Citation Nr: 1040697 Decision Date: 10/29/10 Archive Date: 11/04/10 DOCKET NO. 08-00 336A ) DATE ) ) On appeal from the Department of Veterans Affairs Regional Office in Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania THE ISSUES 1. Entitlement to service connection for hypothyroidism. 2. Entitlement to service connection for nephrolithiasis. 3. Entitlement to service connection for plantar fasciitis of the left foot. 4. Entitlement to service connection for plantar fasciitis of the right foot. 5. Entitlement to service connection for headaches. 6. Entitlement to service connection for an acquired psychiatric disorder, to include posttraumatic stress disorder (PTSD). 7. Entitlement to an initial rating in excess of 10 percent for hypoparathyroidism with paresthesia of the face and upper extremities. REPRESENTATION Appellant represented by: Disabled American Veterans WITNESS AT HEARINGS ON APPEAL The Veteran ATTORNEY FOR THE BOARD L. Barstow, Associate Counsel INTRODUCTION The Veteran had active military service from September 2005 to December 2006. This matter comes before the Board of Veterans' Appeals (Board) on appeal of a September 2007 rating decision of the Department of Veterans Affairs (VA) Regional Office (RO) in Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania. The Veteran testified at a hearing before a decision review officer (DRO) in March 2008 and before the undersigned at a hearing in March 2010. Transcripts of both hearings are of record. The Veteran has submitted new evidence in the form of VA treatment records, which relates to the issues on appeal. The Veteran specifically waived his right to have the RO consider this evidence in the first instance. 38 C.F.R. § 20.1304(c) (2010). The Board observes that although the Veteran filed a claim for PTSD, the evidence shows a diagnosis of adjustment disorder. In February 2009, the United States Court of Appeals for Veterans Claims (Court) held that, when a claimant identifies PTSD without more, it cannot be considered a claim limited only to that diagnosis, but rather must be considered a claim for any mental disability that may reasonably be encompassed by several factors including the claimant's description of the claim, the symptoms the claimant describes, and the information the claimant submits or that VA obtains in support of the claim. The Court found that such an appellant did not file a claim to receive benefits only for a particular diagnosis, but for the affliction (symptoms) his mental condition, whatever it is, causes him. Clemons v. Shinseki, 23 Vet. App. 1 (2009). Therefore, the Board has recharacterized the issue as set forth on the title page to entitlement to service connection for an acquired psychiatric disorder to include PTSD. FINDINGS OF FACT 1. The Veteran has hypothyroidism that was incurred in service. 2. The Veteran's nephrolithiasis preexisted his military service and was not aggravated by his military service. 3. The Veteran has plantar fasciitis of the left foot that was incurred in service. 4. The Veteran does not have a diagnosis of plantar fasciitis of the right foot. 5. The Veteran does not have headaches that are causally or etiologically related to his military service. 6. The Veteran has adjustment disorder with mixed emotional features that was incurred in service. 7. The Veteran's service-connected hypoparathyroidism with paresthesia of the face and upper extremities requires continuous medication and is not manifested by disability tantamount to marked neuromuscular excitability; or cataract or evidence of increased cranial pressure in addition to the paresthesia. CONCLUSIONS OF LAW 1. Resolving reasonable doubt in favor of the Veteran, the hypothyroidism is related to his active military service. 38 U.S.C.A. §§ 1101, 1110, 5107 (West 2002 & Supp. 2010); 38 C.F.R. §§ 3.102, 3.303, 3.304 (2010). 2. The Veteran does not have nephrolithiasis that is the result of disease or injury incurred in or aggravated by active military service. 38 U.S.C.A. §§ 1101, 1110, 5107 (West 2002 & Supp. 2010); 38 C.F.R. §§ 3.102, 3.303, 3.304 (2010). 3. Resolving reasonable doubt in favor of the Veteran, the plantar fasciitis of the left foot is related to his active military service. 38 U.S.C.A. §§ 1101, 1110, 5107 (West 2002 & Supp. 2010); 38 C.F.R. §§ 3.102, 3.303, 3.304 (2010). 4. The Veteran does not have plantar fasciitis of the right foot that is the result of disease or injury incurred in or aggravated by active military service. 38 U.S.C.A. §§ 1101, 1110, 5107 (West 2002 & Supp. 2010); 38 C.F.R. §§ 3.102, 3.303, 3.304 (2010). 5. The Veteran does not have headaches that are the result of disease or injury incurred in or aggravated by active military service. 38 U.S.C.A. §§ 1101, 1110, 5107 (West 2002 & Supp. 2010); 38 C.F.R. §§ 3.102, 3.303, 3.304 (2010). 6. Resolving reasonable doubt in favor of the Veteran, the adjustment disorder with mixed emotional features is related to his active military service. 38 U.S.C.A. §§ 1101, 1110, 5107 (West 2002 & Supp. 2009); 38 C.F.R. §§ 3.102, 3.303, 3.304 (2010). 