Citation NR: 9624588 Decision Date: 08/28/96 Archive Date: 09/04/96 DOCKET NO. 90-19 104 ) DATE ) ) On appeal from the Department of Veterans Affairs Regional Office in Cleveland, Ohio THE ISSUES 1. Entitlement to service connection for defective vision as secondary to medication taken for service-connected post traumatic stress disorder with alcoholism. 2. Entitlement to an increased evaluation for post traumatic stress disorder with alcoholism, currently evaluated as 50 percent disabling. REPRESENTATION Appellant represented by: Disabled American Veterans WITNESS AT HEARING ON APPEAL Service representative ATTORNEY FOR THE BOARD Ronald R. Bosch, Counsel INTRODUCTION The veteran served on active duty from August 1965 to August 1968. This appeal arose from a May 1989 rating decision of the Department of Veterans Affairs (VA) Regional Office (RO) in Cleveland, Ohio. The RO denied entitlement to an increased evaluation for post traumatic stress disorder. The RO denied entitlement to service connection for defective vision as secondary to medication taken for service-connected post traumatic stress disorder when it issued a rating decision in March 1990. The Board of Veterans’ Appeals (Board) remanded the case to the RO for further development in November 1990. The RO granted entitlement to service connection for alcoholism as secondary to service-connected post traumatic stress disorder when it issued a rating decision in April 1991. The Board remanded the case to the RO for further development in March 1992. The RO, in pertinent part, affirmed the denial of entitlement to service connection for defective vision as secondary to service-connected post traumatic stress disorder with alcoholism in previous rating decisions and when it most recently issued a rating decision in November 1995. The case has been returned to the Board for final appellate review. CONTENTIONS OF APPELLANT ON APPEAL The veteran contends that his defective vision is secondary to medication he has taken over the years for treatment of his service-connected post traumatic stress disorder, thereby warranting entitlement to a grant of service connection on a secondary basis. The appellant contends that his post traumatic stress disorder is far more disabling than currently evaluated, thereby warranting entitlement to an increased evaluation. DECISION OF THE BOARD The Board, in accordance with the provisions of 38 U.S.C.A. § 7104 (West 1991 & Supp. 1995), has reviewed and considered all of the evidence and material of record in the veteran's claims files. Based on its review of the relevant evidence in this matter, and for the following reasons and bases, it is the decision of the Board that the record supports a grant of entitlement to service connection for defective vision as secondary to medication taken for treatment of post traumatic stress disorder. It is the decision of the Board that the record supports a grant of entitlement to a 100 percent evaluation for post traumatic stress disorder. FINDINGS OF FACT 1. VA examiners have on more than one occasion opined that the veteran has defective vision bilaterally as the result of Mellaril (Thioridazine) toxicity in connection with treatment of his service-connected post traumatic stress disorder. 2. Post traumatic stress disorder is productive of totally disabling psychoneurotic symptomatology and has rendered him unable to obtain and retain substantially gainful employment. CONCLUSIONS OF LAW 1. Defective vision is proximately due to or the result of medication taken for treatment of service-connected post traumatic stress disorder. 38 U.S.C.A. § 5107 (West 1991); 38 C.F.R. § 3.310(a) (1995). 2. The criteria for a 100 percent evaluation for post traumatic stress disorder have been met. 38 U.S.C.A. §§ 1155, 5107 (West 1991); 38 C.F.R. §§ 3.321(b)(1), 4.7, 4.132, Diagnostic Code 9411 (1995). REASONS AND BASES FOR FINDINGS AND CONCLUSIONS Initially, the Board notes that the veteran has presented evidence of well grounded claims within the meaning of 38 U.S.C.A. § 5107(a), in that he has presented claims which are plausible. The Board is satisfied that as a result of the previous remands of the case to the RO for further development, all relevant facts have been properly developed, and that no further assistance to the veteran is required in order to comply with 38 U.S.C.A. § 5107(a). I. Entitlement to service connection for defective vision as secondary to medication taken for treatment of service-connected post traumatic stress disorder. Factual Background No significant vision abnormalities were noted when the appellant was examined by VA in July 1969. The appellant complained of blurred vision when he underwent a special psychiatric examination by VA in October 1972. An April 1973 VA eye examination report shows bilateral uncorrected visual acuity was 10/200. An August 1976 VA consultation report shows pigmentary changes were seen in both macular areas. The examiner noted the diagnosis of the macular changes explained the reduction of vision, and that it could be due to Mellaril. He noted the veteran was advised not