Citation Nr: 1107486 Decision Date: 02/24/11 Archive Date: 03/09/11 DOCKET NO. 06-10 659 ) DATE ) ) On appeal from the Department of Veterans Affairs Regional Office in Jackson, Mississippi THE ISSUE Entitlement to service connection for a bilateral eye disorder, including refractive errors and claimed as blindness. REPRESENTATION Appellant represented by: The American Legion WITNESS AT HEARING ON APPEAL Appellant ATTORNEY FOR THE BOARD M. Purdum, Associate Counsel INTRODUCTION The Veteran served on active duty from January 1963 to January 1965. This matter comes before the Board of Veterans' Appeals (Board) from rating decisions of a Department of Veterans Affairs (VA) Regional Office (RO) dated in May 2005, August 2005, and October 2005. Those rating decisions denied the Veteran's claim to reopen his previously denied claim entitlement to service connection for loss of visual acuity and refractive error of vision, 20/80, claimed as blindness. In June 2007, the Veteran testified before the undersigned Veterans Law Judge, seated at the RO in Jackson, Mississippi. A transcript of the hearing has been associated with the claims file. In March 2008, the Board reopened the Veteran's claim on the basis that new and material evidence had been received. The Board, however, remanded the issue for additional development. The file has now been returned to the Board for further consideration. FINDING OF FACT The Veteran's bilateral eye disorder, including refractive errors and claimed as blindness, is not related to any disease, injury, or incident of service, including exposure to toxic fumes, and was not aggravated by any superimposed disease or injury. CONCLUSION OF LAW A bilateral eye disorder, including refractive errors and claimed as blindness, was not incurred in or aggravated by service. 38 U.S.C.A. §§ 1101, 1110, 1131 (West 2002); 38 C.F.R. §§ 3.102, 3.159, 3.303, 3.306 (2010). REASONS AND BASES FOR FINDING AND CONCLUSION Duties to Notify and Assist the Appellant The Veterans Claims Assistance Act of 2000 (VCAA), 38 U.S.C.A. §§ 5100, 5102-5103A, 5106, 5107, 5126 (West 2002 & Supp. 2010), 38 C.F.R. §§ 3.102, 3.156(a), 3.159 and 3.326(a) (2010), requires VA to assist a claimant at the time that he or she files a claim for benefits. As part of this assistance, VA is required to notify claimants of what they must do to substantiate their claims. 38 U.S.C.A. § 5103(a); 38 C.F.R. § 3.159(b)(1). The notice required by the VCAA can be divided into three elements. Specifically, VA must inform the claimant of any information and evidence not of record: (1) that is necessary to substantiate the claim; (2) that the claimant is to provide; and (3) that VA will attempt to obtain. Beverly v. Nicholson, 19 Vet. App. 394, 403 (2005) (outlining VCAA notice requirements). In addition, the notice requirements of the VCAA apply to all five elements of a service-connection claim, including: (1) veteran status; (2) existence of a disability; (3) a connection between the veteran's service and the disability; (4) degree of disability; and (5) effective date of the disability. See Dingess/Hartman v. Nicholson, 19 Vet. App. 473 (2006). Further, this notice must include notice that a disability rating and an effective date for the award of benefits will be assigned if service connection is awarded. Id. at 486. In a July 2006 letter, the Veteran was notified of the evidence not of record that was necessary to substantiate the claim. He was told that he needed to provide the names of persons, agencies, or companies who had additional records to help decide his claim. He was informed that VA would attempt to review his claim and determine what additional information was needed to process his claim, schedule a VA examination if appropriate, obtain VA medical records, obtain service records, and obtain private treatment reports as indicated. The July 2006 letter also informed the Veteran regarding the appropriate disability rating or effective date to be assigned. Since the Board has concluded that the preponderance of the evidence is against the claim of entitlement to service connection for a bilateral foot condition, any questions as to the appropriate disability rating or effective date to be assigned are rendered moot, and no further notice is needed. See Dingess/Hartman v. Nicholson, 19 Vet. App. 473 (2006). While the July 2006 letter was sent to the Veteran after the initial adjudication of his claim, his claim was readjudicated by an August 2006 Supplemental Statement of the Case. Therefore, any defect with respect to the timing of the VCAA notice has been