7. The criteria for an initial rating in excess of 10 percent for hypoparathyroidism with paresthesia of the face and upper extremities have not been met. 38 U.S.C.A. §§ 1155, 5107 (West 2002); 38 C.F.R. §§ 3.159, 4.1, 4.3, 4.7, 4.119, Diagnostic Codes 7905 (2009). REASONS AND BASES FOR FINDINGS AND CONCLUSIONS I. The Veterans Claims Assistance Act of 2000 (VCAA) The VCAA describes VA's duty to notify and assist claimants in substantiating a claim for VA benefits. 38 U.S.C.A. §§ 5100, 5102, 5103, 5103A, 5107, 5126 (West 2002 & Supp. 2010); 38 C.F.R. §§ 3.102, 3.156(a), 3.159 and 3.326(a) (2010). Upon receipt of a complete or substantially complete application for benefits, VA is required to notify the claimant and his representative of any information, and any medical or lay evidence, that is necessary to substantiate the claim. 38 U.S.C.A. § 5103(a); 38 C.F.R. § 3.159(b); Quartuccio v. Principi, 16 Vet. App. 183 (2002). The VCAA notice must inform the claimant of any information and evidence not of record (1) that is necessary to substantiate the claim; (2) that VA will seek to provide; and (3) that the claimant is expected to provide. VCAA notice should be provided to a claimant before the initial unfavorable agency of original jurisdiction (AOJ) decision on a claim. Pelegrini v. Principi, 18 Vet. App. 112 (2004). The Board notes that the Veteran was apprised of VA's duties to both notify and assist in correspondence dated in May 2007 and June 2007, well before the AOJ's initial adjudication of the claims. Specifically regarding VA's duty to notify, the notifications to the Veteran apprised him of what the evidence must show to establish entitlement to the benefits sought, what evidence and/or information was already in the RO's possession, what additional evidence and/or information was needed from the Veteran, what evidence VA was responsible for getting, and what information VA would assist in obtaining on the Veteran's behalf. The notifications included the criteria for assigning disability ratings and for award of an effective date, see Dingess/Hartman v. Nicholson, 19 Vet. App. 473 (2006). The RO also provided a statement of the case (SOC) for all issues and a supplemental statement of the case (SSOC) for the rating issue reporting the results of its reviews of the issues on appeal and the text of the relevant portions of the VA regulations. Regarding VA's duty to assist, the RO obtained the Veteran's service treatment records (STRs), post-service medical records, and secured examinations in furtherance of his claim. VA has no duty to inform or assist that was unmet. VA examinations with respect to the issues on appeal were obtained in May 2007 and June 2007. 38 C.F.R. § 3.159(c)(4). To that end, when VA undertakes to provide a VA examination or obtain a VA opinion, it must ensure that the examination or opinion is adequate. Barr v. Nicholson, 21 Vet. App. 303, 312 (2007). As noted below, the Board finds that the May 2007 and June 2007 VA examinations obtained in this case were sufficient, as they were predicated on a full reading of the VA medical records in the Veteran's claims file. They consider all of the pertinent evidence of record, the statements of the appellant, and provide explanations for the opinions stated. The June 2007 examination for his hypoparathyroidism provided medical information necessary to apply the appropriate rating criteria. Accordingly, the Board finds that VA's duty to assist with respect to obtaining a VA examination or opinion with respect to the issues on appeal has been met. 38 C.F.R. § 3.159(c)(4). The Board acknowledges that the examinations did not provide medical opinions regarding nephrolithiasis, plantar fasciitis of the right foot, or headaches. However, the Board finds that medical opinions are not required because opinions are only necessary if the information and evidence of record does not contain sufficient competent medical evidence to decide the claim, but contains: 1) competent evidence of diagnosed disability or symptoms of disability, 2) establishes that the veteran suffered an event, injury or disease in service, or has a presumptive disease during the pertinent presumptive period, and 3) indicates that the claimed disability may be associated with the in-service event, injury, or disease, or with another service-connected disability. 38 C.F.R. § 3.159(c)(4); see McLendon v. Nicholson, 20 Vet. App. 79 (2006). In this case, as described in detail below, there is insufficient evidence of diagnosed disability or symptoms of disability that may be associated with his service. Consequently, given the standard of the regulation, the Board finds that VA did not have a duty to assist that was unmet. II. The Merits of the Claims Service Connection Service connection may be granted for disability resulting from disease or injury incurred or aggravated during active military service. 38 U.S.C.A. § 1110; 38 C.F.R. § 3.303. Service connection may also be granted for any injury or disease diagnosed after service, when all the evidence, including that pertinent to service, establishes that the disease or injury was incurred in service. 