to use Mellaril. It could be substituted with something that did not have a retina toxic effect. A September 1976 VA consultation report shows a fundus examination revealed pigmentary changes in the macular area and perimacular area. The examiner noted the veteran had macular involvement of both eyes besides the irreversible changes with pigmentary disturbance. The examiner noted he would like the veteran to discontinue all medication like Thorazine, Stelazine, and Mellaril group of medicines. The examiner noted if he was already on this type of medicine, it should be discontinued before he had worse problems than those he had presently. A June 1977 VA consultation report shows the fundus examination revealed macular degenerative changes in both eyes, right eye more than the left eye, which can be secondary to Thorazine, Stelazine, or Mellaril group of medicine. The examiner noted there was no treatment for it. A January 1978 VA consultation report shows the veteran had macular changes in both eyes and visual acuity was 20/100 in each eye. A December 1978 letter on file from the Chief of the local VA Optometry Service noted that veteran’s corrective lenses were found to be 10/160 in the right eye and 10/400 in the left eye. He was considered to be legally blind. An August 1989 VA special eye examination concluded in a finding of macular disruption bilaterally secondary to Mellaril toxicity. An April 1991 VA special ophthalmology examination report shows the apparent cause of the veteran’s reduced vision was the toxic effects of drug therapy, noted as Mellaril and Thorazine. On file are letters dated in March and June 1991 from a private peripatologist pertaining to training of the veteran for successful adjustment in a daily environment with reduced visual acuity. An April 1992 VA consultation report shows diagnostic impressions of Phenothiazine toxicity of the macula bilaterally and legal blindness bilaterally secondary to the above. In May 1992 a VA optometrist opined that the veteran had severely reduced visual acuity bilaterally secondary to Mellaril (Thioridazine) induced retinopathy. In November 1992 the veteran submitted a medical extract from a private manuscript pertaining to the toxic effects of Mellaril. Also on file is another medical extract from a different private publication on the same subject. A service representative testified on the veteran’s behalf in support of the claim for service connection for defective vision secondary to medication taken for treatment of service-connected post traumatic stress disorder at an RO hearing held in January 1994. A January 1994 VA special ophthalmologic examination concluded in diagnostic impressions of retinal pigment epithelium atrophy of macula bilaterally consistent with Thioridazine toxicity; and legally blind secondary to Thioridazine toxicity. In February 1994 a VA ophthalmologist opined that the veteran had decreased visual acuity bilaterally secondary to pigment epithelial dystrophy consistent with over treatment with Thioridazine. A March 1994 VA special psychiatric examination report shows an examiner noted the veteran reported using Mellaril beginning in 1973 and continuing such use for 10 years. The examiner referred to a report dated in March and April 1976 showing the veteran had been prescribed Mellaril, but there was no documentation to indicate that he received any dosages of this medication greater than 600 milligrams per day. This was in contrast to the report wherein he stated he was receiving upwards of 1,400 milligrams per day. In August he was advised to discontinue this medication. This was in contrast to the veteran’s claim that he had used this medication for more than 10 years. The examiner found that it was clinically possible that when Mellaril was used in dosages exceeding 800 milligrams for a long period of time that it would indeed cause optical damage. It was usually felt that once the medication was discontinued, the vision returned to normalcy. The examiner noted that enough evidence could not be found in the documentation to indicate that the veteran had used any of this medication greater than the 600 milligrams per day as he claimed, and certainly not for the length of time claimed. It was theoretically possible that the medication could have caused some damage. The examiner noted the Mellaril was very likely originally prescribed for him due to the symptoms of post traumatic stress disorder. The conclusion was that this would have been the use of the medication in his case during the three years of treatment. Analysis Service connection may be granted for a disorder which is proximately due to or the result of a service-connected disability. 