Citation Nr: 1038303 Decision Date: 10/12/10 Archive Date: 10/22/10 DOCKET NO. 10-26 496 ) DATE ) ) On appeal from the Department of Veterans Affairs (VA) Regional Office (RO) in Winston-Salem, North Carolina THE ISSUE Entitlement to service connection for claimed tension headaches. REPRESENTATION Veteran represented by: The American Legion ATTORNEY FOR THE BOARD A. Nigam, Associate Counsel INTRODUCTION The Veteran served on active duty from August 1951 to August 1953 and from November 1990 to July 1991. He also had service with the Army Reserve. This matter comes before the Board of Veterans' Appeals (Board) on appeal from a February 2010 rating decision of the RO. Please note this appeal has been advanced on the Board's docket pursuant to 38 C.F.R. § 20.900(c) (2009). 38 U.S.C.A. § 7107(a)(2) (West 2002). FINDINGS OF FACT 1. All relevant evidence necessary for the equitable disposition of the issue addressed in this decision was obtained. 2. The Veteran has not presented credible lay assertions sufficient to establish a continuity of headache manifestations following a head injury in service. 3. The currently demonstrated tension headaches are not shown to be due to a documented event or incident of the Veteran's period of active service. CONCLUSION OF LAW The Veteran does not have a disability manifested by tension headaches due to disease or injury that was incurred in or aggravated by active service. 38 U.S.C.A. §§ 1110, 5103, 5103A, 5107 (West 2002 & Supp. 2009); 38 C.F.R. §§ 3.159, 3.303 (2009). REASONS AND BASES FOR FINDINGS AND CONCLUSION The Veterans Claims Assistance Act of 2000 VA's duties to notify and assist claimants in substantiating a claim for VA benefits are found at 38 U.S.C.A. §§ 5100, 5102, 5103, 5103A, 5107, 5126 and 38 C.F.R. §§ 3.102, 3.156(a), 3.159, 3.326(a). See also 73 Fed. Reg. 23,353-23,356 (April 30, 2008) (concerning revisions to 38 C.F.R. § 3.159). Upon receipt of a complete or substantially complete application for benefits, VA is required to notify the claimant and his or her representative, if any, of any information, and any medical evidence or lay evidence that is necessary to substantiate the claim. 38 U.S.C.A. § 5103(a); 38 C.F.R. § 3.159(b); see also Quartuccio v. Principi, 16 Vet. App. 183 (2002). In accordance with 38 C.F.R. § 3.159(b)(1), proper notice must inform the claimant of any information and evidence not of record (1) that is necessary to substantiate the claim; (2) that VA will seek to provide; and (3) that the claimant is expected to provide. In this case, notice fulfilling the requirements of 38 C.F.R. § 3.159(b) was furnished to the Veteran in December 2009, prior to the date of the issuance of the appealed rating decision. In this letter, the Veteran was notified of VA's practices in assigning disability evaluations and effective dates for those evaluations. See Dingess/Hartman v. Nicholson, 19 Vet. App. 473 (2006). The appeal was readjudicated in April 2010. As this course of action has corrected any initial notice errors, there is no prejudice to the Veteran. See Mayfield v. Nicholson, 499 F.3d 1317 (Fed. Cir. 2007). VA has also fulfilled its duty to assist in obtaining the identified and available evidence needed to substantiate the claim adjudicated in this decision. The RO has either obtained, or made sufficient efforts to obtain, records corresponding to all treatment described by the Veteran. Additionally, the Veteran was afforded a VA examination that was fully adequate for the purpose of ascertaining the etiology question raised by the issue on appeal. See Barr v. Nicholson, 21 Vet. App. 303 (2007). Hence, the Board is satisfied that all reasonable efforts to develop the record have been made with respect to the claim. As discussed, the Veteran was notified and aware of the evidence needed to substantiate his claim, the avenues through which he might obtain such evidence, and the allocation of responsibilities between himself and VA in obtaining such evidence. The Veteran was an active participant in the claims process, identifying pertinent medical evidence and submitting evidence. Thus, the Veteran has been provided with a meaningful opportunity to participate in the claims process and has done so. Any defect in the sequence of events or content of the notice is not shown to have any effect on the case or to cause injury to the Veteran. Therefore, any such defect is harmless and does not prohibit consideration of this matter on the merits. See Dingess/Hartman v. Nicholson, 19 Vet. App. 473 (2006); see also ATD Corp. v. Lydall, Inc., 159 F.3d 534, 549 (Fed. Cir. 1998). Legal Criteria Service connection may be granted for disability resulting from disease or injury incurred in or aggravated by service. 38 U.S.C.A. § 1110 (West 2002). Service connection may be granted for any disease diagnosed after service when all the evidence establishes that the disease was incurred in service. 38 C.F.R. § 3.303(d) (2009). To establish a service connection for an injury, a veteran is required to show (1) medical evidence of a current disability, (2) medical or lay evidence of in-service incurrence or aggravation of an injury, and (3) medical evidence of a nexus between the claimed in-service injury and the present disability. Dalton v. Nicholson, 21 Vet. App. 23, 36 (2007). In cases where the veteran cannot establish some of these elements, a veteran can instead establish continuity of symptomatology. 