38 C.F.R. § 3.303(d). Generally, service connection requires (1) the existence of a present disability, (2) in-service incurrence or aggravation of an injury or disease, and (3) a causal relationship between the present disability and the disease or injury incurred or aggravated during service. Shedden v. Principi, 381 F.3d 1163 (1995). A veteran is considered to have been in sound condition when examined, accepted and enrolled for service, except as to defects, infirmities, or disorders noted at entrance into service, except where clear and unmistakable evidence demonstrates that an injury or disease existed before acceptance and enrollment and was not aggravated by such service. 38 U.S.C.A. §§ 1111. Thus, veterans are presumed to have entered service in sound condition as to their health. This presumption attaches only where there has been an induction examination in which the later complained-of disability was not detected. See Bagby v. Derwinski, 1 Vet. App. 225, 227 (1991). The regulation provides expressly that the term "noted" denotes "[o]nly such conditions as are recorded in examination reports," 38 C.F.R. § 3.304(b), and that "[h]istory of pre-service existence of conditions recorded at the time of examination does not constitute a notation of such conditions." Id. at (b)(1). Prior provisions of 38 C.F.R. § 3.304(b) only required a finding that clear and unmistakable evidence showed that a injury or disease existed prior to service in order to rebut the presumption of soundness. However, the provisions of 38 C.F.R. § 3.304(b) were invalidated as being inconsistent with 38 U.S.C.A. § 1111. See generally Cotant v. Principi, 17 Vet. App. 116 (2003), Jordan v. Principi, 17 Vet. App. 261 (2003), Wagner v. Principi, 370 F.3d 1089 (Fed. Cir. 2004), VAOPGCPREC 3-2003 (July 16, 2003). Pursuant to these developments, it is now clear that in order to rebut the presumption of soundness at service entry, there must be clear and unmistakable evidence showing that the disorder preexisted service and there must be clear and unmistakable evidence that the disorder was not aggravated by service. See 38 C.F.R. § 3.304 (b) (2010). The claimant is not required to show that the disease or injury increased in severity during service before VA's duty under the second prong of this rebuttal standard attaches. VAOPGCPREC 3-2003 (July 16, 2003). Before these above cited precedent opinions, VAOPGCPREC 3- 2003, and the recent regulatory amendment, VA had the burden to rebut the presumption of soundness by clear and unmistakable evidence that the veteran's disability pre- existed service. If VA met this burden, however, it then had the burden to rebut the presumption by a preponderance of the evidence (a lower standard) that the pre-existing disorder was not aggravated by service. Now, VA must also show by clear and unmistakable evidence that the pre-existing disorder was not aggravated during service (a higher standard). A preexisting injury or disease will be considered to have been aggravated by service where there is an increase in disability during such service, unless there is a specific finding that the increase in disability is due to the natural progress of the disease. 38 U.S.C.A. § 1153; 38 C.F.R. § 3.306. Aggravation may not be conceded where the disability underwent no increase in severity during service on the basis of all the evidence of record pertaining to the manifestations of the disability prior to, during, and subsequent to service. 38 U.S.C.A. § 1153 (West 2002); 38 C.F.R. § 3.306(b) (2010); Falzone v. Brown, 8 Vet. App. 398, 402 (1995). Temporary or intermittent flare-ups during service of a preexisting injury or disease are not sufficient to be considered "aggravation in service" unless the underlying condition, as contrasted to symptoms, is worsened. Hunt v. Derwinski, 1 Vet. App. 292, 297 (1991). Hypothyroidism The Veteran's enlistment examination for his reserve service dated in April 2002 shows no history of hypothyroidism. STRs show that the Veteran had a thyroid goiter since May 2005, prior to his period of active duty. A medical report dated in August 2005 shows that surgery was suggested, but the Veteran reportedly wished to delay surgery until November 2005. The Veteran's thyroid disorder continued to worsen, culminating in a thyroidectomy in service in August 2006. After the surgery, the Veteran was diagnosed with hypothyroidism. A June 2006 report of medical history contained a notation that the Veteran had hypothyroidism secondary to thyroidectomy. The Veteran had a medical board in October 2006. A physical evaluation board in October 2006 shows a diagnosis of hypothyroidism. The Veteran was subsequently discharged from service in December 2006 after being found unfit for service due to hypothyroidism and hypoparathyroidism. Post-service medical records continue to show a diagnosis of hypothyroidism secondary to the in-service thyroidectomy. Based on a review of the evidence and affording the Veteran the benefit of the doubt, the Board finds that service connection for hypothyroidism is warranted. The evidence shows that the Veteran had a thyroidectomy while on active duty and that as a result of that surgery, he now has hypothyroidism. Therefore, the