38 C.F.R. § 3.310(a). The Board’s review of the evidence of record permits the conclusion that the record supports a grant of entitlement to service connection for defective vision as secondary to medication taken for treatment of service connected post traumatic stress disorder. In this regard the Board notes that the post service medical record is replete with references to medication; in particular, Mellaril (Thiorizdazine) administered by VA to the veteran for treatment of his psychiatric symptomatology ultimately diagnosed as post traumatic stress disorder. The specific quantity of such medication and its specific dosage over the years has at times been indeterminate; nonetheless, the record is sufficiently complete to permit the conclusion that the principal medication utilized by VA for treatment of post traumatic stress disorder has been Mellaril. VA specialists in ophthalmologic diseases have repeatedly expressed in writing the opinion that that veteran’s bilateral defective vision was entirely consistent with Mellaril toxicity. His retinopathy had been noted to be induced by Mellaril. The most recent opinion on file by VA psychiatrists consisted of several indeterminate statements couched in vague suppositions as to the medical evidence of record with respect to the quantity of medication taken by the veteran for his service-connected post traumatic stress disorder. The opinion was not expressed in conclusory language; nonetheless, the examiners acknowledged that vision damage was to be expected under the purported treatment regimen undergone over the years by the veteran to control the disabling manifestations of post traumatic stress disorder. The Board finds that the most recent statement on file by VA psychiatrists does not diminish the persuasive nature of the earlier definitive opinions rendered by VA specialists in ophthalmology linking the administration of Mellaril for treatment of service-connected post traumatic stress disorder to the development of defective vision. The fact that the record shows the veteran complained of vision problems prior to commencement of treatment of post traumatic stress disorder with Mellaril is of no clinical consequence as the evidence shows that bilateral vision damage has been specifically linked to the Mellaril medical treatment regimen. For the foregoing reasons the Board concludes that the record supports a grant of entitlement to service connection for defective vision as secondary to medication taken by the veteran for treatment of service-connected post traumatic stress disorder. 38 U.S.C.A. § 5107; 38 C.F.R. § 3.310(a). II. Entitlement to an increased evaluation for post traumatic stress disorder, currently evaluated as 50 percent disabling. Factual Background A March 1984 private psychiatric examination concluded in a diagnosis of post traumatic stress disorder. The Board of Veterans’ Appeals (Board) granted entitlement to service connection for post traumatic stress disorder in August 1984. The RO implemented the August 1984 determination of the Board when it issued a rating decision in October 1984 establishing service connection for post traumatic stress disorder with assignment of a 50 percent evaluation. The veteran was hospitalized by VA in February 1989 for treatment of post traumatic stress disorder and episodic alcohol abuse. A May 1989 VA fee basis special psychiatric examination shows the veteran demonstrated symptomatology of exaggerated startle response, reduced involvement in the external world, avoidance of activities that recalled trauma, sleep disturbance with combat related nightmares, reexperiencing the traumatic event, flashbacks, and guilty feelings. Symptoms of depression included depressed mood, sleep and appetite disturbance, fatigue, anhedonia, low self-esteem, suicidal ideation, and impaired concentration. The examination diagnoses were post traumatic stress disorder, major depression, and alcohol dependence. In an August 1989 application for increased compensation based on unemployability the veteran reported he had become too disabled to work in August 1968, upon discharge from service. He indicated he had completed eight years of grade school. The veteran was hospitalized by VA in April 1990 for treatment of post traumatic stress disorder. He reported he was feeling very nervous and unable to cope with the stress at home. He also complained of nightmares and flashbacks. He was tense, anxious, shaky and irritable. He felt depressed and hopeless. Affect was depressed. The appellant was oriented times three. Memory was intact. He lacked insight and judgment was poor. The appellant was hospitalized by VA for treatment of post traumatic stress disorder in December 1990. The veteran stated that he went to pieces when his son who is mentally handicapped was jailed for possession of a gun while on probation. The appellant stated that he could not do anything about it. As a result he became depressed, feeling hopeless and helpless. He stated that he also had flashbacks about Vietnam. He was always uptight when sleeping. When someone touched him he automatically jumped. A February 1992 fee basis psychiatric examination for VA compensation purposes shows the veteran was somewhat disjointed because of his agitation, nervousness and emotionality to the degree that he continually began talking about traumatic combat events regardless of the topic of conversation. This agitation also included constant pacing and hypervigilance. The veteran reported that