Citation Nr: 1038296 Decision Date: 10/12/10 Archive Date: 10/22/10 DOCKET NO. 06-22 148 ) DATE ) ) On appeal from the Department of Veterans Affairs Regional Office in Milwaukee, Wisconsin THE ISSUE Entitlement to vocational rehabilitation benefits and training as a paralegal (a non-lawyer legal assistant) under Chapter 31, Title 38, United States Code. REPRESENTATION Appellant represented by: Wisconsin Department of Veterans Affairs WITNESS AT HEARING ON APPEAL Appellant ATTORNEY FOR THE BOARD John Francis, Counsel INTRODUCTION The Veteran served on active duty from May 1955 to October 1958. This appeal comes before the Board of Veterans' Appeals (Board) from a July 2002 decision of the Department of Veterans Affairs (VA) Vocational Rehabilitation and Counseling (VR&C) division of a Regional Office (RO). The Veteran testified before the Board sitting at the RO in April 2009. A transcript of the hearing is associated with the claims file. In August 2009, the Board remanded the appeal for further development. FINDING OF FACT The vocational rehabilitation goal of employment as a paralegal (non-lawyer legal assistant) is not reasonably achievable. CONCLUSION OF LAW The criteria for entitlement to Chapter 31 vocational rehabilitation program benefits for the specific goal of employment as a paralegal have not been met. 38 U.S.C.A. §§ 3100, 3101, 3102 (West 2002); 38 C.F.R. §§ 21.1, 21.35, 21.40, 21.53 (2010). REASONS AND BASES FOR FINDING AND CONCLUSION VA has a duty to notify and assist claimants in substantiating a claim for VA benefits. 38 U.S.C.A. §§ 5100, 5102, 5103, 5103A, 5107, 5126 (West 2002 & Supp. 2010); 38 C.F.R. §§ 3.102, 3.156(a), 3.159 and 3.326(a) (2010). Upon receipt of a complete or substantially complete application for benefits, VA is required to notify the claimant and his or her representative, if any, of any information, and any medical or lay evidence, that is necessary to substantiate the claim. 38 U.S.C.A. § 5103(a); 38 C.F.R. § 3.159(b); Quartuccio v. Principi, 16 Vet. App. 183 (2002). Proper notice from VA must inform the claimant of any information and evidence not of record (1) that is necessary to substantiate the claim; (2) that VA will seek to provide and; (3) that the claimant is expected to provide. See 38 C.F.R. § 3.159(b)(1). This notice must be provided prior to an initial unfavorable decision on a claim by the agency of original jurisdiction. Mayfield v. Nicholson, 444 F.3d 1328 (Fed. Cir. 2006); Pelegrini v. Principi, 18 Vet. App. 112 (2004). The RO received the Veteran's current claim for Chapter 31 vocational rehabilitation benefits in January 2002. The notice and assistance statutes are generally applicable to all claims filed on or after the date of enactment of relevant legislation on November 9, 2000, or filed before the date of enactment but not yet final as of that date. The Board must make a determination as to the applicability of the various provisions of the VCAA to a particular claim. Holliday v. Principi, 14 Vet. App. 280 (2000). In this case, the RO acknowledged the Veteran's claim in correspondence in February 2002 and scheduled an appointment with a benefits counselor. However, the correspondence did not provide the criteria for eligibility and process for the benefit program prior to the initial decision on the claim in July 2002. Therefore, the Board must determine whether the absence of timely notice was prejudicial to the Veteran. Veteran applied for but was denied vocational rehabilitation benefits in April 1984 because he did not have an employment handicap. In May 1989, a VA counselor reviewed the disability evidence and determined that the Veteran had an employment handicap and initiated the appropriate evaluation procedures. The Veteran's program was placed in a discontinued status by multiple panel decisions in 1992, 1994, 1995, and 1996 because the Veteran's goal was not feasible as a result of his treatment for substance abuse and failure to cooperate with evaluation procedures. On appeal in April 1999, the Board concluded that the discontinuance was proper. Throughout this adjudication, the Veteran was informed of the eligibility criteria and requirements of the counseling process. Following the initial decision in July 2002, the Veteran submitted written statements, records of admission to a community college, private medical records, and testimony at a Board hearing. Although subsequent adjudicative documents may not substitute for adequate notice, the eligibility criteria, evaluation process, and reasons for an adverse determination were provided to the Veteran and his representative in a March 2003 statement of the case and in supplemental statements of the case in June 2006 and January 2010. The Board concludes that the Veteran was not prejudiced by the notice error because he demonstrated actual knowledge of the criteria including the requirement that his vocational goal be reasonably achievable in view of his disabilities and circumstances. In addition, VA has obtained all relevant, identified, and available evidence and has notified the appellant of any evidence that could not be obtained. VA has also obtained medical examinations and professional counseling assessments. Thus, the Board finds that VA has satisfied both the notice and duty to assist provisions of the law. The Veteran served in a U.S. Army armor and reconnaissance units. He contends that he is eligible for Chapter 31 vocational rehabilitation education and an intern program to gain employment as a paralegal (legal assistant). The purpose of training and rehabilitation benefits provided in Chapter 31, Title 38, United States Code, is to provide for all services and assistance necessary to enable veterans with service-connected disabilities to achieve maximum independence in daily living, and to the maximum extent feasible, to become employable and to obtain and maintain suitable employment. 