38 C.F.R. § 3.303(b); Barr v. Nicholson, 21 Vet. App. 303, 307 (2007). To establish continuity of symptomatology, the a veteran is required to show "(1) that a condition was 'noted' during service, (2) evidence of postservice continuity of the same symptomatology, and (3) medical or lay evidence of a nexus between the present disability and the postservice symptomatology." Barr, 21 Vet. App. at 307. Lay evidence can be competent and sufficient to establish a diagnosis of a condition when (1) a layperson is competent to identify the medical condition, (2) the layperson is reporting a contemporaneous medical diagnosis, or (3) lay testimony describing symptoms at the time supports a later diagnosis by a medical professional. Except as otherwise provided by law, a claimant has the responsibility to present and support a claim for benefits under laws administered by the Secretary. The Secretary shall consider all information and lay and medical evidence of record in a case before the Secretary with respect to benefits under laws administered by the Secretary. Although the Board has an obligation to provide adequate reasons and bases supporting this decision, there is no requirement that the evidence submitted by the Veteran or obtained on his behalf be discussed in detail. Rather, the Board's analysis below will focus specifically on what evidence is needed to substantiate the claim and what the evidence in the claims file shows, or fails to show, with respect to the claim. See Gonzales v. West, 218 F.3d 1378, 1380-81 (Fed. Cir. 2000) and Timberlake v. Gober, 14 Vet. App. 122, 128-30 (2000). When there is an approximate balance of positive and negative evidence regarding any issue material to the determination of a matter, the Secretary shall give the benefit of the doubt to the claimant. 38 U.S.C.A. § 5107; see also Gilbert v. Derwinski, 1 Vet. App. 49, 53 (1990). To deny a claim on its merits, the evidence must preponderate against the claim. Alemany v. Brown, 9 Vet. App. 518, 519 (1996), citing Gilbert, 1 Vet. App. at 54. Analysis The Veteran asserts that his current headaches are related to his second period of active service. Specifically, he reports developing headaches after being hit on the head with a tent pole in 1990 while serving in the Persian Gulf. The service treatment records show that, in March 1991, the Veteran was seen for complaint of bifrontal headaches, along with stuffy nose, nonproductive cough and fever, but only a diagnosis of an upper respiratory infection and hypertension was reported. Another service treatment record dated later in that month reflects complaints of mild headaches with some dizziness, and a diagnosis of dehydration secondary to poor intake was reported at that time. Thus, on this record, there is no showing that the Veteran had complaints or findings of any form of headache related to a head injury or as a manifestation of a chronic headache disorder. Moreover, after service, the Veteran's headache complaints were not reported until several years after his release from his period of service in the Persian Gulf. This is strong evidence against a finding of any continuity of symptomatology. See Maxson v. West, 12 Vet. App. 453 (1999), aff'd, 230 F.3d 1330 (Fed. Cir. 2000). In this regard, a September 1994 VA general medical examination and Persian Gulf War examination was negative for complaints or findings of a headache disorder. An October 1994 VA neuropsychiatric examination recorded a clinical history of some mild head injuries from auto accidents and a couple of fights with complaints of an occasional headache, but not much. A February 1995 VA CT scan of the head with contrast revealed no acute intracranial abnormality, to include hemorrhage, hydrocephalus, tumor, vascular lesion, acute infarction, or significant intracranial injury. During a May 1999 VA neuropsychological evaluation, the Veteran first reported that he was accidently hit with a tent pole that measured six inches in diameter while in the Persian Gulf without loss of consciousness and that the impact was to his right temporoparietal region. The Veteran indicated that he had not reported the incident as there was too much going on at his camp at the time. Significantly, at that time, the Veteran denied having a history of seizures or other head injuries. A January 2003 VA head CT scan without IV contrast revealed mild left maxillary sinus disease. The brain demonstrated no evidence of infarction or significant atrophy that would exceed expected amounts for the Veteran's age. In conjunction with the current appeal, the Veteran underwent a VA neurology examination in February 2010. Here, the examiner noted the date of onset for the headache disorder in 2004 or 2005, based on the Veteran's statements that his headaches had begun approximately 4 or 5 years prior thereto. The examiner noted that, during the examination, the Veteran altered his account of when and how his claimed headache disorder began and indicated that his headaches started shortly after being hit in the head during service. At the time of the examination, the Veteran described experiencing headaches that sometimes started on one side of the forehead and felt like a "spider web" spreading across his forehead to include throbbing pain in the bifrontal forehead and to the center, back of the