Citation Nr: 1042002 Decision Date: 11/08/10 Archive Date: 11/18/10 DOCKET NO. 10-37 450 ) DATE ) ) On appeal from the Department of Veterans Affairs Regional Office in St. Petersburg, Florida THE ISSUE Entitlement to service connection for headaches. REPRESENTATION Appellant represented by: Florida Department of Veterans Affairs ATTORNEY FOR THE BOARD Stacey R. Laskin, Associate Counsel INTRODUCTION The Veteran served on active duty from December 1942 to December 1943. This matter is before the Board of Veterans' Appeals (Board) on appeal from a rating decision dated in October 2009 by the Department of Veterans Affairs (VA) Regional Office (RO) in Cleveland, Ohio. FINDING OF FACT The Veteran's headaches began during service and have continued since service. CONCLUSION OF LAW The Veteran's headaches were incurred in active service. 38 U.S.C.A. § 1111, 5107(b) (2002); 38 C.F.R. §§ 3.102, 3.303, 3.304 (2010). REASONS AND BASES FOR FINDINGS AND CONCLUSION In this decision, the Board will discuss the relevant law which it is required to apply. This includes statutes enacted by Congress and published in Title 38, United States Code ("38 U.S.C.A."); regulations promulgated by VA under the law and published in the Title 38 of the Code of Federal Regulations ("38 C.F.R.") and the precedential rulings of the Court of Appeals for the Federal Circuit (as noted by citations to "Fed. Cir.) and the Court of Appeals for Veterans Claims (as noted by citations to "Vet. App."). The Board is bound by statute to set forth specifically the issue under appellate consideration and its decision must also include separately stated findings of fact and conclusions of law on all material issues of fact and law presented on the record, and the reasons or bases for those findings and conclusions. 38 U.S.C.A. § 7104(d); see also 38 C.F.R. § 19.7 (Implementing the cited statute); see also Vargas-Gonzalez v. West, 12 Vet. App. 321, 328 (1999); Gilbert v. Derwinski, 1 Vet. App. 49, 56-57 (1990) (The Board's statement of reasons and bases for its findings and conclusions on all material facts and law presented on the record must be sufficient to enable the claimant to understand the precise basis for the Board's decision, as well as to facilitate review of the decision by courts of competent appellate jurisdiction. The Board must also consider and discuss all applicable statutory and regulatory law, as well as the controlling decisions of the appellate courts). Duties to Notify and Assist The Veterans Claims Assistance Act of 2000 (VCAA), Pub. L. No. 106-475, 114 Stat. 2096 (2000) sets forth the obligations of VA with respect to the duty to assist and includes an enhanced duty to notify a claimant as to the information and evidence necessary to substantiate a claim for VA benefits. VA has a duty to notify the Veteran of any information and evidence needed to substantiate and complete a claim. 38 U.S.C.A. §§ 5102, 5103 (West 2002); 38 C.F.R. § 3.159(b) (2010). VA also has a duty to assist the Veteran in obtaining evidence necessary to substantiate a claim. 38 U.S.C.A. § 5103A (West 2002); 38 C.F.R. § 3.159(c) (2010). As discussed in detail below, sufficient evidence is of record to grant the claim on appeal. Therefore, no further notice or development is needed with respect to this appeal. Service Connection The standard of proof to be applied in decisions on claims for veterans' benefits is set forth in 38 U.S.C.A. § 5107 (West 2002). A veteran is entitled to the benefit of the doubt when there is an approximate balance of positive and negative evidence. See 38 C.F.R. § 3.102. When a veteran seeks benefits and the evidence is in relative equipoise, the veteran prevails. See Gilbert v. Derwinski, 1 Vet. App. 49, 54 (1990). The preponderance of the evidence must be against the claim for benefits to be denied. See Alemany v. Brown, 9 Vet. App. 518, 519 (1996). Generally, in order for a veteran to prevail on the merits for a service-connection claim, the Board must find medical evidence of current disability; medical or, in certain circumstances, lay evidence of in-service incurrence or aggravation of a disease or injury; and medical evidence of a nexus between the claimed in- service disease or injury and the present disability. 