washington, DC. FINDING OF FACT The Veteran has plantar fasciitis of the left foot that is as likely as not related to his military service. CONCLUSION OF LAW Resolving reasonable doubt in the Veteran's favor, the Veteran has plantar fasciitis of the left foot that was incurred during a period of ACDUTRA. 38 U.S.C.A. §§ 101, 1101, 1110, 1131, 5107 (West 2002 & Supp. 2010); 38 C.F.R. §§ 3.6, 3.102, 3.303, 3.304 (2010). REASONS AND BASES FOR FINDING AND CONCLUSION I. The Veterans Claims Assistance Act of 2000 (VCAA) As provided for by the VCAA, the United States Department of Veterans Affairs (VA) has a duty to notify and assist claimants in substantiating a claim for VA benefits. 38 U.S.C.A. §§ 5100, 5102, 5103, 5103A, 5107, 5126 (West 2002 & Supp. 2010); 38 C.F.R. §§ 3.102, 3.156(a), 3.159 and 3.326(a) (2010). In this case, the Board is granting in full the benefit not being remanded. Accordingly, assuming, without deciding, that any error was committed with respect to either the duty to notify or the duty to assist, such error was harmless and will not be further discussed. II. The Merits of the Claim Service connection may be granted for any disease diagnosed after discharge, when all of the evidence, including that pertinent to service, establishes the disease was incurred in service. 38 U.S.C.A. § 1110; 38 C.F.R. § 3.303(d). For the showing of chronic disease in service, there are required a combination of manifestations sufficient to identify a disease entity, and sufficient observation to establish chronicity at the time, as distinguished from merely isolated findings or a diagnosis including the word chronic. Continuity of symptomatology is required only where the condition noted during service is not, in fact, shown to be chronic or when the diagnosis of chronicity may be legitimately questioned. When the fact of chronicity in service is not adequately supported, then a showing of continuity after discharge is required to support the claim. 38 C.F.R. § 3.303(b). Generally, service connection requires (1) the existence of a present disability, (2) in-service incurrence or aggravation of an injury or disease, and (3) a causal relationship between the present disability and the disease or injury incurred or aggravated during service. Shedden v. Principi, 381 F.3d 1163 (1995). Active service includes any period of active duty for training (ACDUTRA) during which the individual was disabled from a disease or an injury incurred in the line of duty, or a period of inactive duty training during which the veteran was disabled from an injury incurred in the line of duty or from an acute myocardial infarction, a cardiac arrest, or a cerebrovascular accident occurring during such training. 38 U.S.C.A. § 101(24); 38 C.F.R. § 3.6(a). Further, ACDUTRA includes full-time duty in the Armed Forces performed by the Reserves for training purposes. 38 U.S.C.A. § 101(22); 38 C.F.R. § 3.6(c). Inactive duty training includes duty, other than full-time duty, prescribed for the Reserves. 38 U.S.C.A. § 101(23)(A) (2009). Reserves includes the National Guard. 38 U.S.C.A. § 101(26), (27) (2009). The fact that a claimant has established status as a "Veteran" for purposes of other periods of service (e.g., the Veteran's period of active duty) does not obviate the need to establish that the claimant is also a "Veteran" for purposes of the period of ACDUTRA or INACDUTRA where the claim for benefits is premised on that periods of ACDUTRA or inactive duty training (INACDUTRA). See Mercado-Martinez v. West, 11 Vet. App. 415, 419 (1998). The Veteran's service treatment records (STRs) show that he was diagnosed with a sprained left mid-foot in May 1982. The Veteran fractured his left ankle in June 1990 and was placed in a cast. Following the removal of his cast in July 1990, the Veteran complained of left heel pain. He was diagnosed with tight tendons secondary to cast wearing. The Board observes that the June 1990 ankle fracture and the Veteran's July 1990 complaints of left heel pain were during a period of ACDUTRA. Post-service medical evidence beginning in 2005 shows a diagnosis of plantar fasciitis in the left foot. The Veteran's statements during this appeal have continuously indicated that his symptomatology began in service following the removal of a cast in July 1990 and continued to the present. Additionally, although a written transcript of the Veteran's July 2010 hearing could not be produced, notes from the hearing show that the undersigned found the Veteran credible regarding his reports of a continuity of symptomatology. Here, the evidence shows that the Veteran complained of left heel pain in service. Post-service medical records show that he has been diagnosed with plantar fasciitis of the left foot. The Veteran has reported that his symptoms began in service