cured and the Board finds that VA has fully complied with its duty to notify the appellant. Mayfield v. Nicholson, 444 F. 3d 1328, 1333-34 (Fed. Cir. 2006) Under these circumstances, the Board finds that the notification requirements of the VCAA have been satisfied as to both timing and content. The purpose behind the notice requirement has been satisfied and the Veteran has been afforded a meaningful opportunity to participate effectively in the processing of his claim. Therefore, adequate notice was provided to the Veteran prior to the transfer and certification of the Veteran's case to the Board and complied with the requirements of 38 U.S.C. § 5103(a) and 38 C.F.R. § 3.159(b). Next, the VCAA requires that VA make reasonable efforts to assist the claimant in obtaining evidence necessary to substantiate a claim. VA's duty to assist includes: (1) obtaining records not in the custody of a federal department or agency; (2) obtaining records in the custody of a federal department or agency; (3) obtaining service medical records or other records relevant to active duty and VA or VA-authorized medical records; and (4) providing medical examinations or obtaining medical opinions if necessary to decide the claim. See 38 C.F.R. § 3.159(c). VA has a duty to obtain a medical examination if the evidence establishes: (1) a current disability or persistent or recurrent symptoms of a disability; (2) an in-service event, injury, or disease; and (3) the current disability may be associated with the in-service event, but (4) there is insufficient evidence to make a decision on the claim. See McLendon v. Nicholson, 20 Vet. App. 79 (2006). The Veteran was provided with a VA examination in September 2009 and specific medical opinions were obtained. Further, the Board sought a medical advisory opinion from the Veterans Health Administration (VHA) in April 2010 and such was received in August 2010. In this case, the Veteran's service treatment records and all identified, authorized, and available post-service treatment records relevant to the issue on appeal have been requested or obtained, including those maintained by the Social Security Administration (SSA). There is no allegation from the Veteran that he has any evidence in his possession that is needed for a full and fair adjudication of this claim. Accordingly, all available records and medical evidence have been obtained in order to make an adequate determination as to this claim. In sum, the Board finds the duty to assist and duty to notify provisions of the VCAA have been fulfilled and no further action is necessary under the mandate of the VCAA. Service Connection The Veteran seeks service connection for a bilateral eye disorder, claimed as blindness, which he contends is related to service, specifically, his claimed in-service exposure to toxic fumes, including diesel, gasoline, and coal exhaust. The Veteran's service separation record, his DD-214, indicates that his military occupational specialty was truck mechanic. While the Veteran's service treatment records are silent for any complaints or injuries related to exposure to toxic fumes, the Board notes that the Veteran does not assert that he experienced an in-service injury of which he was aware. Instead, he asserts that his in-service exposure to toxic fumes caused his bilateral eye disorder, claimed as blindness. The Veteran is competent to report, and has done so in writing and before the Board at his June 2007 hearing, that his in-service occupation required exposure to toxic fumes, and the Board finds no basis upon which to determine that the Veterans is not credible. Based on the facts and circumstances of the Veteran's service, specifically, his job involving truck repair, and his statements, the Board finds, limited to the decision herein, that the Veteran was exposed to toxic fumes, including diesel, gasoline, and coal exhaust, during service. In order to establish direct service connection, three elements must be established. There must be medical evidence of a current disability; medical, or in certain circumstances, lay evidence of in-service incurrence or aggravation of a disease or injury; and medical evidence of a nexus between the claimed in-service disease or injury and the current disability. 38 C.F.R. § 3.303; Hickson v. West, 12 Vet. App. 247, 253 (1999). Service connection for some disorders will be rebuttably presumed if manifested to a compensable degree within one year following active service. The Veteran's bilateral eye disorder, claimed as blindness, however, is not a disability for which service connection may be granted on a presumptive basis. 