Citation Nr: 1105000 Decision Date: 02/07/11 Archive Date: 02/14/11 DOCKET NO. 08-39 072 ) DATE ) ) On appeal from the Department of Veterans Affairs Regional Office in St. Petersburg, Florida THE ISSUE Entitlement to service connection for a dental disability for compensation purposes. REPRESENTATION Veteran represented by: Veterans of Foreign Wars of the United States ATTORNEY FOR THE BOARD M.W. Kreindler, Counsel INTRODUCTION The Veteran served on active duty from October 1967 to September 1969. This matter comes to the Board of Veterans' Appeals (Board) from a December 2007 rating decision of a Department of Veterans Affairs (VA) Regional Office (RO). A notice of disagreement was filed in July 2008, a statement of the case was issued in November 2008, and a substantive appeal was received in December 2008. The Veteran was scheduled to attend a Board hearing in April 2010; however, cancelled such request in March 2010. This matter was remanded in September 2010. FINDING OF FACT The Veteran's dental problems are not as a result of trauma in service, nor was he a prisoner of war. CONCLUSION OF LAW Dental disability was not incurred in or aggravated by the Veteran's active duty service. 38 U.S.C.A. §§ 1110, 5107 (West 2002 and West Supp. 2010); 38 C.F.R. §§ 3.102, 3.159, 3.303, 3.381 (2010). REASONS AND BASES FOR FINDING AND CONCLUSION Under the Veterans Claims Assistance Act of 2000 (VCAA), codified at 38 U.S.C.A. §§ 5100, 5102, 5103, 5103A, 5106, 5107 and 5126; see also 38 C.F.R. §§ 3.102, 3.156(a), and 3.326(a), VA has a duty to notify the claimant of any information and evidence needed to substantiate and complete a claim, and of what part of that evidence is to be provided by the claimant and what part VA will attempt to obtain for the claimant. 38 U.S.C.A. § 5103(a); 38 C.F.R. § 3.159(b)(1); Quartuccio v. Principi, 16 Vet. App. 183, 187 (2002). The United States Court of Appeals for Veteran Claims' (Court's) decision in Pelegrini v. Principi, 17 Vet. App. 412 (2004), held, in part, that a VCAA notice, as required by 38 U.S.C.A. § 5103(a), must be provided to a claimant before the initial unfavorable agency of original jurisdiction (AOJ) decision on a claim for VA benefits. This decision has since been replaced by Pelegrini v. Principi, 18 Vet. App. 112 (2004), in which the Court continued to recognize that typically a VCAA notice, as required by 38 U.S.C.A. § 5103(a), must be provided to a claimant before the initial unfavorable agency of original jurisdiction (AOJ) decision on a claim for VA benefits. Pursuant to the September 2010 Remand, a VCAA letter was issued to the Veteran in September 2010. While such letter did not predate the rating decision, such letter did notify the Veteran of what information and evidence is needed to substantiate his claim, as well as what information and evidence must be submitted by the claimant, what information and evidence will be obtained by VA, and the types of evidence necessary to establish an increased rating and effective date. Id.; but see VA O.G.C. Prec. Op. No. 1-2004 (Feb. 24, 2004); see Dingess/Hartman v. Nicholson, 19 Vet. App. 473 (2006). Despite initial inadequate notice provided to the Veteran, the Board finds no prejudice to him in proceeding with the issuance of a final decision. See Bernard v. Brown, 4 Vet. App. 384, 394 (1993) (where the Board addresses a question that has not been addressed by the agency of original jurisdiction, the Board must consider whether the appellant has been prejudiced thereby). Since the Board concludes below that the preponderance of the evidence is against entitlement to service connection, any questions as to the appropriate disability rating and effective date to be assigned are rendered moot. The Veteran has received all essential notice, has had a meaningful opportunity to participate in the development of his claim and is not prejudiced by any technical notice deficiency along the way. See Conway v. Principi, 353 F.3d 1369 (Fed. Cir. 2004). In any event, the Veteran has not demonstrated any prejudice with regard to the content of any notice. See Shinseki v. Sanders, 129 S.Ct.1696 (2009) (Reversing prior case law imposing a presumption of prejudice on any notice deficiency, and clarifying that the burden of showing that an error is harmful, or prejudicial, normally falls upon the party attacking the agency's determination.) See also Mayfield v. Nicholson, 444 F.3d 1328, 1333-34 (Fed. Cir. 2006). The Board also finds that VA has complied with all assistance provisions of VCAA, to include substantial compliance with the instructions in the September 2010 Board Remand. D'Aries v. Peake, 22 Vet. App. 97, 105 (2008). The evidence of record contains the Veteran's service treatment records and post-service treatment records. This matter was remanded to obtain private medical records from Dr. Lowe in Crescent City. The VCAA letter requested that the Veteran complete a VA Form 21-4141, Authorization and Consent to Release Information; however, the Veteran did not respond. While VA has a duty to assist the Veteran in the development of his claim, the Veteran has a duty to cooperate with VA. See Wood v. Derwinski, 1 Vet. App. 190 (1991). The law also provides that a claimant for VA benefits has the responsibility to present and support the claim. 