38 U.S.C.A. § 3100. As applicable in this case, the aim of the provision is to provide such services necessary to enable veterans with service-connected disabilities to become employable and to obtain and maintain suitable employment A service-disabled veteran must meet three basic requirements to be eligible for receipt of Chapter 31 vocational rehabilitation benefits: (1) VA must find that the Veteran has basic entitlement to services as prescribed by 38 C.F.R. § 21.40; (2) the services necessary for training and rehabilitation must be identified by VA and the Veteran; and (3) an individual written plan must be developed by VA and the Veteran describing goals of the program and the means through which these goals will be achieved. 38 U.S.C.A. § 3102; 38 C.F.R. §§ 21.1(b)(1-3), 21.40. Regarding the first requirement, as pertinent to this case, the regulation requires that the following two conditions are met: (1) The Veteran has a service-connected disability, and the disability is rated either 20 percent or more; or, if the Veteran filed an original claim prior to November 1, 1990, the disability is rated at a compensable level which may be less than 20 percent, and (2) the Veteran is in need of rehabilitation to overcome an employment handicap. 38 C.F.R. § 21.40 An "employment handicap" is defined as an impairment of a veteran's ability to prepare for, obtain, or retain employment consistent with such veteran's abilities, aptitudes, and interests. 38 C.F.R. § 21.35(a). The term "vocational goal" is defined by statute as gainful employment consistent with the veteran's abilities, aptitudes, and interests. 38 U.S.C.A. § 3101(8). The term "achievement of a vocational goal is reasonably feasible" is defined under 38 C.F.R. § 21.35(h)(2). Under that provision, in order to find that the achievement of a particular vocational goal is reasonably feasible, the facts must show that the effects of the veteran's service-connected and non-service- connected disabilities, when considered in relation to his circumstances, do not prevent successful pursuit of a vocational rehabilitation program and successful employment. 38 C.F.R. § 21.35(h)(2). The criteria for determining that the achievement of a vocational goal is reasonably feasible for the Veteran are: (1) a vocational goal must be identified; (2) the veteran's physical and mental conditions must permit training to begin within a reasonable period; and (3) the veteran must possess the necessary educational skills and background to pursue the goal, or will be provided service by VA to develop such necessary skills as part of the program. 38 C.F.R. § 21.53(d). Service personnel records showed that the Veteran was not in combat. The Veteran received a general discharge under other than honorable conditions for unsuitability as a result of repetitive minor offenses and poor military performance. The Veteran has the following service-connected disabilities: residuals of fractures of two bones of the left hand, rated as 10 percent disabling; and left wrist strain, rated as 10 percent disabling. The Veteran's significant non-service-connected disabilities including multiple joint and spinal arthritis, a central nervous system disorder, and mental health disorders including anxiety, depression, and posttraumatic stress disorder. In a May 2002, a VA counseling psychologist determined that the Veteran had an impairment of employability due in part to service-connected disability. Based on the foregoing, the Veteran is in need of rehabilitation to overcome an employment handicap. This is not in dispute. In July 2002, a VA vocational rehabilitation counseling psychologist noted that the Veteran continued to express a vocational interest in participating in a two-year paralegal technician program at the Milwaukee Area Technical College. The counselor noted that "while the Veteran demonstrates the interest, aptitude, and ability to pursue such program academically, this would not be an appropriate program for him for a number of reasons." The counseling psychologist enumerated reasons for this as: (1) The job outlook for two-year paralegal graduates in the local market is poor because of the surplus of professionally trained lawyers who often start working in this area as paralegals. (2) The Veteran had not been successful in Chapter 31 supported training previously provided to him on the terminal curricular level. (3) Were the Veteran to complete such a program successfully, he would be 67 years old on completion. The counseling psychologist further concluded that the Veteran's successful completion of any vocational goal was not reasonably feasible. The counseling psychologist stated that this determination was based on a review of the Veteran's 18-year involvement with VA counselors; a medical consultant's opinion, a determination by the Social Security Administration, and a recent comprehensive vocational