38 U.S.C.A. §§ 1110, 1131 (West 2002); 38 C.F.R. §§ 3.307, 3.309 (2010). In determining whether service connection is warranted for a disability, VA is responsible for determining whether the evidence supports the claim or is in relative equipoise, with the veteran prevailing in either event, or whether a preponderance of the evidence is against the claim, in which case the claim is denied. 38 U.S.C.A. § 5107; Gilbert v. Derwinski, 1 Vet. App. 49 (1990). At the time of the Veteran's pre-induction medical examination in October 1961, the Veteran demonstrated corrected visual acuity of 20/40 in the right eye and 20/30 in the left eye. The Veteran reported a history of eye trouble and that he had worn glasses since the age of nine. At the time of the Veteran's induction medical examination in January 1963, the Veteran demonstrated corrected visual acuity of 20/40 in the right eye and 20/70 in the left eye. The examiner reported that the Veteran demonstrated substandard distant and near vision, corrected by glasses, and substandard color vision. Service treatment records dated in March 1963 indicate that the Veteran demonstrated corrected visual acuity of 20/30 in the right eye and 20/40 in the left eye. Service treatment records dated in May 1963 indicate that the Veteran demonstrated the same corrected visual acuity as in March 1963. While the handwriting is very difficult to read, it appears that the examiner described the Veteran's refractive error as left hypertropia resulting in amblyopia. Service treatment records dated in August 1963 indicate that the Veteran demonstrated corrected visual acuity of 20/50 in the right eye and 20/30 in the left eye. The examiner noted that the Veteran only demonstrated uncorrected visual acuity of 20/200. The examiner noted that the Veteran's visual acuity could not be improved beyond that of his current optical prescription. The examiner determined that the Veteran was not cleared to drive military vehicles, with, or without glasses. At the time of the Veteran's separation medical examination in November 1964, the Veteran demonstrated corrected visual acuity of 20/30 in the right eye and 20/70 in the left eye. The Veteran reported a history of eye trouble. Thus, the Veteran's service treatment records are silent for any bilateral eye disorder, beyond that of refractive error. Subsequent to service, the Veteran's private and VA treatment records dated from November 1986 to the present indicate that the eye disorders for which the Veteran was treated include, but are not limited to: lattice degeneration without holes, choroidal nerves, cataracts; congenital nystagmus; diabetes mellitus without diabetic retinopathy; age-related macular degeneration; peripapillary atrophy; coloboma; and myelinated nerve fibers. The Board notes that the Veteran is in receipt of disability benefits from the SSA. The secondary diagnosis considered by the SSA was high myopic retinal degeneration, bilateral. Diagnoses of eye disorders found in treatment records considered by the SSA include: huge myopic crescents, optic nerve; myopic retinal macular degeneration with retinal pigment epithelium; high myopic astigmatism presbyopia; and mild cataracts. Most recently, on VA examination in September 2009, the Veteran was diagnosed with age-related cataracts and macular degeneration, probable congenital visual impairment, high myopic astigmatism, generalized retinal hypopigmentation, and ocular albinism. For the purposes of entitlement to benefits, the law provides that refractive errors of the eye are developmental defects and are not diseases or injuries within the meaning of applicable legislation. In the absence of a superimposed disease or injury, service connection may not be allowed for refractive error of the eyes even if visual acuity decreased in service, as this is not a disease or injury with the meaning of the applicable legislation relating to service connection. 