Citation Nr: 1040102 Decision Date: 10/26/10 Archive Date: 11/01/10 DOCKET NO. 08-19 469 ) DATE ) ) On appeal from the Department of Veterans Affairs Regional Office in Seattle, Washington THE ISSUES 1. Entitlement to service connection for the Veteran's cause of death. 2. Entitlement to service connection for esophageal cancer, for accrued benefits purposes. REPRESENTATION Appellant represented by: Disabled American Veterans WITNESSES AT HEARING ON APPEAL Appellant and son ATTORNEY FOR THE BOARD D. M. Donahue, Associate Counsel INTRODUCTION The Veteran served on active military duty from December 1944 to February 1946. The Veteran died in August 2007. The appellant is his surviving spouse. This matter comes before the Board of Veterans' Appeals (Board) on appeal from a December 2007 rating decision of the Department of Veterans Affairs (VA) Regional Office (RO) in Seattle, Washington, which denied entitlement to service connection for the Veteran's cause of death and entitlement to accrued benefits. The appellant and her son testified during a hearing before the undersigned Veterans Law Judge in August 2010; a transcript of that hearing is of record. FINDINGS OF FACT 1. The Veteran died in August 2007. The Veteran's death certificate listed the immediate cause of his death as esophageal carcinoma. 2. At the time of his death the Veteran was service-connected left thigh scar, left lumbar scar, and residuals of wound to forearms and left buttock, all individually rated non- compensable. The Veteran was awarded a 10 percent disability rating for multiple non-compensable disabilities. 3. At the time of the Veteran's death in August 2007, he had a claim pending for service connection for esophageal cancer. 4. The appellant filed her claim for accrued benefits in September 2007. 5. Esophageal cancer was not shown in service, or for many years thereafter, and there is no competent, probative evidence of or opinion even suggesting a medical nexus (or, relationship) between esophageal cancer and service. CONCLUSIONS OF LAW 1. A disability of service origin did not cause or contribute substantially or materially to cause the Veteran's death. 38 U.S.C.A. §§ 1110, 1116, 1310, 5103A, 5107 (West 2002& Supp. 2009); 38 C.F.R. §§ 3.303, 3.307, 3.309, 3.312 (2009). 2. For accrued benefits purposes, esophageal cancer was not incurred in or aggravated by active service, nor may service incurrence of a malignant tumor be presumed. 38 U.S.C.A. §§ 1110, 1112, 1113, 1131, 5103, 5103A, 5107 (West 2002 & Supp. 2009); 38 C.F.R. §§ 3.303, 3.307, 3.309 (2009). REASONS AND BASES FOR FINDINGS AND CONCLUSIONS VCAA The provisions of the Veterans Claims Assistance Act of 2000 (VCAA), codified at 38 C.F.R. §§ 3.102, 3.156(a), 3.159, 3.326(a), and as interpreted by the United States Court of Appeals for Veterans Claims (the Court) have been fulfilled. In this case, the appellant's claims for compensation benefits for the Veteran's cause of death and accrued benefits were received in September 2007. Thereafter, she was notified of the provisions of the VCAA by the RO in correspondence dated in October 2007. This letter notified the appellant of VA's responsibilities in obtaining information to assist her in completing her claims, identified the appellant's duties in obtaining information and evidence to substantiate her claims, and provided other pertinent information regarding VCAA. Thereafter, the claims were reviewed and a statement of the case (SOC) was issued in March 2010. See 38 C.F.R. §§ 3.102, 3.156(a), 3.159, 3.326(a), Quartuccio v. Principi, 16 Vet. App. 183 (2002), Pelegrini v. Principi, 18 Vet. App. 112 (2004). See also Mayfield v. Nicholson, 19 Vet. App. 103, 110 (2005), reversed on other grounds, 444 F.3d 1328 (Fed. Cir. 2006); Mayfield v. Nicholson (Mayfield II), 20 Vet. App. 537 (2006); Kent v. Nicholson, 20 Vet. App. 1 (2006), Mayfield v. Nicholson (Mayfield III), 07-7130 (Fed. Cir. September 17, 2007). The Board notes that 38 C.F.R. § 3.159 was revised, effective May 30, 2008, removing the sentence in subsection (b)(1) stating that VA will request the claimant provide any evidence in the claimant's possession that pertains to the claim. Subsection (b)(3) was also added and notes that no duty to provide § 5103(a) notice arises "[u]pon receipt of a Notice of Disagreement" or when "as a matter of law, entitlement to the benefit claimed cannot be established." See 73 Fed. Reg. 23,353-23,356 (Apr. 30, 2008). In a claim for Disability and Indemnity Compensation (DIC) benefits, VA's notice requirements include (1) a statement of the conditions, if any, for which a veteran was service-connected at the time of his death; (2) an explanation of the evidence and information required to substantiate a DIC claim based on a previously service-connected condition; and (3) an explanation of the evidence and information required to substantiate a DIC claim based on a condition not yet service-connected. See Hupp v. Nicholson, 21 Vet. App. 342 (2007). To the extent that the RO's notice is not fully compliant with Hupp and notice provisions of the VCAA, any such error is presumed to be prejudicial. See Sanders v. Nicholson, 487 F.3d 881, 889 (Fed. Cir 2007). However, under the circumstances of this case, any such error does not require a remand because the error did not affect the essential fairness of the adjudication. Id. Specifically, the record reflects that "any defect was cured by actual knowledge on the part of the claimant," because the statements of the appellant throughout the appeal reflect that she understood all of the elements of VCAA notification. Id. Statements of the appellant and her representative dated in September 2007 and August 2010 as well as the August 2010 hearing testimony indicates that the appellant is clearly aware of the evidence and information required to substantiate her claims for accrued benefits and for service connection for the Veteran's cause of death. As such, the record reflects that the appellant had actual knowledge of the information and evidence needed to substantiate her claims on appeal. During the pendency of this appeal, on March 3, 2006, the United States Court of Appeals for Veterans Claims (Court) issued a decision in the consolidated appeal of Dingess/Hartman v. Nicholson, 19 Vet. App. 473 (2006), which held that the VCAA notice requirements of 38 U.S.C.A. § 5103(a) and 38 C.F.R. § 3.159(b) apply to all elements of a claim. The Veteran received this notice in the July 2007 letter. The appellant has been made aware of the information and evidence necessary to substantiate her claims and has been provided opportunities to submit such evidence. A review of the claims file also shows that VA has conducted reasonable efforts to assist her in obtaining evidence necessary to substantiate her claims during the course of this appeal. The Veteran's service treatment records and post-service VA and private treatment records have been obtained and associated with the claims file. Furthermore, the appellant has not identified any additional, relevant evidence that has not otherwise been requested or obtained. The appellant has been notified of the evidence and information necessary to substantiate her claims, and she has been notified of VA's efforts to assist her. See Quartuccio v. Principi, 16 Vet. App. 183 (2002). As a result of the development that has been undertaken, there is no reasonable possibility that further assistance will aid in substantiating her claims. Law and Regulations Accrued Benefits Claim VA law provides that where death occurred on or after December 1, 1962, periodic monetary benefits (other than insurance and servicemembers' indemnity) authorized under laws administered by VA, to which a payee was entitled at his or her death under existing ratings or decisions or those based on evidence in the file at date of death, and due and unpaid will, upon the death of such person, be paid as defined by regulation. See 38 U.S.C.A. § 5121 (West 2002 & Supp. 2009); 38 C.F.R. § 3.1000(a) (2009). Evidence in the file at date of death means evidence in VA's possession on or before the date of the beneficiary's death, even if such evidence was not physically located in the VA claims folder on or before the date of death, in support of a claim for VA benefits pending on the date of death. 38 C.F.R. § 3.1000(d)(4). A claim for VA benefits pending on the date of death means a claim filed with VA that had not been finally adjudicated by VA on or before the date of death. Such a claim includes a deceased beneficiary's claim to reopen a finally disallowed claim based upon new and material evidence or a deceased beneficiary's claim of clear and unmistakable error in a prior rating or decision. Any new and material evidence must have been in VA's possession on or before the date of the beneficiary's death. 