evaluation at Goodwill-Milwaukee. The record shows that at the time of the July 2002 decision, the Veteran had had a long history of poor compliance with VA counselors, such as showing up late or not at all. VA treatment and examination records throughout the period of the late 1990s and early 2000s up to the time of the RO's July 2002 decision show that the Veteran's noncompliance with requirements of the vocational rehabilitation programs had little to do with any physical impairment, but rather had mostly to do with his behavior in the noncompliance with the counseling process requirements. VA medical records during this period show that the Veteran's behavioral problems were attributable in large part to the severity of diagnosed mental/psychiatric disorders during that time, and in particular, significant alcohol abuse symptoms. VA treatment records in the late 1990s and early 2000s included numerous diagnoses of psychiatric conditions including anxiety/mood disorder, depressive disorder, possible posttraumatic stress disorder, rule out psychosis, alcohol abuse, and polysubstance abuse. A May 2000 VA psychiatric outpatient note contains a history that at that time the Veteran had recently been diagnosed as having alcohol dependence, and psychosis. In November 2001, the Social Security Administration determined that the Veteran was able to perform only a partially reduced range of light work not to include prolonged bilateral fingering functions as were necessary in his former occupation as a tailor. The Veteran was determined to be severely disabled as a result of psychiatric and physical impairments and was awarded Social Security supplemental income benefits. In September 2002, the Veteran submitted the results of entrance placement testing and tuition receipts from the Milwaukee Area Technical College that suggested that the Veteran had been admitted for an unspecified course of study. The severity of the Veteran's psychiatric disability picture at the time of the RO's July 2002 decision denying this claim is reflected in a May 2002 VA mental health clinic initial assessment, and a September 2002 VA psychiatry outpatient note. Both of these VA treatment records showed the diagnosis of anxiety/mood disorder not otherwise specified, and polysubstance abuse. The treatment provider noted problems with relationships, legal problems, and problems with employment; with limited social support. The provider assigned a Global Assessment of Functioning (GAF) score of 40, indicating substantial psychiatric impairment in reality testing or communication, or major impairment in several areas, such as work or school, family relations, judgment, thinking or mood. The provider concluded that the Veteran was unable to work. See Diagnostic and Statistical Manual for Mental Disorders, Fourth Edition, of the American Psychiatric Association (DSM- IV). The clinical records during the period up to the time of the RO's July 2002 decision showed the considerable severity of the Veteran's psychiatric/alcohol abuse, which was a factor in the Veteran's behavioral problems that resulted in his noncompliance, and ultimately, the finding that achievement of his vocational goal was not reasonably feasible for the Veteran at that time. In contrast, the record since that decision reflects a significant improvement in the Veteran's psychiatric/behavioral condition impacting the feasibility of achievement of a vocational goal. Review of private records of treatment and VA examination reports since 2002 showed that the Veteran did not report nor did clinicians observe symptoms related to a psychiatric or alcohol/substance abuse problem. Private records of treatment dated from June 2004 to August 2006 showed that the Veteran's physician specifically noted on psychiatric history review that most symptoms previously associated with his diagnosed mental health disorders were not present. The Veteran did complain of "anxiousness/stress- occasional-stable." The examiner made no reference to any findings of alcohol abuse problems or behavior problems. In a December 2006 VA mental health examination, the Veteran described his current complaints as limited to anxiety and depression of a mild severity and duration. He reported that he had worked successfully for 40 years as a tailor. He reported social relationships with friends and family and participation in church and a civil rights organization as a volunteer. The examiner diagnosed anxiety disorder, not otherwise specified, and noted that that the Veteran had mild psychosocial and environmental problems. The examiner a GAF score for anxiety disorder of 65, indicating some mild symptoms but generally functioning well. The reports of the three VA examinations in December 2006 and January 2007 showed no indications of any of the behavior-related problems associated with the noncompliance-type behavior shown throughout the earlier record. There is no indication that the Veteran ever arrived late or previously missed an appointment for any of these examinations. The report of the January 2007 VA joints examination showed that the Veteran reported that he was currently working as a volunteer in an office, and that he did paperwork and used a computer in that work. He reported that some of the volunteer activities were only limited by his wrist, hand and arm symptoms. In an April 2009 Board hearing, the Veteran stated that in