Citation Nr: 1104635 Decision Date: 02/04/11 Archive Date: 02/14/11 DOCKET NO. 09-27 810A ) DATE ) ) On appeal from the Department of Veterans Affairs Regional Office in Columbia, South Carolina THE ISSUE Entitlement to an effective date earlier than June 1, 1989 for the grant of service connection for death benefits, Dependency and Indemnity Compensation (DIC). REPRESENTATION Appellant represented by: Disabled American Veterans WITNESS AT HEARING ON APPEAL Appellant ATTORNEY FOR THE BOARD E. I. Velez, Counsel INTRODUCTION The Veteran had active service from June 1967 to May 1969. He died in February 1975. The appellant is the Veteran's widow. This matter came before the Board of Veterans' Appeals (Board) on appeal from a May 2008 decision by the Department of Veterans Affairs (VA) Regional Office (RO) in Columbia, South Carolina. A hearing in front of the undersigned Acting Veteran's Law Judge was held in October 2010. A transcript of the hearing has been associated with the claims file. During the October 2010 hearing the appellant and her representative raised the issues of clear and unmistakable error (CUE) in an April 1975 rating decision denying service connection for the cause of the Veteran's death and entitlement to an effective date earlier than June 1, 1989 for the grant of service connection for death benefits to include accrued benefits. These issues have not been adjudicated by the Agency of Original Jurisdiction (AOJ). Therefore, the Board does not have jurisdiction over them, and they are referred to the AOJ for appropriate action. FINDING OF FACT The February 2000 rating decision which granted an effective date of May 19, 1989 for the appellant's award of service connection for cause of the Veteran's death is final and the Board is without jurisdiction to consider the appellant's February 2008 claim. CONCLUSION OF LAW The February 2000 rating decision which granted an effective date of May 19, 1989 for the appellant's award of service connection for cause of the Veteran's death is final and the appeal an effective date earlier than June 1, 1989 for the grant of service connection for death benefits based upon a February 2008 claim is legally precluded. 38 U.S.C.A. § 7105 (West 2002); 38 C.F.R. § 3.105(a) (2010); Rudd v. Nicholson, 20 Vet. App. 296 (2006). REASONS AND BASES FOR FINDING AND CONCLUSION By way of history, the Veteran was discharged from military service in May 1969. He submitted a claim for service connection for a pituitary tumor in February 1974. In connection with this claim the Veteran submitted private treatment records showing subjective complaints of impotence beginning in 1969, objective complaints of impotence beginning in July 1970, and an eventual diagnosis of a pituitary tumor in 1973. By rating decision dated in March 1974 the RO denied service connection for pituitary cystic adenoma finding that while presumptive service connection is available for a pituitary tumor, the first documented showing of impotency, a known side effect of a pituitary tumor, was dated in July 1970, over one year after the Veteran's separation from military service. This decision was confirmed by rating decision dated in December 1974. The Veteran died in February 1975 . The cause of death listed on the death certificate is "cardiorespiratory arrest, probable pulmonary embolus, pituitary tumor." The appellant failed an initial claim for service connection for cause of the Veteran's death in March 1975. By rating decision dated in April 1975 the RO denied service connection for the cause of the Veteran's death was initially denied in April 1975. The appellant requested reopening the claim for service connection for the cause of the Veteran's death several times, and in decisions of May 1987, and December 1994, the RO denied reopening the claim. The appellant appealed the December 1994 denial. In a decision of May 1999, the Board reopened the claim for service connection for the cause of the Veteran's death and remanded the claim for development. In a rating decision of February 2000, service connection for the cause of death and DIC, was granted, effective June 1, 1989, the date of the appellant's most recent request to reopen the claim. The appellant was informed of the decision in April 2000. In August 2000, the appellant disagreed with the effective date of the grant of DIC benefits. A Statement of the Case (SOC) was issued in September 2000. The appellant did not perfect an appeal. In a statement of December 2007, the appellant essentially requested to reopen the claim for an earlier effective date for the grant of DIC benefits. In a letter of January 2008, the RO informed the appellant that she had not perfected an appeal after the SOC of September 2000 and as a result the February 2000 decision was final. She was informed she could appeal the decision. In February 2008, the appellant, through her representative, submitted evidence in support of a claim for an earlier effective date for the grant fo DIC benefits. In May 2008, the RO denied the claim. Analysis In Rudd v. Nicholson, 20 Vet. App. 296 (2006) the Court of Appeals for Veteran's Claims (Court) held that where a rating decision which established an effective date for an increased rating becomes final, an earlier effective date can only be established by a request for a revision of that decision based on clear and unmistakable error (CUE). In essence, the Court in Rudd held that there is no "freestanding" earlier effective date claim which could be raised at any time. See Rudd, 20 Vet. App. at 299. Based on the Court's decision in Rudd, the Board finds that the appellant's earlier effective date claim for death benefits prior to May 19, 1989 must be dismissed. In a February 2000 rating decision the RO granted an effective date of May 19, 1989 for the appellant's award of service connection for cause of the Veteran's death. While the appellant initially disagreed with this decision, she failed to perfect an appeal. As such, the February 2000 rating decision is final. 38 U.S.C.A. § 7105; 38 C.F.R. §§ 3.160(d), 20.200, 20.302, 20.1103. If the appellant believed that the February 2000 rating decision was incorrect, her proper recourse was to perfect an appeal to the Board. Because the appellant did not perfect an appeal to the Board, the February 2000 rating decision became final. That being the case, the appellant is left with only one option in her attempt to obtain an earlier effective date: a claim alleging that the February 2000 rating decision which granted an effective date of May 19, 1989 for the appellant's award of service connection for cause of the Veteran's death contained CUE. See 38 C.F.R. § 3.105(a). As above, the issue of CUE in an April 1975 rating decision denying service connection for the cause of the Veteran's death has been referred to the RO. In light of the fact that the February 2000 rating decision is final, the Board is without jurisdiction to review the February 2000 rating decision. Dicarlo v. Nicholson, 20 Vet. App. 57-58 (2006). The Court has held that the proper disposition of a free standing claim for an earlier effective date claim is dismissal. Rudd v. Nicholson, 20 Vet. App. at 300. In conclusion, the Board is authorized to dismiss any appeal that fails to allege an error of fact or law. 38 U.S.C.A. § 7105(d)(5); 38 C.F.R. § 20.302. Accordingly, this appeal is dismissed. Notice and Assistance The Board has given consideration to VA's duty to notify and assist the appellant in the development of her claim. See 38 U.S.C.A. §§ 5103, 5103A (West 2002). However, in Manning v. Principi, 16 Vet. App. 534 (2002), citing Livesay v. Principi, 15 Vet. App. 165 (2001), the Court held that these duties have no effect on an appeal where the law, and not the underlying facts or development of the facts, is dispositive of the matter. As discussed above, the appellant's claim is being dismissed by the Board because the appellant did not raise the earlier effective date issue in a timely fashion. The claim is therefore being dismissed based on the law. Whatever facts are necessary to adjudicate the claim are already contained in the claims folder. Thus, notice or assistance to the appellant would be fruitless. ORDER The appeal is dismissed. ____________________________________________ APRIL MADDOX Acting Veterans Law Judge, Board of Veterans' Appeals Department of Veterans Affairs