although his drinking had decreased, he continued to drink approximately twelve beers in a three day period because of symptoms of post traumatic stress disorder. The veteran was hospitalized by VA for treatment of post traumatic stress disorder in April 1992, due to flashbacks, nightmares of Vietnam, feeling anxious, and despondency due to his son’s legal problems and his own failing eyesight. The appellant admitted to drinking 6 to 10 beers per day lately and recently had some problems with anger control. While in admissions he became violent and was subdued by security. The current Global Assessment of Functioning Score was 15. The highest score during the prior year had been 80. The veteran was hospitalized by VA for treatment of post traumatic stress disorder during July and August 1992. He reported he had been sober for the past two to three years until the last two weeks when he began drinking 15 to 20 beers daily. He stated he could no longer take any more of the flashbacks and nightmares about Vietnam experiences. The appellant stated that during his nightmares he had been hearing the screaming of young kids he accidentally shot while on the battlefield. During a March 1993 VA special psychiatric examination the veteran reported he had been unemployed since separation from service. He admitted to depression and suicidal thoughts. His symptoms were said to be present since Vietnam. The claimant stated that nightmares were constant. He could not stand being around people. The appellant stated he had lost his pride and his dignity. On mental status interview his mood was sad and depressed. Affect was constricted but appropriate. The pertinent diagnoses were post traumatic stress disorder, chronic; and alcohol abuse, continuous. The appellant was hospitalized by VA for treatment of post traumatic stress disorder during April and May 1993. He reported having been drinking 6 to 8 beers per day for the past two weeks. The appellant reported not having worked since service and to have quit school in the 9th grade. Insight was lacking and judgment was poor. A service representative testified on behalf of the veteran at an RO hearing held in January 1994. The service representative testified as to the disabling manifestations of the appellant’s post traumatic stress disorder with alcoholism. A March 1994 VA special psychiatric examination concluded in a relevant diagnosis of post traumatic stress disorder. The veteran was treated for post traumatic stress disorder with alcohol dependence when hospitalized by VA during February and March 1994. He reported feeling nervous with flashbacks of Vietnam. He had concerns he was feeling angry toward his family. Insight was lacking and judgment was poor. The discharge diagnosis was post traumatic stress disorder with alcohol dependence. The Global Assessment of Functioning Score was 50 for the present year, and 55 for the prior year. The appellant was hospitalized by VA for treatment of post traumatic stress disorder in August 1994. He voluntarily came to the hospital because he was having flashbacks and nightmares from his Vietnam experience. His nerves had been getting the best of him basically because he was going blind. Three weeks previously he had run out of medication and this contributed to his nervous feelings, flashbacks, and nightmares. On examination the veteran’s affect was appropriate to mildly depressed mood. Judgment was poor and insight was lacking. At the time of discharge he was alert, coherent and relevant. He was well oriented in all spheres and his memory was intact. The pertinent discharge diagnosis was post traumatic stress disorder. The Global Assessment of Functioning Score was 51 for the present year and during the previous year. The claimant was hospitalized by VA for treatment of post traumatic stress disorder with alcohol dependence during October and November 1994. He had been having nightmares and feeling depressed. His affect was mildly depressed. Insight was lacking and judgment was poor. The relevant discharge diagnosis was post traumatic stress disorder. The Global Assessment of Functioning Score was 55 for the current year, and 60 during the previous year. The veteran was hospitalized by VA for treatment of post traumatic stress disorder with alcohol dependence during July and August 1995. He had been feeling nervous and depressed, and had not been sleeping well. He had been having nightmares and drinking a case of beer daily for two to three weeks. On mental status examination the appellant’s affect was mildly depressed. Insight was lacking and judgment was poor. The pertinent discharge diagnosis was post traumatic stress disorder with alcohol dependence. The Global Assessment of Functioning Score was 40 for the current year, and 45 for the prior year. On file are VA psychotherapy reports pertaining to treatment of the veteran during the 1990’s. Analysis The veteran’s post traumatic stress disorder with alcoholism is rated as 50 percent disabling under diagnostic code 9411 of the VA Schedule for Rating Disabilities. The 50 percent evaluation contemplates