38 C.F.R. §§ 3.303(c). Accordingly, such a disorder cannot be service-connected, absent evidence of aggravation by a superimposed disease or injury. See Monroe v. Brown, 4 Vet. App. 513, 514-515 (1993); Carpenter v. Brown, 8 Vet. App. 240, 245 (1995); VAOPGCPREC 67-90 (July 18, 1990); VAOPGCPREC 82-90 (July 18, 1990); and VAOPGCPREC 11-1999 (Sept. 2, 1990). A congenital defect is not service connectable in its own right, although service connection may be granted for additional disability due to disease or injury superimposed upon such defect during service. See VAOPGCPREC 82- 90 (1990). The Veteran asserts that he had vision problems prior to entry into service. In this regard, the Veteran has submitted a number of statements from people who knew him and observed his vision problems prior to his entry into service. The Veteran asserts that the instance of treatment, dated in August 1963, wherein he was no longer cleared to drive military vehicles is evidence that his pre-existing vision problems were aggravated by his period of service. Thus, the Board does not deny the Veteran's claims that he had vision problems prior to entry into service and that his visual acuity decreased during service. However, as discussed immediately above, the relevant inquiry in the present appeal is whether any congenital defect, in this case, refractive error, was aggravated by a superimposed disease or injury, despite any decrease in visual acuity during service. One of the Veteran's private treatment providers submitted a statement in August 2007. The provider reported that the Veteran had been a patient for approximately 23 years, and presented in August 2007 with best visual acuity of 20/50 in each eye. The provider noted that the Veteran claimed he was exposed to diesel, gasoline, and coal exhaust during his period of service, and that the Veteran's visual acuity prior to such exposure was much better. The provider reported that the Veteran's decreased visual acuity may be due to toxic retina from long exposure to smoke or exhaust. On VA examination in September 2009, the examiner noted the Veteran's history of longstanding visual impairment that began prior to entry into service. The Veteran examiner noted that the Veteran's service treatment records were silent for any eye problems or injuries. The examiner noted that the Veteran reported that he had been exposed to sulfur fumes while working on coal boilers and exhaust fumes while working as a mechanic during service. Physical examination of the Veteran's eyes in September 2009 revealed corrected visual acuity of 20/400 near, and 20/100 far, in both eyes. The examiner noted that diplopia was not seen, and the external eyes presented within normal limits. The examiner noted that ocular mobility, papillary reactions, and interocular pressures were normal. Slit lamp examination revealed moderate nuclear sclerosis along with moderate cortical vacuoles. Dilated fundus examination revealed optic nerves tilted and surrounded by peripapillary atrophy, with nerve heads that appeared slightly elevated, pink, and healthy. The examiner noted that cupping was not seen. The retinal vessels appeared moderately tortuous and attenuated, and the maculas were flat with moderate/severe pigment clumping. The examiner noted generalized hypopigmentation of the retina. The peripheral retinas appeared secure. In September 2009, the VA examiner opined that the Veteran's cataracts and macular degeneration were less likely than not related to service. The examiner reasoned that the Veteran's cataracts and macular degeneration were age-related. The examiner further opined that the Veteran's visual impairment, to include high myopic astigmatism, generalized retinal hypopigmentation, and ocular albinism, were less likely than not related to the toxic retinal damage caused by exposure to fumes during service. The examiner reasoned that such visual impairment was congenital. In the August 2010 VHA opinion, the physician provided a recitation of the pertinent portions of the Veteran's claims file regarding his pre-service, in-service, and post-service eye complaints. The physician asserted that the only ocular conditions the Veteran demonstrated during service were refractive errors. The physician opined that it was not likely that the Veteran's ocular diagnoses were related to his period of service, including exposure to toxic fumes. The physician reasoned that the exposure to exhaust fumes and sulfur dioxide gas most commonly causes irritation the external eye and mucus membranes of the respiratory tract and skin. The physician asserted that the Veteran had poor vision from childhood due to congenital and hereditary conditions and later in life developed age-related cataracts and macular degeneration, with lattice degeneration, a vitreoretinal interface abnormality of the peripheral retina which occurs most commonly in myopic patients. The physician asserted that the Veteran's development of age- related macular degeneration and cataracts superimposed on his underlying congenital visual impairment and not exposure to toxic fumes may have contributed to subjective worsening of the quality of vision in this patient after separation from