Citation Nr: 1047231 Decision Date: 12/20/10 Archive Date: 12/22/10 DOCKET NO. 08-15 916 ) DATE ) ) On appeal from the Department of Veterans Affairs Regional Office in Louisville, Kentucky THE ISSUE Entitlement to service connection for neuropathy of the right foot. REPRESENTATION Appellant represented by: Kentucky Department of Veterans Affairs WITNESS AT HEARING ON APPEAL Appellant ATTORNEY FOR THE BOARD T. L. Anderson, Associate Counsel INTRODUCTION The Veteran had active service from June 1984 to April 1988. This matter comes before the Board of Veterans' Appeals (BVA or Board) from a January 2007 rating decision by the Department of Veterans Affairs (VA) Regional Office (RO) in Jackson, Mississippi. Jurisdiction over the Veteran's claims file was subsequently transferred to the Louisville, Kentucky RO. The Veteran provided testimony at an October 2010 Travel Board hearing before the undersigned at the RO. A hearing transcript is associated with the claims folder. FINDINGS OF FACT The competent and probative evidence is in approximate balance as to whether the Veteran's current right foot problems began in active military service. CONCLUSION OF LAW Resolving all reasonable doubt in favor of the Veteran, right foot neuropathy was incurred in active service. 38 U.S.C.A. §§ 1101, 1131, 5103(a), 5103A, 5107(b) (West 2002 & Supp. 2010); 38 C.F.R. §§ 3.102, 3.159, 3.303, 3.304 (2010). REASONS AND BASES FOR FINDINGS AND CONCLUSION I. Duty to Notify and Assist The Veterans Claims Assistance Act of 2000 (VCAA) enhanced VA's duty to notify and assist claimants in substantiating their claims for VA benefits, as codified in pertinent part at 38 U.S.C.A. §§ 5103, 5103A (West 2002 & Supp. 2010); 38 C.F.R. §§ 3.159, 3.326(a) (2010). In view of the disposition herein, additional discussion of those procedures is unnecessary as any defect in the notice or assistance provided to the Veteran constituted harmless error. II. Service Connection A. Applicable Law Service connection may be granted for disability which is the result of disease or injury incurred in or aggravated by service. 38 U.S.C.A. § 1131 (West 2002 & Supp. 2010); 38 C.F.R. § 3.303(a) (2010). Where there is a chronic disease shown as such in service or within the presumptive period under 38 C.F.R. § 3.307 so as to permit a finding of service connection, subsequent manifestations of the same chronic disease at any later date, however remote, are service connected, unless clearly attributable to intercurrent causes. This rule does not mean that any manifestation in service will permit service connection. To show chronic disease in service there is required a combination of manifestations sufficient to identify the disease entity, and sufficient observation to establish chronicity at the time, as distinguished from merely isolated findings or a diagnosis including the word "chronic." When the disease identity is established, there is no requirement of evidentiary showing of continuity. When the fact of chronicity in service is not adequately supported, then a showing of continuity after discharge is required to support the claim. 38 C.F.R. § 3.303(b). Service connection may be granted for disease that is diagnosed after discharge, when all the evidence, including that pertinent to service, establishes that the disease was incurred in service. 38 U.S.C.A. § 1113(b); 38 C.F.R. § 3.303(d). The Court of Appeals for Veterans Claims has held that, in order to prevail on the issue of service connection, there must be: (1) medical evidence of a current disability; (2) medical, or in certain circumstances, lay evidence of in-service incurrence or aggravation of a disease or injury; and (3) medical evidence of a nexus between the claimed in-service disease or injury and the present disease or injury. Hickson v. West, 12 Vet. App. 247, 253 (1999). It is the Board's responsibility to evaluate the entire record on appeal. See 38 U.S.C.A. § 7104(a). When there is an approximate balance in the evidence regarding the merits of an issue material to the determination of the matter, the benefit of the doubt in resolving each such issue shall be given to the claimant. 38 U.S.C.A. § 5107(b); 38 C.F.R. § 3.102. In Gilbert v. Derwinski, 1 Vet. App. 49, 53 (1990), the Court of Appeals for Veterans Claims held that an appellant need only demonstrate that there is an "approximate balance of positive and negative evidence" in order to prevail. The Court has also stated, "It is clear that to deny a claim on its merits, the evidence must preponderate against the claim." Alemany v. Brown, 9 Vet. App. 518, 519 (1996), citing Gilbert. B. Facts and Analysis The Veteran contends that he has a current right foot neuropathy that is related to an accident that occurred during active service. Specifically, as outlined in the Veteran's September 2008 statement and his October 2010 testimony before the Board, in October 1986, during a field training exercise in California, a 