evidence shows that the Veteran has a current disability, hypothyroidism, that is causally related to the in-service thyroidectomy. With regards to the Veteran's thyroidectomy, the Board finds that the presumption of soundness has been rebutted with respect to the thyroid goiter. Clear and unmistakable evidence in the form of medical records show that the Veteran had an enlarged thyroid that required surgery prior to his active service. A preexisting injury or disease will be considered to have been aggravated by service where there is an increase in disability during such service, unless there is a specific finding that the increase in disability is due to the natural progress of the disease. In this case, the evidence shows that while on active duty, the Veteran's thyroid goiter continued to enlarge and necessitated the Veteran having to leave his deployment in Iraq by medevac for surgery. No medical professional has provided any finding that any increase in the Veteran's preexisting thyroid disorder was due to the natural progression of the disease. Without such a finding, the preexisting disease is considered to have been aggravated by service. Since the disease was aggravated by service, and the Veteran now has hypothyroidism as a result of the in-service thyroidectomy for his thyroid goiter, and when affording the Veteran the benefit-of-the-doubt, the Board finds that service connection is warranted. Nephrolithiasis The Veteran reserve enlistment examination in April 2002 shows that he reported passing a kidney stone in August 1996. Medical records from August 1996 were obtained in connection with his April 2002 examination. The October 2006 medical board report shows that the Veteran had a history of nephrolithiasis in 1996 and 2002. His October 2006 physical evaluation board examination included a diagnosis of nephrolithiasis. Post-service treatment records do not show any current nephrolithiasis. An x-ray in June 2007 showed no evidence of renal stones. The Board finds that service connection is not warranted for nephrolithiasis. The evidence indicates that the Veteran had nephrolithiasis prior to his active military service; there is no indication that the Veteran had nephrolithiasis at any time in service or post-service. In this case, the Board finds that the presumption of soundness has been rebutted and there is no evidence to indicate any increase in severity during service on the basis of all the evidence of record pertaining to the manifestations of the disability prior to, during, and subsequent to service. Therefore, aggravation may not be conceded. 38 U.S.C.A. § 1153; 38 C.F.R. § 3.306(b); Falzone at 402. In fact, there is no evidence of any current disability. The existence of a current disability is the cornerstone of a claim for VA disability compensation. 38 U.S.C.A. § 1110, 1131; see Degmetich v. Brown, 104 F. 3d 1328, 1332 (1997) (holding that interpretation of sections 1110 and 1131 of the statute as requiring the existence of a present disability for VA compensation purposes cannot be considered arbitrary). In other words, the evidence must show that the veteran currently has the disability for which benefits are being claimed. Here, there is no competent medical evidence that shows current nephrolithiasis. In sum, the Veteran's nephrolithiasis preexisted service and the evidence does not show that it increased in severity during service or that he currently has the disorder. Therefore, service connection is not warranted. The Board acknowledges the Veteran's belief that he has nephrolithiasis related to his military service. However, there is no evidence of record showing that the Veteran has the specialized medical education, training, and experience necessary to render competent medical opinion as to diagnosis and etiology of the disability. Espiritu v. Derwinski, 2 Vet. App. 492 (1992); 38 C.F.R. § 3.159(a) (1) (2010). Consequently, the Veteran's own assertions as to diagnosis and etiology of the disability have no probative value. As the preponderance of the evidence is against the Veteran's claim, the benefit-of-the-doubt rule does not apply, and the Veteran's claim of entitlement to service connection for nephrolithiasis is denied. See 38 U.S.C.A § 5107 (West 2002 & Supp. 2010). Plantar Fasciitis of the Left Foot The Veteran's STRs show no treatment for, or diagnosis of, plantar fasciitis of the left foot. All examinations performed in service showed clinically normal feet. The Board observes that in a September 2006 report of medical history, the Veteran reported problems with his heels and arches; he indicated that he wore orthotics off and on. At a VA examination in May 2007, the Veteran reported left heel pain since February 2006. The Veteran was diagnosed with plantar fasciitis of the left foot. No opinion as the etiology of the plantar fasciitis was provided. At his March 2010 hearing, the Veteran testified that he began experiencing left heel pain during his deployment. The Veteran's testimony establishes a continuity of symptomatology. In this regard, a layperson is competent to testify regarding onset and continuity of heel pain. The