Citation Nr: 1320757 Decision Date: 06/27/13 Archive Date: 07/05/13 DOCKET NO. 10-36 315A ) DATE ) ) On appeal from the Department of Veterans Affairs Regional Office in Manila, the Republic of the Philippines THE ISSUE Entitlement to service connection for hypertension. REPRESENTATION Appellant represented by: Disabled American Veterans ATTORNEY FOR THE BOARD McBrine, M., Counsel INTRODUCTION The Veteran served on active duty from April 1958 to September 1977. This matter comes before the Board of Veterans' Appeals (Board) on appeal from a December 2009 decision by the Department of Veterans Affairs (VA) Regional Office (RO) in Manila, the Republic of the Philippines that denied the Veteran's claim of entitlement to service connection for hypertension. Please note this appeal has been advanced on the Board's docket pursuant to 38 C.F.R. § 20.900(c) (2012). 38 U.S.C.A. § 7107(a)(2) (West 2002). FINDINGS OF FACT There is at least an approximate balance of positive and negative evidence regarding whether the Veteran has hypertension related to service. CONCLUSION OF LAW Resolving all doubt in the Veteran's favor, he has hypertension related to service. 38 U.S.C.A. §§ 1101, 1110, 5103A, 5107 (West 2002 & Supp. 2012); 38 C.F.R. §§ 3.102, 3.159, 3.303, 3.304 (2012). REASONS AND BASES FOR FINDINGS AND CONCLUSION The Board has thoroughly reviewed all the evidence in the Veteran's claims file. Although the Board has an obligation to provide reasons and bases supporting this decision, there is no need to discuss, in detail, all the evidence submitted by or on behalf of the Veteran. See Gonzales v. West, 218 F.3d 1378, 1380-81 (Fed. Cir. 2000) (the Board must review the entire record, but does not have to discuss each piece of evidence). The analysis below focuses on the most salient and relevant evidence and on what this evidence shows, or fails to show, on the claim. The Veteran must not assume that the Board has overlooked pieces of evidence that are not explicitly discussed herein. See Timberlake v. Gober, 14 Vet. App. 122 (2000) (the law requires only that the Board address its reasons for rejecting evidence favorable to the Veteran). Veterans Claims Assistance Act of 2000 (VCAA) With respect to the Veteran's claims, VA has met all statutory and regulatory notice and duty to assist provisions. 38 U.S.C.A. §§ 5100, 5102, 5103, 5103A, 5107, 5126 (West 2002 & Supp. 2012); 38 C.F.R. §§ 3.102, 3.156(a), 3.159, 3.326(a) (2012). Furthermore, in light of the favorable decision below, the Board finds that any error in complying with VCAA would be harmless. Service Connection The Veteran contends that he incurred hypertension in service. Specifically, he contends that this condition is related to his service connected diabetes. Service connection may be established for disability resulting from personal injury suffered or disease contracted in the line of duty in the active military, naval, or air service. 38 U.S.C.A. §§ 1110, 1131 (West 2002 & Supp. 2012). That an injury or disease occurred in service is not enough; there must be chronic disability resulting from that injury or disease. If there is no showing of a resulting chronic condition during service, then a showing of continuity of symptomatology after service is required to support a finding of chronicity. 38 C.F.R. § 3.303(b) (2012). Service connection may also be granted for any injury or disease diagnosed after discharge, when all the evidence, including that pertinent to service, establishes that the disease or injury was incurred in service. 38 C.F.R. § 3.303(d). In the absence of presumptive service connection, to establish a right to compensation for a present disability on a direct basis, a Veteran must show: "(1) the existence of a present disability; (2) in-service incurrence or aggravation of a disease or injury; and (3) a causal relationship between the present disability and the disease or injury incurred or aggravated during service." Davidson v. Shinseki, 581 F.3d 1313, 1315-16 (Fed. Cir. 2009); Shedden v. Principi, 381 F.3d 1163, 1167 (Fed. Cir. 2004). Further, secondary service connection will be granted when a disability is proximately due to or the result of a service connected disease or injury. 38 C.F.R. § 3.310 (2012). Secondary service connection may be established for a disorder which is aggravated by a service-connected disability. Allen v. Brown, 7 Vet. App. 439 (1995). The standard of proof to be applied in decisions on claims for VA benefits is set forth in 38 U.S.C.A. § 5107(b). Under that provision, VA shall consider all information and lay and medical evidence of record in a case before the Secretary with respect to benefits under laws administered by the Secretary. The Board must determine the value of all evidence submitted, including lay and medical evidence. See Buchanan v. Nicholson, 451 F.3d 1331 (Fed. Cir. 2006). The evaluation of evidence generally involves a three-step inquiry. First, the Board must determine whether the evidence comes from a "competent" source. The Board must then determine if the evidence is credible, or worthy of belief. See Barr v. Nicholson, 21 Vet.App. 303 at 308 (2007) (observing that once evidence is determined to be competent, the Board must determine whether such evidence is also credible). The third step of this inquiry requires the Board to weigh the probative value of the proffered evidence in light of the entirety of the record. Competent lay evidence means any evidence not requiring that the proponent have specialized education, training, or experience. Lay evidence is competent if it is provided by a person who has knowledge of facts or circumstances and conveys matters that can be observed and described by a lay person. 