204-pound, 8-inch artillery round fell onto the Veteran's right foot from a height of approximately 8 to 10 inches as the Veteran and others were unloading a truck of ammunition. It struck his toes and the outside edge of his foot. A medical corpsman was called immediately and wrapped the Veteran's foot with tape. The Veteran was unable to seek additional medical treatment because he was out in the field. He completed the training exercise, and a week later, was seen at a medical clinic. X-rays showed no fracture or other bony abnormalities. The Veteran's toes were taped again and he was told to elevate the foot when he could. He stated he might have been given light duty for a few days as well. The Veteran's service treatment records (STRs) confirm that in October 1986, a 204-pound round dropped onto his right foot. A week later, he complained that his foot still hurt and had swelling with ambulation. He had received ice and elevation treatment in the field. Currently, he was ambulating with a limp. Examination showed mild ecchymosis over the distal metatarsal joint of the fourth digit, mild edema over the region, and pain with palpation. The doctor assessed "rule out" fracture versus bruised bone. An X-ray was taken and was negative, however. The doctor thus prescribed daily foot soaks in warm water and avoidance of prolonged weight bearing. The Veteran was seen by the doctor again nearly a week later. He continued to have pain in his toes and the area between the fourth and fifth digits. He had been on light duty for two weeks. The doctor observed that the fifth digit of the right foot had slight ecchymosis at the base of the nail. The Veteran had good range of motion of the toes without pain. The doctor assessed a deep bone bruise and prescribed a "buddy splint" for the fourth digit with tape until the toe was completely healed. Several days later, the Veteran reported to the clinic with pain on the outside of his right foot. On physical examination, the Veteran's foot still had ecchymosis at the distal aspect of the toenail, without erythema. There was good capillary refill on blanching and good range of motion. No appearance of edematous tissue was noted. A slight grimace was noted upon palpation of the lateral aspect of the metatarsal region of the right foot. The doctor assessed a soft tissue injury and continued the buddy splint. On the Veteran's March 1988 Report of Medical History, completed for the purpose of his separation examination, the Veteran checked "no" next to "foot trouble." Additionally, no abnormalities of the feet were noted in the separation examination report. Following separation from service, the first documentation of foot problems is in a February 2005 prescription note from Summit Medical Group. The note states that the Veteran dropped a 204 pound round on his right foot in California at a Marine base and had had neuropathy of the right foot since that time. The doctor referred the Veteran to VA for further treatment. A February 2006 treatment note from the Summit Medical Group indicates that the Veteran had intermittent right foot pain. The doctor noted the history of injury as described above, and assessed neuropathy of the right foot. The Veteran was afforded a VA examination in October 2006. The examiner reviewed the Veteran's STRs and noted the 2005 Summit Medical Group note. The Veteran told the examiner that he began experiencing discomfort in the right foot several years after his discharge from service. He currently experienced dull pain with an occasional burning sensation at the head of the fourth and fifth metatarsal areas and down the lateral aspect of the right foot. The pain had gradually worsened, and his family doctor at Summit Medical Group told him to take Ibuprofen for the pain. The Veteran said that his doctor had told him that he had neuropathy secondary to his injury in service. He was employed as a deputy jailer, where he had worked for the past 17 months. He had lost no time from work due to his foot pain. He had cut back on the time he served as a volunteer firefighter, however, because carrying the heavy equipment aggravated the pain in his foot. On physical examination, there was no swelling, deformity, or asymmetry of the right foot compared to the left. There was no tenderness to compression , and no objective evidence of painful motion, edema, instability, or weakness. There was slight tenderness elicited when pressure was applied over the fourth and fifth metatarsal heads. X-rays of the foot showed fusion of the cuneiforms and third metatarsals bilaterally, which it was thought might be causing the Veteran's pain due to altered mechanics. There was no evidence of fracture. The examiner assessed metatarsalgia. He opined that is was less likely as not that the metatarsalgia was due to the service-related foot injury, citing to the in-service diagnosis of a bone bruise with no fractures. Moreover, the fusion of the cuneiforms and