Board finds that the Veteran is competent to testify regarding the onset and continuity of symptomatology. Heuer v. Brown, 7 Vet. App. 379, 384 (1995); Falzone v. Brown, 8 Vet. App. 398, 403 (1995); Caldwell v. Derwinski, 1 Vet. App. 466 (1991). Competent testimony is limited to that which the witness has actually observed, and is within the realm of his personal knowledge; such knowledge comes to a witness through use of his senses, that which is heard, felt, seen, smelled or tasted. Layno v. Brown, 6 Vet. App. 465 (1994). Competency of evidence differs from weight and credibility. The former is a legal concept determining whether testimony may be heard and considered by the trier of fact, while the later is a factual determination going to the probative value of the evidence to be made after the evidence has been admitted. Rucker v. Brown, 10 Vet. App. 67, 74 (1997); Layno at 469; see also Cartwright v. Derwinski, 2 Vet. App. 24, 25 (1991) ("Although interest may affect the credibility of testimony, it does not affect competency to testify."). Additionally, the Board finds the Veteran's statements in this case are credible. In this case, based on the Veteran's competent and credible testimony regarding the onset and continuity of symptomatology, the post-service diagnosis of plantar fasciitis of the left foot within six months of his discharge from service, and affording the Veteran the benefit-of-the-doubt, the Board finds that it is as likely as not that the Veteran has plantar fasciitis of the left foot that was incurred in service. There is no medical opinion establishing that the left heel pain the Veteran experienced is not indicative of the later diagnosed plantar fasciitis. Accordingly, service connection is warranted. Plantar Fasciitis of the Right Foot The Veteran's STRs show no treatment for, or diagnosis of, plantar fasciitis of the right foot. All examinations performed in service showed clinically normal feet. As noted above, the Veteran reported problems with his heels and arches in a September 2006 report of medical history; he indicated that he wore orthotics off and on. Post-service medical records do not show any diagnosis of plantar fasciitis of the right foot. The Veteran's testimony at the March 2010 hearing reveals that the right foot was not as bad as the left. The Board finds that service connection is not warranted as there is no evidence of a diagnosis of plantar fasciitis, or of any other disability, of the right foot. The existence of a current disability is the cornerstone of a claim for VA disability compensation. 38 U.S.C.A. § 1110, 1131; see Degmetich at 1332. In other words, the evidence must show that the veteran currently has the disability for which benefits are being claimed. Here, there is no competent medical evidence that shows plantar fasciitis of the right foot. Accordingly, service connection must be denied. The Board acknowledges the Veteran's belief that he has plantar fasciitis of the right foot related to his military service. However, there is no evidence of record showing that the Veteran has the specialized medical education, training, and experience necessary to render competent medical opinion as to diagnosis and etiology of this disability. Espiritu, 2 Vet. App. 492; 38 C.F.R. § 3.159(a) (1). Consequently, the Veteran's own assertions as to diagnosis and etiology of the disability have no probative value. As the preponderance of the evidence is against the Veteran's claim, the benefit-of-the-doubt rule does not apply, and the Veteran's claim of entitlement to service connection for plantar fasciitis of the right foot is denied. See 38 U.S.C.A §5107. Headaches The Veteran's STRs show that the Veteran complained of occasional headaches at an August 2006 endocrinology clinic appointment. Otherwise there is no other indication of treatment for, or diagnosis of, headaches. All examinations in service showed a clinically normal neurologic system. No headaches were reported at the May 2007 VA examination. There is no indication in the voluminous post-service treatment records of any complaints of headaches until July 2008. In July 2008, the Veteran complained of severe headaches behind his left eye, which were "pressure-like." The Veteran's testimony at his March 2010 hearing shows that his headaches reportedly began after the thyroidectomy. The Board finds that service connection is not warranted for headaches. The Board acknowledges the in-service complaint and the Veteran's credible and competent testimony regarding experiencing headaches since the in-service thyroidectomy. However, that an injury or disease occurred in service is not enough; there must also be a chronic disability resulting from that injury or disease. The evidence in this case does not show any chronic disability of headaches. The existence of a current disability is the cornerstone of a claim for VA disability compensation. 