Citation Nr: 1135656 Decision Date: 09/22/11 Archive Date: 10/03/11 DOCKET NO. 11-19 845 ) DATE ) ) On appeal from the Department of Veterans Affairs Regional Office in Manila, the Republic of the Philippines THE ISSUE Entitlement to the one-time payment from the Filipino Veterans Equity Compensation Fund (FVEC). ATTORNEY FOR THE BOARD D. Havelka, Counsel INTRODUCTION This matter comes before the Board of Veterans' Appeals (Board) on appeal from a June 2010 decision of the Department of Veterans Affairs (VA) Regional Office (RO) in Manila, the Republic of the Philippines. This appeal has been advanced on the Board's docket pursuant to 38 C.F.R. § 20.900(c) (2010). 38 U.S.C.A. § 7107(a)(2) (West 2002). FINDING OF FACT The National Personnel Records Center (NPRC) has certified that the appellant had no service as a member of the Philippine Commonwealth Army, including the recognized guerrillas in the service of the Armed Forces of the United States. CONCLUSION OF LAW The criteria for obtaining a one-time payment from the FVEC are not met. 38 U.S.C.A. § 501(a) (West 2002 & Supp. 2010); American Recovery and Reinvestment Act § 1002, Pub. L. No. 111-5 (enacted February 17, 2009); 38 C.F.R. § 3.203 (2010). REASONS AND BASES FOR FINDING AND CONCLUSION Under the recently enacted American Recovery and Reinvestment Act, a new one-time benefit is provided for certain Philippine veterans to be paid from the "Filipino Veterans Equity Compensation Fund." American Recovery and Reinvestment Act § 1002, Pub. L. No. 111-5 (enacted February 17, 2009). Payments for eligible persons will be either in the amount of $9,000 for non-United States citizens, or $15,000 for United States citizens. For eligible persons who accept a payment from the FVEC, such payment "shall constitute a complete release of any claim against the United States by reason of [such] service . . . ." However, nothing in the act "prohibit[s] a person from receiving any benefit (including health care, survivor, or burial benefits) which the person would have been eligible to receive based on laws in effect as of the day before the date of the enactment of this Act." Section 1002 addresses Payments to Eligible Persons Who Served in the United States Armed Forces in the Far East during World War II. Section 1002 (d) provides that an eligible person is any person who--(1) served--(A) before July 1, 1946, in the organized military forces of the Government of the Commonwealth of the Philippines, while such forces were in the service of the Armed Forces of the United States pursuant to the military order of the President dated July 26, 1941, including among such military forces organized guerrilla forces under commanders appointed, designated, or subsequently recognized by the Commander in Chief, Southwest Pacific Area, or other competent authority in the Army of the United States; or (B) in the Philippine Scouts under section 14 of the Armed Forces Voluntary Recruitment Act of 1945 (59 Stat. 538); and (2) was discharged or released from service described in paragraph (1) under conditions other than dishonorable. The appellant submitted extracts of records of military service, which indicate service as a USAFFE guerilla, and a recognized guerilla; however, these documents do not satisfy the requirements of 38 C.F.R. § 3.203 as acceptable proof of service, as they are not an official document of the appropriate United States service department or NPRC. Accordingly, these documents may not be accepted by the Board as verification of service for the purpose of determining eligibility for VA benefits, including the one-time payment from the FVEC. The appellant did not submit a DD Form 214, a Certification of Release or Discharge from Active Duty, or an original Certificate of Discharge in accordance with 38 C.F.R. § 3.203(a)(1). The RO submitted the pertinent information to the NPRC for verification. The NPRC certified on three separate occasions, June 2010, December 2010, and March 2011, that the appellant had no service as a member of the Philippine Commonwealth Army, including the recognized guerrillas, in the service of the United States Armed Forces prior to July 1, 1946. The NPRC has certified that he had no qualifying service. This verification is binding on VA such that VA has no authority to change or amend the finding. Duro v. Derwinski, 2 Vet. App. 530, 532 (1992). The proper course for any claimant, who believes there is a reason to dispute the report of the service department or the content of military records is to pursue such disagreement with the service department. See Sarmiento v. Brown, 7 Vet. App. 80, 85 (1994). Based upon the record in this case, the appellant had no qualifying service in order to meet the basic eligibility criteria for establishing entitlement to the one-time payment from the FVEC and the appeal is denied. Finally, the Veterans Claims Assistance Act of 2000 (VCAA), Pub. L. No. 106-475, 114 Stat. 2096 (Nov. 9, 2000) (codified at 38 U.S.C.A. §§ 5100, 5102, 5103, 5103A, 5106, 5107, 5126 (West 2002 & Supp. 2010)) redefined VA's duty to assist claimants in the development of a claim. VA regulations for the implementation of the VCAA were codified as amended at 38 C.F.R. §§ 3.102, 3.156(a), 3.159, 3.326(a) (2010). In some cases, however, the VCAA need not be considered because the issue presented is solely one of statutory interpretation and/or the claim is barred as a matter of law. See Smith v. Gober, 14 Vet. App. 227, 231-232 (2000), aff'd, 281 F.3d 1384 (Fed. Cir. 2002), cert. denied, 537 U.S. 821 (2002); see also 38 C.F.R. § 3.159(b)(3)(ii) (VCAA notice not required when, as a matter of law, entitlement to the benefit claimed cannot be established); 38 C.F.R. § 3.159(d)(3) (VA will refrain from or discontinue assistance with regard to a claim requesting a benefit to which the claimant is not entitled as a matter of law). This is such a case. As discussed, resolution of the claim is wholly dependent on interpretation of the applicable laws and regulations pertaining to basic eligibility for VA benefits and qualifying service under the FVEC. The VCAA is therefore inapplicable and need not be considered in this case. See Mason v. Principi, 16 Vet. App. 129, 132 (2002); Dela Cruz v. Principi, 15 Vet. App. 143, 149 (2001); see also VAOPGCPREC 5-2004 (June 23, 2004). ORDER Eligibility for the one-time payment from the Filipino Veterans Equity Compensation Fund is denied. ____________________________________________ L. HOWELL Veterans Law Judge, Board of Veterans' Appeals Department of Veterans Affairs