addition to being accepted for studies at a community college, the Veteran submitted to his counselor two letters from local attorneys who stated that they would hire the Veteran in a apprenticeship program. These letters are not of record nor have they been mentioned in VA counselor reports. The Veteran stated that he did not complete the community college program because of circumstances beyond his control. The Veteran objected to the discontinuance of a vocational rehabilitation program because of his age. In August 2009, the Board remanded the claim for the RO to obtain current VA outpatient treatment records and a current vocational rehabilitation assessment. In October 2009, the Veteran underwent a VA general medical examination. The physician diagnosed degenerative arthritis of the cervical and lumbar spine, left hand and wrist disorders, and hepatitis C infection. The physician referred to a concurrent VA functional capacity evaluation and noted that the multiple joint and spinal disorders would not preclude participation in a sedentary training program. In November 2009, the Veteran underwent a VA neuropsychiatric assessment. The psychologist noted the Veteran's reports the he completed two years of college pre-law study and that he currently studied music, performed volunteer work for a civil rights organization, and worked on tailoring projects. Testing showed average intellectual abilities, low-average working memory, and mild dyslexia. The psychologist noted that these difficulties would not preclude training as a paralegal. In December 2009, the Veteran completed a VA career assessment inventory that identified many areas of interest but did not assess the associated abilities or aptitude. In January 2010, a VA psychologist counselor performed an additional assessment as directed in the Board's remand. The counselor noted the history of claims and adjudication for a vocational rehabilitation program prior to 2002 and the results of the VA examinations and assessments in 2009. Although the counselor noted that past diagnoses of organic brain disorders and personality traits are generally permanent, the counselor concluded that the physician and mental disabilities noted by the examiners would not preclude participation in a paralegal training program. There was no evidence since 2002 of substance abuse. The counselor also noted that the Veteran displayed a high or very high level of interest in every area suggested by the career assessment inventory including those areas common to paralegal work. The counselor also noted that the Veteran retired in 2002 at age 65 and had not attempted to engage in any form of employment since that time. To address feasibility of achieving the goal of training and employment as a paralegal, the counselor also considered the non- disability circumstances relevant to this area of employment. The counselor acknowledged that age discrimination in hiring is illegal and that the current job market for paralegal employment is variable and is not an appropriate consideration. The counselor reviewed the Veteran's self-reported legal history and obtained county court records since 1994. In VA examinations in May 1999, May 2000, and May 2002, the Veteran reported that he had been convicted on four occasions of forgery or bank fraud and was incarcerated for several years in five states. County court records showed that the Veteran was convicted of an unspecified felony in 1994 and for felony theft-false representation in the amount of $5,000 to $10,000 in 2005. The Veteran has unsatisfied judgments in connection with the latter conviction, a 1998 civil claim over $2,000, a 2000 civil claim for over $4,000, and a 2005 civil claim over $1,000. The Court records cite a state statute that prohibits discrimination against a job applicant because of a conviction record but that an employer may refuse to hire an applicant on the basis of a conviction if the circumstances of the conviction substantially relate to the particular job. Wis. Stat. Ann. § 111.335 (2010). The counselor also obtained an opinion from the VA regional counsel regarding the likelihood of employment as a paralegal in view of this legal history. The regional counsel advised the counselor that the history would likely be a barrier to legal employment generally, and that VA would not hire a paralegal with a similar legal history. Notwithstanding the impact of the Veteran's disabilities, the counselor concluded that the circumstances associated with the Veteran's legal history and his 10 year period of unemployment would not be overcome by possession of a paralegal degree. The counseling psychologist concluded that it was not reasonably feasible for the Veteran to achieve the rehabilitation goal of employment as a paralegal. The Board considered whether the Veteran's home state required licensure or professional association membership for employment as a paralegal. It does not. The National Federation of Paralegal Associations (NFPA) published a model plan for licensure of paralegals. See www.paralegals.org/associations/2230/files/Licensed_Paralegal_Pla n.pdf (last visited Oct.5, 2010). Under this plan, applications are rejected if the applicant has been convicted of a felony. An existing license can be denied or revoked in cases of fraud, dishonestly, misrepresentation, or unethical conduct or conviction of a felony involving moral turpitude. The