38 U.S.C.A. § 1110; 38 C.F.R. § 3.303. Further, lay evidence of in-service incurrence or aggravation may serve to support a claim for service connection by demonstrating the occurrence of lay-observable events or the presence of disability, or symptoms of disability, capable of lay observation, such as those seen in this case. See Davidson v. Shinseki, 581 F.3d 1313, 1316 (Fed. Cir. 2009) (citing Jandreau v. Nicholson, 492 F.3d 1372, 1377 (Fed. Cir. 2007)). The Board must make credibility determinations and otherwise weigh the evidence submitted, including lay evidence. See Buchanan v. Nicholson, 451 F.3d 1331, 1335 (Fed. Cir. 2006). In the evaluation of the evidence, VA adjudicators may properly consider internal inconsistency, facial plausibility, and consistency with other evidence submitted on behalf of the claimant. Caluza v. Brown, 7 Vet. App. 498, 511-512 (1995), aff'd, 78 F.3d 604 (Fed. Cir. 1996) (per curiam) (table); see Madden v. Brown, 125 F.3d 1447 (Fed Cir. 1997) (holding that the Board has the "authority to discount the weight and probative value of evidence in light of its inherent characteristics in its relationship to other items of evidence"). In a May 2009 claim, the Veteran contended that his headaches began in June 1943 and that he received treatment for these headaches in service. In an accompanying statement in support of his claim, also received by VA in May 2009, the Veteran stated that he continued to have problems with headaches since before his discharge from military service. In a June 2009 statement, the Veteran stated that the headaches began while he served in the Navy as a signalman, a job which required him to monitor a console that had several blinking lights as part of the Morse code system. In service, the Veteran was treated for headaches in August 1943. On August 20, the Veteran complained of a severe headache which started over the eye and worked backward. The Veteran was admitted to the hospital on that same day, where he was diagnosed, in part, with "hysterical conversion symptoms because of headaches." The Veteran submitted an April 1943 life insurance application on which he indicated that he had headaches and took daily medication to treat his headaches. The Veteran also submitted August 2009 and November 2009 letters from a private physician who stated that the Veteran had been a patient for more than 10 years and had a history of chronic headaches. In the August 2009 letter, the physician stated that the Veteran had received treatment and medication for his headaches, but still continued to suffer on a regular basis. The November 2009 letter indicated that the Veteran was prescribed medication for his headaches. At a September 2009 VA compensation and pension examination, the Veteran again stated that his headaches began during active service in 1943. The Veteran asserted that his headaches had continued since military service. The Veteran reported an incident in July 2009 when he was sent to the Emergency Room for evaluation of his headaches. The Veteran stated that the headaches occurred intermittently with remissions and that he experienced a headache weekly. The VA examiner determined that she could not state whether the Veteran's headaches were incurred in or related to an incident of military service without resorting to speculation because there was no documentation to support a 66-year chronicity of symptoms. The Veteran is competent to state that he has experienced the same headaches that he displayed in service until the present. See Davidson, 581 F.3d at 1316; Charles v. Principi, 16 Vet. App. 370, 374-75 (2002) (A veteran is competent to testify to in- service and post-service symptoms). Additionally, the Veteran has submitted competent medical evidence indicating that he began daily medication for headaches prior to leaving service and that he has received treatment for headaches for at least the last 10 years. The Board has considered the Veteran's credibility in his lay assertions under Buchanan. 451 F.3d at 1335. The Veteran's assertions are internally consistent throughout the record, supported by evidence of treatment for headaches in service, and consistent with medical evidence that the Veteran took daily medication for headaches for long periods of time during the period subsequent to service. Having carefully considered the Veteran's contentions in light of the evidence of record and the applicable law, the Board finds that the weight of such evidence is in approximate balance and the claim will be granted on this basis. 38 U.S.C.A. § 5107(b); Alemany, 9 Vet. App. at 518; Brown v. Brown, 5 Vet. App. 413 (1993) (Under the "benefit-of-the-doubt" rule, where there exists "an approximate balance of positive and negative evidence regarding the merits of an issue material to the determination of the matter," the claimant shall prevail upon the issue). ORDER Entitlement to service connection for headaches is granted. ____________________________________________ VITO A. CLEMENTI Veterans Law Judge, Board of Veterans' Appeals Department of Veterans Affairs