38 C.F.R. § 3.159(a). Lay evidence may be competent and sufficient to establish a diagnosis of a condition when: (1) a layperson is competent to identify the medical condition (i.e., when the layperson will be competent to identify the condition where the condition is simple, for example a broken leg, and sometimes not, for example, a form of cancer); (2) the layperson is reporting a contemporaneous medical diagnosis, or; (3) lay testimony describing symptoms at the time supports a later diagnosis by a medical professional. See Jandreau v. Nicholson, 492 F. 3d 1372 (Fed. Cir. 2007); see also Davidson v. Shinseki, 581 F.3d 1313 (Fed. Cir. 2009) (where widow seeking service connection for cause of death of her husband, the Veteran, the Court holding that medical opinion not required to prove nexus between service connected mental disorder and drowning which caused Veteran's death). In ascertaining the competency of lay evidence, the Courts have generally held that a layperson is not capable of opining on matters requiring medical knowledge. Routen v. Brown, 10 Vet.App. 183 (1997). In certain instances, however, lay evidence has been found to be competent with regard to a disease with "unique and readily identifiable features" that is "capable of lay observation." See, e.g., Barr v. Nicholson, 21 Vet.App. 303 (2007) (concerning varicose veins); see also Jandreau v. Nicholson, 492 F. 3d 1372 (Fed. Cir. 2007) (a dislocated shoulder); Charles v. Principi, 16 Vet.App. 370 (2002) (tinnitus); Falzone v. Brown, 8 Vet.App. 398 (1995) (flatfeet). Laypersons have also been found to not be competent to provide evidence in more complex medical situations. See Woehlaert v. Nicholson, 21 Vet.App. 456 (2007) (concerning rheumatic fever). Competent medical evidence is evidence provided by a person who is qualified through education, training, or experience to offer medical diagnoses, statements, or opinions. Competent medical evidence may also include statements conveying sound medical principles found in medical treatises. It also includes statements contained in authoritative writings, such as medical and scientific articles and research reports or analyses. 38 C.F.R. § 3.159(a)(1). After determining the competency and credibility of evidence, the Board must then weigh its probative value. In this function, the Board may properly consider internal inconsistency, facial plausibility, and consistency with other evidence submitted on behalf of the claimant. See Madden v. Brown, 125 F.3d 1447 (Fed Cir. 1997) (holding that the Board has the "authority to discount the weight and probative value of evidence in light of its inherent characteristics in its relationship to other items of evidence"). When there is an approximate balance of positive and negative evidence regarding any issue material to the determination of a matter, the Secretary shall give the benefit of the doubt to the claimant. 38 U.S.C. § 5107(b) (West 2002); see also Gilbert v. Derwinski, 1 Vet. App. 49 (1990). Taking into account all relevant evidence, the Board finds that service connection is warranted for hypertension. In this regard, the Board notes that service connection for this disability was previously denied because there was no medical evidence of record showing a diagnosis of hypertension in service or within a presumptive period, and no evidence of record relating the Veteran's diagnosis of hypertension to service. However, during the pendency of this appeal, in a July 2012 RO decision, the Veteran was granted service connection for ischemic heart disease, also diagnosed as coronary artery disease, as a presumptive condition based on his service in Vietnam. Further, there is evidence of record linking the Veteran's diagnosis of hypertension to his diagnosis of coronary disease. In this regard, the Board finds probative a March 2012 statement signed by the Veteran's private physician which indicates that the Veteran's hypertension is related to his diagnosis of ischemic heart disease. The Board also finds probative a February 2012 report of VA examination which clearly indicates that the Veteran's coronary artery disease and arteriosclerotic heart disease were secondary to hypertension suggesting a etiologically relationship between these disabilities. Thus, the Board finds the evidence at least in equipoise as to the question of whether the Veteran's hypertension is etiologically related to his service connected ischemic heart disease. The Board recognizes that the Veteran originally set forth this claim for service connection for hypertension as secondary to his service connected diabetes mellitus. However, the Board notes that it is required to consider all potential theories of entitlement to service connection. See Szemraj v. Principi, 357 F.3d 1370, 1371 (Fed. Cir. 2004), and Roberson v. Principi, 251 F.3d 1378, 1384 (Fed. Cir. 2001). While the evidence still does not show a relationship between the Veteran's hypertension and diabetes, the medical evidence of record is at least in equipoise as to the question of whether the Veteran's hypertension is secondary to his service connected coronary artery disease; as such, the Board finds that the Veteran should be granted the benefit of the doubt, and therefore service connection for hypertension, as secondary to the Veteran's service connected ischemic heart disease, is warranted. ORDER Entitlement to service connection for hypertension is granted. ____________________________________________ DAVID L. WIGHT Veterans Law Judge, Board of Veterans' Appeals Department of Veterans Affairs