38 U.S.C. § 5107(a). The Board concludes that it has satisfied its duty to assist and in light of the Veteran's failure to respond there is no remaining duty under the VCAA to attempt to obtain the medical records. There is otherwise no indication of relevant, outstanding records which would support the Veteran's claim. 38 U.S.C.A. § 5103A(c); 38 C.F.R. § 3.159(c)(1)-(3). As the evidence does not establish competent evidence that the Veteran's claimed dental disability was incurred in or due to trauma in service, it is not necessary to obtain a VA medical examination or opinion. 38 U.S.C.A. § 5103A(d); 38 C.F.R. § 3.159(c)(4); see also McLendon v. Nicholson, 20 Vet. App. 79 (2006). For all the foregoing reasons, the Board concludes that VA's duties to the Veteran have been fulfilled with respect to the issue in appellate status. Criteria & Analysis Applicable law provides that service connection will be granted if it is shown that the veteran suffers from disability resulting from an injury suffered or disease contracted in line of duty, or for aggravation of a preexisting injury suffered or disease contracted in line of duty, in the active military, naval, or air service. 38 U.S.C.A. § 1110; 38 C.F.R. § 3.303. That an injury occurred in service alone is not enough; there must be chronic disability resulting from that injury. If there is no showing of a resulting chronic condition during service, then a showing of continuity of symptomatology after service is required to support a finding of chronicity. 38 C.F.R. § 3.303(b). Service connection may also be granted for any disease diagnosed after discharge, when all the evidence, including that pertinent to service, establishes that the disease was incurred in service. 38 C.F.R. § 3.303(d). Treatable carious teeth, replaceable missing teeth, dental or alveolar abscesses and periodontal disease will be considered service connected solely for the purpose of establishing eligibility for outpatient dental treatment as provided in § 17.161 of this chapter, but not for purposes of compensation. See 38 C.F.R. § 3.381(a). The Veteran claims entitlement to service connection for dental condition, to include periodontal disease, gum disease, cavities, root canals, implants and related dental problems. The Veteran claims that he should be compensated for such dental disabilities as such conditions manifested in service. Specifically, the Veteran contends that a Vietnamese dentist performed dental work on his teeth and he experienced pain. Service treatment records contain a 'Dental' record which reflects that he underwent a dental examination at Fort Sill in October 1968, specifically "Type 3 Re-exam." A 'Health Record - Abstract of Service' reflects 'Medical and Dental Activity' including treatment at the 'Dental Clinic #4' in October 1967, 'Dental Clinic #1' at Fort Sill from January 1968 to October 1968, and treatment in February 1969. No reference is made to treatment by a Vietnamese dentist. On a September 1969 Report of Medical History completed by the Veteran, he checked the 'No' box for 'severe tooth or gum trouble.' The September 1969 Report of Medical Examination conducted for separation purposes reflects that teeth numbers 32, 25, 16, and 17 were restorable teeth. The examiner noted "CL-3" with regard to 'Remarks and Additional Dental Defects and Diseases.' There is no indication that the Veteran's in-service dental treatment was anything but routine in nature. While service connection may be established for treatment purposes for these conditions, the regulations listed above clearly prohibit service connection for purposes of compensation where the disability involves replaceable missing teeth or periodontal disease. 38 C.F.R. § 3.381. As neither condition is recognized by the applicable regulations as a disability for which VA compensation may be granted, the veteran's claim is not warranted. See 38 C.F.R. § 3.381 (periodontal disease is not a disability for compensation purposes). Service treatment records do not reflect that any dental treatment rendered during service was due to any in-service trauma, nor due to combat, nor does the Veteran allege any trauma to the teeth, other than experiencing pain when a Vietnamese dentist rendered treatment. Additionally, there is no evidence that the Veteran was a prisoner of war. See 38 C.F.R. § 3.381(b). The only dental treatment rendered was for periodontal disease and carious teeth. Service connection for periodontal disease for compensation purposes is not legally permitted, and to that extent, as a matter of law this claim must be denied. Sabonis v. Brown, 6 Vet. App. 426 (1994). As noted, there was no evidence of any in-service dental trauma which resulted in residuals, additional loss of teeth, malunion or nonunion of the maxilla, or loss of body of the maxilla or mandible. See generally, VAOPGCPREC 5-97; 38 C.F.R. 4.150, Diagnostic Codes 9913-9916. Consequently, there is no basis for entitlement to service connection for residuals of dental condition for compensation purposes. The Veteran may wish to contact the VA dental clinic for further information regarding outpatient dental treatment. ORDER Entitlement to service connection for dental disability is denied. ____________________________________________ THOMAS J. DANNAHER Veterans Law Judge, Board of Veterans' Appeals Department of Veterans Affairs