head. He added that sometimes the headache was only in the back of the head. The Veteran complained of having headaches 3 to 4 times weekly, lasting from 15 to 45 minutes. These were not prostrating, permitting ordinary activity. He reported not carrying medication with him, but taking it when he got home with the usual relief of his symptoms. On examination, the VA examiner observed normal motor strength, muscle tone, and muscle bulk; normal sensory findings with all cranial nerves intact; normal reflexes; and normal cerebellar examination results. The was no evidence of chorea or carotid bruit present. The examiner noted findings of an MRI of the head, without and with contrast, taken in February 2009, which showed mild microvascular disease and generalized cerebral atrophy, as well as left maxillary and frontal sinusitis. Further, an MR brain report showed that imaging revealed findings of the cortical sulci and ventricles being moderately prominent and suggesting a component of generalized cerebral atrophy, with no cerebral ischemia or focal cerebral lesion. There was no abnormal contrast enhancement. No extracerebral mass or pathologic fluid collection was evident, and the skull base and calvarium appeared intact. The left frontal and maxillary sinuses were opacified; the paranasal sinuses and mastoids otherwise appeared normally aerated. Finally the examiner reported that the articular lens was missing, bilaterally. The Veteran was diagnosed with tension headaches. The examiner opined that the Veteran's tension headaches were not caused by or a continuation of headaches reported in military service. The examiner added that the March 1991 service treatment record had indicated that the Veteran complained of multiple symptoms of bifrontal headaches, stuffy nose, nonproductive cough and fever, with no diagnosis of headaches documented on the problem list, and that the separation examination had no documented complaints of headaches and otherwise normal findings. The VA examiner concluded that a onetime visit with complaint of headaches in service did not establish a chronic condition, and most likely represented an acute self-limiting illness. The examiner indicated that there was no documented continuity of care regarding tension headaches. On review of the entire record, the Board finds not competent medical evidence establishing a nexus between the current tension headaches and any event or incident of his service. See Moray v. Brown, 5 Vet. App. 211 (1993). The Veteran in this case asserts that his current headaches are due to head injury or trauma sustained during his second period of active service. "Lay evidence can be competent and sufficient to establish a diagnosis of a condition when (1) a layperson is competent to identify the medical condition, (2) the layperson is reporting a contemporaneous medical diagnosis, or (3) lay testimony describing symptoms at the time supports a later diagnosis by a medical professional." Jandreau v. Nicholson, 492 F.3d 1372, 1377 (Fed. Cir. 2007). As noted, in Barr v. Nicholson, 21 Vet. App. at 308-09, the Court indicated that lay evidence was to be considered competent with regard to a disease with "unique and readily identifiable features" that was "capable of lay observation." That notwithstanding, a Veteran is not competent to provide evidence as to more complex medical questions and, specifically, is not competent to provide an opinion as to etiology in such cases. See Woehlaert v. Nicholson, 21 Vet. App. 456, 462 (2007); see also Routen v. Brown, 10 Vet. App. 183, 186 (1997). Here, the Board acknowledges the statements of the Veteran that generally describe an in-service injury to the head, but these assertions alone cannot constitute competent evidence sufficient to establish a diagnosis of a chronic headache disorder in service or a medical nexus opinion as to the likely etiology of the reported headache manifestations. As such, without addressing credibility, his lay observations only provided information about his headache manifestations over time that the VA examiner in February 2010 was free to consider in providing his medical opinion. See Owens v. Brown, 7 Vet. App. 429, 433 (1995). Moreover, as lay statements, the Veteran's assertions are not found to be credible for the purpose of establishing a continuity of headache symptoms beginning in and ongoing after service. As noted, the Veteran reported no headache complaints or previous head injury in service when he was examined shortly after service. Finally, the Veteran has not presented any medical evidence to support his lay assertions that any current headache disorder was due to a head injury or other event of his active service. The Board notes that, when the determinative issue involves medical causation or a medical diagnosis, competent medical evidence is required. Grottveit v. Brown, 5 Vet. App. 91 (1993). Thus, on this record, the Board finds the VA examiner's opinion to be controlling in deciding this appeal. Accordingly, the Board concludes that the preponderance of the evidence is against the claim of service connection for a chronic headache disorder. See Gilbert, 1 Vet. App. at 55. ORDER Service connection for claimed tension headaches is denied. ____________________________________________ STEPHEN L. WILKINS Veterans Law Judge, Board of Veterans' Appeals Department of Veterans Affairs