considerable social and industrial impairment. The next higher evaluation of 70 percent is warranted for severe social and industrial impairment. The maximum schedular evaluation of 100 percent requires that the attitudes of all contacts except the most intimate be so adversely affected as to result in virtual isolation in the community. Alternatively, totally incapacitating psychoneurotic symptoms bordering on gross repudiation of reality with disturbed thought or behavioral processes associated with almost all daily activities such as fantasy, confusion, panic and explosions of aggressive energy resulting in profound retreat from mature behavior warrant a 100 percent evaluation. Finally, a 100 percent evaluation is warranted if a veteran is demonstrably unable to obtain or retain employment due to post traumatic stress disorder with alcoholism. 38 C.F.R. § 4.132. This is the veteran’s case. The Board’s review of the evidentiary record discloses that the veteran has been hospitalized on numerous occasions to reduce symptomatology associated with post traumatic stress disorder and for detoxification due to chronic alcohol abuse, a manifestation of his over-all psychiatric illness. The veteran has required psychotherapy on an outpatient basis periodically, but this has not been sufficient. The veteran has required numerous admissions in an attempt to return him to some semblance of peace of mind. However, as the record shows, the veteran has been subject to intensive exacerbations of his psychiatric symptomatology which has required inpatient care. The appellant has not been employed since separation from service. Information of record shows he has been in receipt of Social Security disability benefits for many years. The substantial quantity of VA records of inpatient and outpatient treatment over many years shows that the appellant is always deeply affected by the events in his life and he has no social life to speak of. He remains vulnerable to intensification of his psychiatric symptomatology which in effect renders him unable to cope with the ordinary stresses in a non-industrial, much less industrial environment. It is clear from the record that the appellant is unable to acclimate himself in a social or industrial setting. He is for all intents and purposes isolative in his daily existence which unfortunately involves abuse of alcohol as a manifestation of his service-connected psychiatric disability. His absence from the labor market since separation from service and social isolation of many years standing has rendered him a poor candidate for even the most minimal kind of employment. From a review of the record it appears unlikely that the veteran could return to a structured environment as he is unable to withstand the pressures of his life style of many years which has involved no meaningful social or industrial interaction. Accordingly, at least three of the rating criteria for a 100 percent rating are independently met in the veteran’s case. See Johnson v. Brown, 7 Vet.App. 95, 97 (1994). In this regard, the veteran is socially isolated, he suffers from disturbed thought and behavioral processes associated with almost all daily activities particularly in view of his alcohol abuse, and most of all the veteran with his record number of hospitalizations over the years is demonstrably unable to work. For the foregoing reasons, the Board concludes that the record supports a grant of entitlement to a 100 percent evaluation for post traumatic stress disorder with alcoholism. 38 U.S.C.A. §§ 1155, 5107; 38 C.F.R. §§ 3.321(b)(1), 4.7, 4.132, Diagnostic Code 9411. ORDER Entitlement to service connection for defective vision as secondary to medication taken for service-connected post traumatic stress disorder is granted. Entitlement to a 100 percent evaluation for post traumatic stress disorder is granted, subject to governing criteria applicable to the payment of monetary benefits. BRUCE KANNEE Member, Board of Veterans' Appeals The Board of Veterans' Appeals Administrative Procedures Improvement Act, Pub. L. No. 103-271, § 6, 108 Stat. 740, 741 (1994), permits a proceeding instituted before the Board to be assigned to an individual member of the Board for a determination. This proceeding has been assigned to an individual member of the Board. NOTICE OF APPELLATE RIGHTS: Under 38 U.S.C.A. § 7266 (West 1991 & Supp. 1995), a decision of the Board of Veterans' Appeals granting less than the complete benefit, or benefits, sought on appeal is appealable to the United States Court of Veterans Appeals within 120 days from the date of mailing of notice of the decision, provided that a Notice of Disagreement concerning an issue which was before the Board was filed with the agency of original jurisdiction on or after November 18, 1988. Veterans' Judicial Review Act, Pub. L. No. 100-687, § 402, 102 Stat. 4105, 4122 (1988). The date which appears on the face of this decision constitutes the date of mailing and the copy of this decision which you have received is your notice of the action taken on your appeal by the Board of Veterans' Appeals. - 2 -