Supreme Court of Wisconsin considered a petition by the Board of Governors of the Bar of Wisconsin to establish a mandatory licensure and regulation of paralegals. The proposed rule prohibited licensure of a person convicted of a crime of moral turpitude. In April 2008, the Supreme Court of Wisconsin denied the petition because expanding regulatory and enforcement agencies was not appropriate in the economic climate at the time. The Supreme Court of Wisconsin ordered consideration of a voluntary program. Wis. Sup. Ct. No. 04-03 (Apr. 24, 2008). In a February 2010 response to a January 2010 supplemental statement of the case, the Veteran objected to the RO's recitation of his legal history as not relevant and based on unverified hearsay. The Veteran also objected to the use of unsigned VA electronic medical records and the citation of his claim number using only the last three digits. The Veteran contended that he was unable to properly respond. The Board first concludes that there was substantial compliance with the August 2009 remand instructions because additional VA examinations were obtained and because a thorough vocational assessment was performed by a VA vocational rehabilitation psychologist based on the entire record. The Board also rejects the Veteran's due process objections. The Veteran does not deny accuracy of the legal history cited by the RO. Moreover, the history was developed from reports by the Veteran to clinicians and from court records that have been associated with the claims file. Regarding the unsigned electronic medical records and abbreviated claim references, VA employs the electronic system with digital signature features as a regular practice. VA uses abbreviated claims numbers under certain circumstances to protect the private information of claimants. Courts presume that, in the absence of clear evidence to the contrary, public officials have discharged their official duties. Ashley v. Derwinski, 2 Vet. App. 62, 64 (1992). In this case, the clinicians are presumed to take responsibility for the ownership and accuracy of their electronic reports unless there is evidence to the contrary. Moreover, the Veteran does not dispute the findings of the medical examinations or that the examination reports and supplemental statement of the case do not apply to his claim. The Board concludes that the achievement of the Veteran's vocational rehabilitation goal of training and employment as a paralegal is not reasonably feasible. The Board concludes that the limitations imposed by the Veteran's service and non-service connection disabilities alone do not preclude achievement of this or other occupational goals that involve sedentary or light physical work. The Board notes that the Veteran displayed a broad range of occupational interests. This decision by the Board is limited only to the specific goal at issue: training for employment as a paralegal. However, the Board concludes that when the disabilities are considered in relation to the circumstances of a legal history of convictions for fraud, misrepresentation, and unsatisfied judgments, achievement of this specific goal is not reasonable feasible. The Board acknowledges that the standard of reasonably feasible contemplates that an employer of legal services might conceivably and under unique circumstances have a position that does not require proven qualities of honesty and truthfulness, and that the employer may be willing to impose safeguards and supervision to accommodate an employee with a record of felony convictions. However, in applying the reasonableness standard, the Board places greatest probative weight on the opinion of the professional VA vocational counselor and the opinion of the VA regional counsel who considered the entire record and the locally accepted standards in the Veteran's state of residence. Even though employment as a paralegal of a person with a history of convictions of a felony is not strictly precluded, the applicable state law does permit denial of employment if the felony convictions are substantially related to the job. A national paralegal association and the Wisconsin State Bar both support the denial of licensure as a paralegal to those convicted of crimes of moral turpitude. In this case, the Board concludes that qualities of honesty, truthfulness, and good moral character are generally required in the paralegal profession as indicated in the model plan for licensure by the NFPA and by the Wisconsin Supreme Court decision that encouraged a voluntary registration plan. Therefore, it is not reasonably feasible that the Veteran would be able to secure employment in this specific occupational field. The Board does not suggest that a vocational rehabilitation program is not reasonable feasible in any other vocational goal suitable to the Veteran's interests, aptitude, abilities, and circumstances. As the preponderance of the evidence is against this claim, the "benefit of the doubt" rule is not for application, and the Board must deny the appeal. See 38 U.S.C.A. § 5107(b); Gilbert v. Derwinski, 1 Vet. App. 49 (1990). ORDER Entitlement to vocational rehabilitation benefits and training, as a paralegal (a non-lawyer legal assistant) under Chapter 31, Title 38, United States Code is denied. ____________________________________________ DENNIS F. CHIAPPETTA Veterans Law Judge, Board of Veterans' Appeals Department of Veterans Affairs