and continued to the present. In this regard, a layperson is competent to testify in regard to the onset and continuity of symptomatology. Heuer v. Brown, 7 Vet. App. 379, 384 (1995); Falzone v. Brown, 8 Vet. App. 398, 403 (1995); Caldwell v. Derwinski, 1 Vet. App. 466 (1991). Accordingly, the Veteran is competent to testify regarding onset and continuity of left heel pain. Additionally, in some instances, lay evidence may be competent to establish medical etiology or nexus. Davidson v. Shinseki, 581 F.3d 1313, 1316 (Fed. Cir. 2009). The Veteran has provided credible and competent lay evidence that the left heel pain attributed to the diagnosis of plantar fasciitis is the same left heel pain that he had in service. Additionally, he has provided credible and competent lay evidence of a continuity of symptomatology. The Veteran's lay evidence is supported by objective medical findings of plantar fasciitis. No medical professional has provided any negative nexus opinion to indicate that the Veteran's current left heel pain diagnosed as plantar fasciitis is not the same as the heel pain first experienced in service. The Board acknowledges that the Veteran's in-service complaints of left heel pain were attributed to tight tendons secondary to cast wearing. Nevertheless, the Veteran competently and credibly reported that his left heel pain did not cease since then, and that the same pain has continued to the present. Therefore, notwithstanding that his in-service complaints were attributed to a diagnosis other than plantar fasciitis, the Board finds that the Veteran's reports indicate that his in-service complaints are related to his current diagnosis of plantar fasciitis. Therefore, on the basis of the objective medical evidence, the Veteran's competent and credible lay statements, the absence of any negative nexus opinions, and affording the Veteran the benefit-of-the-doubt, the Board finds that it is at least as likely as not that the Veteran has plantar fasciitis of the left foot that was incurred in service. ORDER Entitlement to service connection for plantar fasciitis of the left foot is granted. REMAND In a September 2008 decision, the RO denied the Veteran's claims for service connection for fatigue and lightheadedness, high cholesterol, and acute schizophrenic reaction. In September 2009, the Veteran submitted a statement to the RO in which he indicated his disagreement with that decision. The record does not reflect that the RO has issued a statement of the case (SOC) with respect to these issues; hence, a remand of these matters is required for the RO to accomplish such action. See 38 C.F.R. § 19.26 (2010); Manlincon v. West, 12, Vet. App. 238 (1999). The Board observes that the Veteran's notice of disagreement (NOD) was not timely, as it was received three days after the one year time period for filing a notice of disagreement expired. See 38 C.F.R. § 20.302 (2010). However, a letter from the RO to the Veteran dated in October 2009 in which the RO acknowledged receipt of the Veteran's NOD did not indicate that the NOD was untimely. The Board finds that the principle in Percy v. Shinseki, 23 Vet. App. 37, 47 (2009) applies in this case; that is, if VA treats an appeal as if it is timely filed, a veteran is entitled to expect that VA means what it says. Therefore, the Board finds that the Veteran's NOD was timely and the issuance of an SOC is required. Accordingly, the case is REMANDED for the following action: A statement of the case should be issued addressing the issues of service connection for fatigue and lightheadedness, high cholesterol, and acute schizophrenic reaction. The statement of the case should include a discussion of all relevant evidence considered and citation to all pertinent law and regulations. Thereafter, the appellant should be given an opportunity to perfect an appeal by submitting a timely substantive appeal in response thereto. The appellant should be advised that the claims file will not be returned to the Board for appellate consideration of these particular issues following the issuance of the statement of the case unless he perfects his appeal. The appellant has the right to submit additional evidence and argument on the matter or matters the Board has remanded. Kutscherousky v. West, 12 Vet. App. 369 (1999). CONTINUED ON NEXT PAGE This claim must be afforded expeditious treatment. The law requires that all claims that are remanded by the Board of Veterans' Appeals or by the United States Court of Appeals for Veterans Claims for additional development or other appropriate action must be handled in an expeditious manner. See 38 U.S.C.A. §§ 5109B, 7112 (West Supp. 2010). ____________________________________________ ROBERT E. SULLIVAN Veterans Law Judge, Board of Veterans' Appeals Department of Veterans Affairs