38 U.S.C.A. § 1110, 1131; see Degmetich at 1332. In other words, the evidence must show that the veteran currently has the disability for which benefits are being claimed. Here, there is no competent medical evidence that shows a chronic headache disability. As discussed above, the Veteran's voluminous medical records dated through March 2010, including VA examinations, fail to show any diagnosed headache disability. The Board finds that the Veteran's testimony regarding a chronic disability is outweighed by the objective medical evidence, consisting of numerous VA treatment records and VA examinations, that does not show a chronic disability. In this case, the preponderance of the evidence is against a finding of a chronic disability. Accordingly, service connection must be denied. The Board acknowledges the Veteran's belief that he has headaches related to his military service. However, there is no evidence of record showing that the Veteran has the specialized medical education, training, and experience necessary to render competent medical opinion as to diagnosis and etiology of the disability. Espiritu, 2 Vet. App. 492; 38 C.F.R. § 3.159(a) (1). Consequently, the Veteran's own assertions as to diagnosis and etiology of the disability have no probative value. As the preponderance of the evidence is against the Veteran's claim, the benefit-of-the-doubt rule does not apply, and the Veteran's claim of entitlement to service connection for headaches is denied. See 38 U.S.C.A §5107. Acquired Psychiatric Disorder to include PTSD The Veteran's STRs show that the medical board examination in September 2006 contains a notation that a behavioral health consult was entered for chronic illness related adjustment stress. A record dated in October 2006 shows that the Veteran's history included other psychiatric or physical stress. A VA mental health outpatient treatment record dated in March 2007 shows that the Veteran was diagnosed with adjustment disorder with mixed depression and anxiety related features. The Veteran reported that the symptoms dated from his demobilization in July to August 2006. The Veteran was diagnosed with adjustment disorder with mixed emotional features at a June 2007 VA psychiatric examination. The Veteran's claims file was reviewed and the examiner conducted an exhaustive examination. The examiner opined that the Veteran had been having some difficulties with anxiety and depression since his return from Iraq and that might well have been related to issues with his marriage, with the reason he joined the Navy in the first place at age 36, with the experience of having to leave his family and be deployed, and the experience he had in such a foreign environment and land in Iraq. In this case, although the evidence does not show a diagnosis of PTSD, the evidence does show that the Veteran has been diagnosed with adjustment disorder with mixed emotional features. As discussed in the Introduction, the filing of a claim for service connection for PTSD means that the appellant filed a claim to receive benefits for the affliction (symptoms) of his mental condition, whatever it is. Based on a review of the evidence, the Board finds that service connection is warranted for adjustment disorder with mixed emotional features. Post-service medical records, specifically, the March 2007 treatment record and June 2007 examination, indicate that the Veteran's symptoms began in service. A layperson is competent to testify regarding onset and continuity of psychiatric symptoms. The Board finds that the Veteran is competent to testify regarding the onset and continuity of symptomatology. Heuer at 384; Falzone at 403; Caldwell, 1 Vet. App. 466. Competent testimony is limited to that which the witness has actually observed, and is within the realm of his personal knowledge; such knowledge comes to a witness through use of his senses, that which is heard, felt, seen, smelled or tasted. Layno, 6 Vet. App. 465. Competency of evidence differs from weight and credibility. The former is a legal concept determining whether testimony may be heard and considered by the trier of fact, while the later is a factual determination going to the probative value of the evidence to be made after the evidence has been admitted. Rucker at 74 (1997); Layno at 469; see also Cartwright at 25. Additionally, the Board finds the Veteran's statements in this case are credible. In this case, based on the Veteran's competent and credible testimony regarding the onset and continuity of symptomatology, the post-service diagnosis of adjustment disorder with mixed emotional features within six months of his discharge from service, and affording the Veteran the benefit-of-the-doubt, the Board finds that it is as likely as not that the Veteran has adjustment disorder with mixed emotional features that was incurred in service. As noted above, medical professionals have indicated that the Veteran's symptoms began in service, based on his credible and competent reports. There is no medical opinion establishing that the Veteran's adjustment disorder with mixed emotional features was not incurred in service. Accordingly, service connection is warranted. Initial Rating Disability ratings are determined by applying the criteria set forth in the VA Schedule for Rating Disabilities (Rating Schedule), found in 38 C.F.R. Part 4. The Board attempts to determine the extent to which the Veteran's service-connected disability adversely affects his ability to function under the ordinary conditions of daily life, and the assigned rating is based, as far as practicable, upon the average impairment of earning capacity in civil occupations. 