service. The Court has held that a medical examination report must contain not only clear conclusions with supporting data, but also a reasoned medical explanation connecting the two. See Nieves- Rodriguez v. Peake, 22 Vet. App. 295 (2008); Stefl v. Nicholson, 21 Vet.App. 120, 124 (2007) ("[A]medical opinion ... must support its conclusion with an analysis that the Board can consider and weigh against contrary opinions"). In this case, while the Veteran's private physician, in August 2007, asserted that the Veteran's decreased visual acuity may be due to toxic retina from long exposure to smoke or exhaust, he did not provide a reasoned medical explanation for his assertion. Further, the Veteran's private physician provided a speculative medical opinion. Medical opinions that are speculative, general, or inconclusive in nature do not provide a sufficient basis upon which to support a claim. 38 C.F.R. § 3.102; see also Warren v. Brown, 6 Vet. App. 4, 6 (1993) (a doctor's statement framed in terms such as "could have been" is not probative); Beausoleil v. Brown, 8 Vet. App. 459, 463 (1996) (a generic statement about the possibility of a link is too general and inconclusive); Bostain v. West, 11 Vet. App. 124, 127-28 (1998), quoting Obert v. Brown, 5 Vet. App. 30, 33 (1993), (a medical opinion expressed in terms of "may" also implies "may or may not" and is too speculative to establish a causal relationship); Morris v. West, 13 Vet. App. 94, 97 (1999) (a diagnosis that the appellant was "possibly" suffering from schizophrenia was deemed speculative). Therefore, as the August 2007 private opinion was rendered without a reasoned medical explanation and is speculative, the Board accords it little probative weight. In this regard, the Board notes that the August 2010 VHA opinion also includes the term "may". At the conclusion of the report, the physician asserted that the Veteran's development of age- related macular degeneration and cataracts superimposed on his underlying congenital visual impairment and not exposure to toxic fumes may have contributed to subjective worsening of the quality of vision in this patient after separation from service. However, as the physician had already rendered the opinion that the Veteran's ocular diagnoses were not related to toxic fumes, and because he opined that the Veteran's macular degeneration and cataracts are age-related, his opinion that such age-related conditions may have contributed to any decrease in visual acuity is not required in this case. Thus, the Board finds that the opinion rendered in September 2009 that the Veteran's cataracts and macular degeneration were related to age and not service and that his refractive errors were congenital and not related to exposure to toxic fumes, and the opinion rendered in August 2010 that the Veteran's ocular diagnoses were not related to service, including exposure to toxic fumes, to be more probative than the August 2007 private opinion. Such opinions were rendered with reasoned medical explanations and they were not speculative in nature. Service connection may be granted when all the evidence establishes a medical nexus between military service and current complaints. Degmetich v. Brown, 104 F. 3d 1328 (1997); Rabideau v. Derwinski, 2 Vet. App. 141 (1992). In this case, as discussed above, the weight of the evidence is against such finding. The evidence of record demonstrates that the Veteran entered service with refractive errors, congenital defects, which increased in severity during service. The most probative evidence, however, demonstrates that such refractive errors were not aggravated by a superimposed disease or injury, including in-service exposure to toxic fumes. Further, there is no evidence that the Veteran demonstrated ocular conditions, beyond that of refractive errors, during service, or that any current ocular condition is related to service, including exposure to toxic fumes. The Board has considered the applicability of the benefit of the doubt doctrine. 38 U.S.C.A. § 5107; see also Gilbert v. Derwinski, 1 Vet. App. 49, 53 (1990). However, the preponderance of the evidence is against the Veteran's claim. As such, that doctrine is not applicable in the instant appeal and the claim of entitlement to service connection for a bilateral eye disorder, claimed as blindness, must be denied. ORDER Service connection for a bilateral eye disorder, including refractive errors and claimed as blindness, is denied. ____________________________________________ C. TRUEBA Veterans Law Judge, Board of Veterans' Appeals Department of Veterans Affairs