38 C.F.R. § 3.1000(d)(5). The United States Court of Appeals for the Federal Circuit (Federal Circuit) has held that an accrued benefits claim is derivative of the Veteran's claim and that an accrued benefits claimant cannot be entitled to a greater benefit than the veteran would have received had he lived. See Zevalkink v. Brown, 6 Vet. App. 483, 489-90 (1994); aff'd, 102 F.3d 1236 (Fed. Cir. 1996); cert. denied, 117 S. Ct. 2478 (1997) (holding that "the substance of the survivor's claim is purely derivative from any benefit to which the veteran might have been 'entitled' at his death [and gives the survivor] the right to stand in the shoes of the veteran and pursue his claim after his death."). VA records show that service treatment records have been associated with the Veteran's claims file. A VA examination was performed in May 1948. An August 1948 rating decision established service connection for left thigh scar, left lumbar scar, and residuals of wound to forearms and left buttock, with a combined disability rating of 10 percent. In June 2007 the Veteran filed a claim for, among other things, service connection for esophageal cancer and indicated treatment at the Seattle VA Medical Center (VAMC). The Veteran was notified in July 2007 of evidence necessary to support his claim for service connection. In a July 2007 response, the Veteran indicated he had no other information or evidence to give the VA to substantiate his claim. A letter dated in September 2007 indicates a fee-based examination was cancelled upon the death of the Veteran. Records show that in August 2007, the Veteran died as a result of esophageal cancer. The appellant's application for VA benefits was received in September 2007. The Board finds that a claim for accrued benefits was timely filed and that the issue developed for appellate review must be decided based upon the evidence in VA's possession on or before the date of the beneficiary's death. Service Connection Claim Service connection may be granted for disability resulting from disease or injury incurred in or aggravated by active military service. See 38 U.S.C.A. §§ 1110, 1131 (West 2002); 38 C.F.R. § 3.303. Service connection may be established for any disease diagnosed after discharge, when all the evidence, including that pertinent to service, establishes the disease was incurred in service. See 38 C.F.R. § 3.303(d). As a general matter, service connection for a disability on the basis of the merits of such claim is focused upon (1) the existence of a current disability; (2) the existence of the disease or injury in service, and; (3) a relationship or nexus between the current disability and any injury or disease during service. See Cuevas v. Principi, 3 Vet. App. 542 (1992); Rabideau v. Derwinski, 2 Vet. App. 141 (1992). Finally, in a claim for service connection, the ultimate credibility or weight to be accorded evidence must be determined as a question of fact. The Board determines whether (1) the weight of the evidence supports the claim, or (2) the weight of the "positive" evidence in favor of the claim is in relative balance with the weight of the "negative" evidence against the claim: the appellant prevails in either event. However, if the weight of the evidence is against the appellant's claim, the claim must be denied. See 38 U.S.C.A. § 5107(b); 38 C.F.R. § 3.102; Gilbert v. Derwinski, 1 Vet. App. 49 (1990). Cause of Death When any veteran dies after December 31, 1956, from a service- connected or compensable disability, VA will pay dependency and indemnity compensation to such Veteran's surviving spouse, children, and parents. See 38 U.S.C.A. § 1310 (West 2002). In a claim where service connection was not established for the fatal disability prior to the death of the veteran, the initial inquiry is to determine whether the fatal disorder had been incurred in or aggravated by service. The Board must determine whether the fatal disorder should have been service-connected. See 38 C.F.R. § 3.312 (2009). In order to establish service connection for the cause of the Veteran's death, the evidence must show that a disability incurred in or aggravated by active service was the principal or contributory cause of death. 38 U.S.C.A. § 1310 (West 2002); 38 C.F.R. § 3.312(a) (2009). In order to constitute the principal cause of death the service-connected disability must be one of the immediate or underlying causes of death, or be etiologically related to the cause of death. 