Skip to Content

In observance of Juneteenth Holiday we will be closed Wednesday, June 19. This closure includes each of our Veterans Clinics. 

Our Emergency Department remains open 24 hours.  

Mental Health Emergency: Call Veteran Crisis Line at 988, press 1, or text 83255.

Nephrology Providers

Meet the Nephrology Team!

Lee

Timmy Lee MD, MSPH

Professor of Medicine, Division of Nephrology, University of Alabama at Birmingham | Vice Chair Research, Department of Medicine, University of Alabama at Birmingham | Section Chief, Nephrology, Birmingham Veterans Affairs Medical Center

VA Birmingham health care

Email: tclee@uabmc.edu

Gauri Mehta MD

Nephrologist

VA Birmingham health care

Phone:

Email: gauri.mehta@va.gov

Daniel Balkovetz MD

Nephrologist

VA Birmingham health care

Phone:

Email: daniel.balkovetz@va.gov

Graham Towns MD

Nephrologist

VA Birmingham health care

Phone:

Email: graham.towns@va.gov

Anupam Agarwal

Anupam Agarwal MD

Staff Physician, Birmingham VA Health Care System Professor & Director, Division of Nephrology, Executive Vice Dean, UAB School of Medicine

VA Birmingham health care

Phone:

Email: Anupam.Agarwal@va.gov

Sanders

Paul Sanders MD

Research Scientist, Birmingham VA Health Care System | Professor of Medicine and Cell, Developmental and Integrative Biology, University of Alabama at Birmingham

VA Birmingham health care

Email: psanders@uabmc.edu

Mrug

Michal Mrug MD

Endowed Professor of Medicine, UAB | Staff physician, Birmingham VA Medical Center | Co-founder/Director, UAB Polycystic Kidney Disease Clinic, PKD-Tolvaptan Clinic

VA Birmingham health care

Email: mmrug@uabmc.edu