38 U.S.C.A. § 1155; 38 C.F.R. §§ 4.1, 4.10. Where there is a question as to which of two evaluations should be applied, the higher evaluation will be assigned if the disability picture more nearly approximates the criteria required for that rating. Otherwise, the lower rating will be assigned. 38 C.F.R. § 4.7. The Court has indicated that a distinction must be made between a Veteran's dissatisfaction with an initial rating assigned following a grant of service connection (so-called "original ratings"), and dissatisfaction with determinations on later filed claims for increased ratings. See Fenderson v. West, 12 Vet. App. 119, 125-26 (1999). When an original rating is appealed, consideration must be given as to whether an increase or decrease is warranted at any time since the award of service connection, a practice known as "staged" ratings. Id. Consequently, the Board will evaluate the Veteran's parathyroid disability as a claim for a higher evaluation of the original award, effective from December 31, 2006, the date of award of service connection. The Veteran's service-connected hypoparathyroidism with parethesia of the face and upper extremities is rated under 38 C.F.R. § 4.119, Diagnostic Code 7905, hypoparathyroidism. A 100 percent rating is warranted when there is marked neuromuscular excitability (such as convulsions, muscular spasms (tetany) or laryngeal stridor) plus either cataract or evidence of increased intracranial pressure (such as papilledema). A 60 percent rating is warranted when there is marked neuromuscular excitability or; paresthesias (of arms, legs, or circumoral area) plus either cataract or evidence of increased cranial pressure. A 10 percent rating is warranted when continuous medication is required for control. 38 C.F.R. § 4.119, Diagnostic Code 7905 (2010). At a VA examination in June 2007, the Veteran reported taking continuous medication for his disability. He had no symptoms due to pressure. He gave a history of neurologic complaints that he described as having "pins and needles" of the legs that started about one to two months after surgery. The episodes occurred about every two to three days and lasted for approximately one minute. He also complained of decreased strength in the legs. The Veteran complained of some tingling in both upper extremities that occurred from the level of the elbow down to the hand. They had been occurring for at least three months and were present most days. The Veteran thought he had decreased strength in the left upper extremity, which he believed was related to cervical disc disease. Examination of the face revealed no ptosis. Neurologic examination revealed intact cranial nerves other than slight decreased sensation in the face in the V3 area, which was the fifth cranial nerve area of the third branch. In the upper extremities, motor strength was 5/5 without any pronator drift. Deep tendon reflexes were1/4 in the biceps, triceps, and brachioradials bilaterally. Pinprick and light touch were intact bilaterally as was sharp dull discrimination. Vibratory sense and temperature were intact. There was no muscle atrophy and cerebellar testing was normal. In the lower extremities, strength was 5/5. The Veteran was able to walk on his toes; he could not heel walk due to plantar fasciitis of the left foot. No muscle atrophy was noted. Patellar and Achilles deep tendon reflexes were 2/4 bilaterally. Pedal pulses were intact bilaterally. Light touch, pinprick, sharp, dull, temperature, and position sensation were all normal. Romberg and Babinski's were negative. There were no objective findings regarding the Veteran's upper extremity subjective complaints and lower extremity subjective tingling. The examiner noted an objective finding of a burning sensation in the right proximal interphalangeal joint; the Veteran had a nerve injury there about 20 years earlier with repair, which never gave him that symptom. No evidence of cataract or increased cranial pressure was shown in the examination report. The Veteran's disability had no effect on chores, shopping, cooking, driving, exercise, bathing, grooming, dressing, feeding, toileting, traveling, and recreation; and a moderate effect on sports. The Veteran's upper extremity and lower extremity complaints had no affect on chores, shopping, cooking, driving, bathing, grooming, dressing, feeding, toileting, and traveling; it had a moderate effect on exercise and sports. His facial numbness had no effect on any of his activities of daily living. Post-service medical records dated through March 2010 show that the Veteran continued to require medication for his disability. There is no evidence of marked neuromuscular excitability (such as convulsions, muscular spasms (tetany) or laryngeal stridor), cataract , or increased cranial pressure (such as papilledema). Neurologic records show that the Veteran has ptosis of the left