38 C.F.R. § 3.312(b). In order to be a contributory cause of death, it must be shown that there were "debilitating effects" due to a service-connected disability that made the veteran "materially less capable" of resisting the effects of the fatal disease or that a service- connected disability had "material influence in accelerating death," thereby contributing substantially or materially to the cause of death. See Lathan v. Brown, 7 Vet. App. 359 (1995); 38 C.F.R. § 3.312(c)(1). Factual Background and Analysis Service treatment records, consisting of a December 1944 induction examination report, do not show any treatment, complaints, or diagnosis of esophageal cancer. In an undated latter from the Veteran, presumably written while he was in combat, the Veteran indicated he used his rifle and grenades, and was being shot at by "wood-peckers." The Veteran also reported he called in for air support and they "straffed" and bombed. The Veteran finally reported that "something went off" behind him and that was the end of combat for him. In a February 2007 private treatment record, the Veteran admitted that he continued to smoke intermittently and the most recent time he quit was in November. His history was remarkable for alcoholism A private medical center discharge report dated in May 2007 indicated a diagnosis of esophageal cancer with obstruction. In June 2007, the Veteran filed a claim for service connection for esophageal cancer due to exposure to phosphorus explosion from a mortar attack directly in front of him when he was attacking the Japanese. He reported he had treatment from the VA Medical Center (VAMC) in Seattle, Washington. In a July 2007 letter the RO requested all records related to his cancer diagnosis and informed the Veteran what was necessary to substantiate a claim for service connection. In a July 2007 response, the Veteran indicated he had no other evidence to substantiate his claim. An August 2007 VA progress note indicated the Veteran wanted to establish care with the Seattle VAMC, and has a community provider with no prior VA primary care program. The Veteran passed away on August [redacted], 2007. The death certificate indicates an immediate cause of death as esophageal adenocarcinoma. The physician further listed other significant conditions contributing to death but not resulting in the underlying cause given above as "quit smoking at age 77, history of alcohol overuse." The Veteran's spouse filed her claim in September 2007. It was noted on an accompanying marriage certificate that the appellant and the Veteran were married in May 1983. Private treatment records received in November 2007 from Olympic Medical Center and Virginia Mason Medical Center indicate diagnosis and treatment for esophageal cancer beginning in May 2007. In her June 2008 substantive appeal, the appellant reported that the Veteran was exposed to atomic radiation when he was attacked by mortar fire during combat in WWII, at the same time he incurrent an injury to his left high, left lumbar area, forearms, and left buttock. She claimed that his exposure to radiation was the proximate cause of his esophageal cancer, which caused his death. During her August 2010 Board hearing, the appellant reported that the Veteran never discussed his claimed exposure to phosphorus with his physicians and that the Veteran had quit smoking in 1996. She asserted the Veteran often spoke of his exposure to bomb blasts, dirt, and white phosphorus grenades. She reported that post-service the Veteran worked as an electrician supervising those who worked on power lines, and that when he was young, he drove a tractor trailer on a long-haul route. In August 2010 the appellant also submitted multiple internet articles concerning the health risks associated with white phosphorus, including the use of phosphorus in incendiary bombs in WWII. Analysis Service Connection for Accrued Benefits Purposes Based upon the evidence of record, the Board finds that esophageal cancer was not shown to have developed as a result of an established event, injury, or disease during active service. Evidence of a diagnosis of esophageal cancer is first shown in 2007, more than 60 years after separation from active service. The Board also notes that the passage of many years between discharge from active service and the medical documentation of a claimed disability is a factor that tends to weigh against a claim for service connection. See Maxson v. Gober, 230 F.3d 1330, 1333 (Fed. Cir. 2000); Shaw v. Principi, 3 Vet. App. 365 (1992). Significantly, the record also includes no competent medical opinion establishing a nexus or medical relationship between esophageal cancer diagnosed post-service and events during the