The Food and Drug Administration (FDA) has authorized the first COVID-19 vaccine. VA will have a limited amount of this vaccine to start. We’ve worked with the CDC and other federal partners to develop a phased plan. Our goal is to do the most good for the most people during this time.
Following national and local VA policies, face masks are still required in all CAVHCS facilities, regardless of vaccination status. The new masking recommendations released by the CDC for those fully vaccinated do not apply to our facilities. Additionally, as a reminder, visitors under the age of 18 are NOT allowed in VA facilities at this time.
- No visitors under the age of 18 are permitted, including infants.
- No visitors will be allowed to wait in common areas (waiting rooms, vending areas, etc.).
- Essential Companions for Outpatient Veterans: One essential companion (under the age of 18 is not permitted) should be allowed if their in-person presence is necessary for the care or comfort of a Veteran receiving outpatient care. Examples include a family member taking a Veteran home after a procedure involving sedation, a caregiver required to provide bedside care for a Veteran due to the specifics of the Veteran’s disability, or a chaperone helping a Veteran navigate the facility.
All VA facilities and clinics that administer COVID-19 vaccines accept walk-ins for all Veterans, spouses, and caregivers. This walk-in service ensures all Veterans enrolled in VA health care and those authorized under the SAVE LIVES Act have an opportunity to receive a COVID-19 vaccination from VA at a time convenient for them.
Appointments are preferred; however, walk-ins are welcome, subject to supply availability. Please call 866-601-1079 during normal business hours to schedule a vaccination.
Thank you for helping us keep you and our employees safe.
CAVHCS is now administering the 4th dose of Moderna COVID-19 vaccine (booster)
The 4th dose is given at least 4 months after receiving the 3rd dose.
For adults less than 50 years old and immunocompromised, the second booster should be at least 4 months after the first booster. For those who received J&J, the second booster should be at least 3 months after the first booster.
People aged 18–49 years who are not moderately or severely immunocompromised and received Janssen COVID-19 Vaccine as both their primary series dose and booster dose may receive a second booster dose using an mRNA. COVID-19 vaccine at least 4 months after the first Janssen booster dose."
Call us at 866-601-1079 to schedule an appointment, and our staff will help you find a time that’s convenient for you. Vaccinations at our Community Based Outpatient Clinics are by appointment only. Appointments are preferred; however, you can walk in at our designated locations.
Walk-in times and locations:
MVAC COVID-19 Vaccination Clinic
Tuesdays from 8:30 a.m. – 12 p.m. (CT)
Location: Montgomery VA Clinic (off Chantilly Parkway)
8105 Veterans Way, Montgomery, Alabama.
Tuskegee Campus COVID-19 Vaccination Clinic
Wednesdays from 8:30 a.m. – 12 p.m. (CT)
Location: Tuskegee Campus (Building 3 Room 104)
2400 Hospital Road, Tuskegee Alabama
Additional CDC Information
"During the recent Omicron surge, those who were boosted were 21-times less likely to die from COVID-19 compared to those who were unvaccinated, and 7-times less likely to be hospitalized. CDC continues to recommend that all eligible adults, adolescents, and children 5 and older be up to date on their COVID-19 vaccines, which includes getting an initial booster when eligible."
"These updated recommendations acknowledge the increased risk of severe disease in certain populations including those who are elderly or over the age of 50 with multiple underlying conditions, along with the currently available data on the vaccine and booster effectiveness."