eye; a record dated in June 2009 indicates that the Veteran was being worked up for partial third nerve palsy versus myasthenia gravis. However, the records do not show increased cranial pressure. The Veteran testified at his hearing of having muscular spasms; however, there is no objective evidence of the spasms or any indication that they are marked. Based on a review of the evidence, the Board finds that an initial rating in excess of 10 percent is not warranted at any time since the date of the award of service connection. The evidence shows that the Veteran requires continuous medication for his hypoparathyroidism, which meets the rating criteria for the currently assigned 10 percent rating. However, the evidence does not show marked neuromuscular excitability, cataract , or increased cranial pressure. The Board acknowledges that the evidence does show paresthesias of the arms and legs. To warrant a higher rating of 60 percent, however, requires paresthesias plus either cataract or evidence of increased cranial pressure. Without evidence, of cataract or increased cranial pressure, although the Veteran does have paresthesias, the criteria for the next higher rating of 60 have not been met. In sum, based on the evidence of record, the Board finds that an initial rating in excess of 10 percent is not warranted at any time since the date of the award of service connection as the evidence does not show neuromuscular excitability, or; paresthesias (of arms, legs, or circumoral area) plus either cataract or evidence of increased cranial pressure. The Board has considered whether a higher or separate rating is warranted under any of the other diagnostic codes used for rating the endocrine system, but finds that none is warranted. The diagnostic codes available for disabilities of the endocrine system include codes for hyperthyroidism, toxic adenoma of the thyroid gland, nontoxic adenoma of the thyroid gland, hypothyroidism, hyperparathyroidism, Cushing's syndrome, acromegaly, diabetes insipidus, and Addison's disease; these codes do not apply to the manifestations of the Veteran's diagnosed disability of hypoparathyroidism. 38 C.F.R. § 7900- 7904,7907-7909, 7911 (2010). The Board also finds that evidence does not show an exceptional or unusual disability picture as would render impractical the application of the regular schedular rating standards. See 38 C.F.R. § 3.321 (2010). The current evidence of record does not demonstrate that the hypoparathyroidism with paresthesia of the face and upper extremities disability has resulted in frequent periods of hospitalization or in marked interference with employment. § 3.321. It is undisputed that the Veteran's hypoparathyroidism with paresthesia of the face and upper extremities disability has an adverse effect on employability, but it bears emphasis that the schedular rating criteria are designed to take such factors into account. The schedule is intended to compensate for average impairments in earning capacity resulting from service-connected disability in civil occupations. 38 U.S.C.A. § 1155. "Generally, the degrees of disability specified [in the rating schedule] are considered adequate to compensate for considerable loss of working time from exacerbations or illnesses proportionate to the severity of the several grades of disability." 38 C.F.R. § 4.1 (2010). In this case, the very problems reported by the Veteran are specifically contemplated by the criteria discussed above, including the effect on his daily life. 38 C.F.R. §§ 4.10, 4.40. Therefore, given the lack of evidence showing unusual disability not contemplated by the rating schedule, the Board concludes that a remand to the RO for referral of this issue to the VA Central Office for consideration of an extraschedular evaluation is not warranted. Although the Veteran has submitted evidence of a medical disability, and made a claim for the highest rating possible, he has not submitted evidence of unemployability, or claimed to be unemployable, as a result of his service-connected hypoparathyroidism with paresthesia of the face and upper extremities. Thus, the question of entitlement to a total disability rating based on individual unemployability due to service-connected disabilities (TDIU rating) has not been raised. See Rice v. Shinseki, 22 Vet. App. 447 (2009); Roberson v. Principi, 251 F.3d 1378 (Fed. Cir. 2001). (CONTINUED ON NEXT PAGE) ORDER Entitlement to service connection for hypothyroidism is granted. Entitlement to service connection for nephrolithiasis is denied. Entitlement to service connection for plantar fasciitis of the left foot is granted. Entitlement to service connection for plantar fasciitis of the right foot is denied. Entitlement to service connection for headaches is denied. Entitlement to service connection for adjustment disorder with mixed emotional features is granted. Entitlement to an initial rating in excess of 10 percent for hypoparathyroidism with paresthesia of the face and upper extremities is denied. ______________________________________________ BARBARA B. COPELAND Veterans Law Judge, Board of Veterans' Appeals Department of Veterans Affairs