third metatarsals bilaterally was not related to or due to service- related injury, and there was no evidence of neuropathy. In a January 2008 VAMC note, the doctor assessed chronic right foot pain. The Veteran reported that the pain was intermittent, and occurred three times per day. It was somewhat relieved with Ibuprofen. The doctor recommended Tylenol instead of Ibuprofen, in light an unrelated digestive condition. In April 2008, a VAMC doctor wrote that the Veteran had had persistent right foot pain that had gradually worsened over the years since dropping a round on it while in the military. The doctor opined that his foot pain was at least as likely as not related to his injury in the military. The doctor recommended continued treatment with Tylenol and aspirin as needed. In October 2010, the Veteran testified that, although he had experienced pain in his right foot since the 1986 injury, he did not seek professional medical treatment due to the cost of health care. Additionally, while still in active service, he was told that he should see a doctor about his right foot within a year after discharge. However, he interpreted this to mean that he had only one year within which to seek treatment. Thus, after a year passed, he did not think he was eligible for treatment. Based on the foregoing, the Board finds that the evidence is at least in relative equipoise as to whether the Veteran's right foot disorder is related to his active military service. Resolving reasonable doubt in his favor, the Board finds that the evidence demonstrates that the Veteran's right foot problems were incurred during active service. The Board bases its finding primarily on the 2006 opinion of the VAMC doctor and on the Veteran's statements regarding continuity of symptoms since the in-service foot injury. The Veteran is competent to give evidence about what he experienced; for example, he is competent to discuss his current abdominal pain and other experienced symptoms. See, e.g., Layno v. Brown, 6 Vet. App. 465 (1994). Moreover, the Federal Circuit Court has held that in certain situations, lay evidence can even be sufficient with respect to establishing medical matters such as a diagnosis. Specifically, in Jandreau v. Nicholson, 492 F.3d 1372 (Fed. Cir. 2007), the Federal Circuit commented that competence to establish a diagnosis of a condition can exist when (1) a layperson is competent to identify the medical condition, (2) the layperson is reporting a contemporaneous medical diagnosis, or (3) lay testimony describing symptoms at the time supports a later diagnosis by a medical professional. See also Davidson v. Shinseki, 581 F.3d 1313 (2009) (noting that a layperson may comment on lay-observable symptoms). Similarly, the Court of Appeals for Veterans Claims has held that, when a condition may be diagnosed by its unique and readily identifiable features, the presence of the disorder is not a determination "medical in nature" and is capable of lay observation. Barr v. Nicholson, 21 Vet. App. 303 (2007). Furthermore, lay evidence concerning continuity of symptoms after service, if credible, is ultimately competent, regardless of the lack of contemporaneous medical evidence. Buchanan v. Nicholson, 451 F.3d 1331 (Fed. Cir. 2006). However, the resolution of issues which involve medical knowledge, such as the diagnosis of a disability and the determination of medical etiology, requires professional evidence. See Espiritu v. Derwinski, 2 Vet. App. 492, 495 (1992). In the present case, the Veteran's foot pain is found to be capable of lay observation, and thus his statements constitute competent evidence. The Board also finds his statements to be credible in light of his presentation at the October 2010 hearing, and on the April 2008 opinion of the VAMC doctor. The Board acknowledges the 2006 VA examiner's opinion that the Veteran's foot condition is not related to the in-service injury. The Board also notes that the examiner pointed out that the Veteran's foot pain could be related to the bilateral fusion of the cuneiforms with the third metatarsals. However, at the October 2010 hearing, the Veteran denied having any left foot problems. This is obviously a close case based on the evidence before the Board. Placing greater weight on the opinion of the VAMC doctor and on the Veteran's statements, the Board finds, as noted above, that the overall evidence is at least in approximate balance, as required for a grant of benefits under the reasonable-doubt doctrine. Thus, considering the statements of the Veteran, as well as the competent medical evidence of record, the Board will resolve reasonable doubt in the Veteran's favor and grant the claim. See 38 U.S.C.A. § 5107(b); 38 C.F.R. § 3.102; Gilbert, supra, 1 Vet. App. at 53 (1990). ORDER Service connection for right foot neuropathy is granted. ___________________________ ANDREW J. MULLEN Veterans Law Judge, Board of Veterans' Appeals Department of Veterans Affairs