Veteran's active service. Neither the appellant nor her representative have presented, identified, or alluded to the existence of, any such opinion. Consequently, the Board finds that entitlement to service connection for esophageal cancer for accrued benefits purposes is not warranted. For purposes of accrued benefits, the Board has carefully considered the evidence associated with the file at the time of the Veteran's death; or in the case of VA records, those records are presumed to be in the custody of VA, as well as the appellant's statements regarding the Veteran's exposure to phosphorus as a cause of esophageal cancer. While the Board does not doubt the sincerity of her belief that the Veteran's esophageal cancer is the result of his active service this claim turns on a medical matter. As a layperson without the appropriate medical training or expertise, the appellant is not competent to render a probative opinion on such a medical matter. See Bostain v. West, 11 Vet. App. 124, 127 (1998), citing Espiritu v. Derwinski, 2 Vet. App. 492 (1992). See also Routen v. Brown, 10 Vet. App. 183, 186 (1997) ("a layperson is generally not capable of opining on matters requiring medical knowledge"). Hence, the submitted assertions in this regard do not constitute persuasive evidence in support of the claim for service connection for accrued benefits purposes. The appellant has submitted internet articles consisting of the risks associated with white phosphorus exposure and their use in WWII incendiary bombs. However, what the records do not contain, are medical statements relating the Veteran's diagnosed esophageal cancer to any events in military service. Medical treatise evidence can, in some circumstances, constitute competent medical evidence. See Wallin v. West, 11 Vet. App. 509, 514 (1998); see also 38 C.F.R. § 3.159(a)(1) (competent medical evidence may include statements contained in authoritative writings such as medical and scientific articles and research reports and analyses). However, the Court has held that medical evidence that is speculative, general or inconclusive in nature cannot support a claim. See Beausoleil v. Brown, 8 Vet. App. 459, 463 (1996); Libertine v. Brown, 9 Vet. App. 521, 523 (1996). Here, the treatise evidence which has been submitted by the appellant during her August 2010 hearing is general in nature and does not specifically relate to the facts and circumstances surrounding the Veteran's particular case. When all the evidence is assembled VA is then responsible for determining whether the evidence supports the claim or is in relative equipoise, with the appellant prevailing in either event, or whether a preponderance of the evidence is against the claim in which case the claim is denied. Gilbert v. Derwinski, 1 Vet. App. 49, 55 (1990); Ortiz v. Principi, 274 F. 3d 1361 (Fed. Cir. 2001). The preponderance of the evidence is against the appellant's claim. Cause of Death As found above, there is no basis upon which to conclude that the Veteran's esophageal cancer was incurred in or aggravated during military service. At the time of his death, the Veteran was service connected for scars and assigned a 10 percent disability rating for multiple non-compensable disabilities. The appellant has not asserted that the Veteran's service-connected scars played a significant role in his death, and there is no competent medical evidence in the file to suggest that they did. Based upon review of all the evidence, the Board finds the persuasive evidence of record demonstrates a disease or injury which caused or contributed to the Veteran's death was not incurred in or aggravated by service. No medical specialist treating the Veteran has indicated that esophageal cancer was a result of phosphorus exposure in service, as alleged by the appellant. Both Claims Where a determinative issue involves medical causation or a medical diagnosis, competent medical evidence is required. Grottveit v. Brown, 5 Vet. App. 91, 93 (1993). Although the appellant is competent to provide evidence of visible symptoms, she is not competent to provide evidence that requires medical knowledge. Espiritu v. Derwinski, 2 Vet. App. 492 (1992). ORDER Entitlement to service connection for the Veteran's cause of death is denied. Entitlement to service connection for esophageal cancer, for accrued benefits purposes, is denied. ____________________________________________ RENÉE M. PELLETIER Veterans Law Judge, Board of Veterans' Appeals Department of Veterans Affairs